We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Wake Up Hostel

Hostel | 509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

88.7% Overall Rating

1148 out of 1232 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/04/2015)

"Very clean! The building is huge so you didn't feel like you could hear your neighbours too much. The coffee in the attached cafe is really good."

Read all Wake Up Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.28

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 4 ADULTS The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 21th of December and the 3nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled. By making a reservation with your credit card you authorize us to charge 1 nights’ accommodation cost (deposit) to your credit card without further reference to you in the event of a late cancellation or non-arrival For last minute, multiple person reservations, in periods of high demand it may not be possible to put all occupants in the same room. We shall certainly do our best though!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Railway Square YHA
30.61 USD

Hostel 86.2% 44 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
19.62 USD

Hostel 80.1% 425 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
31.39 USD

Hostel 88.7% 262 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
18.83 USD

Hostel 71.3% 160 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
32.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.5% 12 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
39.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.9% 11 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
21.19 USD

Hostel 75.5% 46 reviews
Bounce Sydney
23.54 USD

Hostel 94.6% 283 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

1148 out of 1232 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wake Up Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 902 of 992 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jonathan Korkush

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly helpful staff, the free walking tour of Sydney and the view we had in our room was also nice

Disliked: The bathrooms werent very clean sometimes and when we woke up the next day the hallways eere littered with sheets and garbage

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Bramich

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2014 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Constant events, specials and things to do. Great central location to everything.

Disliked: Not much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Ward

Alone

Events / festivals

25 February 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: it's location

Disliked: Showers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hiu Wai Hayley Tai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 February 2014 Hiu Wai Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: good location. Reasonable price.

Disliked: noisy and many people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara wyn Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Sara wyn would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of people there same situation, traveling alone, everyone there was so easily to get on with, and around the same age. Spacious rooms. Very clean, would come back again.

Disliked: Kitchen was way to small!!! Could never go there in the evenings to cook as it was always packed with people. Could of done with more showers,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy be cause it is false flooring and walls and this make it really noisy just one person walk by outside the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location right near central station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Shuster

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was so friendly and helpful, I was made to feel so welcome! Free drinks and good nights in the side bar. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms good. The people in the room were great, like minded travellers. Made good friends in 2 days!

Disliked: The showers could have been a little more powerful but we're adequate.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joe Ullman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 February 2014 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay! Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Spartan room. No chair, no hangers, no lamp. Male opening our door in the morning to peer at us in bed and saying it was a room check. Front desk said this was standard policy. Very creepy. We requested this stop and it did.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Just near the train station and you can easily walk around and explore the area.

Disliked: You could hear the noise along the hallway. Guest can be loud at 2AM. Earplug is a must.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julian Frederic Hotz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014 Julian Frederic would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was awesome. so friendly.. just perfect

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location hostel to live

Disliked: security card no work often

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, clean, great atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We are a group of over 50s and loved the location and value for money. Friendly check in and any questions answered and problems resolved immediately. Security was excellent, especially on New Year's Eve.

Disliked: Web site undersold the place. It was not made clear that a community kitchen was available - only that there was a café adjoining. Plus, young people were a priority- we were told that this is a YOUTH hostel. As world travellers, we can tell you that this is an outdated term!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the central station and the side bar downstairs was great for hanging out. The hostel is in better condition than most hostels. The kitchen area is very nice and suits many needs. Many people complained that private rooms had "too" effective air conditioning but we did not encounter that problem.

Disliked: In 10-bed shared rooms, the in & out traffic is very high, and if you're staying longer than a few days, it gets frustrating. Also, as the 10-bed rooms are located on the first floor just above the side bar and near the common area (tv, tables etc), they are quite noisy almost every night, but still within the tolerable limits. Most frustrating thing during our stay was the knocking on our door almost every night, usually when someone in the room had lost his/her key card or it wasn't working. In addition, it is very common that people just leave their belongings laying around in every corner or other space they can find.The wifi is also expensive and very slow, and doing laundry is not free.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People that didnt stay at the hostel wanted to be there. People that left the hostel didnt want to leave. Sorta says it all.

Disliked: Lifts were sometimes slow. But wasn't a problem.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay for young travellers.

Disliked: Lockers aren't great as they are an L shape, very few rucksacks can fit in without being emptied, not ideal for short stays!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms, bathroom, bar are nice. This place is right for the 18-early 20s party go-er.

Disliked: Always VERY busy, staff isn't overly attentive and the elevators are very slow.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent and convenient, being located right next to the Central Station and near Chinatown. The hostel cafe served good food and coffee. The atmosphere in the hostel is very energetic and lively (probably the reason why it's called Wake Up Hostel!). A very cool and hip place to stay in Sydney!

Disliked: I was a little disappointed that internet and wi-fi were not provided for free.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alex Craig

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 December 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Nicest hostel I've stayed in, I had a lovely clean and tidy room. Lockers are available in the rooms which I didn't expect so that was great. Comfy beds and and very little noise coming from outside during the night. Housekeeping came in regularly to empty bins etc and I felt the cleanliness was up to a very high standard. Extremely friendly staff on arrival who were also helpful. The adjoining cafe serves fab food, the breakfast we had whilst there was brilliant. Bathrooms were large and mostly clean, located close to rooms and I liked that there were separate male and female bathrooms.

Disliked: The only negative I could think of is that it's slightly more expensive than other hostels although it is much, much nicer than others I've stayed in. Also at nighttime there tended to be small crowds of people hanging around by the entrance which was a little intimidating when alone.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Thubron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Central Station, nice bar downstairs from hostel

Disliked: Very busy, waiting for the elevator

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

SHAO-CHUN WU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 SHAO-CHUN would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people around, and free activities!

Disliked: Quite noisy at night! And no free wifi.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so very friendly and helpful! It had its own cafe and a good internet set-up

Disliked: I could hear the music from the hostel club from my bed on the 2nd floor

The property's response is...


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels