HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Wake Up! Sydney Central Sydney Hostel

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 87%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Internet café
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.40USD

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 4 ADULTS

The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 21th of December and the 3nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled.

By making a reservation with your credit card you authorize us to charge 1 nights’ accommodation cost (deposit) to your credit card without further reference to you in the event of a late cancellation or non-arrival

For last minute, multiple person reservations, in periods of high demand it may not be possible to put all occupants in the same room. We shall certainly do our best though!

Please note that unfortunately we do not accept guest under the age of 18!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 87%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 85%

Showing 81-90 of 158 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a good Location and next to the Central train station. They are working really friendly people. The room was nice and clean with comfy beds.

Disliked: You must pay for Wifi and its really expensive. Also they should clean more often the bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback! It's much appreciated.

Always nice to hear your room was clean and comfy and I'm glad you found the staff friendly, they LOVE what they do and I guess it shows :)
Thanks for your thoughts on the bathrooms. We have regular cleaning of the bathrooms throughout the day and night so this is disappointing to hear. I hope on your next visit you will see an improvement :)

Thanks again

Wake Up! Management

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location. Nice comfy beds.

Disliked: Rooms were quite hot to sleep in!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thanks for leaving a review after your stay with us :) We love hearing from our guests!
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Wake Up!
I'm sorry to hear your room may have been a little warm, If you ever experience that again with us please inform us so we can have a look and adjust the air condition if necessary :)

Thanks again and see you again soon

Wake Up! management

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's security and friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Internet was expensive

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi

Thanks for making the effort to leave us a review, its much appreciated!
Nice to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere, its always fun so we hope you can come back and enjoy it again in the future :)

Wake Up! Management

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The nearby breakfast cafe

Disliked: i couldn't find the pillow and the blanket in the rom

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review!

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our Cafe. Sorry to hear you couldn't find your blankets, i have a feeling one of your room mates helped themselves to an extra blanket! I hope reception managed to get you another one straight away :)

Wake Up! Management

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great facilities, modern and clean, lamps and chargers for each bed, good bar with deals downstairs. Big kitchen. Free walking tours of city centre and at Bondi which is a great way to meet people. Right next to a free bus service to the harbour. Fast (paid) Wi-Fi.

Disliked: Construction work is ongoing and can be noisy.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There,

Thanks for leaving us a review after your stay, its great to hear you enjoyed Wake Up!

It's pleasing to hear you stayed in one of our newly renovated rooms with the new bed lights and power boxes. They are a great new addition to the hostel and have been really popular so far.
Apologies for the construction going on at the moment, we're in the middle of massive improvements to the building so hopefully you can check it out next time you stay with us

Wake Up! Management

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This hostel is in a really good location. to get to the Sydney Opera House you literally just walk straight down one big road(Pitt or George) and you're basically there! :) It's right next to the Central train station, so getting to and from the airport, or indeed other stations, is easy. Chinatown is just around the corner.The facilities and rooms seemed mostly new and clean. The hostel also has various things on for free throughout the week so keep an eye out for that :)

Disliked: I wasn't overly keen on having to share a bathroom between the 6 or so rooms on my floor(at peak times that's probably about 50 people). Fortunately it wasn't super crowded when i visited, but i can imagine in peak season it can be difficult to shower in the mornings :)WiFi should also be free in my opinion, but that's not a huge deal. :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, it very much appreciated.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Wake Up! you noticed our newly refurbished rooms too!
Thanks for your feedback about the WiFi, i understand it can be a bit of a culture shock coming to Australia and you need to pay for WiFi. Unfortunately Australia is a bit behind in this aspect because internet providers are so expensive here still! I'm hoping we can change that one day soon.
Hope to see you again

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location & price in Sydney. Lovely building and atmosphere even for an older traveller. Nice guests too.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There,

thanks for leaving us a review! So glad you enjoyed your time here.

See you again soon!

Wake Up! Management

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very secure key cards and lockers. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a 6 bed dorm for just 2 of us which was great.

Disliked: The cost of the wifi was soooo expensive although the connection wa really good. The bathrooms weren't cleaned daily

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There,

thanks for leaving us a review, its much appreciated.

My apologies if the bathrooms were not up to scratch at some point. I can assure you they are methodically cleaned and checked day and night. Its disappointing you got that impression.

Really glad you enjoyed your stay as a whole though :)

Wake Up! Management

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, the 10 bed mixed dorm on the 7th floor is huge and awesome, even better than the 8 bed

Disliked: Expensive WiFi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Mate,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, its much appreciated.
Good to hear you enjoyed the new and refurbished Dorm rooms!

See you again

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything. Good rooms, nice atmosphere and a lot of special offers.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi There,

thanks for leaving us a review. Its always good to hear from our guests after your stay :)

Glad you enjoyed your time here and we will see you again soon!

Wake Up! Management

Check Availability