HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Funk House Sydney Hostel

23 Darlinghurst Rd, Kingscross, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 56%

Facilities 70%

Location 78%

Safety 81%

Staff 88%

Value 76%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 9.09USD

Important Information

please note that we can't accommodate group bookings over 8 people. if you do this, your reservation will be automatically cancelled and the 10% deposit will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 56%

Facilities 70%

Location 78%

Safety 81%

Staff 88%

Value 76%

Showing 11-11 of 11 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: We've stayed at quite a few hostels in the Cross and this has to be one of the best. We stayed in a 3 bed room and there was plenty of space for our suitcases and it was nice to have space to unpack and hang clothes up. The common areas are nice to chill out in. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hostel was kept clean. Would defintely stay again and reccomend to others.

Disliked: The Kitchen didn't have an oven which is easy enough to work around, bit of a pain going downstairs for pots and pans but nothing dramatic. The wifi was hit and miss which was frustrating when trying to skype etc but I think they were upgrading it and there are computers that worked fine downstairs.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Staff were friendly

Disliked: Room was cold, felt damp, Beds and pillows were uncomfortable and didnt smell clean at all. Showers and toliet were untidy and not clean. Not a safe place to stay, so many strange people knocking around King Cross, Wouldnt recommend staying here at all. Im not one to complain but this had to be said!!!

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The breakfasts were always plentiful and staff were helpful as they could be, although many have us wrong advice or directions.

Disliked: The hostel was very much a party hostel, in a loud area. Good for backpackers who are looking to get drunk or stoned but not so good for those who do not wish to partake in such activities. On our first day in the hostel we attempted to complete some washing but failed to do so due to the overpowering smell of weed coming from the roof terrace, needless to way we didn't not venture up there again. The hostel was very noisy and other residents did not respect that loud music played at half 11 at night could be keeping others awake. The hostel is decorated with graffiti, some of which is really good. But some makes references to drug use, which is obviously encouraged when staying at this hostel.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Toilets are very durty

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Florent

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Funkhouse. We have recently changed our cleaning company due to poor service by the previous cleaner as this is an area that we acknowledge is extremely impotant to our guests. In the meantime safe travels in the future.

Regards

FH

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Clean 4 bed dorm and toilets/showers. Excellent kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff very polite, helpful and knowledgable. Safe hotel - small but comfortable rooms, with only 3 or 4 people to a room, rather than the usual 8 to 10 people you usually get.

Disliked: Kings Cross location is a good 20 to 30 minute walk or a bus/train/taxi ride from the city centre and main attractions. The communal lounge area is quite messy and does not seem like it is too well looked after i.e. ripped sofas and some rubbish left around.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

G'day Harry

Thanks for your recent review. We are in the process of upgrading our communal areas including the lounge and roof terrace by the end of this year. In the meantime safe travels in the future and we hope to see you again.

Regards

FH

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: None

Disliked: First of all, we had arrived from a 24 flight to be told to wait to be check-in as the receptionist was counting the till up, so we were left standing there for 10 minutes! Secondly, the room we paid for was a private with a bathroom and own computer in the room, which was what was advertisied on the HostelBookers.com. I also stated a double room - the room was bunk beds, and the hostel only had shared batherooms and no computers in the room. It was filthy!! Looked over the red light district of Kings Cross, noisey and smelly. The security of the building and the room was alarming, and my partner and I only spent on restless night here before moving to more suitable accommadation. We were not issued a refund, as they make you sige a statement before seeing the room so no refunds can be made. I HATED this hostel. I am under no illusion to hostels in Australia, as I travelled around Australia before, but this was a poor excuse of suitable, clean accommadation.


The property's response is

Dear Aimee
Thank you for your recent review. In response:
- You arrived during a shift change over. We apologise for this inconvenience but it is necessary part of the process
- As per our description all our rooms are shared bathrooms
- The image submitted does show a guest using a laptop to indicate we have WiFi as per our description
- We have security access to enter the hostel and 24hr CCTV
- You did raise any concerns with us prior to C/O
Safe travels in the future.
Regards FH

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was cheap and the staff was friendly, plus the free airport shuttle was very nice! Also, the walls and doors are all painted funky which is cool and the rooms are good size with nice storage!

Disliked: Unless you are traveling to party hard the location is not the greatest!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability