HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Wake Up Hostel

Hostel | 509 Pitt Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

88.0% Overall Rating

1073 out of 1156 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"Kitchen facilities Thy off something to do every night and that's such a good way to make friends"

Read all Wake Up Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.42

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

NO GROUP BOOKINGS. MAXIMUM BOOKING 6 ADULTS The full remaining cost of any booking for stays between the 20th of December and the 2nd of January (inclusive) will be deducted on or after the 1st of December. Payment will be processed using the credit card that you nominated at the time of your booking, and will be non-refundable. If the credit card you nominated is not chargeable on the 1st of December, your booking will be cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Railway Square YHA
35.25 USD

Hostel 86.6% 42 reviews
790 on George Backpackers
26.90 USD

Hostel 81.7% 406 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
36.17 USD

Hostel 87.3% 246 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
23.19 USD

Hostel 71.8% 128 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
37.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.4% 7 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
46.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 9 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
26.90 USD

Hostel 78.4% 43 reviews
Bounce Sydney
34.32 USD

Hostel 90.6% 250 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

1073 out of 1156 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wake Up Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 841 of 917 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francis Skordoulis

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 November 2011 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern, easy going and quiet.

Disliked: it's all good...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011

Liked: Good location to the central train station, well run and friendly staff.

Disliked: very overpriced for the following reasons: 1. Internet is very expensive and over double the normal costs for Sydney. 2. You have to PAY to store your luggage!!! I have never been to a hostel like this, and is an example of complete greed from the hostel. 3. The rooms are tiny and claustrophobic for the price. You can head to Kings Cross and stay in at the Mercure hotel with en-suite for the same price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ronan McKee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Ronan would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, well run and in a good central location

Disliked: It was quite expensive

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011

Liked: The lift was safely secured with security cards only to be used by occupants.

Disliked: The lobby didn't have toilets for those waiting to check out, especially if there are going to be children staying - not very practical. The toilets available are only for guests (?staff). Besides, the toilets were not cleaned regularly with toilet papers strewn all over the place. There were no tables in the room to place drinks or food by the beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Aszyk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: I lived in this hostel 2 times and I really like "Wake Up". Everything is good.

Disliked: I like everything!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Shane O'Sullivan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

08 November 2011 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, and close to the central station.

Disliked: We had a private room,but the rooms are really really basic, a bed, TV and a small open wardrobe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Coupland

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 November 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean, modern and the staff were always happy and helpful. It was pretty central and within walking distance of many attractions i.e the opera house, botanical gardens etc. I had only planned on staying here for 4 days before travelling to Queensland but enjoyed my time so much i ended up putting my travel itinerary on hold and booked in for an extra week.

Disliked: The toilets were cleaned daily but never stayed that way for long, however there was a sign up to say if they were in an unsatisfactory condition to report it at reception. So nothing to really moan about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marlon Burbery

Alone

Business / conference

31 October 2011 Marlon would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location to begin with and friendly helpful staff. A great atmosphere made it a pleasure to just hang out and relax. I met heaps of wonderful people too.

Disliked: The green colour of my room.. haha, hey I'm grasping at straws really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben duff

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

30 October 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, clean, modern

Disliked: na

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was small but nice, cleanliness in bathrooms was ok. The beach walk they offered was really good and the staff was helpful. The hostel bar is also pretty good.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that they only have central heating/airconditioning. It was pretty cold in our room and we couldn't regulate the temperature ourselves. The kitchen was pretty dirty as well (probably just because the hostel is so huge). Also you have to take the elevator (there are no stairs) which sometimes takes a while...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean and the location was great.

Disliked: The lack of space to put things and the lifts were slow.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Inga Scharfenberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 October 2011 Inga would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bed were clean and comfi! The bathroom was also very clean. I liked the sidebar downstairs, it was a great way to meet people!

Disliked: nothing to complain!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vincent Bricault

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Side Bar...rooms and facilities are clean

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and sentral

Disliked: Bad lighning at my floor, squeky beds that wake up everyone when someone turns over in a bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful and I managed to check in quite early. I was staying in a 4 bed dorm and it was really nice, the bed's comfy, the showers are really powerful and there's lots of space to move around.

Disliked: The lockers could be a little bigger. At $40 a night for a smaller room, it's on the expensive side... but I think it was worth it as the room was spacious and felt really safe.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jessica Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, fun, and the best bit was the free city tour! Side bar is also awesome!

Disliked: The side bar drinks were expensive! people traveling are normally on a budget!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Richardson

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 October 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff & the homely atmosphere.

Disliked: No dislikes @ all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, inviting, great staff, clean and plenty of ammenities

Disliked: Bit noisy, but what hostel isn't!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, modern and clean rooms, double rooms have a tv, showers are fantastic.

Disliked: The kitchen is far too small for the size of the hostel, especially at busy times. WIFI and internet is available but it's quite expensive.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people

Disliked: Dirty climate system and room floors expensive internet wifi did not work

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rebecca Levson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, SUCH helpful, fun and kind staff. Lots of free stuff and vouchers. Cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. Thank-you Wake-up! we'll be back on our way down the coast! Xo.

Disliked: Internet was a little pricey!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful front desk staff

Disliked: Charged Wi-Fi service. It's the basic free service in hostel across Asian countries.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good looking Staff !

Disliked: Wlan wasnt free , maybe its just an austrian standard.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location in the city center.

Disliked: WiFi did not work. Bathrooms not cleaned in the morning.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels