We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel | 87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

90.7% Overall Rating

366 out of 402 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Patrick Kelly thinks…

"I really enjoyed staying here. It was not for very long, as it was just an extended holiday after a work event, and I was not in the hostel much more than for sleeping as I toured the city as much as…"

Read all Blue Parrot Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only. TERMS & CONDITIONS FOR NEW YEAR'S EVE PERIOD 26 DEC - 06 JAN. Minimum stay 10 nights. All bookings staying on any dates between 26 Dec.- 06 Jan (inclusive) will be charged in full via the credit card provided on the 1st December. Your booking will be acknowledged but not confirmed until the payment has been processed. This is a non-refundable and non-transferable booking. NO REFUNDS. Credit cards payments incur a 2.5% surcharge. Please note these terms & conditions supersede any other terms & conditions contained on this or any other website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Jolly Swagman Backpackers
32.41 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews
Macleay Lodge
26.28 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 46 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
21.90 USD

Hostel 75.9% 169 reviews
Challis Lodge
30.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.9% 17 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
27.15 USD

Hostel 73.3% 322 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
14.89 USD

Hostel 73.9% 475 reviews
Springfield Lodge
56.94 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Kanga House
26.28 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

366 out of 402 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Parrot Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 323 of 344 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We cannot rave enough about this place -the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, with lots of tips on the area. The free internet is a great bonus! A genuinely great vibe about the place - the friendliest hostel we've stayed in and by far the easiest one to make friends.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sophie Parrott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: easy to meet people and fun

Disliked: not much to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Talia Mallory-Thulin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Talia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how comfortable this place was, I enjoyed it a lot

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011

Liked: the people were friendly and like to talk

Disliked: no hot water!!!! when i arrived at 10:20 they said i have to wait about 30 min, after 40 mins i came and my bed hadn't been ready yet. the room is next to buzy road so i cant sleep quitely

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere

Disliked: 10 bed dorms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikki Somerset

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2011 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, and super-friendly and helpful staff who really go above and beyond. It's not often the staff remember everyone by name! A great social hub, if you're travelling alone, you're never far away from an offer to do something in the city or for a night out. No scrimping on cleaning - the carpets were done while I was there. Comfy beds with good linen - bring your own towel.

Disliked: Pity it's a bit small to have single rooms, but then again in this case (contrary to popular male belief) the small size is the attraction.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Cacace

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: as an experienced traveler I would throughly recommend the Blue Parrot for your stay in Sydney. The overall atmosphere of the hostel is unmatched. The Blue Parrot provides an experience like no other. It's full of backpackers that have "done their homework" and are looking for a clean, well located hostel with all the amenities that you would expect (clean showers, bedding, well informed staff, patio, full kitchen, TV, free Internet and great people). I can't say enough about this hostel and it's location in the heart of Sydney (5 min walk to Botanical Gardens, 20 mins to Opera House and Circuler Quay) I plan to return on my way back down the coast. I've stayed in 20+ hostels around the world and this is far and away the best of them all.

Disliked: I had to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and friendly people

Disliked: nothings

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saul Bassanello

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

21 February 2011 Saul would recommend this property

Liked: it's a fun place to stay, loads of activities planned for you, family-like atmosphere and very helpful staff.

Disliked: maybe an extra bathroom would be good. but all in all it's not bad!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2011

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful, received a map on arrival and the shuttle bus to and from the airport was easy.

Disliked: Not good value for the money, we stayed in a ten bed dorm which was cramped and too hot. There were two small fans at either end of the room which on top bunks had no effect. I woke up to a cockroach next to my head one morning! Also, one of the downstairs sofas had bed bugs crawling over it...beware! This hostel is good for 18yr old on a gap from uni but not for anyone older it seems, we felt very out of place as it felt like it was full of kids! People brought drink into the rooms where somehow my backpack got covered in wine. We should have payed the extra and stayed somewhere else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abel Arredondo

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 Abel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, The staff is really friendly, they help you with everthing, everthing was really good actually, i am really happy with the place.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Caroline Lawrence

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: As a solo traveller, I booked this hostel after reading reviews about the friendly atmosphere and was very happy with my experience. There is a communal TV room, as well as an outside courtyard, where it is very easy to meet new people. The reception staff are so helpful, offering advice and to book tours/transport etc for you, and treat you like a friend from the minute you arrive.

Disliked: The dorm room looked out over quite a busy road, which made it noisy to keep the windows open, but it was very hot with them closed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the courtyard out back was extremely good for meeting people. everyone congregated there in the evenings and then we'd all go out to one bar or another. even if you weren't going out it was a good place to hang out and chat. got to meet and make friends with a lot of other backpackers. great for the solo adventurer, but not exclusively.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Go there!!

Disliked: --

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011

Liked: Very communal and friendly atmosphere. Small quarters encourage high levels of interaction with other travellers.

Disliked: Not nearly enough bathrooms, line-ups every morning, and a tiny kitchen with lineups for both cooking and washing up. The outside areas close at 10pm, and makes it feel quite claustrophobic.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place to stay if you want to meet people and are sticking around for a few days or more. Courtyard is lovely, staff are wonderful and the place is really homely and comfortable. Good location - Kings Cross is good for nights out and it's a 2 minute walk to the train station. You'll meet some really great people here. Just watch out for the McDonalds eating spider and curtain-twitcher James ;) Would recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people and party (so good if this is your thing). Staff also very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No air con (open windows onto main street so it was noisy), not much space in the rooms and kitchen, and a bug problem (left with lots of insect bites).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and lovely place.

Disliked: Wifi was off at night. Little free space for luggage and such in 10 bed dorm.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very easy to meet people, awesome staff

Disliked: it's not amazing for the price but it is a good little hostel to meet people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very comfortable and friendly!! Great for single travellers

Disliked: the wifi not being unlimited. ONLY complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica Wright

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere. Everyone was really friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do. I would definitely recommend it to other travelers, especially if they are on their own.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great atmosphere! Easy for independent travelers to meet others. Staff very friendly. Great location. Would recommend this to hostel to everyone!

Disliked: Liked everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

yuri haarman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 January 2011 yuri would recommend this property

Liked: small and homley

Disliked: it has a tv

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Camilla Beck Dahl Hansen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2011 Camilla Beck Dahl would recommend this property

Liked: A very clean hostel with a good atmosphere!

Disliked: There was a lot of noise from the street.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels