HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Wake Up! Sydney Central Sydney

Hostel

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 85%

Location 95%

Safety 93%

Staff 94%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.07USD

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 4 ADULTS

The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 21th of December and the 3nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled.

By making a reservation with your credit card you authorize us to charge 1 nights’ accommodation cost (deposit) to your credit card without further reference to you in the event of a late cancellation or non-arrival

For last minute, multiple person reservations, in periods of high demand it may not be possible to put all occupants in the same room. We shall certainly do our best though!

Please note that unfortunately we do not accept guest under the age of 18!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 85%

Location 95%

Safety 93%

Staff 94%

Value 86%

Showing 301-197 of 197 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: it was just awesome, and finding out you have got a Colombian girl working at the front desk made my day. It was a great experience and would recommend it 150%!!

Disliked: nothing! everything was soo cool

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great!Probably the perfect hostel for young people interested in heavy partying.

Disliked: Having to pay for Internet access feels like traveling ten years back in time when compared to Europe (or Malaysia for that matter). A little like being charged extra for electricity. And of course you have to pay once for your smart phone, once for your laptop, and once for your iPad. Profit - for them!Also, the bathrooms are just clean enough so you can't really complain - but not cleaner.


The property's response is

Hi Eric

It's common here for hostels to charge for wifi as internet connections are quite expensive. Our new super-fast internet connection is 20MB up/down which is fast and more reliable than you'll find anywhere else. We have great daily/weekly specials on our internet too.

Our bathrooms are cleaned twice a day, but as you'll know from your travels backpackers can be a bit messy. If you find them to be untidy we ask you see our 24hr reception so they can fix it immediately.

Cheers!

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the lobby.

Disliked: To much air condition in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: near to Central station

Disliked: too expensive for facilitys, free offers are not really free, no towels, bathroom dirty, was cleaned only in late afternoon, staff not interested, didn´t know and tell things you asked fore


The property's response is

Hi

Thanks for your review!

We are a bit more pricier than some other hostels in Sydney but that's because we have the best facilities, staff, location and atmosphere. We're sorry to hear you didn't experience this during your 1 night stay - But we'd love to welcome you back here so you can see what we're really like! It's hard to form an accurate opinion in just 1 night!

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

Cheers
Kyle @ Wake Up!

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome location right next to the central station, clean, a good hostel.

Disliked: Not worth the money. I have seen better / same hostels for less money. Nothing which would be worth to pay more than for other hostels.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Layout and vibe.

Disliked: Expensive, internet slow and expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: was a very social hostel, lots of friends to be made and good if you travelling by yourself. the side bar is good value for food and happy hour you can get cheap drinks.

Disliked: Was very young! Dont go if you over 25. did remind me of an 18 year old party sometimes. I stayed in a 10 dorm so it was what to be expected... little sleep. i made some good friends there but would not stay longer than a few nights.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Brilliant place!!! Loved the stay and will most certainly be back... The vibe is totally cool and hip. and the fact that it is over the street from Central Station makes it Idea!!!

Disliked: Maybe have separate rooms for guys and girls?

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: simply one of the friendliest, most modern, best located hostels with probably the best atmosphere around sydney. stayed there around new years what made it pretty expensive (about 40AUD/night) but it was totally worth it. rooms and lounge was clean, staff super friendly, shower facilities very good. the hostel has it own pub around the building and the train station is about 5 minutes away. about 10 minutes to chinatown.

Disliked: it's a little bit far from every other outgoing part of sydney.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the hostel is managed professionally and is very well located (near central station)

Disliked: nothing at all

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability