We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Glebe Village Backpackers

Hostel | 256 Glebe Pt Rd, Glebe, Sydney, Australia NSW 2037

79.4% Overall Rating

93 out of 131 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/10/2013)

"Lovely Victorian building, big rooms, lots on offer - free bbq every Friday night and pancakes on Sunday morning. always a good crowd here and very easy to make friends. only 10 minutes on bus to central."

Read all Glebe Village Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

SUMMER 2013/14 BOOKINGS Please note that for bookings for the period 25th December - 4th January the hostel will charge your card for the first night's stay in advance of arrival. This Deposit is non-refundable should you decide to cancel. There is a 10 night minimum stay at this time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Glebe Point YHA
31.44 USD

Hostel 79.1% 105 reviews
Rooftop Travellers Lodge
21.83 USD

Hostel 84.8% 3 reviews
Balmain Village
37.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
BB's Working Backpackers
17.47 USD

Hostel 61.3% 130 reviews
Billabong Gardens
20.09 USD

Hostel 94.3% 3 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
43.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 9 reviews
Base Sydney
25.33 USD

Hostel 76.2% 428 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
16.59 USD

Hostel 78.4% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

93 out of 131 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Glebe Village Backpackers'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 89 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jim Doody

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 February 2014 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: The towels and housekeeping.

Disliked: Climbing the stairs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely Victorian building, big rooms, lots on offer - free bbq every Friday night and pancakes on Sunday morning. always a good crowd here and very easy to make friends. only 10 minutes on bus to central.

Disliked: mark is a little bit mental, shouts at everyone to go to bed at 11. also very strict here about having guests from other hostels come over to hang out, mark usually threatens to call police, bit unnecessary! some of the smaller dorms also tend to get really messy as they are overcrowded. also a bit difficult to get back to glebe after a night out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Comas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the crowd

Disliked: Internet access isn't free and when used, the quality is quite low.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 July 2013

Liked: staff where helpfull

Disliked: as above

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, nice atmosphere, helpful staff, great value.

Disliked: I didn't have any problems here.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Larysa Mahal

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 May 2013 Larysa would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely beautiful place, not far from the center. Very cozy patio, Incredibly wonderful pancakes what were cooked by staff in the morning. Everyone can come to get pancake without restriction until he will be full.

Disliked: WC are not very comfort to use: like small boxes with thin cardboard doors.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Hayden Brown

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 April 2013 Hayden would recommend this property

Liked: There is a miserable old kiwi guy working here who is the resident wet blanket, was always surly and unhelpful which is the last thing you want at a backpackers! But all the other staff were really friendly and cheerful. Hostel has a beautiful exterior courtyard that is magical for Friday night BBQ and drinks. 4 bed dorm was spacious and decent, showers always hot and good pressure - but bathrooms were always disgusting, wet/muddy toilet paper strewn everywhere etc need to be cleaned more than once a day. Lovely location near the waterfront and close to the city. DO NOT book the airport shuttle they advertise though as they were 50 minutes late and I nearly missed my flight.

Disliked: Hayden left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are facilities in the bedromm but if it's occupied there others which are common for everybody, this is very convenient. The kitchen, the terrace, the TV room and the other commin areas are nice. There are also a few other services which are not free but convenient such as internet, laudry-room,... it's quite well-thought. And the best thing is it's a good place to rest.

Disliked: There is not much place to put the belongings in the room and unfortunately no lockers to stock them as well. I had to pay the full price on arrival despite the 10% I paid on hostelbookers when booking (the excuse is that on internet it's not the real price!). In addition it's quite dirty in some places, especially the kitchen in the night and the floor in the rooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013

Liked: Good outside social area; friendly reception staff on arrival; lockers in rooms and secure key card system.

Disliked: Dirty - cockroaches in rooms and bathrooms and kitchen wasn't great. I was the only female in 6 bed shared dorm and wasn't told this which wasn't ideal. Very noisy on a night, which wouldn't have been too bad but most of it was made by a member of staff shouting and swearing at guests in the middle of the night which I thought was very unprofessional. Bed linen wasn't ready when I arrived and even after asking I wasn't provided with a bottom sheet. Nowhere near enough bathrooms/toilets for number of guests.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good location

Disliked: Hot water lasted 2-3 mins then I had to turn the shower off and wait a minute before I could turn it back on to wash the soap off then it went cold again. Some angry guy had a yelling match with the staff at 4 am. But that's cool. Keycard stopped working the first night of a two night stay. Reception was helpful.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Laura Cooney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, good location (10 minutes by bus to city centre, 10 minutes walk from supermarket, lots of cafes, pubs etc nearby), good range of social activities like cheese and wine night and barbecue on Fridays

Disliked: Kitchen could have been cleaner and initially there was a bit of an odd atmosphere as think quite a lot of people were long term residents

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David King

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 February 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and great location, clean rooms and facilities.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nathalie Cummings

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: Great character, in a lovely area with a great Parisian feel to it. Daily free breakfast, get there early on the weekend to avoid pancake queues. Free Bbq and free cheese and wine.. HELLO! Really loved staying here in the relaxed surroundings not so far from the city. I recommend for all ages!

Disliked: The queue for pancakes was an hour long, but I can't complain... It was free.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is really secure and very comfort

Disliked: it is quite dirty as the room is near to the garbages

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vanessa Beckwith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: was very clean with big rooms

Disliked: a little out of the way and no ovens just hobs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the 10 share room. We had a group of 10 it was big enough for all of us, and our own bathroom. The location was great as there were great markets on the Saturday and cheap restaurants along the street. The free breakfast was okay. As a large group we were all satisfied with our stay, and will be back for sure in the near future!

Disliked: Some of our key cards didn't work, two of my friends got back to the hostel late at night, and then had to taxi back into the city to get one off of us as both of their cards were faulty.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sarah Grellet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Equipe sympa, parties communes agréables, bon petit dej inclus (plutôt rare à Sydney et en Australie) Helpful staff, comfy sharing areas , good breakfast included (rare in Sydney !)

Disliked: Salle de bain plutôt sales, un peu éloigné du centre de Sydney Unclean Bathrooms, a little bit far away from the center

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Work / volunteering

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Outside view and public area ,the atmosphere is so good. Quiet,relax and beautiful !! But i live in 10 bed dorm,when i open the door,terrible !! So smelly !!! i think some long term stay people not clean,make the room messy and smelly.

Disliked: No lift,i need to take my heavy heavy luggage by my hand, so heavy.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012

Liked: I liked nothing other than that my stay there was very short.

Disliked: The cleanliness was attrocious throughout. Minimal amount of facilities considering the size of the place. The showers were mouldy, smelled and were falling to bits. The toilets were not much better. I particularly disliked the cramped confines of the bathrooms, and that I had to brush my teeth maybe 2ft away from someone taking a poo. I went into the kitchen on a couple of occaisions, each time it was progressively dirtier, the smell of sun-wamred leftovers was pretty pungent. The rooms could be described as tatty at best. I wondered whether the sheets had been cleaned as I found other peoples hair on the bedding.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

lisa holt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012

Liked: free breakfast

Disliked: bathrooms often out of order, rooms smelled old and fusty, bedding was really old

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Kylie Towle

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

26 February 2012

Liked: The other backpackers.

Disliked: The cleanliness. The showers constantly leak, the bathrooms are always wet, mould growing on the shower curtains. Rooms are a mess with cleaners -if there are any, not taking what is clearly rubbish out. The receptionist came and stripped my bed whilst I was out- despite other people informing them I was still there and had just gone out for the day- to give to another traveller even though there was another bed available and when the receptionist was questioned- would not give me an apology.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012

Liked: Linen provided

Disliked: Loudness of other guests. Fighting in rooms at all hours while people trying to sleep. Upstairs smelt of mildew. Shower/bathrooms not clean and flooded with water making them slippery and unsafe. Wasn't told where anything was, including which room I was to stay in

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seems quieter than all the party hostels in Sydney. It's better for those trying to find a job.

Disliked: The rooms are a mess. Staff assume you know where everything is - no tour of the premises and an explanation as to what is included unless you ask them. Prices vary drastically. I got charged $19.80 for one night but a weeks stay is $150. Surely it should be cheaper to stay for a week, not more expensive!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Fausto Palazzi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012

Liked: Staff was quite friendly: it is the only thing i didn't dislike. The kitchen is pretty big but you can have dinner only in the patio, so if it's rainy you get washed!

Disliked: this hostel was old and dirty and smelled. It is unhealty for people to stay in places like this.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2012

Liked: nice neighbourhood, if you like staying in nice and quiet area, but fairly nearby citycentre. For people who don't want the action and sounds of a busy city it's a nice place to stay

Disliked: 23.00 shutdown, not allowed staying out on the terrace. Felt like a boarding school. The building, rooms, bathrooms were not too clean. Kitchen was overall mess. I Had to share a room with old (over 50 years old) people, who slept through the day and went to bed early in the evening, so you never had a chance of sitting in your room, talking, phone whatever. Some of the staff were not too friendly, one (german?) girl actually quite rude If you want to go out, it's better to stay more down town. I could've known that


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels