We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel | 87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

89.9% Overall Rating

372 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2015)

"Really enjoyed my stay here. Amazing staff and atmostphere. I'll definately be staying here again soon!"

Read all Blue Parrot Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.15

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Jolly Swagman Backpackers
25.09 USD

Hostel 76.6% 205 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
18.64 USD

Hostel 75.7% 178 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
19.36 USD

Hostel 73.3% 325 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
12.91 USD

Hostel 75.7% 494 reviews
Kanga House
14.34 USD

Hostel 59.9% 101 reviews
Brados Backpackers
12.91 USD

Hostel 65.7% 20 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
16.49 USD

Hostel 80.9% 116 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
19.36 USD

Hostel 84.5% 735 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

372 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Parrot Backpackers'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 328 of 350 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Clairalyn Baucom

28 February 2010 Clairalyn would recommend this property

Liked: The property was smaller in general which made it easier to interact with people as opposed to some of the larger facilites. It had character also. We didn't get to use the courthouse much since it rained frequently while I was there. It was clean although because it was an older building there were the usual dents and dings in the walls. The free wireless access was a huge plus as well.

Disliked: Clairalyn left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly, helpful, respectful staff that treat you like a paying customer and not a backpacker. Good location for easy access to the city. The kitchen was disappointing - poorly equiped and very small and the beer seemed to have preference in the fridge over peoples food.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wat i liked bout bout this place was how frendly the staff were and you couldnt meet a nicer bunch of people all the people were there were really nice i would recomand this place to any one travelin on ther owna and for people who want to have a greath time in sydney

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nadine Spitteler

13 February 2010 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: nice and friendly staff. feels like comming home. good book exchange, free interent. nice backyard for breakfast. we very much liked it here .

Disliked: Nadine left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 January 2010

Liked: I found a few of the facilities here a bit annoying the internet for example we could use for about 5-6 hours a day then I would find that it would be switched off for several different reasons and just found it too unliable. I would rather pay for it and definatly be able to use it when I wanted. I found that it was OK in cleanliness not the cleanest place Ive ever been but definatly could be improved upon. I found it difficult to clean the bathroom as the mops provided werent exactly the best and were already wet so I found it a bit of a pointless exercise. The location I found excellent really close to town and was a really pleasent walk to the attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ian Barber

16 January 2010 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: I spent Christmas and New Year in this hostel, I liked the place so much I stayed even longer! Great staff, relaxed environment, and comfortable beds. Excellent.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Benjamin Hanglin

15 January 2010 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great sociable vibe in hostel. Cleaned daily. Comfortable place.Small kitchen, can get crowded. Internet limited and sometimes doesn't work. Kings Cross can be a bit seedy, just keep head down. Hostel quite expensive, but nothing is cheap in Sydney..

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's like a huge family there. Such a great place to meet people, and there's always something going on. Close to Kings Cross so you can go out, but not so close you're woken up every night by people outside. I loved it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine King

08 January 2010 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay, slightly dodgy area, wouldn't recommend girls walking around there alone at night. But the walk through the botanical gardens was beautiful and really nice way to get to the city centre. Was sociable but also quiet if you needed sleep. Thanks!

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emma Mayou

06 January 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Its a relatively small hostel meaning you meet more people and stay friends with more people. The entertainment manager coordinates good nights out for people in the hostel as a group. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. The facilities are good and cleaned daily. The beds are comfortable although the rooms a little warm when the weather is hot. I had an excellent stay and really enjoyed my time in sydney starting from a great welcome at this hostel. Thanks guys and girls! Gna miss the place and the friends I have made there! :0) X

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Verghese George

28 December 2009 Verghese would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean, staff friendly, inmates fun.

Disliked: Verghese left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

DAVID LEWIS

26 December 2009 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place to meet peolpe, Very welcoming and great atmosphere!!! Freindly and helpfull staff! good court yard to chill out and lots of nights out, and great location. I stayed 4 weeks longer than i first intended. so it must be good.

Disliked: DAVID left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Laham

21 December 2009 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place to stay. The staff knew quite a bit about the area which as i've learned through my travels isn't required....But Blue Parrot Backpackers is highly recommended.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

DJORDI DE FLO

12 December 2009 DJORDI would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff! Bit crowdy at times but huge atmosphere.Internet connection turned off from time to time.nice place

Disliked: DJORDI left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marina Condo

01 December 2009 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: People very friendly. alot of people staying longer that a couple of weeks.

Disliked: Marina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saumitra Basu

30 November 2009 Saumitra would recommend this property

Liked: Great little hostel in a trendy part of town. Staff were really cool and helpful. Courtyard out the back was a nice place to meet people and chat the hours away.Would definietly recommend this hostel and would stay again.Thanks!

Disliked: Saumitra left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Neil Jones

04 November 2009 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: This is an incredibly easy place to meet people. The common room is comfortable and cosy and Woolworths is 30 seconds away. The staff were hugely helpful, very friendly and a lot of fun. The halloween party was fantastic. Top hostel!

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Max Stenning

15 October 2009 Max would recommend this property

Liked: This family orientated business has that homely feel to it. Given that there is just over a 50 bed capacity, meeting and socializing with other backpackers is really easy. Very helpful staff is always there to offer excellent service and advice on many areas of Sydney dining, sight seeing, clubbing, daytime activities and much much more. Given the hostels location, everything you need is 2 – 5 minutes walk away in the local kings cross area. Sydney city is 10 – 15 minutes walk away via the Botanic Gardens, which I think is one of Sydney’s most beautiful open areas, where you can also walk past the Opera house and take in some breath taking scenery. Of all the hostels I have stayed in over the last 12 months of travelling Australia, the Blue parrot is one of my favourite. Definitely will be going back, so should you!

Disliked: Max left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

anjuru krishnan mohan

25 September 2009 anjuru krishnan would recommend this property

Liked: great location.

Disliked: anjuru krishnan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stephan Poser

19 September 2009 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to meet people, good location (good in terms of backpackers: cheap food and loads of places to party around .. if you don't mind the girly-bars and hookers on the street a couple of blocks away)Nice backyard to hang out, even though you're not allowed to use it after 10pm :/Rather expensive.

Disliked: Stephan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dong Hun Han

14 September 2009 Dong Hun would recommend this property

Liked: Good location (in King's Cross) and about a 15 minute walk into the center of Sydney. Kristina was great (very friendly and helpful) and the atmosphere was nice and laid back. Really easy to meet people. I'd easily recommend this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: Dong Hun left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: closeness to city centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN!! no bed bugs. i was verry happy with that.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can't say enough about this hostel, if you're looking for somewhere friendly, cosy, clean and safe to stay then this is the only place in sydney! The staff are excellent, the location is fantastic (right on the cusp of kings cross, the best night life in sydney) and only 10 minutes walk into the city through the beautiful botanical gardens. The hostel itself is really clean, secure and friendly so ideal if you're travelling alone like me or just wanting to meet new people, it has free internet/wifi and a huge widescreen TV so you can chill in the comfort of the lounge. I've travelled all over the world and stayed in numerous hostels and this is by far the best i've come across! My only word of warning... watch out as you might end up staying there much, much longer than you originally planned!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels