HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel | 87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

90.5% Overall Rating

359 out of 395 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2014)

Rey Nijhove thinks…

"Friendly and helpful staff, garden with hammock, relaxed atmosphere, relatively, quiet, free wifi, central location outside the CBD, but with everything you need within walking distance. They are a…"

Read all Blue Parrot Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.67 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews
Macleay Lodge
31.49 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 45 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
24.32 USD

Hostel 73.9% 165 reviews
Challis Lodge
35.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.7% 16 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
28.06 USD

Hostel 71.9% 321 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
14.03 USD

Hostel 56.2% 452 reviews
Springfield Lodge
52.38 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Kanga House
28.06 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

359 out of 395 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Parrot Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 316 of 337 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Rooke-Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere,great people the staff and the travellers. Didn't want to leave. Great facilities great kitchen, comfy beds.Easy to get a good nights sleep. Highly recommend this one

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Reaveley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2010 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and helpful. They always organised night out as well. The atmosphere is great and it's a really good place to meet people

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had the best week in Sydney, mostly because of the people I met in the hostel. This is the best place to go if you're travelling alone. Other than that Blue Parrot also has a free internet and a great TV room. I can recommend this place to everyone, and the next time I'll go to Sydney I'm sure to stay at Blue Parrot again.

Disliked: Probably the toilets and showers could've been tidier, but honestly it wasn't too bad. :D

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Alden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

14 December 2010 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and people, great atmosphere, I would stay here again for sure if I'm back in Sydney. Keep up the good work, guys!

Disliked: I disliked that I couldn't stay longer!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel! We moved here from another hostel in Sydney and prefer Blue Parrot so much more. Very glad we moved. It is very clean, rooms cleaned daily. Well equiped kitchen, never seemed too busy. Has nice common room with sofas and sky tv to relax in - good place to chat to people too. Offers free internet which is a big plus as most places charge 1 dollar for 15 mins. Its in a quiet area, but bars and shops are really close by, and its only a metro ride into the CBD. I like that it is fairly small so feels homely, which is nice after travelling for a few months. Staff are really helpful and friendly. Would most definately return if in Sydney again.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic atmosphere and a very cosy feeling to the place, easy place to meet people..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Evans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The people and the location, definitely a place where everyone hangs out together, very accommodating. Love the courtyard too, I spend so many hours there chatting, in fact im still here now typing this review. AWESOME

Disliked: Maybe a little less space in rooms than in other hostels Ive stayed, but its no biggie. I also wanted to stay longer but was fully booked, but thats what you get for being an awesome hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

11 November 2010 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and relaxed environment, lovely staff and great location, great place to meet people

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is one of the best.

Disliked: It is not clean. The bathroom def needs a rebuild.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Webster

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 October 2010 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about the hostel It feel's very homely & safe, it is a great place to meet people because it is small but not too small for comfort. The rooms are great with comfy beds and enough space for each person who is in the room. Overall great a hostel.

Disliked: There is nothing I dont like about this hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lee Dennis

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

07 October 2010 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Fun cozy hostel with friendly staff and cool common area

Disliked: small rooms, limited room for bags etc, also the beds wobbled

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Lindsay

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 October 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great social atmosphere, no problems with anything - staff made the whole experience smooth and problem free

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Carroll

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: The Blue Parrot is a great little hostel, close enough to the rail links but far away enough from the action so that the noise doesn't keep you awake at night even though it's within easy walking distance. The hostel is clean and the beds are comfy with a wealth of information and pamphlets available at reception and all staff and lodgers seem very friendly and easy going. There is a very friendly atmosphere that you feel as you walk in and you feel instantly welcome. It also has a very communal feel with a nice lounge, kitchen and garden area to hang out in and socialize.I wouldn't say that this is a 'party hostel' but with all the great bars and clubs a short distance away does it really need to be? I'd definitely recommend this hostel to others, and I've extended my stay for another week.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2010

Liked: Good: Mattresses, free internet, full-on cable TV.

Disliked: Bad: If you're a long-termer and/or worker, then you fit in. If you're there for a few days, you don't count. In addition, because of the old character of the building, the walls/floors are naturally thin - and noise carries well, which will be evident between midnight and 7 AM when the drunks leave/come back home.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Streich

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

30 July 2010 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: As a backpacker you meet a lot of people, but you rarely make REAL friends. The Blue Parrot is the first hostel, which allowed me to meet fantastic people who became friends and what I consider family now.Effie, Sasha, John and Joe make you feel right at home and after a while you don't want to leave. I've been staying there for a long time and I saw a lot of awesome people leave, but they all came back at some point and they all confirm: The Blue Parrot was the highlight of their Australia adventure!On top of that it has the ideal location close to all the partying and the city. It offers everything a backpacker would need like internet, a tv room, a goon bar and even a dog!

Disliked: Kim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Madeleine Barker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010 Madeleine would recommend this property

Liked: If your a solo backpacker this place if for you. I was meant to stay at the Blue Parrot for 4 days, I ended up staying a total of 3 months almost. The parrot is not a hostel its a home the staff are amazing (john and joe cannot be beat they are awesome) it is in the best party location, so close to public transporation. Nothing bad can be said about the Blue Parrot.

Disliked: Madeleine left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marc Borgia

17 June 2010 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was awesome. great people and very chilled.

Disliked: Marc left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and neat. Double room strongly recommended. Dorm room for 10 people was a little bit crammed for my liking, but then again I haven't been in other hostels in Sydney so I am not the best judge...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Liam McGinley

14 June 2010 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for going out, but a 25min walk into city centre (bus and train nearby). Payment by cash only is a little strange even if it is $250! Great place to meet people as it is a small place. They shut up the relaxation areas a bit early so if you are not going out you either gather in the hall or call it a night. Kitchen is pointless absolutley nothing to use. The rooms are out of date and have a few too many people in them, but is manegable. It does get cleaned daily but is layered with old dirt. On the plus side the atmosphere is relaxed

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Rhodes

24 May 2010 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Blue Parrot Backpackers was the most welcoming hostel i have stayed at, i really felt at home here. The girls were so helpful, and everyone i met here was so friendly, everyone is included in everything! The facilities were really good and it is a very clean place! I would recommend this place to anybody, i will definately be coming back! It was a great way to start my trip in Australia!

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After researching and reading reviews for ages I decided on the Blue Parrot - and I'm so glad I did !! It's the best littel hostel I've stayed at during my one year travels around the world. Great location, staff and a lot of fun! thanks for a great stay guys.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It really is a great hostel! Fun atmosphere, clean & free high speed internet. Definitely good value for money. Would highly recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff. Good location.Clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I recommend this hostel to everybody who wants to meet people. After 3 nights at the Blue Parrot, I changed for a cheaper hostel, but ended up here again.. Very nice hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Melanie Callaway

26 April 2010 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here over NYE for almost 2 weeks, and absolutely loved it. It was the first place I stayed in when I arrived in Sydney, and it helped me feel at home/ease the nervousness of travelling alone. Got to know everyone styaing in the hostel, and we became a big family, with the hostel nights out being lots of fun! Would def return!

Disliked: Melanie left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels