HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel | 87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

90.6% Overall Rating

360 out of 396 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

Grace Moorton thinks…

"Blue Parrot Backpackers were everything they said that they would be and more. The hostel has a lovely homely feel and I couldn't fault it at all. I am well-travelled and have stayed in many…"

Read all Blue Parrot Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.78

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Jolly Swagman Backpackers
31.54 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews
Macleay Lodge
29.06 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 45 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
22.26 USD

Hostel 73.9% 165 reviews
Challis Lodge
34.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.7% 16 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
26.90 USD

Hostel 71.9% 321 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
13.91 USD

Hostel 56.2% 452 reviews
Springfield Lodge
49.62 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Kanga House
27.83 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

360 out of 396 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Parrot Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 317 of 338 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aurore DOUTEAU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 November 2011 Aurore would recommend this property

Liked: The Blue Parrot is like a little house where it's easy to meet and talk with everyone. You will never feel alone. The staff and even the backpackers are very hepfull and friendly. I spent really great times there !! I definitively recommended this place !!

Disliked: Really nothing !!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

MADELINE BERNARDET

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

19 October 2011 MADELINE would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly, the reaaly thing that DOES make the difference is the staff. they are really friendly and helpful. they do all the charm of the backpaker. another good point : it's the court behind where you can stay outside;

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything... for girls : i don't know if it's always like this but there a lot -really a lot- of males so if you want to make like female friend ... pretty tough lol

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: think about light points near each bed

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception staff were charming

Disliked: The bedbugs

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, lockers in dorms, size: small, harddrive full of movies, bathroom style: most bathrooms are real bathrooms with a toilet, sink and shower (not like in other places, three showers in a row, and toilets in the next room)

Disliked: Overrated and overpriced, though not a bad hostel, just no value for money: I stayed in the Traveller Oasis in Cairns ((Top 3 hostel in Oceania referred to hostelbookers.com) before I came to this place. Compared to the Traveller Oasis, this place has no atmosphere, everything looks run down, blue and grey are dominant colours (wich might be good during the summer month but in the colder month its only depressive). Everything is so nude, hardly pictures or paintings, in the room I stayed in wasnt even one hook on the wall for clothes, just a small bench (although there was space enough). A bench with four drawers would be better. Do I have to throw my stuff on the floor, just because I am a backpacker? The beds were the worst: I was on the top bunk one night, it rocked like a ship in heavy water, when I moved, and when the guy in the bottom bunk moved, it was even worse. How am I supposed to sleep in a bed like this? The blanket was made of this very cheap synthetic stuff, that just stores all the bodyheat, so under it it got very hot, and without it, it was too cold. Lucky I had my travelsheet! Bathrooms: Not too clean. And there was a mob at the wall, and I thought: What does the mob here? Somebody must have forgotten it. Then I saw the sign at the wall: Please mob the floor after the shower. Sorry guys, but for 36 Dollars a night I expect a bit more than that, even if the hostel is in Kings Kross.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fenna Floortje Muller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 Fenna Floortje would recommend this property

Liked: Had the best time in the Blue Parrot. Super friendly and helpful staff and a great atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jack Abbott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Possibly the best hostel i have ever stayed at. From the minute i checked in the staff were very friendly and made me feel incredibly welcome. While i was there the whole hostel was very sociable and the staff include everyone in social activities and nights out. Free internet is always welcome and the Tv room is very well stocked with hours of movies etc.

Disliked: Showers are a bit hit and miss.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and facilities were always clean. The atmosphere was amazing and the staff was always friendly and knowledgeable. I loved this place and miss the Blue Parrot already. I would recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Sydney.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is the greatest hostel in austrailia. The staff know what they are doing and they know how to run a hostel!

Disliked: Nothing its hands down the best.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sue Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Sue would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic. They were knowledgeable about the city and gave great advice on what to see and do. They organised hostel nights out and made sure everyone was included. Chris in particular was brilliant and always made sure everyone was OK. His advice was also well worth taking on board.

Disliked: The 10 bed dorm was a bit cramped with little space to put your bags.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2011

Liked: Great friendly, helpful staff. Seemed secure, decent sized lockers

Disliked: yes, this is a hostel with people who want to have fun, but because of that, it's location is the very noisy Kings Cross area. The social aspects seemed to revolve entirely around simply going to the pub. The hostel itself feels kind of cheap and not planned very well. They turn off the wifi on a regular basis, complaining that people are using it too much. They should either charge for a proper service or just pay for a decent internet service. The beds are really lightweight and cheap, so when the person the same bunk moves, you get shaken. Some rooms are on the main road so you get drunken shouting, lots of traffic noise and because they don't have AC, the windows have to stay open. Not nearly enough power sockets in the rooms, any well designed hostel's i've stayed in have sockets in the lockers themselves, or beside each bed. Bathrooms are verging on prison style, cheap plastic fittings, lots of mildew, no heating.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julia vann

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 julia would recommend this property

Liked: Really relaxed, friendly place. Great place to stay for a while!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is exceptionally friendly and geared to meeting new people and having everyone socialise and mix, although the staff and no late drinking rules ensure that this is not a 'party hostel'. It is a small independent backpackers :) Theres a very definite reason why its voted top for its character & staff!!

Disliked: Nothing but keep in mind quite a few are long termers, throw yourself in, speak to everyone and they will all look after you very well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Tinney

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, the people running it know how to run a backpackers and know how to make it fun for backpackers!

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cosy, good location. Daily activities organized by the staff.

Disliked: Although the place is cleaned daily, I found once two small cockroachs in one of the fridges. Also, there are some restrictions in the use of internet which are not advertised correctly in the description. There is a sign that ask guests to use it only one hour per day and the service is turned off nightly. Maybe not their fault since internet seems to be a luxury in Australia, but they should advertise it properly. I specifically looked for

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Helms

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 July 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great community Evening activity,very clean i think you dindn´t find a better hostel for this price...

Disliked: -----------------

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly staff.

Disliked: More residents were long term job seekers and workers than travelling backpackers

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2011

Liked: Easy to find when your pissed up.

Disliked: The fact that the staff let them selves into the room at any point without knocking before hand. cockroaches in the fridge running all over the food. the bathrooms had no shelving space to put your toileteries or general bathroom needs. dirty mop for the floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Van Overloop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 June 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place to meet people if you're a single traveller.

Disliked: /

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gary Sayers

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

22 June 2011 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and atmosphere, definitely recommend. Plus access to the CBD was good, but with nice bars in the area, perfect! Plus good internet connection, fast and reliable!

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Randolf Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2011 Randolf would recommend this property

Liked: It is situated in one of the best parts of Sydney, with close walks to many of the majors attractions. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and it is a great place to meet like-minded travelers. I really enjoyed my stay and don't be afraid to ask the staff of places to visit, they have great ideas.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carolyn LeFeuvre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds, great place to meet new friends especially if you are travelling by yourself.

Disliked: The bathrooms are small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lara Dose

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing. I arrived there on my own at night. I wanted to get a shower, but I forgot my hair tryer. Chris, the nice guy at the reception asked one of the girls and they borrowed me their hair tryer. He told me what to do in Sydney and asked me if I would like to go out with the others. That was great, because I don't like going out in a foreign city on my own. Everybody waited for me to get ready and we 8girls and 5 guys started in the night. It felt like a family and Chris always tried to keep everything clean. Each night there are some things all do together, from cocktail night, quiz night and mario cart to movie night and so on. I would go back to Sydney just because of that great atmosphere in there. They were really helpful and nice! Definitively recommended and the best hostel I have ever been to!

Disliked: I liked it too much to find anything bad!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly and welcoming staff; great location that's near King's Cross and nightlife.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amy Lawrence

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing. Chris spent a lot of time helping me to get acquainted with where things are in the city and what do see and do- oh, and the pub quiz night he organized was really fun!

Disliked: The rooms are bit crowded.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels