HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Wake Up Hostel

Hostel | 509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

93.0% Overall Rating

1096 out of 1179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"the common facilities were clean and spacious, and the key card worked the whole time i was there. also front desk was very helpful with luggage storage during check-out"

Read all Wake Up Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.55

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 6 ADULTS The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 20th of December and the 2nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Railway Square YHA
33.03 USD

Hostel 86.6% 42 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
24.53 USD

Hostel 81.4% 412 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
36.80 USD

Hostel 88.3% 252 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
22.65 USD

Hostel 70.6% 133 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
37.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.6% 10 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
47.18 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 9 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
27.36 USD

Hostel 78.4% 43 reviews
Bounce Sydney
35.86 USD

Hostel 92.2% 257 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

1096 out of 1179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wake Up Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 859 of 940 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Charles

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 March 2014 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Stayed in a double private in the 6th floor and it was more then I expected!! Very clean and modern.

Disliked: It was really cold in our room and our cards for the lift had to be scanned many times so they would work.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 March 2014

Liked: Location was gd, clean rooms and comfy beds.

Disliked: Bit of a money making hostel, they charge for everything possible, and all overpriced. Not the best for mixing with people either almost to big a hostel. Kitchen needs more utensils for size of hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall cleanliness is OK. Rooms are nice and they have free lockers.

Disliked: Senseless announcements for things you can read yourself (activities, bar stuff...) early morning. Whole hostel is rather faceless and huge. And hey guys: for that price offer free Wi-Fi... that's embarrassing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, secure, friendly

Disliked: Kitchen closed at 10 and I arrived 1030 so couldn't put my things in the fridge. Otherwise was great place

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bar, food

Disliked: no free wi fi, bathrooms where never clean in 4 days, the staff where very amateur, and people where loud in the rooms until very late

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastiaan Berger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2014 Sebastiaan would recommend this property

Liked: Als je aankomt in de grote stad, is het fijn om vanuit hier de basis te leggen voor de reis die je wilt maken. Wake Up hostel is de ideale plek voor beginnende backpackers om te zien hoe het reilen en zeilen gaat in een Australisch hostel. Erg schoon, vriendelijke mensen die je altijd wegwijs willen maken en goed gelegen.

Disliked: Het hele Australische karakter sprak mij erg aan. Ik heb er waanzinnig leuke mensen ontmoet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: compared to the previous place I was staying at this property is far nicer. The rooms are spacious and are not crammed with too many bunk beds. there are enough power sockets in the room to charge gadgets. showers and toilets were very clean and better than I expected!

Disliked: The lockable storage cupboards were in an awkward shape so you can't really fit everything in. just your valuables ext... the mattress was a little bit on the thin side but i could live with that.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jonathan Korkush

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly helpful staff, the free walking tour of Sydney and the view we had in our room was also nice

Disliked: The bathrooms werent very clean sometimes and when we woke up the next day the hallways eere littered with sheets and garbage

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Bramich

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2014 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Constant events, specials and things to do. Great central location to everything.

Disliked: Not much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Ward

Alone

Events / festivals

25 February 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: it's location

Disliked: Showers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hiu Wai Hayley Tai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 February 2014 Hiu Wai Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: good location. Reasonable price.

Disliked: noisy and many people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara wyn Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Sara wyn would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of people there same situation, traveling alone, everyone there was so easily to get on with, and around the same age. Spacious rooms. Very clean, would come back again.

Disliked: Kitchen was way to small!!! Could never go there in the evenings to cook as it was always packed with people. Could of done with more showers,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy be cause it is false flooring and walls and this make it really noisy just one person walk by outside the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location right near central station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Shuster

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was so friendly and helpful, I was made to feel so welcome! Free drinks and good nights in the side bar. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms good. The people in the room were great, like minded travellers. Made good friends in 2 days!

Disliked: The showers could have been a little more powerful but we're adequate.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joe Ullman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 February 2014 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay! Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Spartan room. No chair, no hangers, no lamp. Male opening our door in the morning to peer at us in bed and saying it was a room check. Front desk said this was standard policy. Very creepy. We requested this stop and it did.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Just near the train station and you can easily walk around and explore the area.

Disliked: You could hear the noise along the hallway. Guest can be loud at 2AM. Earplug is a must.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julian Frederic Hotz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014 Julian Frederic would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was awesome. so friendly.. just perfect

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location hostel to live

Disliked: security card no work often

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, clean, great atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We are a group of over 50s and loved the location and value for money. Friendly check in and any questions answered and problems resolved immediately. Security was excellent, especially on New Year's Eve.

Disliked: Web site undersold the place. It was not made clear that a community kitchen was available - only that there was a café adjoining. Plus, young people were a priority- we were told that this is a YOUTH hostel. As world travellers, we can tell you that this is an outdated term!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the central station and the side bar downstairs was great for hanging out. The hostel is in better condition than most hostels. The kitchen area is very nice and suits many needs. Many people complained that private rooms had "too" effective air conditioning but we did not encounter that problem.

Disliked: In 10-bed shared rooms, the in & out traffic is very high, and if you're staying longer than a few days, it gets frustrating. Also, as the 10-bed rooms are located on the first floor just above the side bar and near the common area (tv, tables etc), they are quite noisy almost every night, but still within the tolerable limits. Most frustrating thing during our stay was the knocking on our door almost every night, usually when someone in the room had lost his/her key card or it wasn't working. In addition, it is very common that people just leave their belongings laying around in every corner or other space they can find.The wifi is also expensive and very slow, and doing laundry is not free.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People that didnt stay at the hostel wanted to be there. People that left the hostel didnt want to leave. Sorta says it all.

Disliked: Lifts were sometimes slow. But wasn't a problem.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels