We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

73.9% Overall Rating

366 out of 475 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

"The Asian cleaning crew at that time were doing miracles in the morning by cleaning the place before breakfast, btw: breakfast with standard cereal and milk, but also hard boiled eggs and singles of cheese - that was…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.94
  • Towel USD 4.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
27.11 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
24.39 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.30 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
22.59 USD

Hostel 75.9% 169 reviews
Highfield Hotel
31.17 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
19.88 USD

Hostel 84.9% 94 reviews
Springfield Lodge
48.34 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
30.72 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.9%

Overall Rating

366 out of 475 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 343 of 429 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel was an awesome atmosphere and is definatley a party hostel! If you wanna have fun and go out its the perfect hostel! Met some awesome people and the location is great!

Disliked: Only thing was it could have been a little bit cleaner, but bathrooms an loos were cleaned regularly and were fine, but it's what you expect from a hostel in the way it's how other people leave there mess!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matej Bella

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2013

Liked: It was clean, which is the main thing in these places.

Disliked: It was loud. I don't know what attracts these people here, but I couldn't sleep well the 4 nights I stayed here. It was door slamming, people arguing. Sunday night I had to listen to a couple arguing for about 3 hours between 2am and 5am. The free WiFi is also pretty useless as is common with free WiFi in Australia. They also charged my full stay onto my credit card before I arrived, and I wasn't even aware. They received the number from Hostel Bookers when I payed my 10%.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really friendly nice ppl and felt very comfortable there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: place

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some staff

Disliked: Some staff

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Ruffing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, everyday cleaning

Disliked: very loud, too much party

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergej Rabinovich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

31 October 2012 Sergej would recommend this property

Liked: Die Lage zur Stadt ist perfekt, hier kann man ueberall weed kaufen, echt billig Der Besitzer macht die besten Preise hier in Kings Cross, man kann immer mit ihm verhandeln, wenn man nett bleibt!Alles war nett und gut, die stimmung ist einfach bombe, niergendwo anderst sowas erlebt, sehr kontaktfreudige menschen.

Disliked: Sergej left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Naidoo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

31 October 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi and breakfast

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Hunter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

31 October 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: i like the dogs they are cute

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast and eggs also i like movie night was good.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonia MAndinguez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

31 October 2012 Antonia would recommend this property

Liked: location is very handy

Disliked: its in kings cross so not a quiet residential area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma Munro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2012 emma would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, very friendly

Disliked: tight spaces but good place to make it a home

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yanto Borhamandi

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 October 2012 Yanto would recommend this property

Liked: good stay here at the hostel

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: i like my new friends

Disliked: i dont really like my new friends

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

micha schultz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 micha would recommend this property

Liked: we loved it here

Disliked: small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good clean hostel my favurite in australia

Disliked: old building

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very nice atmosphere. you can reach the city by feet and everything is very near.

Disliked: the kitchen is too small and there are not enough items

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lennart Aigner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Lennart would recommend this property

Liked: Like big family here

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine! Clean rooms and so on...

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: * cleanliness * the one staff member that checked was not very helpfull and friendly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast!!

Disliked: I stayed on the top floor and the stairs were very narrow so moving you cases is really difficult. also the showers were rubbish

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012

Liked: was cheap but just because it was a summer special promotion

Disliked: no luggage room, too many stairs, not possible to put people together in a room even if they booked together, unfriendly stuff, kitchen not at all tidy, party every night in the outdoor area so it was very loud at night

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful friendly atmosphere and really welcoming staff who are happy to help out with just about anything. Fairly central and very lively location in Kings Cross , although the actual room was surprisingly quiet considering the amount of nightlife in the area.

Disliked: Cockroaches in the kitchen! No idea why though, because the hostel is cleaned top to bottom daily.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Max List

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2012 Max would recommend this property

Liked: the contact to the other people

Disliked: a small kitchen

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was pretty clean, water pressure was good, dorm was nice and small. Free breakfast of eggs and toast. Free internet

Disliked: If you leave your bags at reception the door is wide open and anyone can take them.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels