HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

56.2% Overall Rating

353 out of 452 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2013)

Luke Newman thinks…

"I can not find many bad things to say about this place, especially for the price. It was a little bit small with narrow corridors, but other then that, I have no complaints. Staff were friendly, it…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.25
  • Towel USD 4.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
27.97 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.31 USD

Hostel 77.9% 111 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.17 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
24.24 USD

Hostel 73.9% 165 reviews
Backpackers HQ
24.24 USD

Hostel 85.7% 80 reviews
Springfield Lodge
52.20 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.56 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
27.97 USD

Hostel 71.9% 321 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.2%

Overall Rating

353 out of 452 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
60.0%
Value
55.2%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 409 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: i like my new friends

Disliked: i dont really like my new friends

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

micha schultz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 micha would recommend this property

Liked: we loved it here

Disliked: small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good clean hostel my favurite in australia

Disliked: old building

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very nice atmosphere. you can reach the city by feet and everything is very near.

Disliked: the kitchen is too small and there are not enough items

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lennart Aigner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Lennart would recommend this property

Liked: Like big family here

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine! Clean rooms and so on...

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: * cleanliness * the one staff member that checked was not very helpfull and friendly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast!!

Disliked: I stayed on the top floor and the stairs were very narrow so moving you cases is really difficult. also the showers were rubbish

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012

Liked: was cheap but just because it was a summer special promotion

Disliked: no luggage room, too many stairs, not possible to put people together in a room even if they booked together, unfriendly stuff, kitchen not at all tidy, party every night in the outdoor area so it was very loud at night

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful friendly atmosphere and really welcoming staff who are happy to help out with just about anything. Fairly central and very lively location in Kings Cross , although the actual room was surprisingly quiet considering the amount of nightlife in the area.

Disliked: Cockroaches in the kitchen! No idea why though, because the hostel is cleaned top to bottom daily.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Max List

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2012 Max would recommend this property

Liked: the contact to the other people

Disliked: a small kitchen

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was pretty clean, water pressure was good, dorm was nice and small. Free breakfast of eggs and toast. Free internet

Disliked: If you leave your bags at reception the door is wide open and anyone can take them.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mariya Todorova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012

Liked: The location is convenient.

Disliked: It was very loud at night. The quiet hours are not enforced at all and no staff is there at night to say anything. The wifi did not work at all. The kitchen was very dirty. The room was super tiny, not enough space for three people to stand at the same time (there were three beds). The staff was not particularly helpful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really clean accommodation, great atmosphere, good cooking facilities, sociable hostel, good size dorms, friendly staff very knowledgeable about things to do in sydney!

Disliked: quite far from the centre but its fine just soak up the fact that your in sydney.. no big deal! really nice at night when the skyline is lit up.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Subin Subin

Alone

Family Holiday

07 September 2012 Subin would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of the city, cheap, secured and very clean Value for what I paid

Disliked: Poor reception timngs. I had problems with access key and I had to stand outside the hostel for an hr. Then someone manged to get me in with his key. I had to be in the room whole day as I had no option to re enter the room once exited.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramiro GonZalez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

30 August 2012 Ramiro would recommend this property

Liked: I love the atmosphere here, friendly staff and guests... A lot of event here.. I think almost everyday they have event here or outside, and that's pretty cool.. It's a clean and comfortable place for me...

Disliked: only 2 pots in the kitchen, but is ok

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the services and the atùosphere

Disliked: the staff is not very friendly and they don't explain you anything

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

EunYeong Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 EunYeong would recommend this property

Liked: If u expect high quality service from them u should think about it again about using this hostel. actually i paid only 15dollars for one day considering the moeny i was nice

Disliked: woman staff was so rude my room was thrid floor even my carrier was too heavy they dont have elevator system or carring service so i had been small problem when i carried my back .

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012

Liked: Free Cool Breakfast and free and fast internet.

Disliked: Staff attitude, Inconsistent policy. Basically one staff say this and another staff tomoro says otherwise. Too many policy and rules. You will feel annoyed and bound by lots of terms and condition. Definitely not friendly. They treat you like you're just another backpacker around Red Light District and like you're gonna cause trouble or something. You need to pay deposit of 20 dollar to use their dishes!!! Seriously?! They don't even trust you to wash it yourself and put it back. I have to use a plastic bag to get the cereal and my own bottle to get some milk. Breakfast is around 7am and the reception is 8am so you need to wait one hour for the reception to open to get the plates and pay a deposit!!! If you wanna checkout they will only refund to your credit card when you paid them by cash earlier!!! Lastly before i leave, the staff even make a remark of my nationality!!! Well if that is the way how you wanna treat your customer!! So be it! I hope that no one will ever come to this place again. It's really horrible. They is a lot of alternative nearby!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rakeshkumar Mehta

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Rakeshkumar would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms and toilets were new and very clean and the cleaning staff were very good. We liked the free breakfast that had eggs and cereal and also the system where we had to pay a refundable $20 deposit for a set of plates, cups and cutlery was good as we were able to use a clean set of utensils. The kitchen was also cleaned very well daily - staff member Yakub was an energizer bunny cleaning machine - you will see him when you go ....

Disliked: The lock on the bathroom door near room 14 needs to be fixed, otherwise everything else was perfect!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012

Liked: I liked the quietness of my room. The toilets were, for the most part, clean and modern. The shower is a cupboard. Liked all the Simpson characters on the doors, very fun. Liked the Foxtel channels for the Olympics were winding down. :)

Disliked: Dirty floors, kichen and eating benches. Toilets were modern but guests dirtied them quickly. The staff were terrible. Never pointed out were things were. Had to look at the hostel page when I started this review to see what the hostel actually "offered" because no one told me. I arrived late, and when you do you have to call a number on the door, no phone is provided, so unless you have your own phone/ calling card, arrive during rec. hours. Reception themself were very rude, you much pay a $20 key deposit, but you don't get the cash pack, it is refunded on your card. That is also how they take full payment, they don't even give you the option of paying cash (which is what I prefer.) yes this place is cheap, but i recomend you look elsewhere!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

10 August 2012

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly, lots of plus for the free breakfast and wi-fi.

Disliked: Wi-fi worked quite poorly, our room was moldy, downstair toilets didn't have locks and they were very dirty, even though everything was cleaned daily but I guess other visitors weren't to tidy , since men and women used the same toilets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Hirte

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: It's absolutely awesome, especially for the price!

Disliked: There is no soap in the bathrooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel has a very friendly atmosphere, the kitchen and the bathrooms were clean, the breakfast was really good (eggs& cheese!) & the wifi was also free and my room even had a balcony, what more can you ask for?:)

Disliked: the wifi is quite slow! and sometimes it's not working at all, but there are computers downstairs that are also free to use...also too few pots in the kitchen; but you can always find something to complain about...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Got upgrated to a private room, that was great!

Disliked: Very hard to find parking, was an asault when we where there, not so good.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels