We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

73.9% Overall Rating

366 out of 475 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

"The Asian cleaning crew at that time were doing miracles in the morning by cleaning the place before breakfast, btw: breakfast with standard cereal and milk, but also hard boiled eggs and singles of cheese - that was…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.86
  • Towel USD 4.48

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
26.90 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
24.21 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.11 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
22.42 USD

Hostel 75.9% 169 reviews
Highfield Hotel
30.93 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
19.73 USD

Hostel 84.9% 94 reviews
Springfield Lodge
40.35 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
30.49 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.9%

Overall Rating

366 out of 475 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 343 of 431 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Room, kitchen and common area are dirty and small, we lived in 4 beds room but it always has extra person then they slept with each other and made noise loudly every night. Having to pay the deposit for bowls and plates but they don't accept cash, internet can't connect and so on. The place like a hell. Don't stay here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Markus Roth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

29 February 2012 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: The chilliblue was just amazing, i had so much fun and made many new friends. i definetly want to come back and the staff is very friendly. thanks for the free breakfast. cheers see you later chilliblue

Disliked: Markus left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel so much that I like to call it my home base in Australia! Throughout my travels, I always find myself back in Sydney and I never think twice about where to stay. Chiliblue has an amaying atmosphere, fun and friendly staff who are always ready for a party or willing to share a good joke, and an excellent common room with a couch bigger than my Canadian bedroom! The location is excellent as its so close to all the main attractions in sydney; a short train ride away from the major shopping centers and beaches and a quick walk to the main street or the Royal Botanical Gardens. There are 2 grocery stories within a 5 minute radius and its close to many bars and clubs for those who like to party. I reccomend this hostel to anyone staying in Sydney!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean rooms and free wifi.

Disliked: The staff were quite unhelpful and you are required to pay another deposit on top of the hostel bookers deposit before you arrive.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Ventilation of the room

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything!! The staff were very unhelpful and the manager had an absolute disgusting attitude towards us as his paying customers!! We arrived at the hostel to find that were not in the same room! When we asked the woman at the reception desk to change it she was so unhelpful so we ran the manager and he hung up on us!!!!!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

katy roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 katy would recommend this property

Liked: really nice social area and events on every night. It's fairly small so very sociable and easy to meet people. Good breakfast too!

Disliked: Small kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome common room, never closed! Come here to meet mates! Cheers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Charles Coutellier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: The manager is really nice

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joonas Laitinen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 Joonas would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, located in a peaceful street in Kings Cross, and bars just one block away

Disliked: --

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexandre CHATELLIER

Alone

Business / conference

21 January 2012 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: safety good location good atmosphere

Disliked: Alexandre left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Röhlinger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: top location, but in a silent street, funky atmosphere, not too many people

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a brandnew bathroom (which was always clean) and an egg included in the free breakfast.

Disliked: The oven in the kitchen didn't work, so you couldn't cook properly. The chees (you were allowed to take 2 slices) and the eggs (one for each person) were limited and the staff was always cleaning the kitchen in the breakfast time, so you had the feeling that they controlled it all the time (plus the sharp smell of cleaning products). The kitchen, the common room and the tv room were just one big room. They used the courtyard as a construction zone for new shelfs, so you couldn't sit there most of the time. The whole athmosphere wasn't very wellcoming.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Reinand van der Woerd

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 Reinand would recommend this property

Liked: Advice and tips for cheaper bookings for trips.

Disliked: Non

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

david brewerton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms were good with TV and fridge and very clean.

Disliked: Every morning somebody burst into our room to change the bin bag. They did knock but they didn't wait for an answer or give you a chance to opent he door they just let themselves in. I thought this was terrible as often it was before 9am and we were still asleep or I was ina towel after getting out of the shower!! The kitchen is too small and the cooking facilities are poor - it takes at least 10 mins for the electric hob to heat up enough to cook on. Common areas have good facilities Foxtel, Xbox internet but it is far too small right next to reception and all closes when reception does!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marta Evans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, close to metro station, supermarket and restaurant/bars. The hostel is not too big so it has a more welcoming feel which makes it easier to get to know people and a good character with its decor. Our room had a good size (4 bed dorm), safe with keycard access, showers&toilets were brand new and well-maintained, the kitchen was also clean (thanks to the system that you get your own plates, cups and cutlery in exchange of a 20 dollar deposit) and fairly well-equipped. There is a TV at the kitchen area where you can watch many channels or DVDs. Wifi is free which is rare in Australia, even though reception is very poor outside the reception area that closes at half 7 in the evening. There are 4 computers and a game console at reception that you can also use for free. Breakfast is also free with boiled eggs, cheese slices, toast, jam and cereal! There are also programs almost every night (going out to different bars).

Disliked: At certain days the hostel was overbooked so people actually slept in the common area or two people slept in one bed. The Wifi connection was very poor outside reception (which is tiny and only open at certain times) but at least it was free. We had some extremely messy roommates for a few nights that made the room stink and an old guy who snored terribly but I guess that was just our bad luck...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Addison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 December 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel! friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, plenty of hot water. Event managers always got plenty on, free drinks in every bar. A great place to stay. 10 mins from the city as well as great bars and restaurants across the road!

Disliked: Nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great time in Chili Blue. Nice people meet. Nice place.

Disliked: Staff no smile

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for an hostel in Sydney. Good breakfast + free internet for that price is pretty good in my opinion. Bathroom was really clean, they really do a good job on that. Good computers available to use at reception. Good indian food next street!

Disliked: Room smelled kinda funny. Wifi is super slow

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

silvia serafini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2011 silvia would recommend this property

Liked: position people

Disliked: kitchen

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is good

Disliked: The staff is not helpful.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is good. we can cook by ourself. And it is not very noisy.

Disliked: The staff is not helpful.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2011

Liked: decent location

Disliked: wifi didnt work and when i asked the guy at the counter, he was unhelpful to the point of being downright obstructive. the four computers were useful, but often a queue to use them while people faff about on facebook without a care for the people waiting behind them. when i wasnt able to book a flight because the computers required unblocking of "restricted" websites, the chap at the counter didn't know how to do it! useless.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nattawut Chaiwongsriaroon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 November 2011 Nattawut would recommend this property

Liked: The bedroom is very clean, the cleanest of my three night visit in Sydney. The bathroom is also in a good condition and fairly clean. Also if you asked the staff at front desk, you may get a really good deal for day tour (even cheaper than what you can find on many brochure and ofcourse it runs by the same company). Free breakfast is a great plus. It is not just cereal and milk. This hostel gives you bread, jam, cereal, milk, coffee, tea, egg and cheese. So it is a real brakfast. Very valued for what you pay for. It is in King Cross area, though it is not very dangerous as it is on Victoria St instead of Darlinghurst Rd.

Disliked: The front desk staff is rarely smile and not very friendly. They do their jobs but they should know how to treat customer with better services. Although opening hour suppose to be 8am to 9pm; by 8.30pm, the Indian front desk man don't care whatever people want to ask him anymore, just saying repetitiously "I'm going back now leave it for tomorrow". Remember if you want to stay here and want to do early check out (before 8am), you have to inform the front desk staff at least one day in advance or you will be charged. I considered this is an inconvenience as the other hostels is able to check out 24 hrs.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything..


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels