We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

71.9% Overall Rating

374 out of 486 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/01/2015)

"The hostel is close to everzthing you need like supermarket, train station, bars, clubs, food shops and more. Only a few minutes by walk to famous sights like opera house and harbour bridge. I like the the hostel and i…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.59
  • Towel USD 3.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
21.86 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
22.64 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
24.99 USD

Hostel 87.0% 727 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
25.77 USD

Hostel 75.7% 177 reviews
Backpackers HQ
21.08 USD

Hostel 85.3% 102 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
29.28 USD

Hostel 76.6% 205 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
24.99 USD

Hostel 73.3% 322 reviews
Brados Backpackers
15.62 USD

Hostel 77.4% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.9%

Overall Rating

374 out of 486 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
74.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 349 of 442 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and people, lots of cool events organised, brilliant location. v nice clean showers and toilets

Disliked: Kitchen is opposite of the nice bathrooms - very dirty with creepy crawlies too! But not that different from other Sydney hostels tbh.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jamie Anderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Staff

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jack Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Good service and decent atmosphere. Great location, right by the train station and walking distance to all the clubs and bars.

Disliked: Stairs were kind of steep but that's it.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jeffrey Bush

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013

Liked: They had computers at the reception with decently fast internet. It is a well located hostel.

Disliked: This places is a complete dump. This is without a doubt the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. The kitchen was absolutely filthy. I refused to cook a meal in there. The place is so cramped. They pack you into the rooms like sardines. They have to be breaking some type of fire code. If there was an emergency there is no easy way out of the hostel because the hallways are about 2 and 1/2 feet wide. The mattresses are awful. Please avoid this place at all costs. There are a few good people at the place who you can have a good time with but I feel like you can find that at almost every hostel.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: Everything this place is disgusting. The staff are the rudest people we have ever dealt with we left and booked a last minute stay in a motel it was so bad

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price and the bathroom.

Disliked: It's small, I had a problem with my reservation.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel was an awesome atmosphere and is definatley a party hostel! If you wanna have fun and go out its the perfect hostel! Met some awesome people and the location is great!

Disliked: Only thing was it could have been a little bit cleaner, but bathrooms an loos were cleaned regularly and were fine, but it's what you expect from a hostel in the way it's how other people leave there mess!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matej Bella

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2013

Liked: It was clean, which is the main thing in these places.

Disliked: It was loud. I don't know what attracts these people here, but I couldn't sleep well the 4 nights I stayed here. It was door slamming, people arguing. Sunday night I had to listen to a couple arguing for about 3 hours between 2am and 5am. The free WiFi is also pretty useless as is common with free WiFi in Australia. They also charged my full stay onto my credit card before I arrived, and I wasn't even aware. They received the number from Hostel Bookers when I payed my 10%.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really friendly nice ppl and felt very comfortable there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: place

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some staff

Disliked: Some staff

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Ruffing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, everyday cleaning

Disliked: very loud, too much party

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergej Rabinovich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

31 October 2012 Sergej would recommend this property

Liked: Die Lage zur Stadt ist perfekt, hier kann man ueberall weed kaufen, echt billig Der Besitzer macht die besten Preise hier in Kings Cross, man kann immer mit ihm verhandeln, wenn man nett bleibt!Alles war nett und gut, die stimmung ist einfach bombe, niergendwo anderst sowas erlebt, sehr kontaktfreudige menschen.

Disliked: Sergej left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Naidoo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

31 October 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi and breakfast

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Hunter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

31 October 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: i like the dogs they are cute

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast and eggs also i like movie night was good.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonia MAndinguez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

31 October 2012 Antonia would recommend this property

Liked: location is very handy

Disliked: its in kings cross so not a quiet residential area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma Munro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2012 emma would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, very friendly

Disliked: tight spaces but good place to make it a home

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yanto Borhamandi

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 October 2012 Yanto would recommend this property

Liked: good stay here at the hostel

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: i like my new friends

Disliked: i dont really like my new friends

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

micha schultz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 micha would recommend this property

Liked: we loved it here

Disliked: small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good clean hostel my favurite in australia

Disliked: old building

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very nice atmosphere. you can reach the city by feet and everything is very near.

Disliked: the kitchen is too small and there are not enough items

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lennart Aigner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Lennart would recommend this property

Liked: Like big family here

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine! Clean rooms and so on...

Disliked: -


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels