HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of VLA Glebe Sydney Hostel

254-258 Glebe Point Road, Glebe 2037, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 70%

Location 78%

Safety 79%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 4.83USD

Important Information

1. We have a 24 hour cancellation policy - all cancellations must be made via email.
2. Minimum 3 night stay policy between September 2015 – April 2016 .
3. Group booking policy: While we make the greatest effort to place all guests of a single booking into the same room, this is not always possible. Group bookings (2 people or more) that are not made directly with the hostel, are not guarantee to be allocated to the same room. To avoid having a group split up, please book well in advance.
4. All children must be accompanied by adults.
5. Peak Season Conditions 25 December 2015 - 10 January 2016 = 10 minimum night stay NO CHECK-INS OR CHECK-OUTS ACCEPTED Between December 30th 2015 and January 4th 2016.
6. Please note that there is a 1% charge when you pay with a Visa or Mastercard credit card. We do not accept payments with American Express credit cards

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 09:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 70%

Location 78%

Safety 79%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

Showing 21-9 of 9 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: was very clean with big rooms

Disliked: a little out of the way and no ovens just hobs

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Loved the 10 share room. We had a group of 10 it was big enough for all of us, and our own bathroom. The location was great as there were great markets on the Saturday and cheap restaurants along the street. The free breakfast was okay. As a large group we were all satisfied with our stay, and will be back for sure in the near future!

Disliked: Some of our key cards didn't work, two of my friends got back to the hostel late at night, and then had to taxi back into the city to get one off of us as both of their cards were faulty.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Equipe sympa, parties communes agréables, bon petit dej inclus (plutôt rare à Sydney et en Australie)Helpful staff, comfy sharing areas , good breakfast included (rare in Sydney !)

Disliked: Salle de bain plutôt sales, un peu éloigné du centre de Sydney Unclean Bathrooms, a little bit far away from the center

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Work / volunteering

Liked: Outside view and public area ,the atmosphere is so good.Quiet,relax and beautiful !!But i live in 10 bed dorm,when i open the door,terrible !! So smelly !!!i think some long term stay people not clean,make the room messy and smelly.

Disliked: No lift,i need to take my heavy heavy luggage by my hand, so heavy.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked nothing other than that my stay there was very short.

Disliked: The cleanliness was attrocious throughout. Minimal amount of facilities considering the size of the place. The showers were mouldy, smelled and were falling to bits. The toilets were not much better. I particularly disliked the cramped confines of the bathrooms, and that I had to brush my teeth maybe 2ft away from someone taking a poo.I went into the kitchen on a couple of occaisions, each time it was progressively dirtier, the smell of sun-wamred leftovers was pretty pungent.The rooms could be described as tatty at best. I wondered whether the sheets had been cleaned as I found other peoples hair on the bedding.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Linen provided

Disliked: Loudness of other guests. Fighting in rooms at all hours while people trying to sleep. Upstairs smelt of mildew. Shower/bathrooms not clean and flooded with water making them slippery and unsafe. Wasn't told where anything was, including which room I was to stay in

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Work / volunteering

Liked: The other backpackers.

Disliked: The cleanliness. The showers constantly leak, the bathrooms are always wet, mould growing on the shower curtains. Rooms are a mess with cleaners -if there are any, not taking what is clearly rubbish out.The receptionist came and stripped my bed whilst I was out- despite other people informing them I was still there and had just gone out for the day- to give to another traveller even though there was another bed available and when the receptionist was questioned- would not give me an apology.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Seems quieter than all the party hostels in Sydney. It's better for those trying to find a job.

Disliked: The rooms are a mess. Staff assume you know where everything is - no tour of the premises and an explanation as to what is included unless you ask them. Prices vary drastically. I got charged $19.80 for one night but a weeks stay is $150. Surely it should be cheaper to stay for a week, not more expensive!

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: nice neighbourhood, if you like staying in nice and quiet area, but fairly nearby citycentre. For people who don't want the action and sounds of a busy city it's a nice place to stay

Disliked: 23.00 shutdown, not allowed staying out on the terrace. Felt like a boarding school. The building, rooms, bathrooms were not too clean. Kitchen was overall mess.I Had to share a room with old (over 50 years old) people, who slept through the day and went to bed early in the evening, so you never had a chance of sitting in your room, talking, phone whatever.Some of the staff were not too friendly, one (german?) girl actually quite rudeIf you want to go out, it's better to stay more down town. I could've known that

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Good atmosphere, friendly, nice place to meet people. Nice pub quiz down the road

Disliked: It was a good walk into town maybe an hour tops

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability