We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel | 87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

90.9% Overall Rating

367 out of 403 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/11/2014)

Michael Nordstrom thinks…

"Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Hostel was clean and location was great. Definitely recommended."

Read all Blue Parrot Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only. TERMS & CONDITIONS FOR NEW YEAR'S EVE PERIOD 26 DEC - 06 JAN. Minimum stay 10 nights. All bookings staying on any dates between 26 Dec.- 06 Jan (inclusive) will be charged in full via the credit card provided on the 1st December. Your booking will be acknowledged but not confirmed until the payment has been processed. This is a non-refundable and non-transferable booking. NO REFUNDS. Credit cards payments incur a 2.5% surcharge. Please note these terms & conditions supersede any other terms & conditions contained on this or any other website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.19 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews
Macleay Lodge
39.30 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 46 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
27.07 USD

Hostel 76.7% 170 reviews
Challis Lodge
30.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.9% 17 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
28.82 USD

Hostel 73.3% 322 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
21.83 USD

Hostel 74.3% 477 reviews
Springfield Lodge
70.31 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Kanga House
26.20 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

367 out of 403 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Parrot Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 345 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Nordstrom

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Hostel was clean and location was great. Definitely recommended.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Kelly

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying here. It was not for very long, as it was just an extended holiday after a work event, and I was not in the hostel much more than for sleeping as I toured the city as much as I could. That said, Sasha was great at making sure I had enough to do. They were very helpful in making sure I could check out early (flight was early the next morning before the registration desk opened), and that I had transportation to the airport. It seemed like a great community, and everyone seemed very respectful and willing to make friends.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Marston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: A really friendly, clean hostel... Great location and staff made a super welcoming experience to Sydney, thankyou :)

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

leonardo molinari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: The guy at the reception was really helpfull and friendly, location is perfect and next to the best supermarket I have ever seen, bed was confortable, lockers were big enoug, toilet was clean, many friendly young people. Big Showers, private (and enough) toilets. I will stay there again the next time I come to sydney.

Disliked: Room was really smelly (as every room with 4 men traveling), maybe the room could have been a bit bigger. In the toilets they had the smallest sinks I have ever seen, saturday night is really noisy, for someone could be a problem, in general is too expensive as everything in Sydney.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Heller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. They always had a smile on their faces and made an effort to know people staying there. The kitchen is well supplied and was kept tidy and clean.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lloyd Manvill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2014 Lloyd would recommend this property

Liked: If you were thinking of staying somewhere else in Sydney stop thinking because you should stay here! It feels more like a 'living community' and every night everyone in the hostel goes out together so it's a great place to meet people if you're travelling alone. I started to travel up the coast but came back to the Blue Parrot after a few days because I had such a fun time and met cool people there!

Disliked: Lloyd left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. The ambient is very good in general among other travelers. The facilities where more than enough and everything was very clean. There are lockers in the rooms but you have to remember to bring a padlock. Overall, I had an excellent stay.

Disliked: Nothing negative.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Moorton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Blue Parrot Backpackers were everything they said that they would be and more. The hostel has a lovely homely feel and I couldn't fault it at all. I am well-travelled and have stayed in many hostels but this was one of the best hostel experiences I have ever had. The only problem with this hostel is that you will never want to leave! The culture and atmosphere within the Blue Parrot was brilliant. Although the hostel itself cannot be completely responsible for the type of people that stay there, I think that if the right attitude comes from the top (i.e. the people that manage it - in this case, Effie and Sasha) then this filters through and you tend to get nicer, friendlier people staying there for longer, which was definitely the case. Effie and Sasha were so helpful and absolutely lovely. I was particularly impressed with the balance between having rules within the hostel to keep it clean and tidy but still being able to have fun and drink etc. The dorms were cleaned every day and I was so impressed with the attention to detail. I felt safe and welcome in the hostel and at the same time still had great nights out with the staff and backpackers. I cannot express in a review just how great this hostel was in all aspects (location, atmosphere, cleanliness, facilities, etc) but I would thoroughly recommend staying there. Just be careful - you may never want to leave!

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014

Liked: Free WiFi, young people mainly

Disliked: Rules and fines for everything, very few showers, no AC. Hostel may have been great but I think the owners 'grew up', are barely on the property anymore and just put up tons of crazy rules and fines which they even supervise via camera. People get thrown out by additional random rules that nobody understood. The atmosphere and the fun got destroyed by this 'Dont-do-that-or-you-will-be-fined-or-thrown-out'-atmosphere. Far away of being #1 in Sydney anymore (have been to 7 hostels in Sydney so far).

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lars Kristensson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2014 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy environment, and free spa!

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rey Nijhove

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Rey would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, garden with hammock, relaxed atmosphere, relatively, quiet, free wifi, central location outside the CBD, but with everything you need within walking distance. They are a bit heavy on the rules, but most of it improves the hostel quality.

Disliked: Kitchen and bathrooms could be a bit cleaner. Garden closes at 22h, no drinking after 23h. They recommend a Sydney Shuttle Bus service to/from the airport that left me stranded early in the morning, so I had to get a cab to make my flight. Would definitely not recommend Sydney Shuttle Bus.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel with friendly helpful stuff and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Coates Palgrave

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 December 2013 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Everything besides the internet

Disliked: The internet

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to CBD; friendly staff and roommates; free wi-fi; clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Dexant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and comply, and the rooms are clean, comfortable, with individual lockers. the common parts are also well. Good situation for hang out at king cross or with the free bus for downtown. I recommend this hostel, I meet there some kind people :)

Disliked: The kitchen is a bit too small. The beachs are to far.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fabien Hosdez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Fabien would recommend this property

Liked: The staff very friendly and easy going

Disliked: Fabien left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joe Stuttle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything. Central, good location, nice beds, warm showers, pretty girls and a hammock.

Disliked: Not much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Maheu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Blue parrot was great! All staff and owners were very personable and helpful. I stayed in Room 6 which was all girls and really good. Beds were very comfortable, lockers for everyone in the room which were good sized. Lots of outlets. Felt very safe and at home there. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Only negative was very loud street noise (particularly in rooms at the front of the hostel, which borders on Macleay st. I would recommend earplugs! Also, the showers were a bit annoying - would go hot/cold but when staying in a hostel I find this is fairly typical. Don't let it deter you, the blue parrot is a great place to stay!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Petrie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super friendly here and always willing to help you out. I actually ended up extending my stay and that wasn't a problem. The free wifi is really useful and the place is always clean.

Disliked: One washing machine/dryer for an entire hostel is probably not enough for the amount of people and you can't use it till after 1pm. My only complaint about this place!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was super friendly, bathroom & kitchen are clean. Rooms are ok.

Disliked: Wifi is flaky, used my 3g instead most of the time. Bathroom sinks are unusable, so tiny. Noise from kitchen and stairs can be disturbing. No credit card for under 300$.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Graeb

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 August 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel I ever stayed in! Feels like home :)

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Byers

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel i have stayed in, the staff were all so nice and helpfull in booking tours and things (especially Sasha, what a total legend) are very strict with the hostel rules which seem to have been overlooked in other hostels i have stayed in, really makes a difference that everyone has to adhere to rules. also really clean and comfy. all round great place

Disliked: there are some long term residents that have kind of formed little groups possibly making it intimidating to approach them, but once approached they are all lovely and very nice, not really a negative just a observation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: From the sweet phonecall I received on my day of arrival checking I was okay and what time I was arriving through to the smile as I left the door, the hostel was everything I could ask for. The little things like free wi-fi, a large comfy TV room and a great atmosphere all round made it lovely.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Harrison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Was made to feel welcome the moment I stepped through the door. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. There's a fantastic atmosphere about the place. It was a shame to leave really. Would definitley stay there again if I return to Sydney!

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful...worked with late arrivals and early departures very easily. Location close to bars and nightclubs but also only a short walk to harbor walk and botanical gardens. Kitchen facilities good and social areas welcoming. Had a great stay!

Disliked: Room was quite hot at night even with window open and fan blowing. I think the orientation of the room made it difficult to get a cool breeze passing through.

The property's response is...


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels