We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers

Hostel | 87 Macleay St, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

89.9% Overall Rating

372 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2015)

"Really enjoyed my stay here. Amazing staff and atmostphere. I'll definately be staying here again soon!"

Read all Blue Parrot Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.09

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Jolly Swagman Backpackers
24.38 USD

Hostel 76.6% 205 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
18.11 USD

Hostel 75.7% 178 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
19.51 USD

Hostel 73.3% 325 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
11.15 USD

Hostel 73.5% 495 reviews
Kanga House
19.51 USD

Hostel 59.9% 101 reviews
Brados Backpackers
12.54 USD

Hostel 65.7% 20 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
18.81 USD

Hostel 82.2% 117 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
20.90 USD

Hostel 84.5% 735 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

372 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Parrot Backpackers'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 328 of 350 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff - the best thing about this hostel, would answer any question and were always on hand. Free wifi. Showers were OK. If you like Kings Cross then this is a good location. Nearby supermarket and nice quirky shops. Kitchen was good and lounge area had nice comfy sofas and a fire, a good place to chat to other guests.

Disliked: Drunk guests getting back at 4am and later, waking the rest of the hostel up and carrying on the party for what seemed like ages, despite the signs saying no noise after a certain time. This went on for quite a few nights and they woke me up even though I had ear plugs in. No one seemed to say anything to these guests. I got to my next destination and slept so much because I hadn't had a decent nights sleep for quite some time. The bunk beds were pretty ricketing too. It's quite a "party hostel". Overall, this isn't a bad backpackers at all and I had a nice time, maybe best to stay a few nights and if you want something a little quieter and more scenic go and stop at Manly Beach for a few nights too.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gary Dawson

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

23 June 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very cosy / friendly atmosphere with all guests socializing together and taking weekend trips out as a collective, not as individual travellers, which is brilliant for solo travellers to get to know other people. Situated just around the corner from the main centre of activity in Kings Cross keeps the place easily accessible to a night out, but also extremely quiet at the same time after hours.

Disliked: Gary left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to meet other travellers! Staff are cool and go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. Internet wifi is free! Clean place and great location near public transport and an easy walk to the Opera house and the main attractions. You pay for what you get and this place is definitely worth it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Blandy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: All in all this is a great place to stay. Just outside of the hectic sphere of kings cross but close enough for awesome nights out. The managers working there are all really chilled out and friendly, making the place feel really homely. I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Sydney now.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shirdon Ibrahim Rascid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Shirdon would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i came across in my Australian travels! They offer a discounted winter weekly rate and free internet (which is rare in Aus) so was good value if you´re on a budget. Clean and great staff i highly recommend it!

Disliked: liked all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was here at the end of the backpacking season, so the hostel was only half-full. I liked my roommates, the beds and facilities were clean and the staff was incredibly friendly. Also free wifi!

Disliked: It was a bit pricey, but this is Sydney; everything's a bit pricey here. That said, I did choose to stay in an upgraded room with a private bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was no curfew so people could party as much as they wanted to but there was strict no alcohol in the rooms and people were very respectful of sleeping times. Therefore you could party when you wanted to and sleep when you wanted to. They also have great free WiFi and two computers you can use so its easy to get online.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The sisters that run the hostel are amazing people. They make you feel extremely welcome. The hostel itself has a great atmosphere, it's very relaxed and offers the best of both worlds with nightly bar trips planned and with the option to just chill and watch a movie/tv.

Disliked: The building itself is older, the bathrooms and bunk beds are showing their age slightly, but they kept very clean and are still quite good.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they have free wi fi and a good location.

Disliked: the rooms smell bad some times.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katherine Miles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere here - especially if you are by yourself you will easily make friends here! Staff are extremely helpful and always makes sure everyone is involved in their organised nights out/ BBQs etc! Would recommend this place to everyone that I know and if I come back to Sydney again I will be staying here! Awesome Lounge/ Community area where you can chill and socialise with everyone else! Free wifi too also saves you A LOT of money :-)

Disliked: Nothing - I couldn't recommend this place highly enough!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean, perfect location for sydneys nightlife, staff are very friendly, great atmosphere ( good for people travelling alone) is one of the best hostiles that ive stayed at

Disliked: i payed 37 dollars a night, which is quite a lot for a backpacker, however you get value for the money

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Simpson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was the best hostel I stayed at while in Australia, I arrived to be greeted by two amazing smiles (Sasha and Effie), it seemed they were pleased to see their guest rather than some other hostels. Hostel was clean and tidy. Arranged trips for me (one day I phoned Effie up and she booked the trip for me). Location is good about 5 mins from Kings Cross. They organise nightly trips out so really good if you are travelling alone. Massive TV, Free Wi-FI 24/7

Disliked: Gareth left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Evan Ota

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2012 Evan would recommend this property

Liked: Blue Parrot is a great hostel! It's a perfect place to meet many friendly, young, open-minded people from around the world. The staff is great and super helpful. They organize outings every night and can help you book sightseeing tours to many great places around Sydney.

Disliked: Evan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, clean facilities.. Nothing to complain about.

Disliked: Maybe they could get one more fridge and some new pans, that's it:-)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is great and helpful. The place is very well located and the staff will show you all the things to see and do. They also offer different deals and discount for various places around Sydney.

Disliked: The bunk beds need some work. I was on the top bunk for a few nights and it was moving. The Hostel is clean in the public areas however in my opinion the bathrooms and my room were not what I expected. I will still go back mainly due to the staff and the atmosphere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Fenton

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Organised activities every night :D Super friendly staff/clientele, Awesome location, relaxed atmosphere and good variety of travellers

Disliked: Only negative was the showers, hard to get them to stay at one temperature for more than 10 seconds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julien denos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 julien would recommend this property

Liked: probably the best hostel ever! an awesome staff, a hostel where you feel like home, free wifi and a very good location! highly recommended !!!!

Disliked: nothing wrong exempt you don't want to leave it .....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne van Loon Anne van Loon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Anne van Loon would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great!! It is impossible not to meet great people there. I felt safe and it is very clean. I had the best time there!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Grace Kegel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: It's true from the other reviews - the staff is the best!! Sisters Effie and Sasha are great and they have hired exceptional help in Sarah, Doug, Josh and others!! You will have a good time at the Blue Parrot NO.MATTER.WHAT. book it! Thanks BP!!!

Disliked: just hot and stuffy at times... wish the backyard was open later :)

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good, cozy atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people, the staff, Especially the brunette (girl) that worked in the lobby the day we arrived ;) Very cute (All the guys at hostel agreed). A great place to stay a couple of days if you like a social atmosphere.

Disliked: No power sockets at top bed, and no bed lights.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kieran Randell

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 February 2012 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about my stay was good, the property has a really fun and friendly vibe about it. There are so many oppurtunities to meet people and always something going on. I can see why guests come for a week and stay for months. The staff should be proud of themselves and are a credit to the hostel. Keep up the good work!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aysha Malik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Aysha would recommend this property

Liked: Had an amazing week at blue parrot. Felt welcomed straight away!! It was my birthday whilst I was there and the other guests and staff made sure I had a great time. Couldn't reccomend more!!!!

Disliked: Aysha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stephanie Poussard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 February 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Helpul and really nice staff. Free unlimited wifi. Great atmosphere. Good facilities.

Disliked: The bathrooms would maybe need a bit of refeshment and the washbasins are too small. Pretty clean though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the guests make you feel at home here. It is quiet and relaxing and you can get away from everything by chilling out in the patio garden while still being close to the city. The staff are really accommodating and make you feel like one of the group by organising nights out and joining in on the activities.

Disliked: The price could come down a little but still I am willing to pay for the relaxing atmosphere here.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels