HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chili Blue Backpackers Sydney Hostel

144 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 74%

Location 88%

Safety 79%

Staff 72%

Value 82%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00

Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00

IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT.

By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies.

Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings.

PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel.

Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given.

IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN.

New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount.

We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 74%

Location 88%

Safety 79%

Staff 72%

Value 82%

Showing 21-30 of 197 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fine location.

Disliked: Everything was very dirty...Rooms are pretty small and there's no ventilation. I stayed 3 nights and never saw anybody cleaning the showers and toilets.Sooooo noisy!!!!!!! impossible to sleep at night.


The property's response is

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing our property, we are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. The one thing you didn't realize is that you booked a 10 share dorm and was placed in a 4 share. We do agree this room is fairly small but it was a 4 share and not a 10. We have a team of professional cleaners that spend the whole day cleaning after guest. At night it may get dirty again but this is from other guest that are not clean themselves.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very cheap compared to other hostels

Disliked: DirtyHorrible showersIn my opinion, not a great locationStaff came across as rudeOur 4 bed dorm wasn't exactly safe or secure, door didn't close properly, window open to balcony, no lockCharged the full price of the booking ontoy reservation card before even asking, took a $20 cash deposit then gave it back via refund onto card, maybe a little petty but that was going to be the bus fare to the airport.Also they have some silly little rules, attaching receipts to beds otherwise fined, $20 fee if you lock yourself out, 1.10 per minute charged after checkout time. I understand it's a business, but these are pathetic.


The property's response is

you are a funny man Mr Dodd!!! Not a great location? thats funny :)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff here is really nice, very friendly und try to help you out if they can!You can lock your stuff there which is awesome, I saw a lot Hostels were it was not possible!

Disliked: The kitchen with the TV room where you can eat is sometimes to full, so a little bit more space would be perfect!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Die Duschen sind ziemlich neu und schoen warm und das Fruehstueck ist richtig gut, es gibt sogar Eier.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Bad

Disliked: It was deskasting you will get sick if go there

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel is such an awesome place to stay in Sydney. They have great prices, hostel staff is one of the nicest I have ever met! Atmosphere in hostel is really great. The common room is great place to know new people.There is only a few minutes walk to nearest train station, and less than 5 minutes walk to the supermarket and shops. I recommend this hostel without hesitation!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Work / volunteering

Liked: People that stay there are from different parts of the world and friendly.

Disliked: Comments in the question 2

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location 5 minutes from the central of Sydney, great view of the harbor, sea. just a 2 minute stroll from Sydney's botanical gardens. And also 2 minutes away from several bar and night spots. Very good price with kitchen lounge and toilet facility's.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: staff tres accueillant et arrangeant ( reservation pour un saut en parachute, shuttle pour l aeroport etc...!! ) Ordinateur a disposition, Wifi, petit dej inclus, propre, bonne location: JE RECOMMANDE!!!

Disliked: rien

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice hostel in an excellent location that is close to everything! It also came with free wifi and free breakfast

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability