We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

73.9% Overall Rating

367 out of 478 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/12/2014)

Mael Monod thinks…

"party hostel with a 24/24hours kitchen and a goon-pong table in a common courtyard open till 10pm. Comon inside area is open 24/24hours too. great atmosphere with 2x free food a week and great…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.61
  • Towel USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
34.93 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
24.45 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
25.33 USD

Hostel 76.7% 170 reviews
Highfield Hotel
31.44 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
26.20 USD

Hostel 86.6% 96 reviews
Springfield Lodge
46.72 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
26.20 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.9%

Overall Rating

367 out of 478 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 346 of 434 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2011

Liked: decent location

Disliked: wifi didnt work and when i asked the guy at the counter, he was unhelpful to the point of being downright obstructive. the four computers were useful, but often a queue to use them while people faff about on facebook without a care for the people waiting behind them. when i wasnt able to book a flight because the computers required unblocking of "restricted" websites, the chap at the counter didn't know how to do it! useless.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nattawut Chaiwongsriaroon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 November 2011 Nattawut would recommend this property

Liked: The bedroom is very clean, the cleanest of my three night visit in Sydney. The bathroom is also in a good condition and fairly clean. Also if you asked the staff at front desk, you may get a really good deal for day tour (even cheaper than what you can find on many brochure and ofcourse it runs by the same company). Free breakfast is a great plus. It is not just cereal and milk. This hostel gives you bread, jam, cereal, milk, coffee, tea, egg and cheese. So it is a real brakfast. Very valued for what you pay for. It is in King Cross area, though it is not very dangerous as it is on Victoria St instead of Darlinghurst Rd.

Disliked: The front desk staff is rarely smile and not very friendly. They do their jobs but they should know how to treat customer with better services. Although opening hour suppose to be 8am to 9pm; by 8.30pm, the Indian front desk man don't care whatever people want to ask him anymore, just saying repetitiously "I'm going back now leave it for tomorrow". Remember if you want to stay here and want to do early check out (before 8am), you have to inform the front desk staff at least one day in advance or you will be charged. I considered this is an inconvenience as the other hostels is able to check out 24 hrs.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Perzl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: in center of kingscross, clean, good kitchen

Disliked: as we checked out we were not allowed to use facilities anymore even we had to wait 5 hours until our train left, staff was unpolite

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011

Liked: Location is pretty good, computers with internet for free downstairs, and the two dogs that usually hang out on the couch. People I've met there were also really nice.

Disliked: Some of the staff are not friendly at all, I've heard some people being threatened to be kicked out for minor reasons. The ' free wi-fi' is really slow, that's better just to use downstairs. I saw at least 5 cockroaches around during my stay. The room I stayed was hot as hell.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Danny van Hulst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nice, people that I have met where really nice, they love to party at this hostel but that is/shouldnt be a problem at all. staff is friendly, you get free Wifi and internet, nice and big relax room.

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: Very noisy. After travelling from England there was noise until 3am so couldn't sleep. The staff were very unhelpful so left after one night even though had booked for 2. Avoid if you want to actually sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere amongst travellers and staff are good. Xbox and free internet available 7am-9pm and events and nights out are made clear every day.

Disliked: Noisy. Very noisy. Just get used to it :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Internet and nights out were really good.

Disliked: Not the cleanest place but ok.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victor Eduardo Gnoatto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

08 September 2011 Victor Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place! For the benefits wich you have, it's too cheap. The wifi conection is free, you just have to pick up the password every 24 hours. Almost every day there is a party at some night clubs, usualy you can entry by free and get one free drink. The location is excellent! Just like a 200 meters from the king cross train station! The breakfest is very nice, with milk, cheese, egg, cereals..

Disliked: Wifi conection is very slow.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Monique Binder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really friendly. we had a threebedroom athough booking a forbedroom for the same price. it`s only a 15 minuteswalk to the city. If you want you, you could go out every night. every time free entry + free drink.

Disliked: the toilet and shower in the groundfloor is really dirty and it`s really tidy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, very good location, nice and always helpful staff, breakfast included. Free wireless internet

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time staff and occupants were very friendly and easy to get along with...in terms of hostels it will be hard to beat.

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011

Liked: You get what you pay for- it is cheap and cheerful. The kitchen is actually ok! It seemed secure when you got in at night.

Disliked: The rooms are unclean, damp and smell funny. No fridge and TV as promised! Bad location- I didn't realise how many hookers roam around when you walk down the wrong street in kings cross! It just feels like it is a hostel for the sake of it- no real love in it. If you are looking to stay at a hostel that is friendly and embraces its business go to Wake Up!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was good we even got an egg and some cheese. Good location about 10 minutes to the main centre of sydney. The room was ok had security lockers which was good and a nice balcony. Flat screen tv in common area with cable TV. Very good value for only £5 a night! Very nice clean bathrooms staff were always cleaning and the kitchen was very clean and tidy.

Disliked: Carrying our suitcases up a million flights of stairs as our room was on the top floor. Having to pay a deposit for bowls and cutlery plates etc..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LUKE PATTISON

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 LUKE would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, crazy cheap, super cheap, we got charged even less than we were expecting when we checked out! The location isn't too bad, we walked everywhere in Sydney, there is a big supermarket and loads of bars nearby, as well as a metro station 1 min away. Breakfast of bread and boiled eggs and packaged cheese was good, especially considering the price of accom. Small (4 bed) dorms with electronic key cards.

Disliked: The guy on the front desk (think he was the owner) has severe interpersonal issues, he's not a bad guy and will help you out and save you money, he just cannot speak to people. We were given no info on check in and had to figure everything out for ourselves. Sheets on the beds were so bad we didn't realise we had any until we were angrily asked where they were when we checked out (hadn't been told anything in advance about messing up the bed on check out). You need to leave a deposit for EVERYTHING! We were here for 2 nights before flying out of the country so this was useless for us, want a cup of coffee? Leave 20$ deposit for a kitchenware set, same for towel, keycard etc. Internet was too slow - if you have this many beds you need a fibre optic connection, simple as.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011

Liked: A good location (but there are 20 better hostels in the same spot).

Disliked: I was given a mattress with no sheets or pillow. When I asked a guy at the front desk about receiving sheets, he replied "we don't do that here", so I slept without. Halfway through the night, I woke up in a puddle, as I was given a bed directly under a leak from the roof. Other people had complained earlier about this problem, so it was done with full knowledge of the problem. I saw something resembling black mold in another room as well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Warham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 August 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly, the atmosphere was so much fun and everyone was always having such a good time! The events manager organised some great night out after and even a movie night with free hotdogs! Free Wifi and breakfast was a massive bonus too.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Pajerski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly social hostel with activities put together, the staff was rather formal though. They had a free pot of soup though which was very good!

Disliked: A little far from the center of sydney, but located in an area with a good night life.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YU INAGAKI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 YU would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Huth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and very good price

Disliked: Kitchen and living room are very small.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 July 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: very dirty, cockroaches and a rat was spotted in the hallway the day before we left. was verbally abused by a German man who was staying in the hostel and he was let of scott free while we were told we were not allowed to return for doing absoutely nothing. DO NOT go to this hostel. If you are not friends with the staff you are screwed. The free breakfast is a total con too, it consists of a boiled egg, a slice of cheese and a slice of toast. Disgusting kitchen, bugs everywhere.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central Location

Disliked: Lack of Showers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Heidi Jalonen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap, breakfast ok, free hotdogs on Sunday night!

Disliked: A bit unclean.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2011

Liked: uprade to better room, cheap

Disliked: unfriendliest staff ever! kitchen is too small Shower is about 1 qm toilets is about 1 qm


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels