HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of VLA Glebe Sydney Hostel

254-258 Glebe Point Road, Glebe 2037, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 70%

Location 78%

Safety 79%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 4.63USD

Important Information

1. We have a 24 hour cancellation policy - all cancellations must be made via email.
2. Minimum 3 night stay policy between September 2015 – April 2016 .
3. Group booking policy: While we make the greatest effort to place all guests of a single booking into the same room, this is not always possible. Group bookings (2 people or more) that are not made directly with the hostel, are not guarantee to be allocated to the same room. To avoid having a group split up, please book well in advance.
4. All children must be accompanied by adults.
5. Peak Season Conditions 25 December 2015 - 10 January 2016 = 10 minimum night stay NO CHECK-INS OR CHECK-OUTS ACCEPTED Between December 30th 2015 and January 4th 2016.
6. Please note that there is a 1% charge when you pay with a Visa or Mastercard credit card. We do not accept payments with American Express credit cards

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 09:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 70%

Location 78%

Safety 79%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

Showing 11-11 of 11 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: staff where helpfull

Disliked: as above

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: There is a miserable old kiwi guy working here who is the resident wet blanket, was always surly and unhelpful which is the last thing you want at a backpackers! But all the other staff were really friendly and cheerful. Hostel has a beautiful exterior courtyard that is magical for Friday night BBQ and drinks. 4 bed dorm was spacious and decent, showers always hot and good pressure - but bathrooms were always disgusting, wet/muddy toilet paper strewn everywhere etc need to be cleaned more than once a day. Lovely location near the waterfront and close to the city. DO NOT book the airport shuttle they advertise though as they were 50 minutes late and I nearly missed my flight.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Absolutely beautiful place, not far from the center. Very cozy patio, Incredibly wonderful pancakes what were cooked by staff in the morning. Everyone can come to get pancake without restriction until he will be full.

Disliked: WC are not very comfort to use: like small boxes with thin cardboard doors.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: There are facilities in the bedromm but if it's occupied there others which are common for everybody, this is very convenient. The kitchen, the terrace, the TV room and the other commin areas are nice. There are also a few other services which are not free but convenient such as internet, laudry-room,... it's quite well-thought. And the best thing is it's a good place to rest.

Disliked: There is not much place to put the belongings in the room and unfortunately no lockers to stock them as well. I had to pay the full price on arrival despite the 10% I paid on hostelbookers when booking (the excuse is that on internet it's not the real price!). In addition it's quite dirty in some places, especially the kitchen in the night and the floor in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Cheap and good location

Disliked: Hot water lasted 2-3 mins then I had to turn the shower off and wait a minute before I could turn it back on to wash the soap off then it went cold again.Some angry guy had a yelling match with the staff at 4 am. But that's cool. Keycard stopped working the first night of a two night stay. Reception was helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good outside social area; friendly reception staff on arrival; lockers in rooms and secure key card system.

Disliked: Dirty - cockroaches in rooms and bathrooms and kitchen wasn't great. I was the only female in 6 bed shared dorm and wasn't told this which wasn't ideal.Very noisy on a night, which wouldn't have been too bad but most of it was made by a member of staff shouting and swearing at guests in the middle of the night which I thought was very unprofessional.Bed linen wasn't ready when I arrived and even after asking I wasn't provided with a bottom sheet.Nowhere near enough bathrooms/toilets for number of guests.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, good location (10 minutes by bus to city centre, 10 minutes walk from supermarket, lots of cafes, pubs etc nearby), good range of social activities like cheese and wine night and barbecue on Fridays

Disliked: Kitchen could have been cleaner and initially there was a bit of an odd atmosphere as think quite a lot of people were long term residents

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: friendly staff and great location, clean rooms and facilities.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great character, in a lovely area with a great Parisian feel to it. Daily free breakfast, get there early on the weekend to avoid pancake queues. Free Bbq and free cheese and wine.. HELLO! Really loved staying here in the relaxed surroundings not so far from the city. I recommend for all ages!

Disliked: The queue for pancakes was an hour long, but I can't complain... It was free.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Shopping

Liked: it is really secure and very comfort

Disliked: it is quite dirty as the room is near to the garbages

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability