HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jolly Swagman Backpackers Sydney Hostel

27 Orwell Street, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 76%

Location 83%

Safety 81%

Staff 84%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.55USD

Important Information

“Please note that after you have made a booking with the agency, the property will do a pre-authorisation on your bank card.

This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorisation will then be removed from your card within a few days.”

All bookings over the Christmas or New Years Eve Period will be charged in full on the credit card provided on or after 1st December 2015. This is a non-refundable and non-transferable booking. Credit cards WILL be pre-authorised and will be charged in your home currency if available. Please contact us if you have any questions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 09:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 76%

Location 83%

Safety 81%

Staff 84%

Value 73%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The layout and the location.

Disliked: There isn't a lift but it's an old building so it can't be helped. There's also only two toilets and one shower per floor and you have to trade your room key for pots and pans whic is a bit odd.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Jollys' was really great, clean beds and mostly clean bathrooms, unfortunately we found some bugs in our room, but i think its usuall here. The diner deals are a good opportunity for a pricey meal and the deals for ever night going out are great! then you always got a good group and have to pay less fro drinks.

Disliked: WiFi was a bit expensive and its NOT free, its just 1 free hour you get on entry

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice atmosphere and the rooms had everything which I needed. All round great experience there. Had everything I needed.

Disliked: There wasn't anything I didn't like just needed a ladder for my bunk bed.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Helpful staff, nice location, can book tours and airport shuttles there, living room is ok, good place to stay in Sydney

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place is ok, a little bit noisy.

Disliked: too much noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good free breakfast (bread, jam, cereal, tea, coffee etc). Book exchange, easy to go out with the hostel and they have deals with pubs and clubs to get free drinks! Friendly staff.

Disliked: Kitchen is small for the size of the hostel. Only one shower each for girls and guys on each floor....I imagine the queue gets pretty long in peak season. For the price (30 bucks) you need to take advanatage of their free popcorn/sausage nights- with out these it's pretty pricey for those on a budget!

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: When i checked out!

Disliked: They offer a free airport pick-up, I was amde to wait for 4 hours at Sydney airport. Everytime I called the young american boy would just tell me "10-15 minutes, sorry man" They then blamed it all on the shuttle service they used, not realising that I paid them not the shuttle service. The shuttle service informed me at the airport theyd only been told to pick me up 20minutes before they arrived to do so. I arrived in the evening and was told the kitchen was shut for the night and i couldnt use it despite being made to wait for 4 hours at the airport. The rooms smell awful and the bathrooms are disgusting - blocked sinks and dirty floors. The young american boy at the desk didnt care and even tried to tell me i been given a discount (not realising the price was less than normal because id already paid a deposit through hostelbookers!). This place is just a party hostel for teenagers thus no effort is put into cleanliness or hygeine! DO NOT STAY HERE!


The property's response is

Thanks so much for staying with us and Thank you for letting us know about your bad experience. We take your comments very seriously along with hygine and cleanliness. All bathrooms and rooms have been inspected and are now perfect. The shuttle company would like to offer you a free return trip to the airport (email to organise : Joe@jollyswagman.com.au)

We urge all customers to please contact management if there is ever any problem - we care very much and we will fix the problem!

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: on the bright side there is free breakfast till 9pm. bathrooms were clean. and if forget situation about taking possession of my deposit and unwillingness of hostel management to explain it and deal with it (at the same point they even stopped answering e-mails), staff was friendly and nice.

Disliked: when i checked out, a lovely girl with tatoos forgot to get my deposit back. she was busy talking with a fellow and hardly noticed my checking out. but somebody didnt forget to take possession of it. when i rememberd about a few hours later and called the hostel, they told me that my deposit was given back to me. which cant be true as i didnt sigh anything for getting deposit back, i had no cash on me and my memory is all right. i dont know how safe you could feel about your belongings if staff desperation starts from only 20 dollars. on the top of that there are homeless people living outside of the hostel. the key to the room is the same key as to the door to all rooms. there are lockers in the room but no locks.you'd better have one with you.


The property's response is

Hi Galina,
Very sorry that you had issues with your key deposit. I did reply to you but had no response. In regards to your comment about your room key: The blue security door has a special lock, it allows all guests to access the corridors where the rooms are located with their room key, but if you tried to open a different room door with your key it wouldn't work! We would never allow non-secure rooms. All the best JSCrew

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: clean rooms and amenitiesVery friendly staff

Disliked: Really can't say anything bad

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability