HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of VLA Glebe Sydney Hostel

254-258 Glebe Point Road, Glebe 2037, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 70%

Location 78%

Safety 79%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 4.80USD

Important Information

1. We have a 24 hour cancellation policy - all cancellations must be made via email.
2. Minimum 3 night stay policy between September 2015 – April 2016 .
3. Group booking policy: While we make the greatest effort to place all guests of a single booking into the same room, this is not always possible. Group bookings (2 people or more) that are not made directly with the hostel, are not guarantee to be allocated to the same room. To avoid having a group split up, please book well in advance.
4. All children must be accompanied by adults.
5. Peak Season Conditions 25 December 2015 - 10 January 2016 = 10 minimum night stay NO CHECK-INS OR CHECK-OUTS ACCEPTED Between December 30th 2015 and January 4th 2016.
6. Please note that there is a 1% charge when you pay with a Visa or Mastercard credit card. We do not accept payments with American Express credit cards

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 09:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 70%

Location 78%

Safety 79%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The aerea was fantastic, the staff is really good, good atmosphere

Disliked: The room was to unkept and felt a bit domp

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: the building architecturally looked nice

Disliked: being split into 2 diffent biuldings, the rooms lots of long stay people with there stuff everywere and also the smell, plus the bathrooms were small.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Location

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: It looked like a normal, sketchy hostel when I first walked in but then I got to my room and met my roommates and it was sweet. also, in the cutest suburb with lots of cool places within walking distance. little far from city though.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The place was great! Very helpful staff. Met some great people in the short time that I stayed here. Would recommend!

Disliked: Unfortunately, when I arrived, the receptionist had fallen ill and was present in hospital ! Luckily there was somebody there to show me to a room so that's a positive!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location to central sydney. Free Breakfast. Value for Money

Disliked: I was a little dissapointed with Glebe Village Backpackers as I had stopped in Melbourne at its sister hostel the Nunnery which I really enjoyed.The bedrooms were dirty, smelly and had poorly maintained. The free breakfast is limited and isn't as good as that of the Nunnery. Whilst I was there the room was due for ' Spring Cleaning' but this didn't happen as the cleaner missed the room out.There was no guarding on upper bunks meaning you could easily roll over and plunge 6 ft in the night- a safety risk.A big part of why I moved was because it is primarily an outdoors complex and even to go to the kitchen you must go outside in the cold and wet. Free wifi would also be a bonus, i had to pay $5 for a 3 day pass which did not extend to bedrooms.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The towels and housekeeping.

Disliked: Climbing the stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely Victorian building, big rooms, lots on offer - free bbq every Friday night and pancakes on Sunday morning. always a good crowd here and very easy to make friends. only 10 minutes on bus to central.

Disliked: mark is a little bit mental, shouts at everyone to go to bed at 11. also very strict here about having guests from other hostels come over to hang out, mark usually threatens to call police, bit unnecessary! some of the smaller dorms also tend to get really messy as they are overcrowded. also a bit difficult to get back to glebe after a night out.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The atmosphere, the crowd

Disliked: Internet access isn't free and when used, the quality is quite low.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: great location, nice atmosphere, helpful staff, great value.

Disliked: I didn't have any problems here.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability