We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Hostel | 27 Orwell St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

77.6% Overall Rating

161 out of 203 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/11/2013)

"The Jollys' was really great, clean beds and mostly clean bathrooms, unfortunately we found some bugs in our room, but i think its usuall here. The diner deals are a good opportunity for a pricey meal and the deals…"

Read all Jolly Swagman Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

“Please note that after you have made a booking with the agency, the property will do a pre-authorisation on your bank card. This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorisation will then be removed from your card within a few days.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Central Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 75.9% 169 reviews
Springfield Lodge
52.84 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
27.07 USD

Hostel 73.3% 322 reviews
Highfield Hotel
30.13 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Brados Backpackers
19.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Blue Parrot Backpackers
34.06 USD

Hostel 90.7% 402 reviews
Kanga House
26.20 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

161 out of 203 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jolly Swagman Backpackers'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 140 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Jollys' was really great, clean beds and mostly clean bathrooms, unfortunately we found some bugs in our room, but i think its usuall here. The diner deals are a good opportunity for a pricey meal and the deals for ever night going out are great! then you always got a good group and have to pay less fro drinks.

Disliked: WiFi was a bit expensive and its NOT free, its just 1 free hour you get on entry

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Brazier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere and the rooms had everything which I needed. All round great experience there. Had everything I needed.

Disliked: There wasn't anything I didn't like just needed a ladder for my bunk bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, nice location, can book tours and airport shuttles there, living room is ok, good place to stay in Sydney

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

zhi (LUCY) liu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 zhi (LUCY) would recommend this property

Liked: The place is ok, a little bit noisy.

Disliked: too much noisy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good free breakfast (bread, jam, cereal, tea, coffee etc). Book exchange, easy to go out with the hostel and they have deals with pubs and clubs to get free drinks! Friendly staff.

Disliked: Kitchen is small for the size of the hostel. Only one shower each for girls and guys on each floor....I imagine the queue gets pretty long in peak season. For the price (30 bucks) you need to take advanatage of their free popcorn/sausage nights- with out these it's pretty pricey for those on a budget!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Andrew Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012

Liked: When i checked out!

Disliked: They offer a free airport pick-up, I was amde to wait for 4 hours at Sydney airport. Everytime I called the young american boy would just tell me "10-15 minutes, sorry man" They then blamed it all on the shuttle service they used, not realising that I paid them not the shuttle service. The shuttle service informed me at the airport theyd only been told to pick me up 20minutes before they arrived to do so. I arrived in the evening and was told the kitchen was shut for the night and i couldnt use it despite being made to wait for 4 hours at the airport. The rooms smell awful and the bathrooms are disgusting - blocked sinks and dirty floors. The young american boy at the desk didnt care and even tried to tell me i been given a discount (not realising the price was less than normal because id already paid a deposit through hostelbookers!). This place is just a party hostel for teenagers thus no effort is put into cleanliness or hygeine! DO NOT STAY HERE!

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

galina dotsenko

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 December 2011

Liked: on the bright side there is free breakfast till 9pm. bathrooms were clean. and if forget situation about taking possession of my deposit and unwillingness of hostel management to explain it and deal with it (at the same point they even stopped answering e-mails), staff was friendly and nice.

Disliked: when i checked out, a lovely girl with tatoos forgot to get my deposit back. she was busy talking with a fellow and hardly noticed my checking out. but somebody didnt forget to take possession of it. when i rememberd about a few hours later and called the hostel, they told me that my deposit was given back to me. which cant be true as i didnt sigh anything for getting deposit back, i had no cash on me and my memory is all right. i dont know how safe you could feel about your belongings if staff desperation starts from only 20 dollars. on the top of that there are homeless people living outside of the hostel. the key to the room is the same key as to the door to all rooms. there are lockers in the room but no locks.you'd better have one with you.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anatoli Klassen

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 October 2011 Anatoli would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms and amenities Very friendly staff

Disliked: Really can't say anything bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean cheap rooms, big kitchen and nice specails

Disliked: sometimes noisy at night :-)

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jen Hewitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Jen would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and the rooms are away from common areas so are quiet

Disliked: Such an early check-out - 9am!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Nicholls

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Secure sleeping quarters

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff give me very ggod information about change money.

Disliked: nice place for travellers but difficult for a family (we spent time at last floor = very warm atmospher).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

07 January 2011

Liked: good location, nice staff, loved having a fridge in our room

Disliked: everything was kind of worn out, there were too few showers and toilets, the water didn't stay warm in the shower, it smelled really bad in our room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: our room was a good size and the shower facilities ok but only 2 showers and 1 toilet for girls and boys on each floor. the staff were really helpful and booked our tours for us, they knew a lot about the tours and recommended some while saying others werent very good so that you didnt waste your moneyyou got given a lot of free stuff when you got there, including a sim card, 1hr free internet, vouchers for freebies/money off.

Disliked: our room was meant to be cleaned 3 times while we were there but our floor was still dirty and not hoovered, only the bins got changed. the outside area to get in can be a little intimidating as there is always a big group of people drinking/smoking outside. it does take a good 20minutes to walk into the city.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Holland

Alone

City break

28 July 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Being in the middle age rating the location just off the business made for quite nights for sleeping and no interrupts from other tenants (although room was away from the main stair). Good to get free airport pickup, and the free breakfast and 1 hours internet + entertainment options made it a very good deal for the price.

Disliked: Update the pots & pans.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of ideas and events and money saving flyers available

Disliked: people who clog up the bedroom all daylight hours (nothing to do with hostel)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 March 2010

Liked: the room are very very hot in summer, only 2 showers per floor, helpful staff, breakfast finishes too early

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david wayne jones

16 March 2010 david wayne would recommend this property

Liked: all the staff and the people that stay at the hostel.the table at the hostel.there was loads of beer spaces.good safe places where u can place ur vaulables.best sauages in sydney and you need to pack an extra liver if your going longer than week.

Disliked: david wayne left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet at night time, Walking distance to opera house,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

clive manning

13 February 2010 clive would recommend this property

Liked: easy accesss to everywhere .very central

Disliked: clive left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms had enough room, good lockers but it got quiet hot in the rooms. The bathrooms were always clean and I felt completely safe leaving my belongings and etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nikki Vincent

29 January 2010 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: staff were brilliant thanks Joe, Chris and all.... knowledge of the tours, area and transport they had were excellent and made our trip so much more than it might have been!!!!! Always friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The property was in a good position, needs slight updating .... but in older properties that is always the case the facilities were fine and cleaned regularly.

Disliked: Nikki left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Tisha Farris

24 January 2010

Liked: DIDN'T like the ant infestation

Disliked: Tisha left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ---

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels