HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chili Blue Backpackers Sydney Hostel

144 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 75%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 8.82USD
  • Towel 4.01USD

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00

Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00

IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT.

By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies.

Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings.

PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel.

Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given.

IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN.

New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount.

We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 75%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good breakfast Very cheap for sydney Good location

Disliked: Floor was dirty

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Located close to darlinghurst, walking distance to banks, art gallery, oxford, easy to orient yourself.

Disliked: Seemed like a lot of travellers had been there for a longvtime. Maybe not the best place to stay if you are trying to get rid of jet lag.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything was great! But the best thing was how incredibly helpful and friendly the staff are! Very clean rooms, bathrooms and other facilities. The hostel is a short 10-15 minute walk from the center of Sydney. A lot of great places to eat close by as well. Absolutely loved it!

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a relatively good location, 15 min walking to the CBD.

Disliked: Dirty toilets, rude reception staff and below average rooms

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Very good athmosphere and hostel filled with nice people. Something happening every night and easy to meet people and get friends. Cleaner than many other hostels. Friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The breakfast was very good! Eggs, tost, cornflakes, Weed Bix, jam, coffee, tee, cheese..

Disliked: It was raining in our room. You could smell weed all day. You can also have a selection kokain, creck.... in this hostel

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff and people are really friendly !! I had Great time. Amazing atmosphere and stay !

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Chili Blue was an amazing deal! The free breakfast was excellent, leaps and bounds above most in hostels across Australia. The free wi-fi was not unlimited but was reliable during my stay. The bed was comfortable and the rooms and bathrooms stayed reasonably clean. Plenty of fridge and food storage space. Friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The common area could get a little rowdy and loud in the evenings, but was usually quiet by 10 PM. Cigarette smoke from the courtyard sometimes wafted into the common areas and halls. Also, dishes were only available with a deposit.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good locationDouble beds available in dormsEasy card entry system

Disliked: No cutlery or dishware providedStaff fairly unhelpful and unfriendlyDifficult and confusing to navigateStrong smells of weed and cigarettes all over the hostelVery messy and uncleanToo small dining areaNo hand towels in bathrooms

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good people in there

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability