We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Sydney Backpackers

Hostel | 7 Wilmot St, Sydney, Sydney, Australia NSW 2000

66.7% Overall Rating

49 out of 76 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/05/2014)

"I liked how centralize the backpackers was, and it was an easy walk to and from destinations for my friends and I."

Read all Sydney Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.23
  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

World Square Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 81.1% 255 reviews
Strattons Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.21 USD

Hostel 65.5% 31 reviews
Base Sydney
28.82 USD

Hostel 76.2% 428 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.71 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
21.83 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
BIG Hostel
26.20 USD

Hostel 87.1% 147 reviews
Central Station Hotel
45.24 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 76.4% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.7%

Overall Rating

49 out of 76 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sydney Backpackers'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
64.8%
Value
65.6%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 65 of 67 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claire Kehoe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff and comfortable bed.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Joohwan Han

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

08 June 2014 Joohwan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Dirty. Some people made a noise untill mid night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lorraine testing review process

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how centralize the backpackers was, and it was an easy walk to and from destinations for my friends and I.

Disliked: The bathroom facilities were quite often unclean most likely because of other people using the facilities.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014

Liked: Cheaply priced and the location was right in the city - perfect location in between Darling Harbor as well as the bridge and opera house.

Disliked: I made a reservation for a female only room, but when I checked in, they had made a mistake and put me in a 16 bed co-ed room, and there was no room in the female room. After I dropped off my bag and linens, I went out to the city. When I came back, someone had stolen the blanket off my bed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Evelina Edebäck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Evelina would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi and a great location!! We were staying in a dorm with 12 beds and our room had its own toilet and shower :) Kitchen and television for everybodys use

Disliked: It was very very cold in the room during the night

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014

Liked: Very close to everything

Disliked: Very dirty

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Richard Clarke

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: The mattress how horrible, springs digging into me all night, couple this with the ridiculous and uncomfortable plastic pillow it lead to a very poor nights sleep

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Conghui Wei

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013

Liked: cheap

Disliked: hard to find, no one knows the street it locates on

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jean-François Gibon

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

26 October 2013 Jean-François would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: The noise

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david --

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

14 February 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: the staff, rooftop was open all night :) kitchen is open all night, baggage storage

Disliked: some people staying there are not young and hip

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

melea s

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 November 2012

Liked: Nothing at all. This place is horrid!!! It is absolutely filthy. I don't think they ever clean. The beds are either rock hard, or dipped and springy. The majority of the clientele are Asian and there are lots of old people staying there. A woman about75 years old checked into my room and made us all feel really uncomfortable. She would sit on the windowsill sipping tea staring at us til 2am. It's REALLY NOISY all night long. I used my earplugs every night. Loud garbage trucks outside the window every night until the early hours. It has a horrible atmosphere. Basically don't stay here

Disliked: EVERYTHING. This hostel is vile and should be shut down

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, central Sydney. Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, acces to free CBD shuttle and train station, within 30m.

Disliked: State and size of kitchen was incompatible with the size of the guesthouse.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012

Liked: Location that's it

Disliked: Facility's cleanliness

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tam NGUYEN

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 June 2012 Tam would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly roommates and helpful receptionists.

Disliked: The blanket must be thicker because at the middle of the night, I feel really cold. I think it's not enough to make customers warm for a night they stay at your backpacker.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Victoria Green

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

19 March 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal for what I wanted, somewhere to dump my bags as was in city all day and night and just needed a place to sleep! Good experience all round and good central location.

Disliked: Smell of urine in the room. Showers looked less than inviting!!! :/

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: Personnel not friendly, and kitchen all the time dirty on the floor,

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 March 2012

Liked: Bathroom is clean. And the location is really good!

Disliked: The wifi is not work!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

David Kvartsberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 February 2012

Liked: It has a good location for sightseeing so no bus or trains are needed (depending on how far you are willing to walk)

Disliked: the drugs which people did around the hostel, the noisynes, the unhelpful staff and rhe acute lack of cleaning (one teenager cleaned once a day a five story building, and the cleaning was mostly pouring som chemicals on the bathroom floor)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rachel Foden

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great tv room.

Disliked: Kitchen is far too small. Could do with being cleaned more regularly

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anthony St-Onge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

01 February 2012

Liked: Rippin darts on the roof.

Disliked: Everything other than rippin darts on the roof.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, internet for free, friendly staff

Disliked: the kitchen is not good equipped

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012

Liked: the location

Disliked: the atmosphere, the smell and the kitchen and the tv room too small (not enough space too cook and eat during diner time)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central to the city close to all facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Tom Dye

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Hair extensions in the bathroom, dirty room, no pillow, no sheets or duvet, cold showers, like a prison, tiny dirty kitchen, tiny dirty overcrowded common room. noisy at night, bin collection depo next door.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels