We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

Recent review (19/08/2014)

"The Asian cleaning crew at that time were doing miracles in the morning by cleaning the place before breakfast, btw: breakfast with standard cereal and milk, but also hard boiled eggs and singles of cheese - that was…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.61
  • Towel USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
26.20 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
24.45 USD

Hostel 75.9% 169 reviews
Highfield Hotel
33.19 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
26.20 USD

Hostel 85.7% 95 reviews
Springfield Lodge
58.52 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
32.31 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing

Not enough customers have reviewed this property for us to provide a fair rating but don't worry, we'll have a rating soon.

Refine your results Showing 343 of 431 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mariya Todorova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012

Liked: The location is convenient.

Disliked: It was very loud at night. The quiet hours are not enforced at all and no staff is there at night to say anything. The wifi did not work at all. The kitchen was very dirty. The room was super tiny, not enough space for three people to stand at the same time (there were three beds). The staff was not particularly helpful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really clean accommodation, great atmosphere, good cooking facilities, sociable hostel, good size dorms, friendly staff very knowledgeable about things to do in sydney!

Disliked: quite far from the centre but its fine just soak up the fact that your in sydney.. no big deal! really nice at night when the skyline is lit up.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Subin Subin

Alone

Family Holiday

07 September 2012 Subin would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of the city, cheap, secured and very clean Value for what I paid

Disliked: Poor reception timngs. I had problems with access key and I had to stand outside the hostel for an hr. Then someone manged to get me in with his key. I had to be in the room whole day as I had no option to re enter the room once exited.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramiro GonZalez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

30 August 2012 Ramiro would recommend this property

Liked: I love the atmosphere here, friendly staff and guests... A lot of event here.. I think almost everyday they have event here or outside, and that's pretty cool.. It's a clean and comfortable place for me...

Disliked: only 2 pots in the kitchen, but is ok

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the services and the atùosphere

Disliked: the staff is not very friendly and they don't explain you anything

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

EunYeong Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 EunYeong would recommend this property

Liked: If u expect high quality service from them u should think about it again about using this hostel. actually i paid only 15dollars for one day considering the moeny i was nice

Disliked: woman staff was so rude my room was thrid floor even my carrier was too heavy they dont have elevator system or carring service so i had been small problem when i carried my back .

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012

Liked: Free Cool Breakfast and free and fast internet.

Disliked: Staff attitude, Inconsistent policy. Basically one staff say this and another staff tomoro says otherwise. Too many policy and rules. You will feel annoyed and bound by lots of terms and condition. Definitely not friendly. They treat you like you're just another backpacker around Red Light District and like you're gonna cause trouble or something. You need to pay deposit of 20 dollar to use their dishes!!! Seriously?! They don't even trust you to wash it yourself and put it back. I have to use a plastic bag to get the cereal and my own bottle to get some milk. Breakfast is around 7am and the reception is 8am so you need to wait one hour for the reception to open to get the plates and pay a deposit!!! If you wanna checkout they will only refund to your credit card when you paid them by cash earlier!!! Lastly before i leave, the staff even make a remark of my nationality!!! Well if that is the way how you wanna treat your customer!! So be it! I hope that no one will ever come to this place again. It's really horrible. They is a lot of alternative nearby!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rakeshkumar Mehta

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Rakeshkumar would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms and toilets were new and very clean and the cleaning staff were very good. We liked the free breakfast that had eggs and cereal and also the system where we had to pay a refundable $20 deposit for a set of plates, cups and cutlery was good as we were able to use a clean set of utensils. The kitchen was also cleaned very well daily - staff member Yakub was an energizer bunny cleaning machine - you will see him when you go ....

Disliked: The lock on the bathroom door near room 14 needs to be fixed, otherwise everything else was perfect!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012

Liked: I liked the quietness of my room. The toilets were, for the most part, clean and modern. The shower is a cupboard. Liked all the Simpson characters on the doors, very fun. Liked the Foxtel channels for the Olympics were winding down. :)

Disliked: Dirty floors, kichen and eating benches. Toilets were modern but guests dirtied them quickly. The staff were terrible. Never pointed out were things were. Had to look at the hostel page when I started this review to see what the hostel actually "offered" because no one told me. I arrived late, and when you do you have to call a number on the door, no phone is provided, so unless you have your own phone/ calling card, arrive during rec. hours. Reception themself were very rude, you much pay a $20 key deposit, but you don't get the cash pack, it is refunded on your card. That is also how they take full payment, they don't even give you the option of paying cash (which is what I prefer.) yes this place is cheap, but i recomend you look elsewhere!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

10 August 2012

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly, lots of plus for the free breakfast and wi-fi.

Disliked: Wi-fi worked quite poorly, our room was moldy, downstair toilets didn't have locks and they were very dirty, even though everything was cleaned daily but I guess other visitors weren't to tidy , since men and women used the same toilets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Hirte

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: It's absolutely awesome, especially for the price!

Disliked: There is no soap in the bathrooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel has a very friendly atmosphere, the kitchen and the bathrooms were clean, the breakfast was really good (eggs& cheese!) & the wifi was also free and my room even had a balcony, what more can you ask for?:)

Disliked: the wifi is quite slow! and sometimes it's not working at all, but there are computers downstairs that are also free to use...also too few pots in the kitchen; but you can always find something to complain about...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Got upgrated to a private room, that was great!

Disliked: Very hard to find parking, was an asault when we where there, not so good.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marica Ciufici

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 August 2012 Marica would recommend this property

Liked: There is a free wifi and also free computer to surf in internet; in the room there is a tv and dvd player; the position is good, only 2 stop to town hall; good price

Disliked: the district is full of night club and sexy shop, there is a lot of night life; it is noisy in the evening; heating and air conditioning are paying and also the pick-up to the airport costs 11$AUD

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

SeongEun Choi

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2012 SeongEun would recommend this property

Liked: locate in a calm, beautiful street(just in day) low price, kind staff, good breakfast

Disliked: locate near the red line noisy at the night kitchen was dirty

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ying Liu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012

Liked: It is cheap to stay there

Disliked: The room is too small,and smells badly

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lu Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012

Liked: The only advantage is clean, no others

Disliked: Old and a little mass

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Buen ambiente, todas las comodidades, banios nuevos, rico desayuno, excelente conserje!!!

Disliked: Que tenga alfombra en los pisos

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Wai Guan Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012

Liked: free breakfast

Disliked: Wai Guan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great private balcony out of room 18!

Disliked: Very young backpackers there. Which is ok. Also, there are so many long term staying backpackers we didn't really feel welcomed by them all. Overall good experience though. Staff was great.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and helpful clerk, breakfast was very bad,

Disliked: breakfast bad, room tiny bad blankets, bad pillows, filthy bathrooms, nasty, please clean dishes before using, nasty tables for breakfast,

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kasper Eriksen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 Kasper would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near: bar, supermarket ect

Disliked: Very bad service... put my shoes at front at our door a few hours after they were gone, went in the reception and asked for them, the answer you got was: can not help!! I kept insisting that he should look through surveillance, but was not possible and if I did not understand, I had to go to the police. I finally got to call a supervisor who told me that the shoes were in the cleaning room. when we want to check out, we could not get any money because they thought we had not paid for "cutlery" but ended up in a discussion and finally got our money ...!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price, the hostel is super cheap and the atmosphere is great. Everyone knows everyone and there's a social gathering pretty much everynight in the court yard.

Disliked: Don't get room 23 because it is right over the court yard, you'll never sleep. Also the hostel is very dirty and there are live bugs. The bathrooms are limited and there's not even a toliet seat on one of the toliets.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Martine Lafontaine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2012

Liked: Very cheap rates; location is nice, just beside the Royal Botanical Gardens and Sydney Opera house.

Disliked: Rates are cheap only online though, when I extended my stay by 1 night I asked for a discount and the lady at the counter kinda of laughed at me (!) and charged me the normal rate. That said lady was constantly showing either an air of complete boredom or contempt - and couldn't direct me properly to the nearest grocery store when I asked; Unles you are in Sydney to party, I wouldn't recommend this hostel to someone, as everybody in there seemed to be able to talk only about their next boozing session. Free Internet doesn't really work in your room, you have to use the computer at the reception; looks a bit rundown.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniela konefke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2012 daniela would recommend this property

Liked: everything! close to bars and nightlife, opera house and city are a 20 min walk away. free breakfast, free internet, clean bathrooms and a big common room and courtyard to meet other travellers. i stayed at this hostel many times and will surely come back in the future.

Disliked: nothing


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels