HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Wake Up! Sydney Central Sydney Hostel

509 Pitt Street, Opposite Central Railway, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 91%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.52USD

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 4 ADULTS

The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 21th of December and the 3nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled.

By making a reservation with your credit card you authorize us to charge 1 nights’ accommodation cost (deposit) to your credit card without further reference to you in the event of a late cancellation or non-arrival

For last minute, multiple person reservations, in periods of high demand it may not be possible to put all occupants in the same room. We shall certainly do our best though!

Please note that unfortunately we do not accept guest under the age of 18!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 91%

Value 86%

Showing 21-30 of 172 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere and staff are really nice. Sidebar downstairs has some great deals and sure to be a great night out. Bathrooms and room was clean.

Disliked: After a big night out at sidebar they had construction/ banging at 8 am in the room next door.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean and comfortable. It catered for the large group of people we booked. It was close to facilities we wanted to access.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff,good rooms,good self catering facilities.I was given a free days wifi in addition to 3 days I paid for.Close to Central Stn so easy access to airport & trains.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly & helpful staff, clean, lots of events/promotions

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It has a good location, right next to Central station, good for transport (train, bus, greyhound bus etc), good perks for booking through hostel bookers, really friendly staff on the reception, relatively quiet, nice decor and modern design.

Disliked: Untidy bathroom due to other guests drinking there before going out, small under equipped kitchen, no lamps in rooms, just a big light, only 2 plug sockets for 4 people, tannoy announcements into the rooms themselves felt a bit 'big brother'/1984 for my liking.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Activities nightly and it's just perfect for backpackers

Disliked: Would like to be taken out to clubs/bars outside of the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: O

Disliked: O

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean! The building is huge so you didn't feel like you could hear your neighbours too much. The coffee in the attached cafe is really good.

Disliked: Even though I was on the sixth floor, I could still hear the music from the Side Bar through the floor which seemed to get louder towards 3am. The deposit for the keys is quite a lot, and not mentioned in the tickets or reservation so when I arrived with my friend I had to pay an additional $40, plus another $10 for the towel...and then only got $5 back at the end!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The travel desk is really handy to book trips and the cafe downstairs does really nice food at a fair price.

Disliked: The bathrooms could be cleaner and I didn't really enjoy my stay because about 25 people had crammed into my room to have a party. There are social areas for that! Security did eventually come round and moved everyone on but by then I was angry and people staying in the room continued to make loads of noise afterwards. I did complain the next morning and I think the hostel handled it really well by offering a free upgrade and a free coffee. I had intended to cancel and go to another hostel but after that I decided to stay. It wasn't the hostels fault after all but there should be more monitoring of that kind of thing. Keep the party in social areas people some have early flights the next day!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, great people and very easy to feel at home. Was in a good location too. A very professionally run hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability