HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Wake Up! Sydney Central Sydney Hostel

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 87%

Location 94%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Internet café
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.42USD

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 4 ADULTS

The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 21th of December and the 3nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled.

By making a reservation with your credit card you authorize us to charge 1 nights’ accommodation cost (deposit) to your credit card without further reference to you in the event of a late cancellation or non-arrival

For last minute, multiple person reservations, in periods of high demand it may not be possible to put all occupants in the same room. We shall certainly do our best though!

Please note that unfortunately we do not accept guest under the age of 18!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 87%

Location 94%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 84%

Showing 81-90 of 169 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The nearby breakfast cafe

Disliked: i couldn't find the pillow and the blanket in the rom

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review!

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our Cafe. Sorry to hear you couldn't find your blankets, i have a feeling one of your room mates helped themselves to an extra blanket! I hope reception managed to get you another one straight away :)

Wake Up! Management

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great facilities, modern and clean, lamps and chargers for each bed, good bar with deals downstairs. Big kitchen. Free walking tours of city centre and at Bondi which is a great way to meet people. Right next to a free bus service to the harbour. Fast (paid) Wi-Fi.

Disliked: Construction work is ongoing and can be noisy.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There,

Thanks for leaving us a review after your stay, its great to hear you enjoyed Wake Up!

It's pleasing to hear you stayed in one of our newly renovated rooms with the new bed lights and power boxes. They are a great new addition to the hostel and have been really popular so far.
Apologies for the construction going on at the moment, we're in the middle of massive improvements to the building so hopefully you can check it out next time you stay with us

Wake Up! Management

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This hostel is in a really good location. to get to the Sydney Opera House you literally just walk straight down one big road(Pitt or George) and you're basically there! :) It's right next to the Central train station, so getting to and from the airport, or indeed other stations, is easy. Chinatown is just around the corner.The facilities and rooms seemed mostly new and clean. The hostel also has various things on for free throughout the week so keep an eye out for that :)

Disliked: I wasn't overly keen on having to share a bathroom between the 6 or so rooms on my floor(at peak times that's probably about 50 people). Fortunately it wasn't super crowded when i visited, but i can imagine in peak season it can be difficult to shower in the mornings :)WiFi should also be free in my opinion, but that's not a huge deal. :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, it very much appreciated.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Wake Up! you noticed our newly refurbished rooms too!
Thanks for your feedback about the WiFi, i understand it can be a bit of a culture shock coming to Australia and you need to pay for WiFi. Unfortunately Australia is a bit behind in this aspect because internet providers are so expensive here still! I'm hoping we can change that one day soon.
Hope to see you again

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location & price in Sydney. Lovely building and atmosphere even for an older traveller. Nice guests too.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There,

thanks for leaving us a review! So glad you enjoyed your time here.

See you again soon!

Wake Up! Management

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very secure key cards and lockers. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a 6 bed dorm for just 2 of us which was great.

Disliked: The cost of the wifi was soooo expensive although the connection wa really good. The bathrooms weren't cleaned daily

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There,

thanks for leaving us a review, its much appreciated.

My apologies if the bathrooms were not up to scratch at some point. I can assure you they are methodically cleaned and checked day and night. Its disappointing you got that impression.

Really glad you enjoyed your stay as a whole though :)

Wake Up! Management

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, the 10 bed mixed dorm on the 7th floor is huge and awesome, even better than the 8 bed

Disliked: Expensive WiFi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Mate,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, its much appreciated.
Good to hear you enjoyed the new and refurbished Dorm rooms!

See you again

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything. Good rooms, nice atmosphere and a lot of special offers.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There,

thanks for leaving us a review. Its always good to hear from our guests after your stay :)

Glad you enjoyed your time here and we will see you again soon!

Wake Up! Management

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: BYO, always good! Sidebar next door is a laugh even if a bit rusty!Massive rooms!

Disliked: Probably too big, possibly hard to meet people if roomies aren't any good.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Mate,

Thanks for leaving us a review after your stay with us :)

I'm glad you had fun at SideBar, your not the first to have a good laugh down there i can assure you ;)
Next time you stay with us make sure you join in on all of our daily and nightly activities. It's definitely the best way to meet everyone who is staying at the hostel and they are FREE!

See you next time

Wake Up! Management

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Kitchen facilities Thy off something to do every night and that's such a good way to make friends

Disliked: The cost of wifi is ridiculous Location is quite a walk to circular quay but then thereis the 555 free bus close by


The property's response is

HI There,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!
I'm glad you made the most of your stay by joining in on all of our activities. Its 100% the best way to make friends here!

Wake Up! Management

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was exactly what we wanted. Clean, fun and very central. The cafe served an amazing breakfast!

Disliked: Someone was booked into our room when wed booked the entire dorm. Honest mistake though.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There,

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. Its always good to know how your stay was.
Glad you enjoyed the cafe breakfast, next time make sure you try the cinnamon scrolls if you didn't already!

Thanks again and we will see you soon

Check Availability