We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel | 87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

90.9% Overall Rating

367 out of 403 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/11/2014)

Michael Nordstrom thinks…

"Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Hostel was clean and location was great. Definitely recommended."

Read all Blue Parrot Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only. TERMS & CONDITIONS FOR NEW YEAR'S EVE PERIOD 26 DEC - 06 JAN. Minimum stay 10 nights. All bookings staying on any dates between 26 Dec.- 06 Jan (inclusive) will be charged in full via the credit card provided on the 1st December. Your booking will be acknowledged but not confirmed until the payment has been processed. This is a non-refundable and non-transferable booking. NO REFUNDS. Credit cards payments incur a 2.5% surcharge. Please note these terms & conditions supersede any other terms & conditions contained on this or any other website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.19 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews
Macleay Lodge
39.30 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 46 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
27.07 USD

Hostel 76.7% 170 reviews
Challis Lodge
30.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.9% 17 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
28.82 USD

Hostel 73.3% 322 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
21.83 USD

Hostel 74.3% 477 reviews
Springfield Lodge
55.90 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Kanga House
34.93 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

367 out of 403 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Parrot Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 345 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 January 2010

Liked: I found a few of the facilities here a bit annoying the internet for example we could use for about 5-6 hours a day then I would find that it would be switched off for several different reasons and just found it too unliable. I would rather pay for it and definatly be able to use it when I wanted. I found that it was OK in cleanliness not the cleanest place Ive ever been but definatly could be improved upon. I found it difficult to clean the bathroom as the mops provided werent exactly the best and were already wet so I found it a bit of a pointless exercise. The location I found excellent really close to town and was a really pleasent walk to the attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ian Barber

16 January 2010 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: I spent Christmas and New Year in this hostel, I liked the place so much I stayed even longer! Great staff, relaxed environment, and comfortable beds. Excellent.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Benjamin Hanglin

15 January 2010 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great sociable vibe in hostel. Cleaned daily. Comfortable place.Small kitchen, can get crowded. Internet limited and sometimes doesn't work. Kings Cross can be a bit seedy, just keep head down. Hostel quite expensive, but nothing is cheap in Sydney..

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's like a huge family there. Such a great place to meet people, and there's always something going on. Close to Kings Cross so you can go out, but not so close you're woken up every night by people outside. I loved it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine King

08 January 2010 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay, slightly dodgy area, wouldn't recommend girls walking around there alone at night. But the walk through the botanical gardens was beautiful and really nice way to get to the city centre. Was sociable but also quiet if you needed sleep. Thanks!

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emma Mayou

06 January 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Its a relatively small hostel meaning you meet more people and stay friends with more people. The entertainment manager coordinates good nights out for people in the hostel as a group. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. The facilities are good and cleaned daily. The beds are comfortable although the rooms a little warm when the weather is hot. I had an excellent stay and really enjoyed my time in sydney starting from a great welcome at this hostel. Thanks guys and girls! Gna miss the place and the friends I have made there! :0) X

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Verghese George

28 December 2009 Verghese would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean, staff friendly, inmates fun.

Disliked: Verghese left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

DAVID LEWIS

26 December 2009 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place to meet peolpe, Very welcoming and great atmosphere!!! Freindly and helpfull staff! good court yard to chill out and lots of nights out, and great location. I stayed 4 weeks longer than i first intended. so it must be good.

Disliked: DAVID left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Laham

21 December 2009 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place to stay. The staff knew quite a bit about the area which as i've learned through my travels isn't required....But Blue Parrot Backpackers is highly recommended.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

DJORDI DE FLO

12 December 2009 DJORDI would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff! Bit crowdy at times but huge atmosphere.Internet connection turned off from time to time.nice place

Disliked: DJORDI left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marina Condo

01 December 2009 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: People very friendly. alot of people staying longer that a couple of weeks.

Disliked: Marina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saumitra Basu

30 November 2009 Saumitra would recommend this property

Liked: Great little hostel in a trendy part of town. Staff were really cool and helpful. Courtyard out the back was a nice place to meet people and chat the hours away.Would definietly recommend this hostel and would stay again.Thanks!

Disliked: Saumitra left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Neil Jones

04 November 2009 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: This is an incredibly easy place to meet people. The common room is comfortable and cosy and Woolworths is 30 seconds away. The staff were hugely helpful, very friendly and a lot of fun. The halloween party was fantastic. Top hostel!

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Max Stenning

15 October 2009 Max would recommend this property

Liked: This family orientated business has that homely feel to it. Given that there is just over a 50 bed capacity, meeting and socializing with other backpackers is really easy. Very helpful staff is always there to offer excellent service and advice on many areas of Sydney dining, sight seeing, clubbing, daytime activities and much much more. Given the hostels location, everything you need is 2 – 5 minutes walk away in the local kings cross area. Sydney city is 10 – 15 minutes walk away via the Botanic Gardens, which I think is one of Sydney’s most beautiful open areas, where you can also walk past the Opera house and take in some breath taking scenery. Of all the hostels I have stayed in over the last 12 months of travelling Australia, the Blue parrot is one of my favourite. Definitely will be going back, so should you!

Disliked: Max left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

anjuru krishnan mohan

25 September 2009 anjuru krishnan would recommend this property

Liked: great location.

Disliked: anjuru krishnan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stephan Poser

19 September 2009 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to meet people, good location (good in terms of backpackers: cheap food and loads of places to party around .. if you don't mind the girly-bars and hookers on the street a couple of blocks away)Nice backyard to hang out, even though you're not allowed to use it after 10pm :/Rather expensive.

Disliked: Stephan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dong Hun Han

14 September 2009 Dong Hun would recommend this property

Liked: Good location (in King's Cross) and about a 15 minute walk into the center of Sydney. Kristina was great (very friendly and helpful) and the atmosphere was nice and laid back. Really easy to meet people. I'd easily recommend this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: Dong Hun left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: closeness to city centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN!! no bed bugs. i was verry happy with that.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can't say enough about this hostel, if you're looking for somewhere friendly, cosy, clean and safe to stay then this is the only place in sydney! The staff are excellent, the location is fantastic (right on the cusp of kings cross, the best night life in sydney) and only 10 minutes walk into the city through the beautiful botanical gardens. The hostel itself is really clean, secure and friendly so ideal if you're travelling alone like me or just wanting to meet new people, it has free internet/wifi and a huge widescreen TV so you can chill in the comfort of the lounge. I've travelled all over the world and stayed in numerous hostels and this is by far the best i've come across! My only word of warning... watch out as you might end up staying there much, much longer than you originally planned!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Porter

07 May 2009 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly friendly/social atmosphere...probably the best I have encountered.Free internet, free lockers in room (use your own lock)...

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Carr

04 May 2009 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Its a good place to meet people especially for single travelers. Good location for all main attractions and night life. Very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Feels more like a home than a hostel. Ideal for long term stay.

Disliked: Deborah left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ales Pokora

01 March 2009 Ales would recommend this property

Liked: people

Disliked: Ales left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels