HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of VLA Glebe Sydney

Hostel

254-258 Glebe Point Road, Glebe 2037, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 72%

Location 79%

Safety 81%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 4.60USD

Important Information

1. We have a 24 hour cancellation policy - all cancellations must be made via email.
2. Minimum 3 night stay policy between September 2015 – April 2016 .
3. Group booking policy: While we make the greatest effort to place all guests of a single booking into the same room, this is not always possible. Group bookings (2 people or more) that are not made directly with the hostel, are not guarantee to be allocated to the same room. To avoid having a group split up, please book well in advance.
4. All children must be accompanied by adults.
5. Peak Season Conditions 25 December 2015 - 10 January 2016 = 10 minimum night stay NO CHECK-INS OR CHECK-OUTS ACCEPTED Between December 30th 2015 and January 4th 2016.
6. Please note that there is a 1% charge when you pay with a Visa or Mastercard credit card. We do not accept payments with American Express credit cards

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 09:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 72%

Location 79%

Safety 81%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

Showing 11-13 of 13 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Cheap and good location

Disliked: Hot water lasted 2-3 mins then I had to turn the shower off and wait a minute before I could turn it back on to wash the soap off then it went cold again.Some angry guy had a yelling match with the staff at 4 am. But that's cool. Keycard stopped working the first night of a two night stay. Reception was helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good outside social area; friendly reception staff on arrival; lockers in rooms and secure key card system.

Disliked: Dirty - cockroaches in rooms and bathrooms and kitchen wasn't great. I was the only female in 6 bed shared dorm and wasn't told this which wasn't ideal.Very noisy on a night, which wouldn't have been too bad but most of it was made by a member of staff shouting and swearing at guests in the middle of the night which I thought was very unprofessional.Bed linen wasn't ready when I arrived and even after asking I wasn't provided with a bottom sheet.Nowhere near enough bathrooms/toilets for number of guests.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, good location (10 minutes by bus to city centre, 10 minutes walk from supermarket, lots of cafes, pubs etc nearby), good range of social activities like cheese and wine night and barbecue on Fridays

Disliked: Kitchen could have been cleaner and initially there was a bit of an odd atmosphere as think quite a lot of people were long term residents

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: friendly staff and great location, clean rooms and facilities.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great character, in a lovely area with a great Parisian feel to it. Daily free breakfast, get there early on the weekend to avoid pancake queues. Free Bbq and free cheese and wine.. HELLO! Really loved staying here in the relaxed surroundings not so far from the city. I recommend for all ages!

Disliked: The queue for pancakes was an hour long, but I can't complain... It was free.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Shopping

Liked: it is really secure and very comfort

Disliked: it is quite dirty as the room is near to the garbages

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: was very clean with big rooms

Disliked: a little out of the way and no ovens just hobs

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Loved the 10 share room. We had a group of 10 it was big enough for all of us, and our own bathroom. The location was great as there were great markets on the Saturday and cheap restaurants along the street. The free breakfast was okay. As a large group we were all satisfied with our stay, and will be back for sure in the near future!

Disliked: Some of our key cards didn't work, two of my friends got back to the hostel late at night, and then had to taxi back into the city to get one off of us as both of their cards were faulty.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Equipe sympa, parties communes agréables, bon petit dej inclus (plutôt rare à Sydney et en Australie)Helpful staff, comfy sharing areas , good breakfast included (rare in Sydney !)

Disliked: Salle de bain plutôt sales, un peu éloigné du centre de Sydney Unclean Bathrooms, a little bit far away from the center

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Work / volunteering

Liked: Outside view and public area ,the atmosphere is so good.Quiet,relax and beautiful !!But i live in 10 bed dorm,when i open the door,terrible !! So smelly !!!i think some long term stay people not clean,make the room messy and smelly.

Disliked: No lift,i need to take my heavy heavy luggage by my hand, so heavy.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability