HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

65.9% Overall Rating

361 out of 464 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/06/2014)

Francois Moiteaux thinks…

"This hostel is such an awesome place to stay in Sydney. They have great prices, hostel staff is one of the nicest I have ever met! Atmosphere in hostel is really great. The common room is great place…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.34
  • Towel USD 4.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
28.20 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
21.62 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
23.50 USD

Hostel 84.7% 721 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
21.62 USD

Hostel 73.9% 166 reviews
Highfield Hotel
53.58 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
20.68 USD

Hostel 85.0% 93 reviews
Springfield Lodge
46.53 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
27.26 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

361 out of 464 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
68.8%
Value
63.2%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 338 of 420 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara Donaghue

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2011 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: free internet and location

Disliked: some of the bathroom/shower facilities

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011

Liked: location and free wifi

Disliked: cockroach problem, cleanliness issues and very dark small room with broken bed! kitchen facilities not at all adequate and very basic inconsistent breakfast, staff not the friendliest and did not give all useful information on check in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: '

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Christ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: The best place in the world!! Thanks to Chili Blue and its residents!!

Disliked: .

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Lily Hung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2011

Liked: Very close to train station, shops and CBD as well as free internet.

Disliked: The very hostile welcome from reception staff. Was spoken to very rudely and no interest was taken in our welfare at the hostel. There was only one bathroom between the side of our building which was dirty, smelt disgusting and filled with vomit which was not cleaned up all night. The common area was noisy, filthy and contained passed out drunken backpackers from the night before on the couch. Our room reeked of damp and mould, to the point where I felt dizzy, and as for the the breakfast, don't bother.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Oliver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: i loved chili blue. it was awesome. definantly the best hostel ive ever stayed in. staff were friendly and always willing to help. it had a very good atmosphere as well.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good People & very friendly

Disliked: Old building

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!!

Disliked: Nothing :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: There are loads of opportunities to meet new people, the nights out are amazing!!! Staff were great.

Disliked: The rooms are a bit cramped!!!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011

Liked: I think that the hostel could have been a good place to meet people and go out but we arrived when a big group had been together for a long period so was difficult to get into the group. And the 'organiser' made no effort to get anyone else to join in or ask if anyone wanted to go out

Disliked: The lady at the desk was quite rude to me when my card stopped working and told me that it must not be my card, implying that I had stolen it! Although other staff members were more friendly. Some of the bathrooms downstairs looked like they were falling apart with holes in the walls and were not clean (I used the bathrooms on the upper levels which were much nicer although that meant a constant wait for the bathroom as everybody seemed to be doing this!) Kitchen was useless. It took almost an hour for us to cook our pasta on the hobs there and the 'fully equipped' kitchen was severely lacking. Rooms were ok, nothing special.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

MARK MCMILLAN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011

Liked: It was within walking distance of centre (30 minutes)

Disliked: Prretty much everything. Staff were slow and grumpy. Security is terrible, people can easily walk in. Room was terribly damp and bed uncomfortable. Breakfast was average, basically a loaf of bread and some cheap cereal to make yourself (but you need to bring your own or rent the crockery!). Arriving from the developing world into Sydney this was a step backward and a great dissapointment. Just as well, friends and family in Australia made up for our initial disspaointment on arriving to this great country

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, fun atmosphere and free breakfast!

Disliked: Common room area was a bit small and not enough computers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Olivia Webster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: Had a mean time at chiliblue!! met so many cool people and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definately stay here again!

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011

Liked: the other backpackers!

Disliked: they never clean the rooms and I mean EVER. there are cockroaches everywhere, even in the beds. lots of alcoholics stay here and if they downgrade you to a 6-bed like they did for me you will have to suffer the wine pong traffic until 4am. have fun!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011

Liked: free internet

Disliked: had no AC in the room; staff was not very friendly

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

MICHAL GAJEWSKI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011

Liked: only good location

Disliked: 1. Cocroaches in rooms - disgusting 2. Free wi-fi didnt work. Opened only few pages and it took like few minutes to open one. 3. Very loud. Bunch of drunk people screaming just outside the room window. 4. Depisit for key - 20 AUD - very high! 5. Deposit even for dishes (plates, cuttlery, cups) - 20 AUD - ridiculous. 6. Only two electricity plugs (next to each other) in common room! Wanna use laptop or charge phone - u have to sit on high chairs. Only one plug in room! 7. Disgusting stink in room. Very moist air - no way to dry something.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Johanna Määttä

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, free internet and free breakfast

Disliked: too noicy!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, funny staff, free internet, free evening programm

Disliked: no air-conditioning

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

kate stevenson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 February 2011 kate would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and storage in rooms

Disliked: I was checked in by an awful man who gave me zero information about the hostel i.e free breakfast times, reception times, where the toilets and kitchen are. He was extremely unwelcoming when I checked in and sat there yawning. There are no big mirrors.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 February 2011

Liked: Close to major attractions

Disliked: Cramped, small hallways and rooms, pretty beat up bathrooms

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SIna Eftekhari

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 February 2011 SIna would recommend this property

Liked: A generous hostel with good atmosphere. Free internet but reaaally slow and frustrating hifi. If you like to party then this is the place because its located just by Kings Cross and every evening the hostel arrange an event.

Disliked: Slooow Hifi. A bit cheap when they don't have papers in the toilets to clean your hands.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

annarita amato

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 February 2011 annarita would recommend this property

Liked: as above

Disliked: not enough toilets and showers

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet, close location to city centre

Disliked: rooms not cleaned when we arrived, seen one cockroach, far way from room to showers and toilets

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Juliette Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2011 Juliette would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean, and we met none of the cockroaches promised by previous reviews. The lights beside every bed were good too.

Disliked: Ended up paying more than the advertised price on hostel bookers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of ppl

Disliked: Cockroaches crawling around every where, Rock hard mattresses, kitchen is also very sub par


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels