HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

65.9% Overall Rating

361 out of 464 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/06/2014)

Francois Moiteaux thinks…

"This hostel is such an awesome place to stay in Sydney. They have great prices, hostel staff is one of the nicest I have ever met! Atmosphere in hostel is really great. The common room is great place…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.32
  • Towel USD 4.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
28.16 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
21.59 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
23.47 USD

Hostel 84.7% 721 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
18.77 USD

Hostel 73.9% 166 reviews
Highfield Hotel
53.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
20.65 USD

Hostel 85.0% 93 reviews
Springfield Lodge
46.46 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
20.65 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

361 out of 464 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
68.8%
Value
63.2%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 338 of 420 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had soooo much fun at this hostel - in fact I have booked to stay another week! i met so many great people, there is a great common room and outdoor area where people meet every night to play drinking games before going out - they get free entry and free drinks most nights! so fun! the staff are lovely and helpful and there is always lots going on. my room had a balcony as well, which i loved! all in all this is one of the best hostels i ever stayed at!

Disliked: the room gets really hot when there are lots of people in there, and because we left the door open all night i got bitten by mosquitoes!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011

Liked: Nothing special really. Pity the breakfast is poor, the showers are annoying and there is not even a real bathroom - if you want to wash your face you'll have to somehow use the tap in the toilet which is extremely small. Also our room was so small and humid that you couldn't pleasantly sleep.

Disliked: The breakfast is poor, the showers are annoying and there is not even a real bathroom - if you want to wash your face you'll have to somehow use the tap in the toilet which is extremely small. Also our room was so small and humid that you couldn't pleasantly sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Friendly Place, events organised every night and a great palce to meet people, Breakfast is good!!!!

Disliked: All been good!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

sharon shokar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2011

Liked: Location of it was good, nice and central and the street had some cool bars and restaurants. Free wifi and computers.

Disliked: The room we were in was a complete mess, though I guess largely due to the other people staying there though the owners weren't doing anything about it other than cleaning the bin each day. There must be stuff in there that doesn't belong to anyone but it's such carnage no-one must know, which resulted in one girl screaming one morning as a cockroach ran along the wall next to where she was lying!! There was no room for our two bags and we were in a largeish 8 bed dorm, was chaos. There were cable extensions everywhere that weren't safe and the room door often not locked by being propped open (again due to the people more than the place), which wouldn't be too bad but there were no secure lockers for your stuf... One toilet and shower on our floor for three large dorm rooms... Plus you needed a deposit for a plates/utensils for breakfast (keep your own in a box and hand back), which I have not seen anywhere else, a bit weird!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Smulders

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun

Disliked: No laundry

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011

Liked: Met alot of nice ppl, the staff were really good and helpfull

Disliked: Had some strange smell in the room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pernille Kenlev Børjesson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2011 Pernille Kenlev would recommend this property

Liked: It is the cleanest hostel I'd stayed at in Australia, and I've been travelling around the country for 3 months now. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. There is a lot of activities every night at the hostel. And of cause the free internet/wifi and breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing important.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2010

Liked: The quite neverhood

Disliked: Is so noisy during the night, there's no control about the movement of people during the night and the teenager go up and down all the night. If you have a bedroom near the stairs is impossible to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: went as a solo traveler. met a bunch of friendly people and had a blast! would recommend chili blue to any group size. nicely located near the train and a walk away from the city. friendly staff always willing to lend a hand and very safe and clean atmosphere. a must stay!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and good for banter staff! Really clean, good location. We got free hot dogs one night...amazing! Beds actually comfortable. Free brekky and wifi always a bonus.

Disliked: They didnt have a tin opener (but soon got one after we pointed this out)!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its in a good location and its easy to do what you want and to come and go as you please.

Disliked: Nothing. It did exactly what it said it would do. Great stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

20 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, great location, good to meet people

Disliked: Everything was excellent :D

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think it really worth for the price (20$ the night). The 4 people room (10) was really quiet and clean. It is made for young backpackers, of course, but even if sometimes it is a bit noisy, it is really good for the price.

Disliked: Nothing special

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: chili

Disliked: ?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, relatively quiet and not small.

Disliked: There was no chair in the room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location free internet free cornflakes and toast in the morn

Disliked: hallways not v clean rooms stuffy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amanda massonneau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2010 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet good guys!

Disliked: amanda left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very good. The ChiliBLue is very near to town. Perfekt. Nice People.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful also location excellent near to shops, bus stops and train station, only 15 min walk to attractions such as opera house, bridge. Street very quiet out of the hussle which was great.

Disliked: not enough toilet/shower facilities, only 1 toilet and shower on each level !!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shelley Marsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2010 Shelley would recommend this property

Liked: You get a real family atmosphere when staying here, everyone helping each other out and making great friends is easy to do :-)

Disliked: Renovations currently underway of the bathroom nearest my room, so when this is done it will be even better.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people, free pay TV, nice staff, good party location next to the hostel

Disliked: a lotof people stay here for a long time, so it could be difficult at the beginning to meet new people, sometimes a bit loud

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Lynch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

04 November 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: From the minute we woke up on our first morning we were greeted by friendly staff always willing to help. Great atmosphere

Disliked: Not a whole lot. Maybe the internet can be slow but its still a good service

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was very friendly, breakfast was more than just toast and cereal and it included free internet. Plus on of the cheapest in Sydney!

Disliked: The room was pretty dirty (there was even a sign on the door asking residents to clean) and nothing was really done about it. There were only 2 showers and 1 bathroom for 2 floors of people which wasnt ideal either.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the free wifi and breakfast

Disliked: the location was a bit far from the city

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break

01 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet

Disliked: Larger toilets


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels