We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

75.7% Overall Rating

381 out of 494 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2015)

"Chili Blue was an amazing deal! The free breakfast was excellent, leaps and bounds above most in hostels across Australia. The free wi-fi was not unlimited but was reliable during my stay. The bed was comfortable and…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.46
  • Towel USD 3.84

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
21.52 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
17.68 USD

Hostel 80.9% 116 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
19.22 USD

Hostel 85.9% 734 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
16.91 USD

Hostel 75.7% 178 reviews
Backpackers HQ
20.75 USD

Hostel 83.7% 109 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
26.90 USD

Hostel 76.6% 205 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
20.75 USD

Hostel 73.3% 325 reviews
Brados Backpackers
12.30 USD

Hostel 65.6% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.7%

Overall Rating

381 out of 494 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
74.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 355 of 450 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chili Blue was an amazing deal! The free breakfast was excellent, leaps and bounds above most in hostels across Australia. The free wi-fi was not unlimited but was reliable during my stay. The bed was comfortable and the rooms and bathrooms stayed reasonably clean. Plenty of fridge and food storage space. Friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The common area could get a little rowdy and loud in the evenings, but was usually quiet by 10 PM. Cigarette smoke from the courtyard sometimes wafted into the common areas and halls. Also, dishes were only available with a deposit.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2015

Liked: Good location Double beds available in dorms Easy card entry system

Disliked: No cutlery or dishware provided Staff fairly unhelpful and unfriendly Difficult and confusing to navigate Strong smells of weed and cigarettes all over the hostel Very messy and unclean Too small dining area No hand towels in bathrooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Benjamin Thoma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2015 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Good people in there

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

27 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD LOCATION, BREAKFAST, CONVENIENT

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonathan davis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2015 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the people

Disliked: Waking up and having check out

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent atmosphere - courtyard is excellent, open until 10pm then the kitchen is open all night for people that want to party or cook etc. Kitchen is far enough away from the rooms to not cause too much noise. Stayed in a room with AC which was a surprise. Plenty of lockers in the room and overall a superb location. Would stay again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

24 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is close to everzthing you need like supermarket, train station, bars, clubs, food shops and more. Only a few minutes by walk to famous sights like opera house and harbour bridge. I like the the hostel and i met a lot of nice people there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Carroll

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is fantastic, especially on an evening. Everyone is made to feel very welcome and the goon pong table is a excellent facility. The staff are all very helpful and the cleaners make sure the bedrooms, kitchen and common area are always clean.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located slightly outside of the main centre in Kings Cross, only 15mins or lesskto walk into the City. Rooms were well used but generally clean. Bathroom facilities kept clean and tidy but too few per floor (one on our floor was out of use). Staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Price for rooms was at the higher end given that they are well used.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mael Monod

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 December 2014 Mael would recommend this property

Liked: party hostel with a 24/24hours kitchen and a goon-pong table in a common courtyard open till 10pm. Comon inside area is open 24/24hours too. great atmosphere with 2x free food a week and great location for nightlife. Cross baby !

Disliked: Mael left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2014

Liked: Fine location.

Disliked: Everything was very dirty... Rooms are pretty small and there's no ventilation. I stayed 3 nights and never saw anybody cleaning the showers and toilets. Sooooo noisy!!!!!!! impossible to sleep at night.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Hector Florez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2014

Liked: It is near to opera house

Disliked: The room was so small. It was supposed to have 4 people, however, it had 5 people. Bathrooms are so dirty. They charged the booking price in advance, where it is supposed to charge the arrival date.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Matthew Dodd

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014

Liked: Very cheap compared to other hostels

Disliked: Dirty Horrible showers In my opinion, not a great location Staff came across as rude Our 4 bed dorm wasn't exactly safe or secure, door didn't close properly, window open to balcony, no lock Charged the full price of the booking ontoy reservation card before even asking, took a $20 cash deposit then gave it back via refund onto card, maybe a little petty but that was going to be the bus fare to the airport. Also they have some silly little rules, attaching receipts to beds otherwise fined, $20 fee if you lock yourself out, 1.10 per minute charged after checkout time. I understand it's a business, but these are pathetic.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014

Liked: The Asian cleaning crew at that time were doing miracles in the morning by cleaning the place before breakfast, btw: breakfast with standard cereal and milk, but also hard boiled eggs and singles of cheese - that was good.

Disliked: At that time the rates were pretty low compare to all the other hostels in that area, but the state the hostel is in - horrible, especially kitchen and the common area, everything was destroyed by I guess fellow drunk backpackers, nobody to tell those poor fellow that this is not a five star hotel and you have to clean after yourself and not leave tons of dirty dishes behind. I nearly made friends with a guy who was fixing the internet - he was there almnost every day and I stayed there a week, there was a leakage in one of the bathrooms - ok that happens but then the next night electricity went down in our part of the hostel, I have to say I stayed in the nicest room with a balcony, but good tip for the future: remove the carpets...

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sebastian Marx

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here is really nice, very friendly und try to help you out if they can! You can lock your stuff there which is awesome, I saw a lot Hostels were it was not possible!

Disliked: The kitchen with the TV room where you can eat is sometimes to full, so a little bit more space would be perfect!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ann-christin illi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 ann-christin would recommend this property

Liked: Die Duschen sind ziemlich neu und schoen warm und das Fruehstueck ist richtig gut, es gibt sogar Eier.

Disliked: ann-christin left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

William Pihl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014

Liked: Bad

Disliked: It was deskasting you will get sick if go there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Bravo

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 July 2014 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the lockers.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francois Moiteaux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2014 Francois would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is such an awesome place to stay in Sydney. They have great prices, hostel staff is one of the nicest I have ever met! Atmosphere in hostel is really great. The common room is great place to know new people. There is only a few minutes walk to nearest train station, and less than 5 minutes walk to the supermarket and shops. I recommend this hostel without hesitation!

Disliked: Francois left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joshua ffrench

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2014 joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Great location 5 minutes from the central of Sydney, great view of the harbor, sea. just a 2 minute stroll from Sydney's botanical gardens. And also 2 minutes away from several bar and night spots. Very good price with kitchen lounge and toilet facility's.

Disliked: joshua left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lucas Belchior Souza de Oliveira

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

23 June 2014

Liked: People that stay there are from different parts of the world and friendly.

Disliked: Comments in the question 2

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thomas verdugo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: staff tres accueillant et arrangeant ( reservation pour un saut en parachute, shuttle pour l aeroport etc...!! ) Ordinateur a disposition, Wifi, petit dej inclus, propre, bonne location: JE RECOMMANDE!!!

Disliked: rien

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel in an excellent location that is close to everything! It also came with free wifi and free breakfast

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Flory

Alone

City break

31 May 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: I did not know what to expect from the price I paid but surprisingly I was quite impressed with the service for the price I paid. Free WIFI and breakfast honestly I've stayed in hostels that cost me a fortune and never got that much. Also had a free upgrade from 8 to a 4 share. The hostel is more like a big house and the staff was quite helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

merlin petitjean

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 merlin would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was really good, really cheap for what it is. If you want to party it's the perfect place, even if you just want to sleep the room are usualy really quiet. Near to King Cross the chiliblue have everytime something plan for the night (free entry/free drink most of the time).

Disliked: NOTHING !


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels