HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

56.2% Overall Rating

353 out of 452 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2013)

Luke Newman thinks…

"I can not find many bad things to say about this place, especially for the price. It was a little bit small with narrow corridors, but other then that, I have no complaints. Staff were friendly, it…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.30
  • Towel USD 4.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
28.08 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.40 USD

Hostel 77.9% 111 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.28 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
24.34 USD

Hostel 73.9% 165 reviews
Backpackers HQ
24.34 USD

Hostel 85.7% 80 reviews
Springfield Lodge
52.42 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.70 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
28.08 USD

Hostel 71.9% 321 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.2%

Overall Rating

353 out of 452 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
60.0%
Value
55.2%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 409 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Reinand van der Woerd

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 Reinand would recommend this property

Liked: Advice and tips for cheaper bookings for trips.

Disliked: Non

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

david brewerton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms were good with TV and fridge and very clean.

Disliked: Every morning somebody burst into our room to change the bin bag. They did knock but they didn't wait for an answer or give you a chance to opent he door they just let themselves in. I thought this was terrible as often it was before 9am and we were still asleep or I was ina towel after getting out of the shower!! The kitchen is too small and the cooking facilities are poor - it takes at least 10 mins for the electric hob to heat up enough to cook on. Common areas have good facilities Foxtel, Xbox internet but it is far too small right next to reception and all closes when reception does!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marta Evans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, close to metro station, supermarket and restaurant/bars. The hostel is not too big so it has a more welcoming feel which makes it easier to get to know people and a good character with its decor. Our room had a good size (4 bed dorm), safe with keycard access, showers&toilets were brand new and well-maintained, the kitchen was also clean (thanks to the system that you get your own plates, cups and cutlery in exchange of a 20 dollar deposit) and fairly well-equipped. There is a TV at the kitchen area where you can watch many channels or DVDs. Wifi is free which is rare in Australia, even though reception is very poor outside the reception area that closes at half 7 in the evening. There are 4 computers and a game console at reception that you can also use for free. Breakfast is also free with boiled eggs, cheese slices, toast, jam and cereal! There are also programs almost every night (going out to different bars).

Disliked: At certain days the hostel was overbooked so people actually slept in the common area or two people slept in one bed. The Wifi connection was very poor outside reception (which is tiny and only open at certain times) but at least it was free. We had some extremely messy roommates for a few nights that made the room stink and an old guy who snored terribly but I guess that was just our bad luck...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Addison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 December 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel! friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, plenty of hot water. Event managers always got plenty on, free drinks in every bar. A great place to stay. 10 mins from the city as well as great bars and restaurants across the road!

Disliked: Nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great time in Chili Blue. Nice people meet. Nice place.

Disliked: Staff no smile

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for an hostel in Sydney. Good breakfast + free internet for that price is pretty good in my opinion. Bathroom was really clean, they really do a good job on that. Good computers available to use at reception. Good indian food next street!

Disliked: Room smelled kinda funny. Wifi is super slow

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

silvia serafini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2011 silvia would recommend this property

Liked: position people

Disliked: kitchen

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is good

Disliked: The staff is not helpful.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is good. we can cook by ourself. And it is not very noisy.

Disliked: The staff is not helpful.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2011

Liked: decent location

Disliked: wifi didnt work and when i asked the guy at the counter, he was unhelpful to the point of being downright obstructive. the four computers were useful, but often a queue to use them while people faff about on facebook without a care for the people waiting behind them. when i wasnt able to book a flight because the computers required unblocking of "restricted" websites, the chap at the counter didn't know how to do it! useless.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nattawut Chaiwongsriaroon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 November 2011 Nattawut would recommend this property

Liked: The bedroom is very clean, the cleanest of my three night visit in Sydney. The bathroom is also in a good condition and fairly clean. Also if you asked the staff at front desk, you may get a really good deal for day tour (even cheaper than what you can find on many brochure and ofcourse it runs by the same company). Free breakfast is a great plus. It is not just cereal and milk. This hostel gives you bread, jam, cereal, milk, coffee, tea, egg and cheese. So it is a real brakfast. Very valued for what you pay for. It is in King Cross area, though it is not very dangerous as it is on Victoria St instead of Darlinghurst Rd.

Disliked: The front desk staff is rarely smile and not very friendly. They do their jobs but they should know how to treat customer with better services. Although opening hour suppose to be 8am to 9pm; by 8.30pm, the Indian front desk man don't care whatever people want to ask him anymore, just saying repetitiously "I'm going back now leave it for tomorrow". Remember if you want to stay here and want to do early check out (before 8am), you have to inform the front desk staff at least one day in advance or you will be charged. I considered this is an inconvenience as the other hostels is able to check out 24 hrs.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Perzl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: in center of kingscross, clean, good kitchen

Disliked: as we checked out we were not allowed to use facilities anymore even we had to wait 5 hours until our train left, staff was unpolite

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011

Liked: Location is pretty good, computers with internet for free downstairs, and the two dogs that usually hang out on the couch. People I've met there were also really nice.

Disliked: Some of the staff are not friendly at all, I've heard some people being threatened to be kicked out for minor reasons. The ' free wi-fi' is really slow, that's better just to use downstairs. I saw at least 5 cockroaches around during my stay. The room I stayed was hot as hell.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Danny van Hulst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nice, people that I have met where really nice, they love to party at this hostel but that is/shouldnt be a problem at all. staff is friendly, you get free Wifi and internet, nice and big relax room.

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: Very noisy. After travelling from England there was noise until 3am so couldn't sleep. The staff were very unhelpful so left after one night even though had booked for 2. Avoid if you want to actually sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere amongst travellers and staff are good. Xbox and free internet available 7am-9pm and events and nights out are made clear every day.

Disliked: Noisy. Very noisy. Just get used to it :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Internet and nights out were really good.

Disliked: Not the cleanest place but ok.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victor Eduardo Gnoatto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

08 September 2011 Victor Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place! For the benefits wich you have, it's too cheap. The wifi conection is free, you just have to pick up the password every 24 hours. Almost every day there is a party at some night clubs, usualy you can entry by free and get one free drink. The location is excellent! Just like a 200 meters from the king cross train station! The breakfest is very nice, with milk, cheese, egg, cereals..

Disliked: Wifi conection is very slow.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Monique Binder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really friendly. we had a threebedroom athough booking a forbedroom for the same price. it`s only a 15 minuteswalk to the city. If you want you, you could go out every night. every time free entry + free drink.

Disliked: the toilet and shower in the groundfloor is really dirty and it`s really tidy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, very good location, nice and always helpful staff, breakfast included. Free wireless internet

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time staff and occupants were very friendly and easy to get along with...in terms of hostels it will be hard to beat.

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011

Liked: You get what you pay for- it is cheap and cheerful. The kitchen is actually ok! It seemed secure when you got in at night.

Disliked: The rooms are unclean, damp and smell funny. No fridge and TV as promised! Bad location- I didn't realise how many hookers roam around when you walk down the wrong street in kings cross! It just feels like it is a hostel for the sake of it- no real love in it. If you are looking to stay at a hostel that is friendly and embraces its business go to Wake Up!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was good we even got an egg and some cheese. Good location about 10 minutes to the main centre of sydney. The room was ok had security lockers which was good and a nice balcony. Flat screen tv in common area with cable TV. Very good value for only £5 a night! Very nice clean bathrooms staff were always cleaning and the kitchen was very clean and tidy.

Disliked: Carrying our suitcases up a million flights of stairs as our room was on the top floor. Having to pay a deposit for bowls and cutlery plates etc..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LUKE PATTISON

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 LUKE would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, crazy cheap, super cheap, we got charged even less than we were expecting when we checked out! The location isn't too bad, we walked everywhere in Sydney, there is a big supermarket and loads of bars nearby, as well as a metro station 1 min away. Breakfast of bread and boiled eggs and packaged cheese was good, especially considering the price of accom. Small (4 bed) dorms with electronic key cards.

Disliked: The guy on the front desk (think he was the owner) has severe interpersonal issues, he's not a bad guy and will help you out and save you money, he just cannot speak to people. We were given no info on check in and had to figure everything out for ourselves. Sheets on the beds were so bad we didn't realise we had any until we were angrily asked where they were when we checked out (hadn't been told anything in advance about messing up the bed on check out). You need to leave a deposit for EVERYTHING! We were here for 2 nights before flying out of the country so this was useless for us, want a cup of coffee? Leave 20$ deposit for a kitchenware set, same for towel, keycard etc. Internet was too slow - if you have this many beds you need a fibre optic connection, simple as.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels