HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

56.2% Overall Rating

353 out of 452 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2013)

Luke Newman thinks…

"I can not find many bad things to say about this place, especially for the price. It was a little bit small with narrow corridors, but other then that, I have no complaints. Staff were friendly, it…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.26
  • Towel USD 4.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
27.99 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.33 USD

Hostel 77.9% 111 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.19 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
24.26 USD

Hostel 73.9% 165 reviews
Backpackers HQ
24.26 USD

Hostel 85.7% 80 reviews
Springfield Lodge
52.25 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.59 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
27.99 USD

Hostel 71.9% 321 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.2%

Overall Rating

353 out of 452 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
60.0%
Value
55.2%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 409 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011

Liked: A good location (but there are 20 better hostels in the same spot).

Disliked: I was given a mattress with no sheets or pillow. When I asked a guy at the front desk about receiving sheets, he replied "we don't do that here", so I slept without. Halfway through the night, I woke up in a puddle, as I was given a bed directly under a leak from the roof. Other people had complained earlier about this problem, so it was done with full knowledge of the problem. I saw something resembling black mold in another room as well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Warham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 August 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly, the atmosphere was so much fun and everyone was always having such a good time! The events manager organised some great night out after and even a movie night with free hotdogs! Free Wifi and breakfast was a massive bonus too.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Pajerski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly social hostel with activities put together, the staff was rather formal though. They had a free pot of soup though which was very good!

Disliked: A little far from the center of sydney, but located in an area with a good night life.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YU INAGAKI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 YU would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Huth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and very good price

Disliked: Kitchen and living room are very small.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 July 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: very dirty, cockroaches and a rat was spotted in the hallway the day before we left. was verbally abused by a German man who was staying in the hostel and he was let of scott free while we were told we were not allowed to return for doing absoutely nothing. DO NOT go to this hostel. If you are not friends with the staff you are screwed. The free breakfast is a total con too, it consists of a boiled egg, a slice of cheese and a slice of toast. Disgusting kitchen, bugs everywhere.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central Location

Disliked: Lack of Showers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Heidi Jalonen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap, breakfast ok, free hotdogs on Sunday night!

Disliked: A bit unclean.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2011

Liked: uprade to better room, cheap

Disliked: unfriendliest staff ever! kitchen is too small Shower is about 1 qm toilets is about 1 qm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna Rosenthal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

28 June 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The people are dope, the couches and beds are well loved, and the bugs are friendly.

Disliked: It could have been a wee bit warmer in the rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hubert Spruijt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Hubert would recommend this property

Liked: internet prices are very good

Disliked: slow internet connection

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011

Liked: Free Internet. TV in room. Free breakfast

Disliked: Dirty kitchen. Breakfast always gone before chance to get there.Shower had nowhere to put clothes or shower gel etc. No cutlery or plates/cups in kitchen. No sinks to use for a wash, just tiny handbasins with no soap or paper towels. Floors very dirty and beds very noisy. No one on site at night. Quite a walk into town. Very small corridors. Not easy ot manouevre on stairs with luggage.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011

Liked: close to kings cross

Disliked: not very clean, because we checked in after hours we seemed to get a rubbish room that was only fitted with a bed no tv no fridge the only plus side to this room was the toilets seemed to be a bit cleaner as they seemed newer, when we asked to be moved rooms due to the facilities we were given a room that had a tv and fridge but was next door to a dirty toilet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful in making sure we got on the correct shuttle to the airport and made me feel safe leaving friends to stay there alone.

Disliked: The bathroom on the first floor could've been a bit cleaner, but on the whole a very clean and nice place for the money!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nil

Disliked: nil

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andrew James

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Not much to actually write about the "likes".....

Disliked: Lack of sleep, people running around/up and down stairs till the early hrs of the morning shouting and screaming. dead quiet in the day time-you couldn't hear a pin drop! Great place to stay if your a vampire!!!! Also bed was very old and extremely squeaky.room a good size thou, with tv and fridge..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice service and free internet

Disliked: my room was very small, and when you look out of the window -there sit birds and make terrible noises (in the morning), the bath was to small, but for the price -you will surwife.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara Donaghue

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2011 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: free internet and location

Disliked: some of the bathroom/shower facilities

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011

Liked: location and free wifi

Disliked: cockroach problem, cleanliness issues and very dark small room with broken bed! kitchen facilities not at all adequate and very basic inconsistent breakfast, staff not the friendliest and did not give all useful information on check in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: '

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Christ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: The best place in the world!! Thanks to Chili Blue and its residents!!

Disliked: .

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Lily Hung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2011

Liked: Very close to train station, shops and CBD as well as free internet.

Disliked: The very hostile welcome from reception staff. Was spoken to very rudely and no interest was taken in our welfare at the hostel. There was only one bathroom between the side of our building which was dirty, smelt disgusting and filled with vomit which was not cleaned up all night. The common area was noisy, filthy and contained passed out drunken backpackers from the night before on the couch. Our room reeked of damp and mould, to the point where I felt dizzy, and as for the the breakfast, don't bother.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Oliver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: i loved chili blue. it was awesome. definantly the best hostel ive ever stayed in. staff were friendly and always willing to help. it had a very good atmosphere as well.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good People & very friendly

Disliked: Old building

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!!

Disliked: Nothing :)


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels