HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers Sydney Hostel

87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.45USD

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 84%

Showing 31-31 of 31 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Was made to feel welcome the moment I stepped through the door. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. There's a fantastic atmosphere about the place. It was a shame to leave really. Would definitley stay there again if I return to Sydney!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful...worked with late arrivals and early departures very easily. Location close to bars and nightclubs but also only a short walk to harbor walk and botanical gardens. Kitchen facilities good and social areas welcoming. Had a great stay!

Disliked: Room was quite hot at night even with window open and fan blowing. I think the orientation of the room made it difficult to get a cool breeze passing through.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the nice review! We've been having unusually hot and humid nights the last week in Sydney which has been effecting everyone, but usually the fans and open windows keep everything nice and cool:-) Wishing you happy travels!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very helpful and the outside courtyard was great for relaxing. It's also in a good location to get around the city. Nights out organised by the hostel were good and the rooms were kept very clean.

Disliked: There were a few long term people staying there which sometimes made it feel a little uncomfortable given its such a small hostel.. I sometimes felt like I was in their house!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Blue Parrot but we're a bit confused where you got the impression that there are a number of long term residents since we literally only have 1 long term resident. Not that we don't love long termers, but at the moment it is a transient season and everyone is visiting for a short time.
Happy travels B.P. crew

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place was great - I even extended my stay! It's a small hostel with a good vibe and lots of common areas for guests to hang out. Bonus - it's close to the botanic gardens ... And the free WiFi is another big seller.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome little hostel! It's very clean with lovely common areas. It's near Sydney's main attractions and great night life but far enough to get peaceful sleep. The staff and everyone is very friendly so I found it easy to meet other travellers and made some friends with who I'm continuing to travel with. Best place for solo travellers to stay!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Had a really homely environment as its a relatively small hostel. It has a lovely big lounge and outdoor area. The free wifi throughout the hostel was also a big bonus.

Disliked: There are a number of long term residents at the hostel which meant it was a little difficult to get involved as they could be quite intimidating, especially as a solo traveller. However, if you are looking for somewhere to stay for a long trip or if you are looking for work etc it would be ideal.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey thanks for your comments. We are sad to hear you didn't get involved much in our activities but we do have events on every night for new people to meet each other, especially since its summer and there's a high turn over of new travellers. And to clarify - we don't really have long termers at the moment- they are travellers like you who have been here maybe a week or so longer than the average stay because they love Sydney and the hostel so much they're not quite ready to leave yet :-)

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location and staff. Very friendly.

Disliked: Wasn't to clean and noisey.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good staff and location. There is a lot going on nearby, and it's easy to get around from there. The hostel also has nightly activities which are a great chance to meet other backpackers.

Disliked: Small kitchen with only 1 sink makes it a bit hard to cook.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Was quite clean for a backpackers. (Cleaners were in the room each morning.) Small hostel and lots of chances to participate in group activities, so it's great for solo travelers to meet people.

Disliked: The kitchen got quite crowded during meal times. The common areas (living room and backyard patio) close around 10pm, so you need to go out if you want to hang out in a big group. The room I was in overlooked the street so it did get a bit noisy in the morning -not ideal if you like to sleep in, but most people woke up early anyway. Try to choose a bottom bunk as the top ones wobble quite a bit.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly reception upon arrival, homely atmosphere and helpful staff. Great outdoor area to lounge, chat and meet people. Blue Parrot exceeded all my expectations and I'm very glad I stayed there!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability