HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chili Blue Backpackers Sydney

Hostel

144 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 75%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 8.35USD
  • Towel 3.80USD

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00

Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00

IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT.

By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies.

Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings.

PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel.

Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given.

IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN.

New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount.

We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 75%

Value 85%

Showing 31-40 of 66 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Perfect location, very clean(!), great value, good breakfast (except the ordinary sandwiches with jam you get eggs and cheese), big lockers in room, my room had terrace. Terribly underrated here on Hostelbookers.

Disliked: The showers were funny.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The atmosphere and the lockers.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Work / volunteering

Liked: The private room had tv all stations aircon fridge cleaned regularly

Disliked: Outside entertainment area bit too small

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The Asian cleaning crew at that time were doing miracles in the morning by cleaning the place before breakfast, btw: breakfast with standard cereal and milk, but also hard boiled eggs and singles of cheese - that was good.

Disliked: At that time the rates were pretty low compare to all the other hostels in that area, but the state the hostel is in - horrible, especially kitchen and the common area, everything was destroyed by I guess fellow drunk backpackers, nobody to tell those poor fellow that this is not a five star hotel and you have to clean after yourself and not leave tons of dirty dishes behind. I nearly made friends with a guy who was fixing the internet - he was there almnost every day and I stayed there a week, there was a leakage in one of the bathrooms - ok that happens but then the next night electricity went down in our part of the hostel, I have to say I stayed in the nicest room with a balcony, but good tip for the future: remove the carpets...


The property's response is

Hi Karolina,
I am pleased to inform you that we have had a new general manager since the end of may who has been resolving many of the issues you stated above. We have also been conducting minor renovation work around the property including fresh paint in the common room with a new art work as well as 2 new Taylor made bench in our courtyard area (photo's to come). We appreciate your feedback and would like to offer you a free night on your next stay in Sydney. Please email us to redeem.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The other backpackers where super cool and chilled.

Disliked: It's very old and facillities are unisex. WiFi was really slow and didn't work in most parts of the hostel, just next to the reception.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location

Disliked: We had 3 cockroaches in our room and it was damp and smelt awful. We even bought new bedding so we could put up with staying there

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great neighbourhood

Disliked: Smelly room, disgusting curtains. Renovations needed.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The cleaning staff is great. The Party and tv areas are good.

Disliked: No working wifi,Damaged doors from Toilets and showers,No working ovens!I had no window in my room!!!

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: .

Disliked: just 3 showers and 3 toilets for the whole hostel, and thereof 1 shower door and two toilet doors did not close so effectively the whole hostel had to share 2 showers and 1 toilet

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything in the short time I was there

Disliked: I had to leave !!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability