HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers Sydney Hostel

87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 94%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.29USD

Important Information

PAYMENT POLICY: Please note temporarily we will be unable to receive credit cards payments, from 15 June - 15 July. Sorry for any inconvenience.

We accept only 'Visa or MasterCard' credit cards for payments of $300 or more. If your balance is less than $300 you’ll have to pay in cash. Credit cards incur a 3% charge. The hostel will do a pre-authorisation on the credit card provided prior to arrival. This is not a charge, but a validity check to guarantee the booking. The pre-authorisation will then be removed from the card upon check-in and payment. A valid passport & credit card is required on check-in. Full payment is due upon check-in, no refund if you check-out early.
____________________________________________________

SAME DAY BOOKINGS:
If you make a booking on the same day as you are arriving the booking need to be made by 8PM (local time) the latest, or you can phone the hostel on + (612) 9356 4888 before 8PM.
_____________________________________________________

CANCELLATION POLICY:
If cancelled or modified at least 24 hours before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups need 7 days notice to cancel/modify or the total price of the reservation will be charged. Cancellations/modifications must be made by e-mail only.
______________________________________________________

CHRISTMAS & NEW YEAR’S EVE - 2016 / 2017
SPECIAL EVENT BOOKING: Period 22 Dec. - 09 Jan. minimum 10 night stay, 100% of the reservation will be charged on the 1 December to guarantee your bed. Failure of payment can/will result in cancellation . This is a non-refundable and non-transferable booking. Credit card payment incurs a 3% surcharge.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 94%

Value 82%

Showing 31-26 of 26 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This is by far the best hostel i have stayed in, the staff were all so nice and helpfull in booking tours and things (especially Sasha, what a total legend)are very strict with the hostel rules which seem to have been overlooked in other hostels i have stayed in, really makes a difference that everyone has to adhere to rules.also really clean and comfy.all round great place

Disliked: there are some long term residents that have kind of formed little groups possibly making it intimidating to approach them, but once approached they are all lovely and very nice, not really a negative just a observation

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Was made to feel welcome the moment I stepped through the door. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. There's a fantastic atmosphere about the place. It was a shame to leave really. Would definitley stay there again if I return to Sydney!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful...worked with late arrivals and early departures very easily. Location close to bars and nightclubs but also only a short walk to harbor walk and botanical gardens. Kitchen facilities good and social areas welcoming. Had a great stay!

Disliked: Room was quite hot at night even with window open and fan blowing. I think the orientation of the room made it difficult to get a cool breeze passing through.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the nice review! We've been having unusually hot and humid nights the last week in Sydney which has been effecting everyone, but usually the fans and open windows keep everything nice and cool:-) Wishing you happy travels!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very helpful and the outside courtyard was great for relaxing. It's also in a good location to get around the city. Nights out organised by the hostel were good and the rooms were kept very clean.

Disliked: There were a few long term people staying there which sometimes made it feel a little uncomfortable given its such a small hostel.. I sometimes felt like I was in their house!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Blue Parrot but we're a bit confused where you got the impression that there are a number of long term residents since we literally only have 1 long term resident. Not that we don't love long termers, but at the moment it is a transient season and everyone is visiting for a short time.
Happy travels B.P. crew

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place was great - I even extended my stay! It's a small hostel with a good vibe and lots of common areas for guests to hang out. Bonus - it's close to the botanic gardens ... And the free WiFi is another big seller.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome little hostel! It's very clean with lovely common areas. It's near Sydney's main attractions and great night life but far enough to get peaceful sleep. The staff and everyone is very friendly so I found it easy to meet other travellers and made some friends with who I'm continuing to travel with. Best place for solo travellers to stay!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Had a really homely environment as its a relatively small hostel. It has a lovely big lounge and outdoor area. The free wifi throughout the hostel was also a big bonus.

Disliked: There are a number of long term residents at the hostel which meant it was a little difficult to get involved as they could be quite intimidating, especially as a solo traveller. However, if you are looking for somewhere to stay for a long trip or if you are looking for work etc it would be ideal.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey thanks for your comments. We are sad to hear you didn't get involved much in our activities but we do have events on every night for new people to meet each other, especially since its summer and there's a high turn over of new travellers. And to clarify - we don't really have long termers at the moment- they are travellers like you who have been here maybe a week or so longer than the average stay because they love Sydney and the hostel so much they're not quite ready to leave yet :-)

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location and staff. Very friendly.

Disliked: Wasn't to clean and noisey.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good staff and location. There is a lot going on nearby, and it's easy to get around from there. The hostel also has nightly activities which are a great chance to meet other backpackers.

Disliked: Small kitchen with only 1 sink makes it a bit hard to cook.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Was quite clean for a backpackers. (Cleaners were in the room each morning.) Small hostel and lots of chances to participate in group activities, so it's great for solo travelers to meet people.

Disliked: The kitchen got quite crowded during meal times. The common areas (living room and backyard patio) close around 10pm, so you need to go out if you want to hang out in a big group. The room I was in overlooked the street so it did get a bit noisy in the morning -not ideal if you like to sleep in, but most people woke up early anyway. Try to choose a bottom bunk as the top ones wobble quite a bit.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability