HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

56.2% Overall Rating

353 out of 452 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2013)

Luke Newman thinks…

"I can not find many bad things to say about this place, especially for the price. It was a little bit small with narrow corridors, but other then that, I have no complaints. Staff were friendly, it…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.25
  • Towel USD 4.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
27.97 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.31 USD

Hostel 77.9% 111 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.17 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
24.24 USD

Hostel 73.9% 165 reviews
Backpackers HQ
24.24 USD

Hostel 85.7% 80 reviews
Springfield Lodge
52.20 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.56 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
27.97 USD

Hostel 71.9% 321 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.2%

Overall Rating

353 out of 452 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
60.0%
Value
55.2%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 409 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

pailin pilaipanpruk

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012

Liked: Good location from metrrs from train Station. Verey budget.

Disliked: Staff not friendly

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ditte Holdensgaard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 April 2012 Ditte would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was absolutely good - nice that you didnt have to find breakfast yourself. Nice activities like Funny Sunday - where we got free hotdogs - a good way as well to start talking with other backpackers. Fantastic idea!

Disliked: The kitchen was disgusting! Never have I seen so many beetles in a microwave oven and at the wall! Would be good with a smile from the staff in the reception sometimes. They seem to be pretty busy all the time..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: my room was next to the kitchen, so impossible to sleep at night due to the noises. the staff wasn t very friendly

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chadi El Rayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Chadi would recommend this property

Liked: Free Internet, Good Breakfast.goo location,safe

Disliked: Dirty Bathrooms and Kitchen are, too many threats for kicking out and losing deposits, plates and spoons need deposit,staff not so friendly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

PEI-CHI HUANG

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 March 2012 PEI-CHI would recommend this property

Liked: Location & staffs

Disliked: Internet speed, and cleanness of the toilet & shower room, cannot get internet key code if reception is closed

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Pei-Chi Huang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Pei-Chi would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really good, staffs are nice and helpful as well

Disliked: the toilet & shower room are not clean enough, sometime the toilet is blocked for whole night... and internet speed is a little be slow. ..

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Tom Starr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The other guests make this hostel what it is. The beer/goon pong table outside within a reasonable sized smoking area is key to the atmosphere at night. The toilets and showers are well maintained and clean and the activities organised of a night time for heading out aren't bad.

Disliked: COCKROACHES! Plain and simple, cockroaches infest this hostel's kitchen and common areas and from what I could see nothing was getting done about it. Luckily I was only staying there for 4 nights, so could afford to elsewhere everyday, however take in to account that if you plan to stay longer, you will be cooking with these lovely creatures until the hostel pays for some exterminators. Apart from that, the rooms are generally too small and warm, better ventilation is definitely needed and as previous reviews have mentioned, the doors are incredibly heavy and slam extremely loudly ...ALL the time!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

lisa holt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: new bathrooms

Disliked: bedrooms very small, not much room for luggage

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is basic but has good secure key-card access, free breakfast, free internet, free WiFi and free luggage storage. We stayed in a private double room for 1 night and had booked dorms for 2, but were able to upgrade as the hostel has a party atmosphere which was not what we were looking for. Fridge, fan and TV in room which was nice. Location was good. Close to city tour hop on, hop off and King's Cross Station. A good half hour walk to Sydney harbor/ Opera house but fine if you don't mind walking. Supermarket very close by. Price is good for Sydney!

Disliked: Whilst the breakfast was nice and the kitchen was really clean whilst the lady supervised in the morning, it was pretty gross by the evening. Oven was broken. Pictures on the website are quite misleading... the place is a little shabby and could do with a bit more cleaning (rooms and bathrooms) however they are not that bad and far better than a lot of places we have stayed. The hostel did seem to clean quite a lot... i think it's the fact it's a bit of a party place, it becomes not so nice quite quickly!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vera Kähler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Vera would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and helpful stuff, esp. Hendri at the desk!, the nights out, the bedrooms & the people staying there, the free breakfast

Disliked: Vera left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast (cereals, eggs, cheese, toast etc. ) Free internet (greyhound doesnt work!) Close to supermarket and train station

Disliked: small bathrooms and kitchen Free Breakfast just from 7:30 to 9 am Strange smell

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012

Liked: they put on a hot dog night once which was good and good location DONT STAY HERE! there are loads of other hostels on the same road

Disliked: one member of staff was so rude - he actually reduced to 2 girls to tears who had come to check in - i have never seen a member of staff be so rude before they take money out of your account before you get there and dont tell you properly breakfast is from 6-9 so always up early and far too many people staying in such a small kitchen DONT STAY HERE! we would have left after we saw the guy make the 2 travellers cry but they had already taken out 100 quid from us

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Room, kitchen and common area are dirty and small, we lived in 4 beds room but it always has extra person then they slept with each other and made noise loudly every night. Having to pay the deposit for bowls and plates but they don't accept cash, internet can't connect and so on. The place like a hell. Don't stay here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Markus Roth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

29 February 2012 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: The chilliblue was just amazing, i had so much fun and made many new friends. i definetly want to come back and the staff is very friendly. thanks for the free breakfast. cheers see you later chilliblue

Disliked: Markus left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel so much that I like to call it my home base in Australia! Throughout my travels, I always find myself back in Sydney and I never think twice about where to stay. Chiliblue has an amaying atmosphere, fun and friendly staff who are always ready for a party or willing to share a good joke, and an excellent common room with a couch bigger than my Canadian bedroom! The location is excellent as its so close to all the main attractions in sydney; a short train ride away from the major shopping centers and beaches and a quick walk to the main street or the Royal Botanical Gardens. There are 2 grocery stories within a 5 minute radius and its close to many bars and clubs for those who like to party. I reccomend this hostel to anyone staying in Sydney!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean rooms and free wifi.

Disliked: The staff were quite unhelpful and you are required to pay another deposit on top of the hostel bookers deposit before you arrive.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Ventilation of the room

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything!! The staff were very unhelpful and the manager had an absolute disgusting attitude towards us as his paying customers!! We arrived at the hostel to find that were not in the same room! When we asked the woman at the reception desk to change it she was so unhelpful so we ran the manager and he hung up on us!!!!!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

katy roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 katy would recommend this property

Liked: really nice social area and events on every night. It's fairly small so very sociable and easy to meet people. Good breakfast too!

Disliked: Small kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome common room, never closed! Come here to meet mates! Cheers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Charles Coutellier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: The manager is really nice

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joonas Laitinen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 Joonas would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, located in a peaceful street in Kings Cross, and bars just one block away

Disliked: --

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexandre CHATELLIER

Alone

Business / conference

21 January 2012 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: safety good location good atmosphere

Disliked: Alexandre left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Röhlinger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: top location, but in a silent street, funky atmosphere, not too many people

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a brandnew bathroom (which was always clean) and an egg included in the free breakfast.

Disliked: The oven in the kitchen didn't work, so you couldn't cook properly. The chees (you were allowed to take 2 slices) and the eggs (one for each person) were limited and the staff was always cleaning the kitchen in the breakfast time, so you had the feeling that they controlled it all the time (plus the sharp smell of cleaning products). The kitchen, the common room and the tv room were just one big room. They used the courtyard as a construction zone for new shelfs, so you couldn't sit there most of the time. The whole athmosphere wasn't very wellcoming.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels