We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Wake Up Hostel

Hostel | 509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

95.1% Overall Rating

1109 out of 1192 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/11/2014)

"It's a social hostel with events organised for you to meet other travellers and see the city"

Read all Wake Up Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.99

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 6 ADULTS The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 20th of December and the 2nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Railway Square YHA
34.06 USD

Hostel 86.6% 42 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
26.20 USD

Hostel 80.1% 415 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
34.93 USD

Hostel 88.3% 252 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
20.96 USD

Hostel 70.9% 134 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
40.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 11 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
43.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 9 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
27.95 USD

Hostel 78.4% 43 reviews
Bounce Sydney
35.81 USD

Hostel 94.6% 270 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

1109 out of 1192 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wake Up Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 870 of 953 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Shuster

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was so friendly and helpful, I was made to feel so welcome! Free drinks and good nights in the side bar. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms good. The people in the room were great, like minded travellers. Made good friends in 2 days!

Disliked: The showers could have been a little more powerful but we're adequate.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joe Ullman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 February 2014 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay! Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Spartan room. No chair, no hangers, no lamp. Male opening our door in the morning to peer at us in bed and saying it was a room check. Front desk said this was standard policy. Very creepy. We requested this stop and it did.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Just near the train station and you can easily walk around and explore the area.

Disliked: You could hear the noise along the hallway. Guest can be loud at 2AM. Earplug is a must.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julian Frederic Hotz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014 Julian Frederic would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was awesome. so friendly.. just perfect

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location hostel to live

Disliked: security card no work often

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, clean, great atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We are a group of over 50s and loved the location and value for money. Friendly check in and any questions answered and problems resolved immediately. Security was excellent, especially on New Year's Eve.

Disliked: Web site undersold the place. It was not made clear that a community kitchen was available - only that there was a café adjoining. Plus, young people were a priority- we were told that this is a YOUTH hostel. As world travellers, we can tell you that this is an outdated term!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the central station and the side bar downstairs was great for hanging out. The hostel is in better condition than most hostels. The kitchen area is very nice and suits many needs. Many people complained that private rooms had "too" effective air conditioning but we did not encounter that problem.

Disliked: In 10-bed shared rooms, the in & out traffic is very high, and if you're staying longer than a few days, it gets frustrating. Also, as the 10-bed rooms are located on the first floor just above the side bar and near the common area (tv, tables etc), they are quite noisy almost every night, but still within the tolerable limits. Most frustrating thing during our stay was the knocking on our door almost every night, usually when someone in the room had lost his/her key card or it wasn't working. In addition, it is very common that people just leave their belongings laying around in every corner or other space they can find.The wifi is also expensive and very slow, and doing laundry is not free.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People that didnt stay at the hostel wanted to be there. People that left the hostel didnt want to leave. Sorta says it all.

Disliked: Lifts were sometimes slow. But wasn't a problem.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay for young travellers.

Disliked: Lockers aren't great as they are an L shape, very few rucksacks can fit in without being emptied, not ideal for short stays!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms, bathroom, bar are nice. This place is right for the 18-early 20s party go-er.

Disliked: Always VERY busy, staff isn't overly attentive and the elevators are very slow.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent and convenient, being located right next to the Central Station and near Chinatown. The hostel cafe served good food and coffee. The atmosphere in the hostel is very energetic and lively (probably the reason why it's called Wake Up Hostel!). A very cool and hip place to stay in Sydney!

Disliked: I was a little disappointed that internet and wi-fi were not provided for free.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alex Craig

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 December 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Nicest hostel I've stayed in, I had a lovely clean and tidy room. Lockers are available in the rooms which I didn't expect so that was great. Comfy beds and and very little noise coming from outside during the night. Housekeeping came in regularly to empty bins etc and I felt the cleanliness was up to a very high standard. Extremely friendly staff on arrival who were also helpful. The adjoining cafe serves fab food, the breakfast we had whilst there was brilliant. Bathrooms were large and mostly clean, located close to rooms and I liked that there were separate male and female bathrooms.

Disliked: The only negative I could think of is that it's slightly more expensive than other hostels although it is much, much nicer than others I've stayed in. Also at nighttime there tended to be small crowds of people hanging around by the entrance which was a little intimidating when alone.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Thubron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Central Station, nice bar downstairs from hostel

Disliked: Very busy, waiting for the elevator

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

SHAO-CHUN WU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 SHAO-CHUN would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people around, and free activities!

Disliked: Quite noisy at night! And no free wifi.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so very friendly and helpful! It had its own cafe and a good internet set-up

Disliked: I could hear the music from the hostel club from my bed on the 2nd floor

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Jenkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 November 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Of all the hostels I've stayed at over my travels, Wake Up! Sydney, is hands down my favorite! It has a great location, easy to get to from the airport and having the Central Station right across the street makes getting anywhere in Sydney so easy! Their travel desk makes coming in on a Working Holiday Visa extremely easy as they help you get set up with your TFN and a phone number. They have Side Bar in the basement with awesome specials every night of the week and a killer live band on top of that to make for an awesome night out! Wake Up! Sydney is a must stay even for just a night or two for backpackers in my opinion!

Disliked: I can't say there was a single thing I disliked about this hostel!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly that everything about it felt so thought through. Everything lived up to standard.

Disliked: One of the male staff members in thr reception seemed more interested in giving good service to women than men.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: no atmosphere

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Different activities being offered daily.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, a great hostel

Disliked: Only one comment, the pressure on the showers wasn't always good

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

emily kate Blocki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 emily kate would recommend this property

Liked: location, rooms nice, free lockers, friendlty and helpful staff

Disliked: not enough plug sockets, rooms only cleaned once a week.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Kevin Kelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

17 November 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Bar downstairs. Doormen reasonable with bringing in Alcohol etc. Fair hostel.

Disliked: My duvet was minging. I asked the girl to change it, she went outside, folder the one i gave her and basically handed the same one back into me thinking I wouldnt notice.

The property's response is...


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels