HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers Sydney Hostel

87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.43USD

Important Information

HOSTEL'S CANCELLATION POLICY: If cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival (local time) no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Groups of 3 or more persons need 7 days notice to cancel or modify. Cancellations/changes must be made by e-mail only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 84%

Showing 11-20 of 30 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The guy at the reception was really helpfull and friendly, location is perfect and next to the best supermarket I have ever seen, bed was confortable, lockers were big enoug, toilet was clean, many friendly young people. Big Showers, private (and enough) toilets. I will stay there again the next time I come to sydney.

Disliked: Room was really smelly (as every room with 4 men traveling), maybe the room could have been a bit bigger. In the toilets they had the smallest sinks I have ever seen, saturday night is really noisy, for someone could be a problem, in general is too expensive as everything in Sydney.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpful staff. They always had a smile on their faces and made an effort to know people staying there. The kitchen is well supplied and was kept tidy and clean.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. The ambient is very good in general among other travelers. The facilities where more than enough and everything was very clean. There are lockers in the rooms but you have to remember to bring a padlock. Overall, I had an excellent stay.

Disliked: Nothing negative.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback and thanks for an excellent rating :-) We are happy you liked the atmosphere, cleanliness and BlueParrot staff! Just so you know we do provide padlocks for a small fee, which you get to keep for the rest of your travels! xx

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Blue Parrot Backpackers were everything they said that they would be and more.The hostel has a lovely homely feel and I couldn't fault it at all. I am well-travelled and have stayed in many hostels but this was one of the best hostel experiences I have ever had. The only problem with this hostel is that you will never want to leave!The culture and atmosphere within the Blue Parrot was brilliant. Although the hostel itself cannot be completely responsible for the type of people that stay there, I think that if the right attitude comes from the top (i.e. the people that manage it - in this case, Effie and Sasha) then this filters through and you tend to get nicer, friendlier people staying there for longer, which was definitely the case. Effie and Sasha were so helpful and absolutely lovely. I was particularly impressed with the balance between having rules within the hostel to keep it clean and tidy but still being able to have fun and drink etc. The dorms were cleaned every day and I was so impressed with the attention to detail. I felt safe and welcome in the hostel and at the same time still had great nights out with the staff and backpackers.I cannot express in a review just how great this hostel was in all aspects (location, atmosphere, cleanliness, facilities, etc) but I would thoroughly recommend staying there. Just be careful - you may never want to leave!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: If you were thinking of staying somewhere else in Sydney stop thinking because you should stay here! It feels more like a 'living community' and every night everyone in the hostel goes out together so it's a great place to meet people if you're travelling alone. I started to travel up the coast but came back to the Blue Parrot after a few days because I had such a fun time and met cool people there!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, garden with hammock, relaxed atmosphere, relatively, quiet, free wifi, central location outside the CBD, but with everything you need within walking distance. They are a bit heavy on the rules, but most of it improves the hostel quality.

Disliked: Kitchen and bathrooms could be a bit cleaner. Garden closes at 22h, no drinking after 23h. They recommend a Sydney Shuttle Bus service to/from the airport that left me stranded early in the morning, so I had to get a cab to make my flight. Would definitely not recommend Sydney Shuttle Bus.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Great to hear you had a nice time here thanks for the feedback! Sorry to hear about your problem with the Sydney shuttle bus service - they're usually reliable. We have already followed up the incident this morning and the driver said he passed by the hostel and no one was waiting outside at the designated time. From your email to us we understand that you were waiting for the bus in front of the coffee shop and not our hostel which might explain the mishap. Wishing you safe travels! -BP Crew

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free WiFi, young people mainly

Disliked: Rules and fines for everything, very few showers, no AC.Hostel may have been great but I think the owners 'grew up', are barely on the property anymore and just put up tons of crazy rules and fines which they even supervise via camera. People get thrown out by additional random rules that nobody understood. The atmosphere and the fun got destroyed by this 'Dont-do-that-or-you-will-be-fined-or-thrown-out'-atmosphere. Far away of being #1 in Sydney anymore (have been to 7 hostels in Sydney so far).


The property's response is

Thanks R, not sure if you realise but Effie&Sasha are the owners & we spoke with you daily so we’re confused why you say we’re ‘barely’ here. Also, no one got thrown out? Regardless some rules run things smoothly- some people sleep early, some party, so we try to have a few guidelines to accommodate everybody. You say the fun got destroyed but whilst here we had a BBQ with 40 people, a group surf trip & every night there was an event but when we asked if you would like to join, you declined:-(

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Cosy environment, and free spa!

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Really great hostel with friendly helpful stuff and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Everything besides the internet

Disliked: The internet

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Jason, Thanks for the 100% review, we're very happy you would recommend us! We're not sure what issue you had with the internet but we have the highest speed internet possible and it's reliable...and free! :-) All the best, Blue Parrot Crew

Check Availability