HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of VLA Glebe Sydney

Hostel

254-258 Glebe Point Road, Glebe 2037, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 72%

Location 79%

Safety 81%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 4.56USD

Important Information

1. We have a 24 hour cancellation policy - all cancellations must be made via email.
2. Minimum 3 night stay policy between September 2015 – April 2016 .
3. Group booking policy: While we make the greatest effort to place all guests of a single booking into the same room, this is not always possible. Group bookings (2 people or more) that are not made directly with the hostel, are not guarantee to be allocated to the same room. To avoid having a group split up, please book well in advance.
4. All children must be accompanied by adults.
5. Peak Season Conditions 25 December 2015 - 10 January 2016 = 10 minimum night stay NO CHECK-INS OR CHECK-OUTS ACCEPTED Between December 30th 2015 and January 4th 2016.
6. Please note that there is a 1% charge when you pay with a Visa or Mastercard credit card. We do not accept payments with American Express credit cards

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 09:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 72%

Location 79%

Safety 81%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The place was great! Very helpful staff. Met some great people in the short time that I stayed here. Would recommend!

Disliked: Unfortunately, when I arrived, the receptionist had fallen ill and was present in hospital ! Luckily there was somebody there to show me to a room so that's a positive!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location to central sydney. Free Breakfast. Value for Money

Disliked: I was a little dissapointed with Glebe Village Backpackers as I had stopped in Melbourne at its sister hostel the Nunnery which I really enjoyed.The bedrooms were dirty, smelly and had poorly maintained. The free breakfast is limited and isn't as good as that of the Nunnery. Whilst I was there the room was due for ' Spring Cleaning' but this didn't happen as the cleaner missed the room out.There was no guarding on upper bunks meaning you could easily roll over and plunge 6 ft in the night- a safety risk.A big part of why I moved was because it is primarily an outdoors complex and even to go to the kitchen you must go outside in the cold and wet. Free wifi would also be a bonus, i had to pay $5 for a 3 day pass which did not extend to bedrooms.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The towels and housekeeping.

Disliked: Climbing the stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely Victorian building, big rooms, lots on offer - free bbq every Friday night and pancakes on Sunday morning. always a good crowd here and very easy to make friends. only 10 minutes on bus to central.

Disliked: mark is a little bit mental, shouts at everyone to go to bed at 11. also very strict here about having guests from other hostels come over to hang out, mark usually threatens to call police, bit unnecessary! some of the smaller dorms also tend to get really messy as they are overcrowded. also a bit difficult to get back to glebe after a night out.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The atmosphere, the crowd

Disliked: Internet access isn't free and when used, the quality is quite low.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: great location, nice atmosphere, helpful staff, great value.

Disliked: I didn't have any problems here.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: staff where helpfull

Disliked: as above

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: There is a miserable old kiwi guy working here who is the resident wet blanket, was always surly and unhelpful which is the last thing you want at a backpackers! But all the other staff were really friendly and cheerful. Hostel has a beautiful exterior courtyard that is magical for Friday night BBQ and drinks. 4 bed dorm was spacious and decent, showers always hot and good pressure - but bathrooms were always disgusting, wet/muddy toilet paper strewn everywhere etc need to be cleaned more than once a day. Lovely location near the waterfront and close to the city. DO NOT book the airport shuttle they advertise though as they were 50 minutes late and I nearly missed my flight.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Absolutely beautiful place, not far from the center. Very cozy patio, Incredibly wonderful pancakes what were cooked by staff in the morning. Everyone can come to get pancake without restriction until he will be full.

Disliked: WC are not very comfort to use: like small boxes with thin cardboard doors.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: There are facilities in the bedromm but if it's occupied there others which are common for everybody, this is very convenient. The kitchen, the terrace, the TV room and the other commin areas are nice. There are also a few other services which are not free but convenient such as internet, laudry-room,... it's quite well-thought. And the best thing is it's a good place to rest.

Disliked: There is not much place to put the belongings in the room and unfortunately no lockers to stock them as well. I had to pay the full price on arrival despite the 10% I paid on hostelbookers when booking (the excuse is that on internet it's not the real price!). In addition it's quite dirty in some places, especially the kitchen in the night and the floor in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability