We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Wake Up Hostel

Hostel | 509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

89.7% Overall Rating

1146 out of 1230 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2015)

"The travel desk is really handy to book trips and the cafe downstairs does really nice food at a fair price."

Read all Wake Up Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.23

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 4 ADULTS The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 20th of December and the 2nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled. By making a reservation with your credit card you authorize us to charge 1 nights’ accommodation cost (deposit) to your credit card without further reference to you in the event of a late cancellation or non-arrival For last minute, multiple person reservations, in periods of high demand it may not be possible to put all occupants in the same room. We shall certainly do our best though!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Railway Square YHA
30.38 USD

Hostel 86.2% 44 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
21.81 USD

Hostel 80.1% 425 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
31.16 USD

Hostel 87.9% 261 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
18.69 USD

Hostel 72.0% 159 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
35.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.5% 12 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
38.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.9% 11 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
21.81 USD

Hostel 75.5% 46 reviews
Bounce Sydney
23.37 USD

Hostel 94.6% 283 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

1146 out of 1230 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wake Up Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
77.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 901 of 991 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good Location and next to the Central train station. They are working really friendly people. The room was nice and clean with comfy beds.

Disliked: You must pay for Wifi and its really expensive. Also they should clean more often the bathroom.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Nice comfy beds.

Disliked: Rooms were quite hot to sleep in!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's security and friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Internet was expensive

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Levinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 June 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: BYO, always good! Sidebar next door is a laugh even if a bit rusty! Massive rooms!

Disliked: Probably too big, possibly hard to meet people if roomies aren't any good.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james hanrahan

Alone

City break

31 May 2014 james would recommend this property

Liked: The nearby breakfast cafe

Disliked: i couldn't find the pillow and the blanket in the rom

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Rodgers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a really good location. to get to the Sydney Opera House you literally just walk straight down one big road(Pitt or George) and you're basically there! :) It's right next to the Central train station, so getting to and from the airport, or indeed other stations, is easy. Chinatown is just around the corner. The facilities and rooms seemed mostly new and clean. The hostel also has various things on for free throughout the week so keep an eye out for that :)

Disliked: I wasn't overly keen on having to share a bathroom between the 6 or so rooms on my floor(at peak times that's probably about 50 people). Fortunately it wasn't super crowded when i visited, but i can imagine in peak season it can be difficult to shower in the mornings :) WiFi should also be free in my opinion, but that's not a huge deal. :)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location & price in Sydney. Lovely building and atmosphere even for an older traveller. Nice guests too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure key cards and lockers. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a 6 bed dorm for just 2 of us which was great.

Disliked: The cost of the wifi was soooo expensive although the connection wa really good. The bathrooms weren't cleaned daily

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Timothy Reese

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, the 10 bed mixed dorm on the 7th floor is huge and awesome, even better than the 8 bed

Disliked: Expensive WiFi

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabian Ott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Good rooms, nice atmosphere and a lot of special offers.

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014

Liked: Kitchen facilities Thy off something to do every night and that's such a good way to make friends

Disliked: The cost of wifi is ridiculous Location is quite a walk to circular quay but then thereis the 555 free bus close by

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was exactly what we wanted. Clean, fun and very central. The cafe served an amazing breakfast!

Disliked: Someone was booked into our room when wed booked the entire dorm. Honest mistake though.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Stephens

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and awesome atmosphere. The cafe and bar were good value too.

Disliked: That I had to leave and that there was no soap in the shower.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Maughan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The place was amazing! Room and bathrooms clean, food at the side bar was amazing! Great place to stay, highly recommend!

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great! Really easy to meet people in the social areas, and they also do free walking tours of the city and beaches, which loads of people go on and it's a great way to meet people. They had free goon some nights, free BBQ one night, rooms are clean and secure. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: I think they need an extra elevator as it takes 10 minutes to get to your room sometimes! Also wifi is very expensive.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Hendry

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 March 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Very clean and safe. Great location. Awesome help desk to aid you in tours, jobs and other general information. Great food for cheap price.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great because there were other young people the same age. Had a cool vibe, and everyone who was working there were very friendly

Disliked: We weren't supplied with towels

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Charles

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 March 2014 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Stayed in a double private in the 6th floor and it was more then I expected!! Very clean and modern.

Disliked: It was really cold in our room and our cards for the lift had to be scanned many times so they would work.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 March 2014

Liked: Location was gd, clean rooms and comfy beds.

Disliked: Bit of a money making hostel, they charge for everything possible, and all overpriced. Not the best for mixing with people either almost to big a hostel. Kitchen needs more utensils for size of hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall cleanliness is OK. Rooms are nice and they have free lockers.

Disliked: Senseless announcements for things you can read yourself (activities, bar stuff...) early morning. Whole hostel is rather faceless and huge. And hey guys: for that price offer free Wi-Fi... that's embarrassing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, secure, friendly

Disliked: Kitchen closed at 10 and I arrived 1030 so couldn't put my things in the fridge. Otherwise was great place

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bar, food

Disliked: no free wi fi, bathrooms where never clean in 4 days, the staff where very amateur, and people where loud in the rooms until very late

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastiaan Berger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2014 Sebastiaan would recommend this property

Liked: Als je aankomt in de grote stad, is het fijn om vanuit hier de basis te leggen voor de reis die je wilt maken. Wake Up hostel is de ideale plek voor beginnende backpackers om te zien hoe het reilen en zeilen gaat in een Australisch hostel. Erg schoon, vriendelijke mensen die je altijd wegwijs willen maken en goed gelegen.

Disliked: Het hele Australische karakter sprak mij erg aan. Ik heb er waanzinnig leuke mensen ontmoet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: compared to the previous place I was staying at this property is far nicer. The rooms are spacious and are not crammed with too many bunk beds. there are enough power sockets in the room to charge gadgets. showers and toilets were very clean and better than I expected!

Disliked: The lockable storage cupboards were in an awkward shape so you can't really fit everything in. just your valuables ext... the mattress was a little bit on the thin side but i could live with that.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jonathan Korkush

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly helpful staff, the free walking tour of Sydney and the view we had in our room was also nice

Disliked: The bathrooms werent very clean sometimes and when we woke up the next day the hallways eere littered with sheets and garbage


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels