HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers Sydney

Hostel

87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.29USD

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's a wonderful place to stay for single travellers.i...The atmosphere at the hostel is really relaxed and friendly. the staff is always available and very helpful. the age range is mostly 20-30, which is really nice.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I found both staff and the people in my room friendly and helpful. Nice big window is always a bonus.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Mostly longer term residents staying here which meant there was a relaxed and friendly vibe. I only stayed one night but everyone said hello and had a chat with me. I liked the building too, and the neighbourhood is nice, not too far from the CBD with good coffee shops nearby.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great staff and atmosphere. Nice common room.

Disliked: The kitchen area, while functional, is a bit on the small side given the amount of guests that use it. Food storage for guests can be hard to come by.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really enjoyed my stay here. Amazing staff and atmostphere. I'll definately be staying here again soon!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly welcoming atmosphere, great staff, good facilities, spacious rooms with comfortable beds - best hostel I've stayed in so far, would highly recommend to anyone looking to experience Sydney! Other guests were mostly solo backpackers, so also a great place to meet cool people:)

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location - not far from Woolworths/Coles and the Sydney Opera House. Clean and great TV room with a nice selection of films.

Disliked: Lots of rules, nothing planned for Christmas Day with in the hostel which was surprising, not unlimited WiFi.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are happy you liked the location, the clean rooms and proximity to the City Centre and Opera House.
You mentioned “Lots of rules” some rules run things smoothly- some people sleep early, some party, so we try to have a few guidelines to accommodate all.
During the Christmas and New Years period the hostel organised many activities, like 4 boat cruises, NYE party at Luna Park, Surfing lessons, Blue Mountains day tour and on Christmas day BBQ lunch for 40 people at the hostels courtyard.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Hostel was clean and location was great. Definitely recommended.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really enjoyed staying here. It was not for very long, as it was just an extended holiday after a work event, and I was not in the hostel much more than for sleeping as I toured the city as much as I could. That said, Sasha was great at making sure I had enough to do. They were very helpful in making sure I could check out early (flight was early the next morning before the registration desk opened), and that I had transportation to the airport. It seemed like a great community, and everyone seemed very respectful and willing to make friends.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A really friendly, clean hostel... Great location and staff made a super welcoming experience to Sydney, thankyou :)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability