HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

73.3% Overall Rating

365 out of 471 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

"The Asian cleaning crew at that time were doing miracles in the morning by cleaning the place before breakfast, btw: breakfast with standard cereal and milk, but also hard boiled eggs and singles of cheese - that was…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.23
  • Towel USD 4.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
27.89 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
21.38 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
23.24 USD

Hostel 86.1% 723 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
18.59 USD

Hostel 73.6% 168 reviews
Highfield Hotel
31.14 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
22.31 USD

Hostel 85.0% 93 reviews
Springfield Lodge
49.74 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
31.61 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.3%

Overall Rating

365 out of 471 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 342 of 427 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014

Liked: The Asian cleaning crew at that time were doing miracles in the morning by cleaning the place before breakfast, btw: breakfast with standard cereal and milk, but also hard boiled eggs and singles of cheese - that was good.

Disliked: At that time the rates were pretty low compare to all the other hostels in that area, but the state the hostel is in - horrible, especially kitchen and the common area, everything was destroyed by I guess fellow drunk backpackers, nobody to tell those poor fellow that this is not a five star hotel and you have to clean after yourself and not leave tons of dirty dishes behind. I nearly made friends with a guy who was fixing the internet - he was there almnost every day and I stayed there a week, there was a leakage in one of the bathrooms - ok that happens but then the next night electricity went down in our part of the hostel, I have to say I stayed in the nicest room with a balcony, but good tip for the future: remove the carpets...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sebastian Marx

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here is really nice, very friendly und try to help you out if they can! You can lock your stuff there which is awesome, I saw a lot Hostels were it was not possible!

Disliked: The kitchen with the TV room where you can eat is sometimes to full, so a little bit more space would be perfect!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ann-christin illi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 ann-christin would recommend this property

Liked: Die Duschen sind ziemlich neu und schoen warm und das Fruehstueck ist richtig gut, es gibt sogar Eier.

Disliked: ann-christin left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

William Pihl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014

Liked: Bad

Disliked: It was deskasting you will get sick if go there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Bravo

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 July 2014 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the lockers.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francois Moiteaux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2014 Francois would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is such an awesome place to stay in Sydney. They have great prices, hostel staff is one of the nicest I have ever met! Atmosphere in hostel is really great. The common room is great place to know new people. There is only a few minutes walk to nearest train station, and less than 5 minutes walk to the supermarket and shops. I recommend this hostel without hesitation!

Disliked: Francois left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joshua ffrench

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2014 joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Great location 5 minutes from the central of Sydney, great view of the harbor, sea. just a 2 minute stroll from Sydney's botanical gardens. And also 2 minutes away from several bar and night spots. Very good price with kitchen lounge and toilet facility's.

Disliked: joshua left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lucas Belchior Souza de Oliveira

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

23 June 2014

Liked: People that stay there are from different parts of the world and friendly.

Disliked: Comments in the question 2

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thomas verdugo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: staff tres accueillant et arrangeant ( reservation pour un saut en parachute, shuttle pour l aeroport etc...!! ) Ordinateur a disposition, Wifi, petit dej inclus, propre, bonne location: JE RECOMMANDE!!!

Disliked: rien

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel in an excellent location that is close to everything! It also came with free wifi and free breakfast

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Flory

Alone

City break

31 May 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: I did not know what to expect from the price I paid but surprisingly I was quite impressed with the service for the price I paid. Free WIFI and breakfast honestly I've stayed in hostels that cost me a fortune and never got that much. Also had a free upgrade from 8 to a 4 share. The hostel is more like a big house and the staff was quite helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

merlin petitjean

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 merlin would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was really good, really cheap for what it is. If you want to party it's the perfect place, even if you just want to sleep the room are usualy really quiet. Near to King Cross the chiliblue have everytime something plan for the night (free entry/free drink most of the time).

Disliked: NOTHING !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jakub Tomasek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2014 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, very clean(!), great value, good breakfast (except the ordinary sandwiches with jam you get eggs and cheese), big lockers in room, my room had terrace. Terribly underrated here on Hostelbookers.

Disliked: The showers were funny.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tracy Bride

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

23 March 2014 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: The private room had tv all stations aircon fridge cleaned regularly

Disliked: Outside entertainment area bit too small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Anja Prosch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2014 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: The other backpackers where super cool and chilled.

Disliked: It's very old and facillities are unisex. WiFi was really slow and didn't work in most parts of the hostel, just next to the reception.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rhiannon Armstrong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: We had 3 cockroaches in our room and it was damp and smelt awful. We even bought new bedding so we could put up with staying there

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 November 2013

Liked: Great neighbourhood

Disliked: Smelly room, disgusting curtains. Renovations needed.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Bettina Baasch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: The cleaning staff is great. The Party and tv areas are good.

Disliked: No working wifi, Damaged doors from Toilets and showers, No working ovens! I had no window in my room!!!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013

Liked: .

Disliked: just 3 showers and 3 toilets for the whole hostel, and thereof 1 shower door and two toilet doors did not close so effectively the whole hostel had to share 2 showers and 1 toilet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Emerck

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2013 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Everything in the short time I was there

Disliked: I had to leave !!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Huimin Yang

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 October 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013

Liked: Location and security

Disliked: No refund key deposit by cash. No air conditioning, only 1 fan therefore it is so hot. Free breakfast in the morning but no spoon, no dish and poor food.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Newman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: I can not find many bad things to say about this place, especially for the price. It was a little bit small with narrow corridors, but other then that, I have no complaints. Staff were friendly, it was clean, and I got a free upgrade as they hadn't filled the rooms.

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is so nice & friendly to all the people!! He always helps & provide suggestions with good places to go! Cheap & good location, close to the opera house & royal garden!

Disliked: The lady housekeeper was so rude & unfriendly!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: It was dirty.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels