We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Wake Up Hostel

Hostel | 509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

89.6% Overall Rating

1162 out of 1247 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2015)

"Amazing atmosphere! People were so friendly! The hostel really made my stay in Syndey!"

Read all Wake Up Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.70

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 4 ADULTS The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 21th of December and the 3nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled. By making a reservation with your credit card you authorize us to charge 1 nights’ accommodation cost (deposit) to your credit card without further reference to you in the event of a late cancellation or non-arrival For last minute, multiple person reservations, in periods of high demand it may not be possible to put all occupants in the same room. We shall certainly do our best though! Please note that unfortunately we do not accept guest under the age of 18!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Railway Square YHA
26.38 USD

Hostel 87.3% 45 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
17.82 USD

Hostel 82.6% 431 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
27.09 USD

Hostel 88.2% 271 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
12.83 USD

Hostel 73.3% 172 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
28.16 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.5% 13 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
35.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.9% 11 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
22.81 USD

Hostel 77.9% 48 reviews
Bounce Sydney
21.39 USD

Hostel 94.2% 293 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

1162 out of 1247 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wake Up Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 914 of 1008 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wing Chung Wong

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2015 Wing Chung would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and all staff are very helpful.

Disliked: None at this moment.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere! People were so friendly! The hostel really made my stay in Syndey!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Karen McAuley

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 August 2015 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The energy is fabulous, as is the location. Straight off the train at Central Station, across the road and you're there.

Disliked: I didnt expect to pay multiple times for wifi- one fee per iPad, phone etc. that doesn't happen in motels or hotels. I didn't appreciate the shower pouring water under the door and across our items. The private rooms need a shelf put up in the bathroom, and the shower sealed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona downie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

10 August 2015 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, really nice chill out area, friendly staff and the excellent wifi!!!

Disliked: Fiona left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy but secured access to the floors, stylish place, great atmosphere, helpful staff

Disliked: more plugs would come useful in the rooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andres Ochoa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2015 Andres would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and staff are really nice. Sidebar downstairs has some great deals and sure to be a great night out. Bathrooms and room was clean.

Disliked: After a big night out at sidebar they had construction/ banging at 8 am in the room next door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathleen Mihaere

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2015 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and comfortable. It catered for the large group of people we booked. It was close to facilities we wanted to access.

Disliked: Kathleen left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Cooke

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 June 2015 James would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff,good rooms,good self catering facilities.I was given a free days wifi in addition to 3 days I paid for.Close to Central Stn so easy access to airport & trains.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly & helpful staff, clean, lots of events/promotions

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2015

Liked: It has a good location, right next to Central station, good for transport (train, bus, greyhound bus etc), good perks for booking through hostel bookers, really friendly staff on the reception, relatively quiet, nice decor and modern design.

Disliked: Untidy bathroom due to other guests drinking there before going out, small under equipped kitchen, no lamps in rooms, just a big light, only 2 plug sockets for 4 people, tannoy announcements into the rooms themselves felt a bit 'big brother'/1984 for my liking.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bethany McDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 May 2015 Bethany would recommend this property

Liked: Activities nightly and it's just perfect for backpackers

Disliked: Would like to be taken out to clubs/bars outside of the hostel

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: O

Disliked: O

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

29 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean! The building is huge so you didn't feel like you could hear your neighbours too much. The coffee in the attached cafe is really good.

Disliked: Even though I was on the sixth floor, I could still hear the music from the Side Bar through the floor which seemed to get louder towards 3am. The deposit for the keys is quite a lot, and not mentioned in the tickets or reservation so when I arrived with my friend I had to pay an additional $40, plus another $10 for the towel...and then only got $5 back at the end!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The travel desk is really handy to book trips and the cafe downstairs does really nice food at a fair price.

Disliked: The bathrooms could be cleaner and I didn't really enjoy my stay because about 25 people had crammed into my room to have a party. There are social areas for that! Security did eventually come round and moved everyone on but by then I was angry and people staying in the room continued to make loads of noise afterwards. I did complain the next morning and I think the hostel handled it really well by offering a free upgrade and a free coffee. I had intended to cancel and go to another hostel but after that I decided to stay. It wasn't the hostels fault after all but there should be more monitoring of that kind of thing. Keep the party in social areas people some have early flights the next day!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, great people and very easy to feel at home. Was in a good location too. A very professionally run hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jamie Sizer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 April 2015 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, rooms are good size, staff are brilliant, cafe on the side which is cheap and bar underneath which is cheap, what more can you ask for?

Disliked: Nothing, very happy. Great value.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms with plug sockets at every bed. Secure and very clean. Excellent atmosphere.

Disliked: Small kitchen and common area for the amount of people that stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor cudby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2015 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Social able

Disliked: The speakers into rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marina Siebenand Alves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2015 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, very friendly staff, clean rooms, comfy beds and lockers. 6 bed dorms are better than the 4 bed dorms as you don't have your own bedside light and power plug in the 4 bed dorm.

Disliked: No free wifi.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location & friendly staff

Disliked: The fact you can only use the lift, no stairs available

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms Helpful staff Travel desk was awesome Lots of fun stuff to do every night Kitchen was tidy and had no problem getting a stove

Disliked: Elevator took forever being on the top floor Didn't like that there weren't any stairs The card system was a bit annoying (key access to go on the elevator) Not the closest to the opera house area which wasn't mentioned clearly before booking

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe, clean, good start in Sydney

Disliked: expensive and no wifi include

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So close to everything.

Disliked: Squeaky bed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and ideal location

Disliked: Kitchen was messy and shortage of forks

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

06 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was superb! Very kind and helping! The location is perfect, near to everything! Great kitchen, great bathrooms, deliciuos food, great internet, great party-life, there is something happening all the time, you will never be bored!

Disliked: The wi-fi is good but it's not for free...


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels