HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

56.2% Overall Rating

353 out of 452 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2013)

Luke Newman thinks…

"I can not find many bad things to say about this place, especially for the price. It was a little bit small with narrow corridors, but other then that, I have no complaints. Staff were friendly, it…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.29
  • Towel USD 4.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
28.06 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.38 USD

Hostel 77.9% 111 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.25 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
24.32 USD

Hostel 73.9% 165 reviews
Backpackers HQ
24.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 80 reviews
Springfield Lodge
52.38 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.67 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
28.06 USD

Hostel 71.9% 321 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.2%

Overall Rating

353 out of 452 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
60.0%
Value
55.2%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 409 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marica Ciufici

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 August 2012 Marica would recommend this property

Liked: There is a free wifi and also free computer to surf in internet; in the room there is a tv and dvd player; the position is good, only 2 stop to town hall; good price

Disliked: the district is full of night club and sexy shop, there is a lot of night life; it is noisy in the evening; heating and air conditioning are paying and also the pick-up to the airport costs 11$AUD

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

SeongEun Choi

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2012 SeongEun would recommend this property

Liked: locate in a calm, beautiful street(just in day) low price, kind staff, good breakfast

Disliked: locate near the red line noisy at the night kitchen was dirty

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ying Liu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012

Liked: It is cheap to stay there

Disliked: The room is too small,and smells badly

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lu Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012

Liked: The only advantage is clean, no others

Disliked: Old and a little mass

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Buen ambiente, todas las comodidades, banios nuevos, rico desayuno, excelente conserje!!!

Disliked: Que tenga alfombra en los pisos

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Wai Guan Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012

Liked: free breakfast

Disliked: Wai Guan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great private balcony out of room 18!

Disliked: Very young backpackers there. Which is ok. Also, there are so many long term staying backpackers we didn't really feel welcomed by them all. Overall good experience though. Staff was great.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and helpful clerk, breakfast was very bad,

Disliked: breakfast bad, room tiny bad blankets, bad pillows, filthy bathrooms, nasty, please clean dishes before using, nasty tables for breakfast,

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kasper Eriksen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 Kasper would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near: bar, supermarket ect

Disliked: Very bad service... put my shoes at front at our door a few hours after they were gone, went in the reception and asked for them, the answer you got was: can not help!! I kept insisting that he should look through surveillance, but was not possible and if I did not understand, I had to go to the police. I finally got to call a supervisor who told me that the shoes were in the cleaning room. when we want to check out, we could not get any money because they thought we had not paid for "cutlery" but ended up in a discussion and finally got our money ...!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price, the hostel is super cheap and the atmosphere is great. Everyone knows everyone and there's a social gathering pretty much everynight in the court yard.

Disliked: Don't get room 23 because it is right over the court yard, you'll never sleep. Also the hostel is very dirty and there are live bugs. The bathrooms are limited and there's not even a toliet seat on one of the toliets.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Martine Lafontaine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2012

Liked: Very cheap rates; location is nice, just beside the Royal Botanical Gardens and Sydney Opera house.

Disliked: Rates are cheap only online though, when I extended my stay by 1 night I asked for a discount and the lady at the counter kinda of laughed at me (!) and charged me the normal rate. That said lady was constantly showing either an air of complete boredom or contempt - and couldn't direct me properly to the nearest grocery store when I asked; Unles you are in Sydney to party, I wouldn't recommend this hostel to someone, as everybody in there seemed to be able to talk only about their next boozing session. Free Internet doesn't really work in your room, you have to use the computer at the reception; looks a bit rundown.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniela konefke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2012 daniela would recommend this property

Liked: everything! close to bars and nightlife, opera house and city are a 20 min walk away. free breakfast, free internet, clean bathrooms and a big common room and courtyard to meet other travellers. i stayed at this hostel many times and will surely come back in the future.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yui Maekawa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2012 Yui would recommend this property

Liked: Price! Only 11 bucks, can't beat that. It was in KX but a bit quiter place so it was ok. The toilets and shower rooms were pretty clean.

Disliked: The balcony was a bit dirty and messy, but not sure it was due to the people who were living there and working in the city. When I wanted to check out, the front office was not attended and I had to wait for 20min until I couldn't do it anymore and went to the kitchen to look for someone. Also, charging my credit card without me knowing for the money owed, and refunding key deposit to my credit card even though I paid in cash, were a bit uneasy, coz I try not to use my credit card as much possible. If they could explain a bit more or be a bit more flexible on it, it would have been better.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, good breakfast with an egg! Lively atmosphere at night, always people to go out with

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ulrich Schreiber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

19 May 2012 Ulrich would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast free internet

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok place. nice to meet people

Disliked: old house but it is clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alex bartalucci

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 alex would recommend this property

Liked: the price i amazingly low.

Disliked: they are renovating the courtyard

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good hostel a little small but perfect for me

Disliked: small kitchen but the price makes up for it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philipp Heinze

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

10 May 2012 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: Was just perfect to round off my stay in Australia after 6 months ... amazing 3 last days!!

Disliked: nothing in particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the area it was situated in, it was very close to everything and to the city

Disliked: There is nothing that i disliked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jose sanches

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 May 2012 jose would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hotel

Disliked: No

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris muller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 chris would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel. old but cosy, free breakfast including hardboiled egg. lots and lots of people, which means can get messy at times, but they keep on top of the cleaning. love the staff love everything and love my new GF which I met here at chilliblue

Disliked: loved everything

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Heike Thöricht

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012

Liked: fre wifi

Disliked: very dirty in the rooms, kitchen very dirty (especially in the evening - there were bugs where on the next day there was toast bread), party hostel, people drank too much, threw up in the morning in the toilets. People (especially guys) didn't close the door, when they peed. The rooms don't smell good (maybe because of the garbage sacks next to our room).

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free interenet, great people, i couldn't expact for more for this money. dafinatly recommend!

Disliked: no

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012

Liked: The free computers are actually pretty fast and the fact that they give you free internet is good - Just a shame it didn't work on my phone!

Disliked: Saw lots of cockroaches running around, the bathrooms, kitchen and common area were pretty much always dirty and, as mentioned, the wifi wouldn't work on my phone (as well as on others that I'd spoken to)


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels