HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers Sydney Hostel

87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 94%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.24USD

Important Information

PAYMENT POLICY: Please note temporarily we will be unable to receive credit cards payments, from 15 June - 15 July. Sorry for any inconvenience.

We accept only 'Visa or MasterCard' credit cards for payments of $300 or more. If your balance is less than $300 you’ll have to pay in cash. Credit cards incur a 3% charge. The hostel will do a pre-authorisation on the credit card provided prior to arrival. This is not a charge, but a validity check to guarantee the booking. The pre-authorisation will then be removed from the card upon check-in and payment. A valid passport & credit card is required on check-in. Full payment is due upon check-in, no refund if you check-out early.
____________________________________________________

SAME DAY BOOKINGS:
If you make a booking on the same day as you are arriving the booking need to be made by 8PM (local time) the latest, or you can phone the hostel on + (612) 9356 4888 before 8PM.
_____________________________________________________

CANCELLATION POLICY:
If cancelled or modified at least 24 hours before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups need 7 days notice to cancel/modify or the total price of the reservation will be charged. Cancellations/modifications must be made by e-mail only.
______________________________________________________

CHRISTMAS & NEW YEAR’S EVE - 2016 / 2017
SPECIAL EVENT BOOKING: Period 22 Dec. - 09 Jan. minimum 10 night stay, 100% of the reservation will be charged on the 1 December to guarantee your bed. Failure of payment can/will result in cancellation . This is a non-refundable and non-transferable booking. Credit card payment incurs a 3% surcharge.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 94%

Value 82%

Showing 81-20 of 20 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were incredible! So friendly, helpful and very professional. The hostel was always clean and tidy and generally had a great atmosphere. Made some awesome friends here!

Disliked: Nothing! It was ace!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Rooms are nice and clean and ant fault the hostel or the staff!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: probably the best hostel ever! an awesome staff, a hostel where you feel like home, free wifi and a very good location! highly recommended !!!!

Disliked: nothing wrong exempt you don't want to leave it .....

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very nice atmosphere and a friendly staff. Free WiFi.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: ACE!! Everyone there made it feel like home there so nice and welcoming from the minute you walk in to the minute you walk out! I'd most defiantly stay again no doubt about it :) if you need help with absolutely anything there more than happy to help. Oh and the cleaner was very good at his job :)

Disliked: Cannot think of anything!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was cleaned often, and had a nice patio and common room. Kitchen space wasn't quite large enough, but not terrible.

Disliked: For a single traveler I wouldn't recommend it. Lots of working people and people who just wanted to watch tv/ computer all day.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We're sorry to hear that you thought the hostel wasn't for single travelers since that is 90% of the travelers we get! And we're known for our great atmosphere! We think you've been misinformed since currently only about 10% of the hostel are 'working travelers'. You mention that you didn't like that people where on the tv/computers...in fairness it was raining the 3 days you where here so people where chilling out planning their Oz trip online and having movie marathons :-)

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff make this hostel. They are so friendly and helpful, they make the effort to learn your name and go out of their way to help you.

Disliked: The lock on the door to the hostel is very temperamental!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Atmosphere, garden, showers were warm (finally), staff was extremely friendly

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is just great!The perfect place to start in australia, especially when you are traveling alone, for the hostel is quite smal, so you get to know everyone quite soon. You feel really welcome straight away.The staff a friendly and helpful 24/7.The nights out organized by the hostel are really fun and include lots of free drinks! I would recommend this hostel to everyone, who wants to have a great time in sydney, it really feels like a little family there.

Disliked: Nothing actually....

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good organised nights out.

Disliked: Having No money left after organised nights out.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability