HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

65.9% Overall Rating

361 out of 464 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/06/2014)

Francois Moiteaux thinks…

"This hostel is such an awesome place to stay in Sydney. They have great prices, hostel staff is one of the nicest I have ever met! Atmosphere in hostel is really great. The common room is great place…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.33
  • Towel USD 4.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
28.20 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
21.62 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
23.50 USD

Hostel 84.7% 721 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
21.62 USD

Hostel 73.9% 166 reviews
Highfield Hotel
53.58 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
20.68 USD

Hostel 85.0% 93 reviews
Springfield Lodge
46.53 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
27.26 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

361 out of 464 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
68.8%
Value
63.2%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 338 of 420 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Ruffing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, everyday cleaning

Disliked: very loud, too much party

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergej Rabinovich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

31 October 2012 Sergej would recommend this property

Liked: Die Lage zur Stadt ist perfekt, hier kann man ueberall weed kaufen, echt billig Der Besitzer macht die besten Preise hier in Kings Cross, man kann immer mit ihm verhandeln, wenn man nett bleibt!Alles war nett und gut, die stimmung ist einfach bombe, niergendwo anderst sowas erlebt, sehr kontaktfreudige menschen.

Disliked: Sergej left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Naidoo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

31 October 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi and breakfast

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Hunter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

31 October 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: i like the dogs they are cute

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast and eggs also i like movie night was good.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonia MAndinguez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

31 October 2012 Antonia would recommend this property

Liked: location is very handy

Disliked: its in kings cross so not a quiet residential area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma Munro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2012 emma would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, very friendly

Disliked: tight spaces but good place to make it a home

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yanto Borhamandi

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 October 2012 Yanto would recommend this property

Liked: good stay here at the hostel

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: i like my new friends

Disliked: i dont really like my new friends

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

micha schultz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 micha would recommend this property

Liked: we loved it here

Disliked: small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good clean hostel my favurite in australia

Disliked: old building

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very nice atmosphere. you can reach the city by feet and everything is very near.

Disliked: the kitchen is too small and there are not enough items

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lennart Aigner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Lennart would recommend this property

Liked: Like big family here

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine! Clean rooms and so on...

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: * cleanliness * the one staff member that checked was not very helpfull and friendly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast!!

Disliked: I stayed on the top floor and the stairs were very narrow so moving you cases is really difficult. also the showers were rubbish

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012

Liked: was cheap but just because it was a summer special promotion

Disliked: no luggage room, too many stairs, not possible to put people together in a room even if they booked together, unfriendly stuff, kitchen not at all tidy, party every night in the outdoor area so it was very loud at night

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful friendly atmosphere and really welcoming staff who are happy to help out with just about anything. Fairly central and very lively location in Kings Cross , although the actual room was surprisingly quiet considering the amount of nightlife in the area.

Disliked: Cockroaches in the kitchen! No idea why though, because the hostel is cleaned top to bottom daily.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Max List

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2012 Max would recommend this property

Liked: the contact to the other people

Disliked: a small kitchen

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was pretty clean, water pressure was good, dorm was nice and small. Free breakfast of eggs and toast. Free internet

Disliked: If you leave your bags at reception the door is wide open and anyone can take them.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mariya Todorova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012

Liked: The location is convenient.

Disliked: It was very loud at night. The quiet hours are not enforced at all and no staff is there at night to say anything. The wifi did not work at all. The kitchen was very dirty. The room was super tiny, not enough space for three people to stand at the same time (there were three beds). The staff was not particularly helpful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really clean accommodation, great atmosphere, good cooking facilities, sociable hostel, good size dorms, friendly staff very knowledgeable about things to do in sydney!

Disliked: quite far from the centre but its fine just soak up the fact that your in sydney.. no big deal! really nice at night when the skyline is lit up.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Subin Subin

Alone

Family Holiday

07 September 2012 Subin would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of the city, cheap, secured and very clean Value for what I paid

Disliked: Poor reception timngs. I had problems with access key and I had to stand outside the hostel for an hr. Then someone manged to get me in with his key. I had to be in the room whole day as I had no option to re enter the room once exited.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramiro GonZalez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

30 August 2012 Ramiro would recommend this property

Liked: I love the atmosphere here, friendly staff and guests... A lot of event here.. I think almost everyday they have event here or outside, and that's pretty cool.. It's a clean and comfortable place for me...

Disliked: only 2 pots in the kitchen, but is ok

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the services and the atùosphere

Disliked: the staff is not very friendly and they don't explain you anything


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels