HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Wake Up! Sydney Central Sydney Hostel

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 87%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Internet café
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.40USD

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 4 ADULTS

The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 21th of December and the 3nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled.

By making a reservation with your credit card you authorize us to charge 1 nights’ accommodation cost (deposit) to your credit card without further reference to you in the event of a late cancellation or non-arrival

For last minute, multiple person reservations, in periods of high demand it may not be possible to put all occupants in the same room. We shall certainly do our best though!

Please note that unfortunately we do not accept guest under the age of 18!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 87%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 85%

Showing 31-40 of 158 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: O

Disliked: O

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean! The building is huge so you didn't feel like you could hear your neighbours too much. The coffee in the attached cafe is really good.

Disliked: Even though I was on the sixth floor, I could still hear the music from the Side Bar through the floor which seemed to get louder towards 3am. The deposit for the keys is quite a lot, and not mentioned in the tickets or reservation so when I arrived with my friend I had to pay an additional $40, plus another $10 for the towel...and then only got $5 back at the end!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The travel desk is really handy to book trips and the cafe downstairs does really nice food at a fair price.

Disliked: The bathrooms could be cleaner and I didn't really enjoy my stay because about 25 people had crammed into my room to have a party. There are social areas for that! Security did eventually come round and moved everyone on but by then I was angry and people staying in the room continued to make loads of noise afterwards. I did complain the next morning and I think the hostel handled it really well by offering a free upgrade and a free coffee. I had intended to cancel and go to another hostel but after that I decided to stay. It wasn't the hostels fault after all but there should be more monitoring of that kind of thing. Keep the party in social areas people some have early flights the next day!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, great people and very easy to feel at home. Was in a good location too. A very professionally run hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location, very clean, rooms are good size, staff are brilliant, cafe on the side which is cheap and bar underneath which is cheap, what more can you ask for?

Disliked: Nothing, very happy. Great value.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location & friendly staff

Disliked: The fact you can only use the lift, no stairs available

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Social able

Disliked: The speakers into rooms

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel, very friendly staff, clean rooms, comfy beds and lockers. 6 bed dorms are better than the 4 bed dorms as you don't have your own bedside light and power plug in the 4 bed dorm.

Disliked: No free wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean roomsHelpful staffTravel desk was awesomeLots of fun stuff to do every nightKitchen was tidy and had no problem getting a stove

Disliked: Elevator took forever being on the top floorDidn't like that there weren't any stairsThe card system was a bit annoying (key access to go on the elevator)Not the closest to the opera house area which wasn't mentioned clearly before booking

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: So close to everything.

Disliked: Squeaky bed.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability