We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Hostel | 27 Orwell St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia NSW 2011

76.6% Overall Rating

163 out of 205 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/11/2013)

"The Jollys' was really great, clean beds and mostly clean bathrooms, unfortunately we found some bugs in our room, but i think its usuall here. The diner deals are a good opportunity for a pricey meal and the deals…"

Read all Jolly Swagman Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.46

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

“Please note that after you have made a booking with the agency, the property will do a pre-authorisation on your bank card. This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorisation will then be removed from your card within a few days.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Central Backpackers
16.77 USD

Hostel 75.7% 178 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
19.69 USD

Hostel 73.3% 325 reviews
Brados Backpackers
13.13 USD

Hostel 65.6% 19 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
24.79 USD

Hostel 90.1% 406 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
13.85 USD

Hostel 75.7% 494 reviews
Kanga House
20.42 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
18.23 USD

Hostel 80.9% 116 reviews
Backpackers HQ
16.04 USD

Hostel 83.7% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

163 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jolly Swagman Backpackers'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 142 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

15 November 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Staff..They were friendly and new there stuff regarding travelling in Sydney and further afield

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 November 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 October 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fact that we had a TV, fridge and sink in our room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

25 September 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Great organised evenings out. Service was friendly and very helpful too.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

21 September 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: I am so happy that I chose Jolly Swagman's! The staff are very nice and helpfull! People are very friendly and the athmosphere is great!If I am going to Sydney some other time, I would definitely stay at the JS again!

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 August 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: meeting other people in a friendly environment. the staff were great very friendly and helpful. occassionally however there was a bit too much noise. But overall a nice hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Andrea Haerer

31 July 2006

Liked: Location, people

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 June 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, there was a large kitchen, the showers were very good, and it was in a fun neighborhood. they were also very flexible about letting us leave our bags there for the day after we had checked out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

08 June 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: close to everything you could ever need

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

02 June 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, excellent location for access to city, always some kind of activity planned, only minor issues - dishware is difficult to secure at prime times

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

01 June 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: this was a great spot to base our sydney visit. very nice facilities overall. they kept everyting very clean and the bathrooms were above average. they were just getting new mattresses for all the rooms on our last night and the staff was fantastic.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels