HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers Sydney

Hostel

87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.27USD

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 84%

Showing 51-38 of 38 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The service is good and the staff is overall genuinely helpful.

Disliked: The facilities are somewhat out of date with the kitchen beeing way to small and poorly planned. The showers and dorms could also benefit from an upgrade, especially the noisy beds.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey Paul, Just to let you know we've taken your suggestions on board and gave our bathrooms an upgrade last month and we are currently in the process of getting brand new bunk beds :-) Enjoy the rest of your travels! Cheers, Team Blue Parrot

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff - the best thing about this hostel, would answer any question and were always on hand. Free wifi. Showers were OK. If you like Kings Cross then this is a good location. Nearby supermarket and nice quirky shops. Kitchen was good and lounge area had nice comfy sofas and a fire, a good place to chat to other guests.

Disliked: Drunk guests getting back at 4am and later, waking the rest of the hostel up and carrying on the party for what seemed like ages, despite the signs saying no noise after a certain time. This went on for quite a few nights and they woke me up even though I had ear plugs in. No one seemed to say anything to these guests. I got to my next destination and slept so much because I hadn't had a decent nights sleep for quite some time. The bunk beds were pretty ricketing too. It's quite a "party hostel". Overall, this isn't a bad backpackers at all and I had a nice time, maybe best to stay a few nights and if you want something a little quieter and more scenic go and stop at Manly Beach for a few nights too.


The property's response is

Hi Louise, we don't have a curfew so we unfortunately cannot control what time our guests return from a night out. You say that no one said anything to these noisy guests however neither did you and we wished you had mentioned it to the staff so we could've done something about it and solved the problem. Wishing you peaceful travels. - Blue Parrot Team x

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: It has a very cosy / friendly atmosphere with all guests socializing together and taking weekend trips out as a collective, not as individual travellers, which is brilliant for solo travellers to get to know other people. Situated just around the corner from the main centre of activity in Kings Cross keeps the place easily accessible to a night out, but also extremely quiet at the same time after hours.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent place to meet other travellers! Staff are cool and go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. Internet wifi is free! Clean place and great location near public transport and an easy walk to the Opera house and the main attractions. You pay for what you get and this place is definitely worth it!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: All in all this is a great place to stay. Just outside of the hectic sphere of kings cross but close enough for awesome nights out. The managers working there are all really chilled out and friendly, making the place feel really homely. I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Sydney now.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Best hostel i came across in my Australian travels! They offer a discounted winter weekly rate and free internet (which is rare in Aus) so was good value if you´re on a budget. Clean and great staff i highly recommend it!

Disliked: liked all

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I was here at the end of the backpacking season, so the hostel was only half-full. I liked my roommates, the beds and facilities were clean and the staff was incredibly friendly. Also free wifi!

Disliked: It was a bit pricey, but this is Sydney; everything's a bit pricey here. That said, I did choose to stay in an upgraded room with a private bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: There was no curfew so people could party as much as they wanted to but there was strict no alcohol in the rooms and people were very respectful of sleeping times. Therefore you could party when you wanted to and sleep when you wanted to. They also have great free WiFi and two computers you can use so its easy to get online.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability