We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Wake Up Hostel

Hostel | 509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

88.1% Overall Rating

1156 out of 1241 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2015)

Andres Ochoa thinks…

"Great atmosphere and staff are really nice. Sidebar downstairs has some great deals and sure to be a great night out. Bathrooms and room was clean."

Read all Wake Up Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.01

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 4 ADULTS The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 21th of December and the 3nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled. By making a reservation with your credit card you authorize us to charge 1 nights’ accommodation cost (deposit) to your credit card without further reference to you in the event of a late cancellation or non-arrival For last minute, multiple person reservations, in periods of high demand it may not be possible to put all occupants in the same room. We shall certainly do our best though!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Railway Square YHA
27.78 USD

Hostel 87.3% 45 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
18.77 USD

Hostel 79.7% 427 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
28.53 USD

Hostel 88.9% 267 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
13.51 USD

Hostel 72.0% 166 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
29.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.5% 13 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
37.54 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.9% 11 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
21.77 USD

Hostel 77.9% 48 reviews
Bounce Sydney
22.52 USD

Hostel 93.8% 291 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

1156 out of 1241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wake Up Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 909 of 1002 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is opposite the train station and close to a couple of sights, so great location. The hostel looks very nice. Friendly staff. They have small dorms and also dorms for only women.

Disliked: - You have to pay for wifi. - When I arrived, the bathrooms were very clean but it looked like they were not cleaned a couple of times a day, because more and more paper was on the floor and spots on the toilet sometimes were there 16 hours later. - Check out is at 10 am, which is ok. But if you want to store your luggage because your plane is leaving in the evening for example, you have to pay for the storage. I had to pay 12 dollars for storing my luggage for 8 hours.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, located next to central station makes it super easy to get to. Some of the staff are super helpful and friendly.

Disliked: A couple of their front desk staff were super lazy. They have a luggage room, but the staff try to tell you that it's full and get you to pay for their lockers instead. when I asked to leave my bag in the luggage room, twice I was told it was full. It wasn't, they just didn't want to make the short walk to unlock it for me. I know this because while waiting for my friend to get change for the lockers another staff member came to open the luggage room for another guest and the other staff member let me store my bag in the luggage room. There was plenty of space! Checkout can be hectic if you leave around 10am.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Auzan Syaidi Abdul Lateh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Auzan Syaidi would recommend this property

Liked: It is definitely strategic because it is located just across the Central station and it is also near eatery places ranging from all kind of food.

Disliked: It does not provide free wifi and breakfast like other places.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Up to date facilities, everything on offer

Disliked: 24 hour check in means lots of 3am people coming in to your room Wahsroom was out of order for 2 days and absolutely destroyed for a day before that

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too loud, no quite hours on the sleeping floors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Nice set out, I stayed in a female room. Staff helpful, good location- ideal tiger to and from airport. 20min walk into centre

Disliked: Kitchens to small, not enough cutlery

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! In a great location, friendly and helpful staff. Room was perfect for us.

Disliked: Room was only on the second floor, could hear street noise and partying from the club below all night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niels Soto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 August 2013 Niels would recommend this property

Liked: simply one of the friendliest, most modern, best located hostels with probably the best atmosphere around sydney. stayed there around new years what made it pretty expensive (about 40AUD/night) but it was totally worth it. rooms and lounge was clean, staff super friendly, shower facilities very good. the hostel has it own pub around the building and the train station is about 5 minutes away. about 10 minutes to chinatown.

Disliked: it's a little bit far from every other outgoing part of sydney.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Edel Kirk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2013 Edel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, clean and excellent location

Disliked: Wasn't advised that they where doing the building up. Noisy in the mornings

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wake Up Hostel is conveniently located across the road from Sydney's Central Train Station, has a nice little bar/restaurant on the ground floor, and is a very clean hostel with a friendly and professional atmosphere. I recommend this hostel to other travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Adam Dunn

With a large group / tour

City break

05 August 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: cost

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has a lot of activities, day an night.

Disliked: First floor tv is tooo loud.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed there for one night, the staff were friendly, useful and informative. Great facilities.

Disliked: Would be nice to have cheaper/free wi-fi, pity about all the construction work, but understandable, and in the end it didn't really bother us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Szendzielorz

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 July 2013 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at the wake up. The hostel is very safe, modern and clean. The location is great right next to central station. I arrived early in the morning after a long flight from Germany and even though the check in is at 10 am I was allowed to go to my room right away. That was pretty awesome. All the staff was very friendly especially Richie from the reception. If you have a question go and ask Richie. He is a very helpful and fun guy. The wake up also offers lots of activities for example free city tours or free beach tours. It is worth the money and I am definitely staying here again.

Disliked: Johanna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liang Shang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 July 2013 Liang would recommend this property

Liked: Upon Checking-in I was upgraded by Mo from reception who was fantastic to a 4 share which made the night sleep nice and peacefully as I drove from Melbourne all day. I was only in Sydney for 1 night though so I was looking to get out. Had a great night out down in Side bar with Richie from reception who was an absolute legend. All the Reception & bar staffs were very helpful & friendly. The hostel is located close to central station, supermarket & cheap food places. Hostel in very clean throughout, big bathroom & showers. There was a well setup kitchen & TV room but never had a chance to use it as I only stayed one night. I will be back to stay for more in near future.

Disliked: Liang left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean, Awesome Night club downstairs. I really enjoyed the banter and jokes I had with Richie at reception. He showed us a great time at the back to school party on the Monday night, Crazy for a Monday. Everyone at reception was fantastic definitely staying here again.

Disliked: nothing everything was spectacular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I did get a sale price, but it was great value for money because of the location (close to central station). Another positive was that the hostel was very clean and modern.

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROBERT BOSTOCK

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 ROBERT would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. Right in the middle of the city. Across the road from central station. Services are great: cafe, bar/club, nice kitchen, bathrooms really clean. I spoke to four staff members and 3/4 were fantastic and friendly! I arrived at 7am and although I couldn't check in, I was able to use the facilities and store my bag. Everything was easy!

Disliked: The showers! If u love having to stand pushed up against the tiles just to get wet by cold water then this is the place for u! I actually skipped my shower in the morning cos they were so unappealing. I am quite anal about showers in fairness but these had neither heat or pressure.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carly Rae

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and big rooms.

Disliked: Hi wifi costs

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Merle Roennebeck

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Merle would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was well-located in the city centre, in walking distance to Darling Harbour, Opera as well as the Harbour Bridge. I liked the hostel, it was safe and staff was nice. The Side Bar just below the hostel itself is an institution, it was nice and you can party there for 1 or 2 nights. All over nice hostel where you get value for money.

Disliked: The bathrooms as well as the rooms could have been a bit cleaner, all in all it was fine, but still, would have been nice. Same goes for kitchen although I did not use it. Our room was on the first floor where you kinda could hear the street noise - try to get one on the upper floors! Internet is quite expensive and also lockers have to be paid - that is a bit too much when you consider you slept in the hostel and just wanna get rid of your stuff while exploring the city further.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the city, good transport, richie at the reception was awesome, nice tour guide

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location+ clean.

Disliked: Wi-Fi is $3.90 per hour. Cannot stay additional days for online prices.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Meg Pritchard

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013 Meg would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice and modern

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dean Hyde

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for central stations, as well as bars. Overall great hostel

Disliked: Showers could do with an upgrade. I never had to wait for a shower but water pressure and temperature could be better

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victoria Cook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location Good showers Friendly staff

Disliked: Booked a private room for 3 people but there were two girls already in room. We were fine to share with the 1 girl who said she had a booking but the other girl was sleeping on the floor, On second morning another girl came in to the room but there were already us plus the 4th person (unless there are two girls abusing the system and moving between rooms!)


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels