HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chili Blue Backpackers Sydney

Hostel

144 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 75%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 8.48USD
  • Towel 3.85USD

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00

Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00

IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT.

By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies.

Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings.

PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel.

Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given.

IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN.

New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount.

We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 75%

Value 85%

Showing 51-60 of 66 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Helpful staff, nice room, despite small.

Disliked: Dirty common areas, locks on showers and toilets broken. Breakfast provided, but bowls and cutlery have to be paid for with a deposit.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is superb..

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Work / volunteering

Liked: clean, an good location

Disliked: price: expensive

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Mohamed,

Thank you for your feedback. Chili Blue backpackers is renowned for low prices all year round throughout all of our booking channels and this will continue moving forward. Hopefully we will see you again.

Cheers,
Chili Blue Team

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Too many bugs in my room and the air-codition was broken down.The whole day that i feel staying in the hell room...and litterbit messy in the kitcher....

Disliked: everthing are close to the shops n restaurants...

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The free breakfast andthe free internet.

Disliked: Pretty much everything else but especially the bugs in the kitchen and the standard of the rooms and bathrooms.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Absolutely loved it here! The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for you and the location is unreal! Super close to everything you need no need to worry about buses or trains as everything is in walking distance. My 5 friends and I absolutely loved staying here and we would highly recommend other travellers staying here also! The atmosphere is great and we met so many new friends.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: I liked the mini fridge we got in the private room as well as the common outdoor area with a specialised Goon Pong table, that was a lot of fun. The other guests were lovely as well. Also when the toilets weren't blocked, they were very nice, same with the shower area.

Disliked: The staff were very rude and unwilling to help with anything. There were cockroaches everywhere!! The pillow my friend had was just a sack of fluff and it kept falling out everywhere. You had to rent the dishes if you wanted to cook anything or ever just have a spoon for something you bought from the supermarket. All of the signs around are very threatening, they all say "If you do this this and this you will be evicted with no refund" it did not create a very friendly and warm atmosphere. One staff member also stopped my friend a few days into our stay and questioned her as to if she was a real guest when obviously she was, he was also very rude about this.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Took my full payment 10 days in advance without telling me. Facilities were very poor. Included breakfast ended at 9am. Bathroom facilities bad. Kitchen and eating space awful. Cash deposits for keys refunded only to a credit card. Unsafe storage for bags after you check out. The worst hostel I have ever stayed in.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not enough toilets (3 per floor, only one toliet room had a sink and mirror- the other 2 had awkward sinks attached to the toilets that you had to flush to get any water), they also smelled awful. It was a loud place to be, but that's to be expected in kings cross. A few of the employees were quite rude. Kitchen was disgusting and small. We never once used it.Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Isabelle was extremely friendlyFridge, TV, Fan in room

Disliked: WiFi was barely usable in the rooms. It doesn't work much past the 1st floorThe showers had no places to hold soap, shampoo, etc.The hot/cold taps in the showers were very finicky

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. With regards to the internet as we do provide this service free of charge and our guest utilize this often there can be certain times when the network is under strain which usually only last for a short while. Measures have been been put in place to ensure our FREE internet service is operating at it's optimum.

Thank you and hope to see you again.

Cheers,
Chili Blue Team

Check Availability