HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers Sydney

Hostel

87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.31USD

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 84%

Showing 21-30 of 39 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Close to CBD; friendly staff and roommates; free wi-fi; clean

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is very friendly and comply, and the rooms are clean, comfortable, with individual lockers. the common parts are also well. Good situation for hang out at king cross or with the free bus for downtown. I recommend this hostel, I meet there some kind people :)

Disliked: The kitchen is a bit too small. The beachs are to far.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks you for the nice review Benjamin, we're happy you would recommend the Blue Parrot! Considering we are a city hostel, the beaches are really not that far from us. There is a lovely beach just 3 km away (Red Leaf) and also Bondi Beach is approximately 20-30mins away by public transport (7km). Kind Regards, Blue Parrot Team

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff very friendly and easy going

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pretty much everything. Central, good location, nice beds, warm showers, pretty girls and a hammock.

Disliked: Not much

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Blue parrot was great! All staff and owners were very personable and helpful. I stayed in Room 6 which was all girls and really good. Beds were very comfortable, lockers for everyone in the room which were good sized. Lots of outlets. Felt very safe and at home there. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Only negative was very loud street noise (particularly in rooms at the front of the hostel, which borders on Macleay st. I would recommend earplugs! Also, the showers were a bit annoying - would go hot/cold but when staying in a hostel I find this is fairly typical. Don't let it deter you, the blue parrot is a great place to stay!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff are super friendly here and always willing to help you out. I actually ended up extending my stay and that wasn't a problem. The free wifi is really useful and the place is always clean.

Disliked: One washing machine/dryer for an entire hostel is probably not enough for the amount of people and you can't use it till after 1pm. My only complaint about this place!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was super friendly, bathroom & kitchen are clean. Rooms are ok.

Disliked: Wifi is flaky, used my 3g instead most of the time. Bathroom sinks are unusable, so tiny. Noise from kitchen and stairs can be disturbing. No credit card for under 300$.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Best Hostel I ever stayed in! Feels like home :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: From the sweet phonecall I received on my day of arrival checking I was okay and what time I was arriving through to the smile as I left the door, the hostel was everything I could ask for. The little things like free wi-fi, a large comfy TV room and a great atmosphere all round made it lovely.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This is by far the best hostel i have stayed in, the staff were all so nice and helpfull in booking tours and things (especially Sasha, what a total legend)are very strict with the hostel rules which seem to have been overlooked in other hostels i have stayed in, really makes a difference that everyone has to adhere to rules.also really clean and comfy.all round great place

Disliked: there are some long term residents that have kind of formed little groups possibly making it intimidating to approach them, but once approached they are all lovely and very nice, not really a negative just a observation

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability