We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel | 87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

90.9% Overall Rating

367 out of 403 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/11/2014)

Michael Nordstrom thinks…

"Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Hostel was clean and location was great. Definitely recommended."

Read all Blue Parrot Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only. TERMS & CONDITIONS FOR NEW YEAR'S EVE PERIOD 26 DEC - 06 JAN. Minimum stay 10 nights. All bookings staying on any dates between 26 Dec.- 06 Jan (inclusive) will be charged in full via the credit card provided on the 1st December. Your booking will be acknowledged but not confirmed until the payment has been processed. This is a non-refundable and non-transferable booking. NO REFUNDS. Credit cards payments incur a 2.5% surcharge. Please note these terms & conditions supersede any other terms & conditions contained on this or any other website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.19 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews
Macleay Lodge
39.30 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 46 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
27.07 USD

Hostel 76.7% 170 reviews
Challis Lodge
30.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.9% 17 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
28.82 USD

Hostel 73.3% 322 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
16.59 USD

Hostel 74.3% 477 reviews
Springfield Lodge
70.31 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Kanga House
34.93 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

367 out of 403 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Parrot Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 345 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Van Overloop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 June 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place to meet people if you're a single traveller.

Disliked: /

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gary Sayers

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

22 June 2011 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and atmosphere, definitely recommend. Plus access to the CBD was good, but with nice bars in the area, perfect! Plus good internet connection, fast and reliable!

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Randolf Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2011 Randolf would recommend this property

Liked: It is situated in one of the best parts of Sydney, with close walks to many of the majors attractions. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and it is a great place to meet like-minded travelers. I really enjoyed my stay and don't be afraid to ask the staff of places to visit, they have great ideas.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carolyn LeFeuvre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds, great place to meet new friends especially if you are travelling by yourself.

Disliked: The bathrooms are small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lara Dose

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing. I arrived there on my own at night. I wanted to get a shower, but I forgot my hair tryer. Chris, the nice guy at the reception asked one of the girls and they borrowed me their hair tryer. He told me what to do in Sydney and asked me if I would like to go out with the others. That was great, because I don't like going out in a foreign city on my own. Everybody waited for me to get ready and we 8girls and 5 guys started in the night. It felt like a family and Chris always tried to keep everything clean. Each night there are some things all do together, from cocktail night, quiz night and mario cart to movie night and so on. I would go back to Sydney just because of that great atmosphere in there. They were really helpful and nice! Definitively recommended and the best hostel I have ever been to!

Disliked: I liked it too much to find anything bad!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly and welcoming staff; great location that's near King's Cross and nightlife.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amy Lawrence

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing. Chris spent a lot of time helping me to get acquainted with where things are in the city and what do see and do- oh, and the pub quiz night he organized was really fun!

Disliked: The rooms are bit crowded.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All staff but especially James were incredibly helpful, the location was ideal for drinks in Kings Cross but was far enough out now to be on top of the seedy-ness of it all and was only a 10min walk to the opera house and the bridge. Its an ideal place to meet people as well!

Disliked: I guess the constant hi-de-hi! The entertainment guy was lovely but did ram it down everyone's throat...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shermaine Heng

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 May 2011 Shermaine would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place to stay. Great location and everyone was really friendly. Definitely recommend to others! :)

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying in a hostel is a lot like making love to a beautiful woman. You want it to be clean, not too expensive, and definitely not too noisy at night. Luckily the Blue Parrot manages to fulfil every one of these needs. It's just far enough away from the madness of Kings Cross, but close enough for easy access after a box of goon. The staff rock socks, Chris, James (Gone but not forgotten), Effie and Sasha go out of their way to make sure you have a good time. Basically the best hostel in Sydney, sociable if you want it to be, chilled if you want a night in, I've stayed 3 times (soon to be 4) and recommend it wholeheartedly.

Disliked: Nawt.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jason core

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place all the staff and people staying there were brilliant. The arranged nights out with free drinks and entrance to bars and clubs was a great touch. Hopefully I'll find some more places as good as this on my travels but think it will be hard to beat! If you want an amazing experience in Sydney book the blue parrot.....now!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 April 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed here twice and have just loved it! I am going to miss it, its my favorite hostel by far. Effie and Sasha are great and very informative..I asked them loads of questions! Its a extremely friendly hostel and because of the close quarters you get to know people very fast. I have made life long friends here. Great night life, everyone meets up at night and goes out in a group, so no worries if you dont know anyone!

Disliked: Nothing I disliked. But it would be handy if there was a bike rental.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Anderson

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 April 2011 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was so welcoming and friendly, from the moment I arrived from my long haul flight. Met some really great people at the hostel, best hostel by far I stayed in in Australia!!

Disliked: Rooms a bit hot but could deal with it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Gatens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Great community atmosphere, clean rooms/bathrooms, excellent outdoor area, nice TV room, free wireless internet, amazingly helpful staff who actually interact with you and run events, etc. They aren't just staff, you become friends with them, and also with everyone else at the hostel. It's not just a place to stay, it becomes a home to you. Best hostel I've stayed at yet!

Disliked: No screens on the windows..and that's it really. Just go stay there, do it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alanna Tyler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Alanna would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people!

Disliked: The crowd is a bit younger than I anticipated

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tristan Lenczner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Tristan would recommend this property

Liked: Had a family feel to it. In most hostels you feel as though your just another guest who arrives and leaves but in Blue Parrot, every guest is made to feel as part of the family. Getting involved in all the hostel activities and becoming good friends with staff and other guests alike.

Disliked: Maybe a little bit pricy but in comparison to the general price of things in Sydney. Good deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: common room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Andlauer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The Blue Parrot is the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Everything is great. It is so easy to meet other people, because it is a small hostel. So be part of the "Blue Parrot Family" and have fun with all the other backpackers. The hostel is so beautiful, clean and safe and they have a really good programm like surf trips, free tours, games... If you have any problems, they will look after you! They all are really friendly. You have to stay in the Blue Parrot to enjoy Sydney. Try it out! It was always a pleasure. Thanks for the great time.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Svadjian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: I have been traveling for over one year, to every continent on the planet, stayed at plenty of different hostels. My stay at the Blue Parrot was by far the most fun, welcoming hostel I have stayed in....ANYWHERE!! Great location, AMAZING staff, outstanding atmosphere. Instantly walking in the door you feel like you become part of a traveling family. BEST HOSTEL IN AUSTRALIA..(possibly anywhere!)....hands down. Quite wasting your time reading reviews.....just book in here and prepare to enjoy Sydney........why are you still reading this?!?! GO!!!!!

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, good location: very short walk to kings cross bars, easy access to city centre, good vibe in the hostel: either chill in the lounge area watching tv/DVD, browse the Internet for free or sit out in the back having a few beers.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: A little dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephen Lue

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. The hostel is like a community and organizes activities (day and night). Easy place to meet people even if you are traveling alone. It is the place to stay if you want to have fun in Sydney. Located just far enough away from the nightlife so that it is safe and pleasant, but close enough for a easy short walk. Chris and James try to make sure that you enjoy being in Sydney.

Disliked: Asked to limit internet usage (no video chatting, picture uploads/downloads).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Thompson

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff, easy to meet people and very easy to get around Sydney from the hostel. Traveling alone it was very easy to find things to do and groups to do those things with.

Disliked: Wish there was A/C, but there were enough fans to cool the rooms down when it was hot out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the courtyard at the back is a really nice place to meet people who i'll be friends for life for. theres great entertainment thanx to chris n james n that and they really do a magnificent job of getting everyone to gel together. they should get promotions haha!

Disliked: not much really, sometimes rooms were hot but it is australian summer after all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stringer Alistair

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

10 March 2011 Stringer would recommend this property

Liked: BLUE PARROT = AMAZING. Had such a great time during my stay and it definitely lives up to its fantastic reviews. From the moment I arrived, I was greeted by the friendly staff who really make the Blue Parrot the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Its clean, close to the cross, excellent if you want to meet new people, and ideal if you want to party or have a quiet night in. Big love to Sasha and Effie!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels