HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel | 87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

90.5% Overall Rating

359 out of 395 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2014)

Rey Nijhove thinks…

"Friendly and helpful staff, garden with hammock, relaxed atmosphere, relatively, quiet, free wifi, central location outside the CBD, but with everything you need within walking distance. They are a…"

Read all Blue Parrot Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.70 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews
Macleay Lodge
36.20 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 45 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
24.34 USD

Hostel 73.9% 165 reviews
Challis Lodge
35.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.7% 16 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
28.08 USD

Hostel 71.9% 321 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
14.04 USD

Hostel 56.2% 452 reviews
Springfield Lodge
52.42 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Kanga House
28.08 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

359 out of 395 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Parrot Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 316 of 337 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shermaine Heng

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 May 2011 Shermaine would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place to stay. Great location and everyone was really friendly. Definitely recommend to others! :)

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying in a hostel is a lot like making love to a beautiful woman. You want it to be clean, not too expensive, and definitely not too noisy at night. Luckily the Blue Parrot manages to fulfil every one of these needs. It's just far enough away from the madness of Kings Cross, but close enough for easy access after a box of goon. The staff rock socks, Chris, James (Gone but not forgotten), Effie and Sasha go out of their way to make sure you have a good time. Basically the best hostel in Sydney, sociable if you want it to be, chilled if you want a night in, I've stayed 3 times (soon to be 4) and recommend it wholeheartedly.

Disliked: Nawt.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jason core

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place all the staff and people staying there were brilliant. The arranged nights out with free drinks and entrance to bars and clubs was a great touch. Hopefully I'll find some more places as good as this on my travels but think it will be hard to beat! If you want an amazing experience in Sydney book the blue parrot.....now!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 April 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed here twice and have just loved it! I am going to miss it, its my favorite hostel by far. Effie and Sasha are great and very informative..I asked them loads of questions! Its a extremely friendly hostel and because of the close quarters you get to know people very fast. I have made life long friends here. Great night life, everyone meets up at night and goes out in a group, so no worries if you dont know anyone!

Disliked: Nothing I disliked. But it would be handy if there was a bike rental.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Anderson

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 April 2011 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was so welcoming and friendly, from the moment I arrived from my long haul flight. Met some really great people at the hostel, best hostel by far I stayed in in Australia!!

Disliked: Rooms a bit hot but could deal with it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Gatens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Great community atmosphere, clean rooms/bathrooms, excellent outdoor area, nice TV room, free wireless internet, amazingly helpful staff who actually interact with you and run events, etc. They aren't just staff, you become friends with them, and also with everyone else at the hostel. It's not just a place to stay, it becomes a home to you. Best hostel I've stayed at yet!

Disliked: No screens on the windows..and that's it really. Just go stay there, do it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alanna Tyler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Alanna would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people!

Disliked: The crowd is a bit younger than I anticipated

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tristan Lenczner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Tristan would recommend this property

Liked: Had a family feel to it. In most hostels you feel as though your just another guest who arrives and leaves but in Blue Parrot, every guest is made to feel as part of the family. Getting involved in all the hostel activities and becoming good friends with staff and other guests alike.

Disliked: Maybe a little bit pricy but in comparison to the general price of things in Sydney. Good deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: common room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Andlauer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The Blue Parrot is the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Everything is great. It is so easy to meet other people, because it is a small hostel. So be part of the "Blue Parrot Family" and have fun with all the other backpackers. The hostel is so beautiful, clean and safe and they have a really good programm like surf trips, free tours, games... If you have any problems, they will look after you! They all are really friendly. You have to stay in the Blue Parrot to enjoy Sydney. Try it out! It was always a pleasure. Thanks for the great time.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Svadjian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: I have been traveling for over one year, to every continent on the planet, stayed at plenty of different hostels. My stay at the Blue Parrot was by far the most fun, welcoming hostel I have stayed in....ANYWHERE!! Great location, AMAZING staff, outstanding atmosphere. Instantly walking in the door you feel like you become part of a traveling family. BEST HOSTEL IN AUSTRALIA..(possibly anywhere!)....hands down. Quite wasting your time reading reviews.....just book in here and prepare to enjoy Sydney........why are you still reading this?!?! GO!!!!!

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, good location: very short walk to kings cross bars, easy access to city centre, good vibe in the hostel: either chill in the lounge area watching tv/DVD, browse the Internet for free or sit out in the back having a few beers.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: A little dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephen Lue

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. The hostel is like a community and organizes activities (day and night). Easy place to meet people even if you are traveling alone. It is the place to stay if you want to have fun in Sydney. Located just far enough away from the nightlife so that it is safe and pleasant, but close enough for a easy short walk. Chris and James try to make sure that you enjoy being in Sydney.

Disliked: Asked to limit internet usage (no video chatting, picture uploads/downloads).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Thompson

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff, easy to meet people and very easy to get around Sydney from the hostel. Traveling alone it was very easy to find things to do and groups to do those things with.

Disliked: Wish there was A/C, but there were enough fans to cool the rooms down when it was hot out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the courtyard at the back is a really nice place to meet people who i'll be friends for life for. theres great entertainment thanx to chris n james n that and they really do a magnificent job of getting everyone to gel together. they should get promotions haha!

Disliked: not much really, sometimes rooms were hot but it is australian summer after all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stringer Alistair

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

10 March 2011 Stringer would recommend this property

Liked: BLUE PARROT = AMAZING. Had such a great time during my stay and it definitely lives up to its fantastic reviews. From the moment I arrived, I was greeted by the friendly staff who really make the Blue Parrot the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Its clean, close to the cross, excellent if you want to meet new people, and ideal if you want to party or have a quiet night in. Big love to Sasha and Effie!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED the Blue Parrot! The location was great with all Sydney’s major sights easily accessible. Staff kept everything running smoothly and cleanly. There’s a good balance between getting a quiet night’s sleep or heading out to party with everyone if you want to get involved! There’s also free internet which saved me a lot of dollars. Good value for money - my experience at the Blue Parrot was priceless!

Disliked: I liked everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We cannot rave enough about this place -the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, with lots of tips on the area. The free internet is a great bonus! A genuinely great vibe about the place - the friendliest hostel we've stayed in and by far the easiest one to make friends.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sophie Parrott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: easy to meet people and fun

Disliked: not much to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Talia Mallory-Thulin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Talia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how comfortable this place was, I enjoyed it a lot

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011

Liked: the people were friendly and like to talk

Disliked: no hot water!!!! when i arrived at 10:20 they said i have to wait about 30 min, after 40 mins i came and my bed hadn't been ready yet. the room is next to buzy road so i cant sleep quitely

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere

Disliked: 10 bed dorms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikki Somerset

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2011 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, and super-friendly and helpful staff who really go above and beyond. It's not often the staff remember everyone by name! A great social hub, if you're travelling alone, you're never far away from an offer to do something in the city or for a night out. No scrimping on cleaning - the carpets were done while I was there. Comfy beds with good linen - bring your own towel.

Disliked: Pity it's a bit small to have single rooms, but then again in this case (contrary to popular male belief) the small size is the attraction.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Cacace

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: as an experienced traveler I would throughly recommend the Blue Parrot for your stay in Sydney. The overall atmosphere of the hostel is unmatched. The Blue Parrot provides an experience like no other. It's full of backpackers that have "done their homework" and are looking for a clean, well located hostel with all the amenities that you would expect (clean showers, bedding, well informed staff, patio, full kitchen, TV, free Internet and great people). I can't say enough about this hostel and it's location in the heart of Sydney (5 min walk to Botanical Gardens, 20 mins to Opera House and Circuler Quay) I plan to return on my way back down the coast. I've stayed in 20+ hostels around the world and this is far and away the best of them all.

Disliked: I had to leave


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels