HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers Sydney Hostel

87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.41USD

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 84%

Showing 61-30 of 30 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: It is clean, perfect location for sydneys nightlife, staff are very friendly, great atmosphere ( good for people travelling alone) is one of the best hostiles that ive stayed at

Disliked: i payed 37 dollars a night, which is quite a lot for a backpacker, however you get value for the money

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The sisters that run the hostel are amazing people. They make you feel extremely welcome. The hostel itself has a great atmosphere, it's very relaxed and offers the best of both worlds with nightly bar trips planned and with the option to just chill and watch a movie/tv.

Disliked: The building itself is older, the bathrooms and bunk beds are showing their age slightly, but they kept very clean and are still quite good.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Blue Parrot is a great hostel! It's a perfect place to meet many friendly, young, open-minded people from around the world. The staff is great and super helpful. They organize outings every night and can help you book sightseeing tours to many great places around Sydney.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: they have free wi fi and a good location.

Disliked: the rooms smell bad some times.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Bonjour Felipe,
Thank you for staying with us at the Parrot.
We are happy that you liked our location and the free Wi-Fi, it certainly saved you lots of money. Our rooms are cleaned and deodorized every single day including weekends. You shared the room with other people and may be one one of them had smelly shoes.
We encourage guests to place their smelly shoes in a plastic bag and place them in the lockers provide free of charge.
Have a great time the rest of your trip.

Cheers, BP crew

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I loved the atmosphere here - especially if you are by yourself you will easily make friends here! Staff are extremely helpful and always makes sure everyone is involved in their organised nights out/ BBQs etc! Would recommend this place to everyone that I know and if I come back to Sydney again I will be staying here! Awesome Lounge/ Community area where you can chill and socialise with everyone else!Free wifi too also saves you A LOT of money :-)

Disliked: Nothing - I couldn't recommend this place highly enough!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff is great and helpful. The place is very well located and the staff will show you all the things to see and do. They also offer different deals and discount for various places around Sydney.

Disliked: The bunk beds need some work. I was on the top bunk for a few nights and it was moving. The Hostel is clean in the public areas however in my opinion the bathrooms and my room were not what I expected. I will still go back mainly due to the staff and the atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, clean facilities.. Nothing to complain about.

Disliked: Maybe they could get one more fridge and some new pans, that's it:-)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was the best hostel I stayed at while in Australia, I arrived to be greeted by two amazing smiles (Sasha and Effie), it seemed they were pleased to see their guest rather than some other hostels. Hostel was clean and tidy. Arranged trips for me (one day I phoned Effie up and she booked the trip for me). Location is good about 5 mins from Kings Cross. They organise nightly trips out so really good if you are travelling alone. Massive TV, Free Wi-FI 24/7

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Organised activities every night :D Super friendly staff/clientele, Awesome location, relaxed atmosphere and good variety of travellers

Disliked: Only negative was the showers, hard to get them to stay at one temperature for more than 10 seconds.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's true from the other reviews - the staff is the best!! Sisters Effie and Sasha are great and they have hired exceptional help in Sarah, Doug, Josh and others!! You will have a good time at the Blue Parrot NO.MATTER.WHAT.book it!Thanks BP!!!

Disliked: just hot and stuffy at times... wish the backyard was open later :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Grace, Thanks so much for the review :-) We also wish the courtyard would stay open a bit longer but council regulations require us to close it by 10pm. On the positive side it does get everyone up and out into the parties in kings cross otherwise they'd be sitting there all night haha! x

Check Availability