HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

56.2% Overall Rating

353 out of 452 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2013)

Luke Newman thinks…

"I can not find many bad things to say about this place, especially for the price. It was a little bit small with narrow corridors, but other then that, I have no complaints. Staff were friendly, it…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.26
  • Towel USD 4.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
28.06 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.39 USD

Hostel 76.2% 112 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.26 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
24.32 USD

Hostel 73.9% 165 reviews
Backpackers HQ
24.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 80 reviews
Springfield Lodge
50.05 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
31.81 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
28.06 USD

Hostel 71.9% 321 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.2%

Overall Rating

353 out of 452 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
60.0%
Value
55.2%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 409 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tracy Bride

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

23 March 2014 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: The private room had tv all stations aircon fridge cleaned regularly

Disliked: Outside entertainment area bit too small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Anja Prosch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2014 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: The other backpackers where super cool and chilled.

Disliked: It's very old and facillities are unisex. WiFi was really slow and didn't work in most parts of the hostel, just next to the reception.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Amie Brew

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: leak right over a bed which was sold to us condesnation and damp in rooms actually left you feeling wet when you woke up after sleeping in the room staff members had no idea how many beds were free, very un helpful, one australian member of staff was rude and highly agressive did not feel comfortable around him, he accidently refunded us 100 x the amount he should have and shouted at us for his own mistake shared area was very limited, couple of seats and 2 cookers for way too many people, only a few of the hobs available actually worked very un clean free breakfast is not worth it - DON'T STAY HERE

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rhiannon Armstrong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: We had 3 cockroaches in our room and it was damp and smelt awful. We even bought new bedding so we could put up with staying there

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 November 2013

Liked: Great neighbourhood

Disliked: Smelly room, disgusting curtains. Renovations needed.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Bettina Baasch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: The cleaning staff is great. The Party and tv areas are good.

Disliked: No working wifi, Damaged doors from Toilets and showers, No working ovens! I had no window in my room!!!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013

Liked: .

Disliked: just 3 showers and 3 toilets for the whole hostel, and thereof 1 shower door and two toilet doors did not close so effectively the whole hostel had to share 2 showers and 1 toilet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Emerck

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2013 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Everything in the short time I was there

Disliked: I had to leave !!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Huimin Yang

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 October 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013

Liked: Location and security

Disliked: No refund key deposit by cash. No air conditioning, only 1 fan therefore it is so hot. Free breakfast in the morning but no spoon, no dish and poor food.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Newman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: I can not find many bad things to say about this place, especially for the price. It was a little bit small with narrow corridors, but other then that, I have no complaints. Staff were friendly, it was clean, and I got a free upgrade as they hadn't filled the rooms.

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is so nice & friendly to all the people!! He always helps & provide suggestions with good places to go! Cheap & good location, close to the opera house & royal garden!

Disliked: The lady housekeeper was so rude & unfriendly!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: It was dirty.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013

Liked: Free breakfast if you have a cup and spoon to spread the jam!!!

Disliked: not enough bathroom/toilet when you are upstairs and when one is disgusting and the other doesn't lock. Not been informed that there is no cup, forks, knife etc to eat. gave 20dollars deposit that he didn't gave a cash back but transfer on my french account. I've lost enough money staying there. bedroom messy, disguting and dirty.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013

Liked: It s cheap, clean and I appreciate the big lockers in a room.

Disliked: Quiet small, can be noisy in the night, no dishes in the kitchen (like cups etc) you have to pay depozsite on the reception...but for few nights it is ok ;-)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a great spot, was very easy to find

Disliked: It felt a bit cramped, but it wasn't a serious issue

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Bray

Alone

Partying / nightlife

19 April 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, free breakfast, very central & the staff help me with my resume.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good for it's cheap price, bathrooms clean, breakfast included

Disliked: Some of the staff members are not really friendly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marek Sustek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: Location is superb..

Disliked: Marek left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Fabian Wanner

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2013

Liked: Helpful staff, nice room, despite small.

Disliked: Dirty common areas, locks on showers and toilets broken. Breakfast provided, but bowls and cutlery have to be paid for with a deposit.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mohamed Anaaoui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Work / volunteering

24 March 2013 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: clean, an good location

Disliked: price: expensive

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michael DiIorio

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 March 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Isabelle was extremely friendly Fridge, TV, Fan in room

Disliked: WiFi was barely usable in the rooms. It doesn't work much past the 1st floor The showers had no places to hold soap, shampoo, etc. The hot/cold taps in the showers were very finicky

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

ALEX LEOW SHENG

Alone

City break

16 March 2013 ALEX would recommend this property

Liked: Too many bugs in my room and the air-codition was broken down.The whole day that i feel staying in the hell room...and litterbit messy in the kitcher....

Disliked: everthing are close to the shops n restaurants...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Emily Sanders

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Best thing about this hostel was that there was free wifi (though it was horribly slow) and lockers to put my stuff away. About a 10 minute walk to Finger Wharf, Woolloomooloo area and 20-25 minutes to Botanical Gardens, Opera House. Good Thai food and ice cream down Victoria Street.

Disliked: My 6 bed dorm was teeny, sooo hot (no air conditioning, just 2 fans that didn't do enough), and it was nasty and dirty. I think my roommates were dirty, but it also doesn't look like staff cleans these rooms. I think past hostelers left their food containers and other stuff and no one ever took the time to throw it out so it piled up. My bunk was rusty and the railing was coming off. No soap in the bathrooms at all. Sick! Free breakfast in the morning, but the kitchen and sitting area are dirty and you have to leave a deposit to get your own dishes.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

WJohn Barnard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Took my full payment 10 days in advance without telling me. Facilities were very poor. Included breakfast ended at 9am. Bathroom facilities bad. Kitchen and eating space awful. Cash deposits for keys refunded only to a credit card. Unsafe storage for bags after you check out. The worst hostel I have ever stayed in.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels