We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Wake Up Hostel

Hostel | 509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

89.6% Overall Rating

1162 out of 1247 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2015)

"Amazing atmosphere! People were so friendly! The hostel really made my stay in Syndey!"

Read all Wake Up Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.73

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 4 ADULTS The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 21th of December and the 3nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled. By making a reservation with your credit card you authorize us to charge 1 nights’ accommodation cost (deposit) to your credit card without further reference to you in the event of a late cancellation or non-arrival For last minute, multiple person reservations, in periods of high demand it may not be possible to put all occupants in the same room. We shall certainly do our best though! Please note that unfortunately we do not accept guest under the age of 18!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Railway Square YHA
26.50 USD

Hostel 87.3% 45 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
17.91 USD

Hostel 82.6% 431 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
27.22 USD

Hostel 88.2% 271 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
12.89 USD

Hostel 73.4% 171 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
28.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.5% 13 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
35.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.9% 11 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
22.21 USD

Hostel 77.9% 48 reviews
Bounce Sydney
21.49 USD

Hostel 94.2% 293 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

1162 out of 1247 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wake Up Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 914 of 1008 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is extremely convenient located across the road from Central station. While the hostel hosts good facilities like a cafe with cheap eats and a bar with the same, good music and chilled vibes, it's also centrally located near Broadway, Chinatown and the foodie cafes in Surry Hills (try Toast on Elizabeth St for breakfast). Rooms were large and felt really secure and we couldn't hear any other room noise or traffic which is a bonus. Would easily reccomend to all ages.

Disliked: Not massive complaints, just a few in our group found the female bathrooms a bit dirty and the mattresses a bit soft. All in all not massive complaints found here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Unclean toilets

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Camille Thurnherr

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 March 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: My friend's laptop was stolen from the storage room and the management didn't really offer to do much about it. Not happy! We might have to take legal action.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the kitchen and the way security worked, only getting onto the floor you were staying on.

Disliked: I was worried there would be a lot of partiers, which they were a lot of people who enjoyed the Sydney night life, and still came into the room quietly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katharina Ditz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

09 March 2013 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very clean, the bathrooms(most of the time) too, you have two quick elevators and the key card works very well. all the gas cookers a working and you there's no rush our, so you have everytime of the day enough space to cook.

Disliked: in the fridge is to less space for all of the cool boxes and you always have to search for a pot or forks because there are not many of it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located close to Sydney Central Station which is ideal when getting the Oz Experience bus (or many others) plus an easy journey to the airport. Even though the place is large, it maintained a comfortable atmosphere.

Disliked: The bathroom on my floor wasn't as clean as I would have liked but was ok.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SEUNGJU KIM

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2013

Liked: kind steff....

Disliked: I used KST that is awful!!!! and very durty bath room.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the rooms!!

Disliked: The bathrooms and kitchen could have been a bit more clean - more space for things in the fridges

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sarah Klassen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and organized

Disliked: a bit of a party hostel, which isn't really my thing - still my room was more than quiet enough to have a good sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

miss nutcka ekara

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 miss nutcka would recommend this property

Liked: website : hostelbookers.com. Help me to got the best hotel. Thank you so much for help me. Hope to have a business with you again.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Keenan Kelsey

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2013 Keenan would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location and vibe of the area

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Iacopo Alfonso Rovere

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 February 2013 Iacopo Alfonso would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, new and safe

Disliked: Iacopo Alfonso left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness and the overall feel to the building. Although it was a large hostel, it didn't feel it once you got to your floor. It was bright and well finished. The internet access was good and the staff were super friendly!

Disliked: The noise levels were pretty bad. It is a central hostel so to be expected.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mostly the location and cleanliness of the hostel

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Eike Steenken

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2013 Eike would recommend this property

Liked: + Really good Vibe and feel for such a big hostel + Stylish interior + Located next to Central Station (good with heavy Backpack) + Walkingdistance or a few Trainstations away from everything that matters

Disliked: - Expensive Bagstorage

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rebecca Sofie Brenoe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2013 Rebecca Sofie would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms are big. The ground floor is cosy, but there's nowhere else on the floors to sit.

Disliked: The kitchen is a bit to busy! Not that clean either.. Only one lamp in the room! My 4 pers female dorm was a mess! Seems like it had been a while since someone cleaned it! Wii is expensive - 10 $ for 24 hours..

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Quigley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, large common areas, and a great central location

Disliked: It smelled a bit funny

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ruth Ritchie

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

16 February 2013 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The bar.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great big rooms, EXCELLENT location!

Disliked: A few more power points in the rooms could be handy!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful staff,bathroom & kitchen

Disliked: The uncomfortable couch

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good points where it's location close to the station and not a long walk to the harbour showers were the best iv had in a hostel so far!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david --

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

13 February 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: People in the hostel are always up for some fun, the facilities of the kitchen are fully equipped, the staff are friendly, and I like the music!

Disliked: It is a little walk from the supermarket and other conveniences.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,clean rooms

Disliked: Public toilet in Byron Bay are cleaner!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty clean and not a bad atmosphere considering how big it is.

Disliked: Cooking facilities are inadequate for the number of guests. Not really any decent social space unless you want to spend time in a bar that's underground.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good security free vouchers friendly staff Good location - just off the free bus route Bar underneath which offers good deals on food and drink

Disliked: Kitchen was disgusting, granted not all down to the hostel but the guests as well, however bins were overflowing, fridges were dirty, flies all around the dry food boxes. Bathrooms were a good size but the bins were overflowing every night and first thing in the morning We never saw a cleaner at work whilst we were there. Part of the vouchers were for Travel Up but the desk isn't open at weekends so we couldn't get the money off.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels