HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

65.9% Overall Rating

361 out of 464 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/06/2014)

Francois Moiteaux thinks…

"This hostel is such an awesome place to stay in Sydney. They have great prices, hostel staff is one of the nicest I have ever met! Atmosphere in hostel is really great. The common room is great place…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.33
  • Towel USD 4.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
28.18 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
21.60 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
23.48 USD

Hostel 84.7% 721 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
21.60 USD

Hostel 73.9% 166 reviews
Highfield Hotel
53.54 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
20.67 USD

Hostel 85.0% 93 reviews
Springfield Lodge
46.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
31.94 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

361 out of 464 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
68.8%
Value
63.2%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 338 of 420 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good hostel a little small but perfect for me

Disliked: small kitchen but the price makes up for it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philipp Heinze

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

10 May 2012 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: Was just perfect to round off my stay in Australia after 6 months ... amazing 3 last days!!

Disliked: nothing in particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the area it was situated in, it was very close to everything and to the city

Disliked: There is nothing that i disliked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jose sanches

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 May 2012 jose would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hotel

Disliked: No

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris muller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 chris would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel. old but cosy, free breakfast including hardboiled egg. lots and lots of people, which means can get messy at times, but they keep on top of the cleaning. love the staff love everything and love my new GF which I met here at chilliblue

Disliked: loved everything

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Heike Thöricht

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012

Liked: fre wifi

Disliked: very dirty in the rooms, kitchen very dirty (especially in the evening - there were bugs where on the next day there was toast bread), party hostel, people drank too much, threw up in the morning in the toilets. People (especially guys) didn't close the door, when they peed. The rooms don't smell good (maybe because of the garbage sacks next to our room).

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free interenet, great people, i couldn't expact for more for this money. dafinatly recommend!

Disliked: no

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012

Liked: The free computers are actually pretty fast and the fact that they give you free internet is good - Just a shame it didn't work on my phone!

Disliked: Saw lots of cockroaches running around, the bathrooms, kitchen and common area were pretty much always dirty and, as mentioned, the wifi wouldn't work on my phone (as well as on others that I'd spoken to)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

pailin pilaipanpruk

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012

Liked: Good location from metrrs from train Station. Verey budget.

Disliked: Staff not friendly

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ditte Holdensgaard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 April 2012 Ditte would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was absolutely good - nice that you didnt have to find breakfast yourself. Nice activities like Funny Sunday - where we got free hotdogs - a good way as well to start talking with other backpackers. Fantastic idea!

Disliked: The kitchen was disgusting! Never have I seen so many beetles in a microwave oven and at the wall! Would be good with a smile from the staff in the reception sometimes. They seem to be pretty busy all the time..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: my room was next to the kitchen, so impossible to sleep at night due to the noises. the staff wasn t very friendly

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chadi El Rayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Chadi would recommend this property

Liked: Free Internet, Good Breakfast.goo location,safe

Disliked: Dirty Bathrooms and Kitchen are, too many threats for kicking out and losing deposits, plates and spoons need deposit,staff not so friendly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

PEI-CHI HUANG

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 March 2012 PEI-CHI would recommend this property

Liked: Location & staffs

Disliked: Internet speed, and cleanness of the toilet & shower room, cannot get internet key code if reception is closed

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Pei-Chi Huang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Pei-Chi would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really good, staffs are nice and helpful as well

Disliked: the toilet & shower room are not clean enough, sometime the toilet is blocked for whole night... and internet speed is a little be slow. ..

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Tom Starr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The other guests make this hostel what it is. The beer/goon pong table outside within a reasonable sized smoking area is key to the atmosphere at night. The toilets and showers are well maintained and clean and the activities organised of a night time for heading out aren't bad.

Disliked: COCKROACHES! Plain and simple, cockroaches infest this hostel's kitchen and common areas and from what I could see nothing was getting done about it. Luckily I was only staying there for 4 nights, so could afford to elsewhere everyday, however take in to account that if you plan to stay longer, you will be cooking with these lovely creatures until the hostel pays for some exterminators. Apart from that, the rooms are generally too small and warm, better ventilation is definitely needed and as previous reviews have mentioned, the doors are incredibly heavy and slam extremely loudly ...ALL the time!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

lisa holt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: new bathrooms

Disliked: bedrooms very small, not much room for luggage

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is basic but has good secure key-card access, free breakfast, free internet, free WiFi and free luggage storage. We stayed in a private double room for 1 night and had booked dorms for 2, but were able to upgrade as the hostel has a party atmosphere which was not what we were looking for. Fridge, fan and TV in room which was nice. Location was good. Close to city tour hop on, hop off and King's Cross Station. A good half hour walk to Sydney harbor/ Opera house but fine if you don't mind walking. Supermarket very close by. Price is good for Sydney!

Disliked: Whilst the breakfast was nice and the kitchen was really clean whilst the lady supervised in the morning, it was pretty gross by the evening. Oven was broken. Pictures on the website are quite misleading... the place is a little shabby and could do with a bit more cleaning (rooms and bathrooms) however they are not that bad and far better than a lot of places we have stayed. The hostel did seem to clean quite a lot... i think it's the fact it's a bit of a party place, it becomes not so nice quite quickly!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vera Kähler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Vera would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and helpful stuff, esp. Hendri at the desk!, the nights out, the bedrooms & the people staying there, the free breakfast

Disliked: Vera left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast (cereals, eggs, cheese, toast etc. ) Free internet (greyhound doesnt work!) Close to supermarket and train station

Disliked: small bathrooms and kitchen Free Breakfast just from 7:30 to 9 am Strange smell

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012

Liked: they put on a hot dog night once which was good and good location DONT STAY HERE! there are loads of other hostels on the same road

Disliked: one member of staff was so rude - he actually reduced to 2 girls to tears who had come to check in - i have never seen a member of staff be so rude before they take money out of your account before you get there and dont tell you properly breakfast is from 6-9 so always up early and far too many people staying in such a small kitchen DONT STAY HERE! we would have left after we saw the guy make the 2 travellers cry but they had already taken out 100 quid from us

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Room, kitchen and common area are dirty and small, we lived in 4 beds room but it always has extra person then they slept with each other and made noise loudly every night. Having to pay the deposit for bowls and plates but they don't accept cash, internet can't connect and so on. The place like a hell. Don't stay here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Markus Roth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

29 February 2012 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: The chilliblue was just amazing, i had so much fun and made many new friends. i definetly want to come back and the staff is very friendly. thanks for the free breakfast. cheers see you later chilliblue

Disliked: Markus left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel so much that I like to call it my home base in Australia! Throughout my travels, I always find myself back in Sydney and I never think twice about where to stay. Chiliblue has an amaying atmosphere, fun and friendly staff who are always ready for a party or willing to share a good joke, and an excellent common room with a couch bigger than my Canadian bedroom! The location is excellent as its so close to all the main attractions in sydney; a short train ride away from the major shopping centers and beaches and a quick walk to the main street or the Royal Botanical Gardens. There are 2 grocery stories within a 5 minute radius and its close to many bars and clubs for those who like to party. I reccomend this hostel to anyone staying in Sydney!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean rooms and free wifi.

Disliked: The staff were quite unhelpful and you are required to pay another deposit on top of the hostel bookers deposit before you arrive.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Ventilation of the room


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels