We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Wake Up Hostel

Hostel | 509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

92.6% Overall Rating

1126 out of 1209 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/01/2015)

"The staff always helpful and have a smile on their faces,the location is excellent near Central station & pretty easy to get around on foot around Sydney"

Read all Wake Up Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.99

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 4 ADULTS The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 20th of December and the 2nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled. By making a reservation with your credit card you authorize us to charge 1 nights’ accommodation cost (deposit) to your credit card without further reference to you in the event of a late cancellation or non-arrival For last minute, multiple person reservations, in periods of high demand it may not be possible to put all occupants in the same room. We shall certainly do our best though!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Railway Square YHA
34.06 USD

Hostel 86.2% 43 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
25.33 USD

Hostel 79.7% 420 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
34.93 USD

Hostel 87.7% 257 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
21.83 USD

Hostel 69.7% 150 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
34.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.5% 12 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
43.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.9% 11 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
28.82 USD

Hostel 77.1% 44 reviews
Bounce Sydney
26.20 USD

Hostel 95.0% 275 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

1126 out of 1209 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wake Up Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 882 of 970 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent and convenient, being located right next to the Central Station and near Chinatown. The hostel cafe served good food and coffee. The atmosphere in the hostel is very energetic and lively (probably the reason why it's called Wake Up Hostel!). A very cool and hip place to stay in Sydney!

Disliked: I was a little disappointed that internet and wi-fi were not provided for free.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alex Craig

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 December 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Nicest hostel I've stayed in, I had a lovely clean and tidy room. Lockers are available in the rooms which I didn't expect so that was great. Comfy beds and and very little noise coming from outside during the night. Housekeeping came in regularly to empty bins etc and I felt the cleanliness was up to a very high standard. Extremely friendly staff on arrival who were also helpful. The adjoining cafe serves fab food, the breakfast we had whilst there was brilliant. Bathrooms were large and mostly clean, located close to rooms and I liked that there were separate male and female bathrooms.

Disliked: The only negative I could think of is that it's slightly more expensive than other hostels although it is much, much nicer than others I've stayed in. Also at nighttime there tended to be small crowds of people hanging around by the entrance which was a little intimidating when alone.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Thubron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Central Station, nice bar downstairs from hostel

Disliked: Very busy, waiting for the elevator

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

SHAO-CHUN WU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 SHAO-CHUN would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people around, and free activities!

Disliked: Quite noisy at night! And no free wifi.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so very friendly and helpful! It had its own cafe and a good internet set-up

Disliked: I could hear the music from the hostel club from my bed on the 2nd floor

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Jenkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 November 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Of all the hostels I've stayed at over my travels, Wake Up! Sydney, is hands down my favorite! It has a great location, easy to get to from the airport and having the Central Station right across the street makes getting anywhere in Sydney so easy! Their travel desk makes coming in on a Working Holiday Visa extremely easy as they help you get set up with your TFN and a phone number. They have Side Bar in the basement with awesome specials every night of the week and a killer live band on top of that to make for an awesome night out! Wake Up! Sydney is a must stay even for just a night or two for backpackers in my opinion!

Disliked: I can't say there was a single thing I disliked about this hostel!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly that everything about it felt so thought through. Everything lived up to standard.

Disliked: One of the male staff members in thr reception seemed more interested in giving good service to women than men.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: no atmosphere

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Different activities being offered daily.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, a great hostel

Disliked: Only one comment, the pressure on the showers wasn't always good

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

emily kate Blocki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 emily kate would recommend this property

Liked: location, rooms nice, free lockers, friendlty and helpful staff

Disliked: not enough plug sockets, rooms only cleaned once a week.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Kevin Kelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

17 November 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Bar downstairs. Doormen reasonable with bringing in Alcohol etc. Fair hostel.

Disliked: My duvet was minging. I asked the girl to change it, she went outside, folder the one i gave her and basically handed the same one back into me thinking I wouldnt notice.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, blankets, beds and it's cool inside so you can have a proper sleep.

Disliked: Very slow lifts, very loud and slaming doors.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elora Norman

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping

14 November 2013 Elora would recommend this property

Liked: Such a cool atmosphere, clean, and fun!

Disliked: Elora left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sara prickett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 sara would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and spacious

Disliked: n/a

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LINAWATY HARSONO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 LINAWATY would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,helpfull staff,its recomended !

Disliked: LINAWATY left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people staying there!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a fresh, lively vibe to it. It's aesthetically appealing!

Disliked: The fact that everything has a cost except for city tours.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great cheap and secure place to stay at in Sydney.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great cafe, Bar and secure with swipe cards

Disliked: Nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean modern hostel.

Disliked: More double rooms available. Was in an 8 bed dorm where everyone was drinking in the dorm each night being very loud and inconsiderate. They wouldn't move anywhere else. Not an enjoyable stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark McNeil

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 October 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: I really love this hostel. It's a stones throw from central station, which makes it a doddle when you have all your luggage! Nice and friendly staff, I dealt with Aaron over the phone to arrange prepayment, he sorted it out gladly! The staff at check in have always been super nice and helpful and willing to answer any questions I've had. The premises is spotless. The beds are comf. And the residents are mainly quite fit!!!

Disliked: Check out is at 10AM. Not uncommon, but they are missing out on a load of money by not offering a late checkout for an extra $5.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comparatively modern facilities friendly staff

Disliked: relatively clean bathrooms but not sure about why I needed to carry the pillow case downstairs without taking the sheets too inconsiderate fellow roommates- banging doors open after 2am

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is opposite the train station and close to a couple of sights, so great location. The hostel looks very nice. Friendly staff. They have small dorms and also dorms for only women.

Disliked: - You have to pay for wifi. - When I arrived, the bathrooms were very clean but it looked like they were not cleaned a couple of times a day, because more and more paper was on the floor and spots on the toilet sometimes were there 16 hours later. - Check out is at 10 am, which is ok. But if you want to store your luggage because your plane is leaving in the evening for example, you have to pay for the storage. I had to pay 12 dollars for storing my luggage for 8 hours.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, located next to central station makes it super easy to get to. Some of the staff are super helpful and friendly.

Disliked: A couple of their front desk staff were super lazy. They have a luggage room, but the staff try to tell you that it's full and get you to pay for their lockers instead. when I asked to leave my bag in the luggage room, twice I was told it was full. It wasn't, they just didn't want to make the short walk to unlock it for me. I know this because while waiting for my friend to get change for the lockers another staff member came to open the luggage room for another guest and the other staff member let me store my bag in the luggage room. There was plenty of space! Checkout can be hectic if you leave around 10am.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels