We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

73.9% Overall Rating

367 out of 478 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/12/2014)

Mael Monod thinks…

"party hostel with a 24/24hours kitchen and a goon-pong table in a common courtyard open till 10pm. Comon inside area is open 24/24hours too. great atmosphere with 2x free food a week and great…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.61
  • Towel USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
34.93 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
24.45 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
27.07 USD

Hostel 76.7% 170 reviews
Highfield Hotel
34.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
26.20 USD

Hostel 86.6% 96 reviews
Springfield Lodge
46.72 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
26.20 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.9%

Overall Rating

367 out of 478 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 346 of 434 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, funny staff, free internet, free evening programm

Disliked: no air-conditioning

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

kate stevenson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 February 2011 kate would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and storage in rooms

Disliked: I was checked in by an awful man who gave me zero information about the hostel i.e free breakfast times, reception times, where the toilets and kitchen are. He was extremely unwelcoming when I checked in and sat there yawning. There are no big mirrors.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 February 2011

Liked: Close to major attractions

Disliked: Cramped, small hallways and rooms, pretty beat up bathrooms

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SIna Eftekhari

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 February 2011 SIna would recommend this property

Liked: A generous hostel with good atmosphere. Free internet but reaaally slow and frustrating hifi. If you like to party then this is the place because its located just by Kings Cross and every evening the hostel arrange an event.

Disliked: Slooow Hifi. A bit cheap when they don't have papers in the toilets to clean your hands.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

annarita amato

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 February 2011 annarita would recommend this property

Liked: as above

Disliked: not enough toilets and showers

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet, close location to city centre

Disliked: rooms not cleaned when we arrived, seen one cockroach, far way from room to showers and toilets

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Juliette Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2011 Juliette would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean, and we met none of the cockroaches promised by previous reviews. The lights beside every bed were good too.

Disliked: Ended up paying more than the advertised price on hostel bookers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of ppl

Disliked: Cockroaches crawling around every where, Rock hard mattresses, kitchen is also very sub par

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had soooo much fun at this hostel - in fact I have booked to stay another week! i met so many great people, there is a great common room and outdoor area where people meet every night to play drinking games before going out - they get free entry and free drinks most nights! so fun! the staff are lovely and helpful and there is always lots going on. my room had a balcony as well, which i loved! all in all this is one of the best hostels i ever stayed at!

Disliked: the room gets really hot when there are lots of people in there, and because we left the door open all night i got bitten by mosquitoes!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011

Liked: Nothing special really. Pity the breakfast is poor, the showers are annoying and there is not even a real bathroom - if you want to wash your face you'll have to somehow use the tap in the toilet which is extremely small. Also our room was so small and humid that you couldn't pleasantly sleep.

Disliked: The breakfast is poor, the showers are annoying and there is not even a real bathroom - if you want to wash your face you'll have to somehow use the tap in the toilet which is extremely small. Also our room was so small and humid that you couldn't pleasantly sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Friendly Place, events organised every night and a great palce to meet people, Breakfast is good!!!!

Disliked: All been good!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

sharon shokar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2011

Liked: Location of it was good, nice and central and the street had some cool bars and restaurants. Free wifi and computers.

Disliked: The room we were in was a complete mess, though I guess largely due to the other people staying there though the owners weren't doing anything about it other than cleaning the bin each day. There must be stuff in there that doesn't belong to anyone but it's such carnage no-one must know, which resulted in one girl screaming one morning as a cockroach ran along the wall next to where she was lying!! There was no room for our two bags and we were in a largeish 8 bed dorm, was chaos. There were cable extensions everywhere that weren't safe and the room door often not locked by being propped open (again due to the people more than the place), which wouldn't be too bad but there were no secure lockers for your stuf... One toilet and shower on our floor for three large dorm rooms... Plus you needed a deposit for a plates/utensils for breakfast (keep your own in a box and hand back), which I have not seen anywhere else, a bit weird!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Smulders

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun

Disliked: No laundry

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011

Liked: Met alot of nice ppl, the staff were really good and helpfull

Disliked: Had some strange smell in the room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pernille Kenlev Børjesson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2011 Pernille Kenlev would recommend this property

Liked: It is the cleanest hostel I'd stayed at in Australia, and I've been travelling around the country for 3 months now. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. There is a lot of activities every night at the hostel. And of cause the free internet/wifi and breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing important.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2010

Liked: The quite neverhood

Disliked: Is so noisy during the night, there's no control about the movement of people during the night and the teenager go up and down all the night. If you have a bedroom near the stairs is impossible to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: went as a solo traveler. met a bunch of friendly people and had a blast! would recommend chili blue to any group size. nicely located near the train and a walk away from the city. friendly staff always willing to lend a hand and very safe and clean atmosphere. a must stay!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and good for banter staff! Really clean, good location. We got free hot dogs one night...amazing! Beds actually comfortable. Free brekky and wifi always a bonus.

Disliked: They didnt have a tin opener (but soon got one after we pointed this out)!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its in a good location and its easy to do what you want and to come and go as you please.

Disliked: Nothing. It did exactly what it said it would do. Great stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

20 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, great location, good to meet people

Disliked: Everything was excellent :D

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it really worth for the price (20$ the night). The 4 people room (10) was really quiet and clean. It is made for young backpackers, of course, but even if sometimes it is a bit noisy, it is really good for the price.

Disliked: Nothing special

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: chili

Disliked: ?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, relatively quiet and not small.

Disliked: There was no chair in the room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location free internet free cornflakes and toast in the morn

Disliked: hallways not v clean rooms stuffy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amanda massonneau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2010 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet good guys!

Disliked: amanda left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels