HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sydney Backpackers Sydney Hostel

Victoria House, 7 Wilmot Street, NSW 2000, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 58%

Location 90%

Safety 71%

Staff 65%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.17USD
  • Towel 1.49USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 58%

Location 90%

Safety 71%

Staff 65%

Value 62%

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Big rooms and lockers

Disliked: Was not clean at all, really old and cosy

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Fantastic location. Warm showers.

Disliked: The toilet and bathroom facilities were atrocious. The toilets were not cleaned at all while we stayed there, people smoked in the toilets, not good.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
41+

Liked: not much, old building i guess.

Disliked: the toilets and bathroom floor are not in good condition.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Central location, free wifi and nice roof top. okey for a couple of nights.

Disliked: cleaness in toailets and shower, 30 dollar i deposit for the key

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Everything

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, friendly staff and comfortable bed.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Dirty. Some people made a noise untill mid night.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping

Liked: I liked how centralize the backpackers was, and it was an easy walk to and from destinations for my friends and I.

Disliked: The bathroom facilities were quite often unclean most likely because of other people using the facilities.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: lorraine testing review process

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheaply priced and the location was right in the city - perfect location in between Darling Harbor as well as the bridge and opera house.

Disliked: I made a reservation for a female only room, but when I checked in, they had made a mistake and put me in a 16 bed co-ed room, and there was no room in the female room. After I dropped off my bag and linens, I went out to the city. When I came back, someone had stolen the blanket off my bed.

Check Availability