We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel | 87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

90.9% Overall Rating

367 out of 403 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/11/2014)

Michael Nordstrom thinks…

"Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Hostel was clean and location was great. Definitely recommended."

Read all Blue Parrot Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only. TERMS & CONDITIONS FOR NEW YEAR'S EVE PERIOD Special Event Booking - Terms & Conditions for New Year's Eve Period 26 Dec - 06 Jan. Minimum stay 7 nights. All bookings staying on any dates between 26 Dec.- 06 Jan (inclusive) will be charged in full on the 1st December using the credit card provided. Please make sure you have enough funds in your credit card account to cover this transaction. Your booking will be confirmed when payment has been processed. This is a non-refundable and non-transferable booking. Credit cards payments incur a 2.5% surcharge. Please note these terms & conditions supersede any other terms & conditions contained on this or any other website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.19 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews
Macleay Lodge
32.03 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 46 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
27.07 USD

Hostel 76.7% 170 reviews
Challis Lodge
30.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.9% 17 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
28.82 USD

Hostel 73.3% 322 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
21.83 USD

Hostel 74.3% 477 reviews
Springfield Lodge
52.84 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Kanga House
34.93 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

367 out of 403 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Parrot Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 345 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and neat. Double room strongly recommended. Dorm room for 10 people was a little bit crammed for my liking, but then again I haven't been in other hostels in Sydney so I am not the best judge...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Liam McGinley

14 June 2010 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for going out, but a 25min walk into city centre (bus and train nearby). Payment by cash only is a little strange even if it is $250! Great place to meet people as it is a small place. They shut up the relaxation areas a bit early so if you are not going out you either gather in the hall or call it a night. Kitchen is pointless absolutley nothing to use. The rooms are out of date and have a few too many people in them, but is manegable. It does get cleaned daily but is layered with old dirt. On the plus side the atmosphere is relaxed

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Rhodes

24 May 2010 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Blue Parrot Backpackers was the most welcoming hostel i have stayed at, i really felt at home here. The girls were so helpful, and everyone i met here was so friendly, everyone is included in everything! The facilities were really good and it is a very clean place! I would recommend this place to anybody, i will definately be coming back! It was a great way to start my trip in Australia!

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After researching and reading reviews for ages I decided on the Blue Parrot - and I'm so glad I did !! It's the best littel hostel I've stayed at during my one year travels around the world. Great location, staff and a lot of fun! thanks for a great stay guys.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It really is a great hostel! Fun atmosphere, clean & free high speed internet. Definitely good value for money. Would highly recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff. Good location.Clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I recommend this hostel to everybody who wants to meet people. After 3 nights at the Blue Parrot, I changed for a cheaper hostel, but ended up here again.. Very nice hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Melanie Callaway

26 April 2010 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here over NYE for almost 2 weeks, and absolutely loved it. It was the first place I stayed in when I arrived in Sydney, and it helped me feel at home/ease the nervousness of travelling alone. Got to know everyone styaing in the hostel, and we became a big family, with the hostel nights out being lots of fun! Would def return!

Disliked: Melanie left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Wood

09 April 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: It was so easy to meet people. On my first night I already felt welcomed. As it is so small it feels like one big family and the atmosphere is amazing! The courtyard is a great feature. We would just spend all night out there and the staff were brilliant! I love The Blue Parrot!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katie Reynolds

08 April 2010 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy to get to everywhere. A real homely feel, especially Mama Blue Parrot!!! Cleanliness was good, in the bedrooms and common rooms. We had an ensuite which was fab. Met lots of nice people, made easier by the good common areas. The only negative was that the internet wasn't consistent, and we only managed to get on once in the whole week - this wasn't too bad as there was a GlobalGossip shop round the corner which was good value for money. Would definitely recommend this hostel, and will stay here again when in Sydney.

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Josepha Reynolds

02 April 2010 Josepha would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and very relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: Josepha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very pleasant and helpful staff,good facilities!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel if you want to meet people with a good atmosphere. Good location, clean and safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really nice and neat hostel! Great place to meet people and everyone spends time together hanging out! The staff are extremely friendly and very helpful and made my stay very fun and enjoyable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to meet people really social because its smaller type of hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Palmer

02 March 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice communal hostel. Get given a good chance to mingle thanks to the setup of the place and met some great people there - which helps. Not a particularly new building but kept pretty clean. Location good - close to supermarket, train station, some good nightspots, and a pleasant walk to the harbour.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One Word: Amazing!If you're looking for a hostel with plenty of facilities (you know the ones, 'swimming pool', bar, that sort of thing) but don't care about meeting new people, then this is not the right place for you. On the other hand, if you'd rather stay in a place thats fun, friendly and a great place to meet other travellers, the Blue Parrot is for you!Its quite a small place, which gives it the feeling of staying in a big house, rather than a hostel which is fantastic. Great lounge and outdoor seating/drinking area too!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Clairalyn Baucom

28 February 2010 Clairalyn would recommend this property

Liked: The property was smaller in general which made it easier to interact with people as opposed to some of the larger facilites. It had character also. We didn't get to use the courthouse much since it rained frequently while I was there. It was clean although because it was an older building there were the usual dents and dings in the walls. The free wireless access was a huge plus as well.

Disliked: Clairalyn left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly, helpful, respectful staff that treat you like a paying customer and not a backpacker. Good location for easy access to the city. The kitchen was disappointing - poorly equiped and very small and the beer seemed to have preference in the fridge over peoples food.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wat i liked bout bout this place was how frendly the staff were and you couldnt meet a nicer bunch of people all the people were there were really nice i would recomand this place to any one travelin on ther owna and for people who want to have a greath time in sydney

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nadine Spitteler

13 February 2010 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: nice and friendly staff. feels like comming home. good book exchange, free interent. nice backyard for breakfast. we very much liked it here .

Disliked: Nadine left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels