We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

74.3% Overall Rating

366 out of 477 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

"The Asian cleaning crew at that time were doing miracles in the morning by cleaning the place before breakfast, btw: breakfast with standard cereal and milk, but also hard boiled eggs and singles of cheese - that was…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.61
  • Towel USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
34.93 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
26.20 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
27.07 USD

Hostel 76.7% 170 reviews
Highfield Hotel
37.55 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
27.95 USD

Hostel 85.7% 95 reviews
Springfield Lodge
52.84 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.19 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.3%

Overall Rating

366 out of 477 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
75.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 345 of 433 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Newman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: I can not find many bad things to say about this place, especially for the price. It was a little bit small with narrow corridors, but other then that, I have no complaints. Staff were friendly, it was clean, and I got a free upgrade as they hadn't filled the rooms.

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is so nice & friendly to all the people!! He always helps & provide suggestions with good places to go! Cheap & good location, close to the opera house & royal garden!

Disliked: The lady housekeeper was so rude & unfriendly!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: It was dirty.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013

Liked: Free breakfast if you have a cup and spoon to spread the jam!!!

Disliked: not enough bathroom/toilet when you are upstairs and when one is disgusting and the other doesn't lock. Not been informed that there is no cup, forks, knife etc to eat. gave 20dollars deposit that he didn't gave a cash back but transfer on my french account. I've lost enough money staying there. bedroom messy, disguting and dirty.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013

Liked: It s cheap, clean and I appreciate the big lockers in a room.

Disliked: Quiet small, can be noisy in the night, no dishes in the kitchen (like cups etc) you have to pay depozsite on the reception...but for few nights it is ok ;-)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a great spot, was very easy to find

Disliked: It felt a bit cramped, but it wasn't a serious issue

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Bray

Alone

Partying / nightlife

19 April 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, free breakfast, very central & the staff help me with my resume.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good for it's cheap price, bathrooms clean, breakfast included

Disliked: Some of the staff members are not really friendly

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marek Sustek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: Location is superb..

Disliked: Marek left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Fabian Wanner

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2013

Liked: Helpful staff, nice room, despite small.

Disliked: Dirty common areas, locks on showers and toilets broken. Breakfast provided, but bowls and cutlery have to be paid for with a deposit.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mohamed Anaaoui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Work / volunteering

24 March 2013 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: clean, an good location

Disliked: price: expensive

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michael DiIorio

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 March 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Isabelle was extremely friendly Fridge, TV, Fan in room

Disliked: WiFi was barely usable in the rooms. It doesn't work much past the 1st floor The showers had no places to hold soap, shampoo, etc. The hot/cold taps in the showers were very finicky

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

ALEX LEOW SHENG

Alone

City break

16 March 2013 ALEX would recommend this property

Liked: Too many bugs in my room and the air-codition was broken down.The whole day that i feel staying in the hell room...and litterbit messy in the kitcher....

Disliked: everthing are close to the shops n restaurants...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Emily Sanders

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Best thing about this hostel was that there was free wifi (though it was horribly slow) and lockers to put my stuff away. About a 10 minute walk to Finger Wharf, Woolloomooloo area and 20-25 minutes to Botanical Gardens, Opera House. Good Thai food and ice cream down Victoria Street.

Disliked: My 6 bed dorm was teeny, sooo hot (no air conditioning, just 2 fans that didn't do enough), and it was nasty and dirty. I think my roommates were dirty, but it also doesn't look like staff cleans these rooms. I think past hostelers left their food containers and other stuff and no one ever took the time to throw it out so it piled up. My bunk was rusty and the railing was coming off. No soap in the bathrooms at all. Sick! Free breakfast in the morning, but the kitchen and sitting area are dirty and you have to leave a deposit to get your own dishes.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

WJohn Barnard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Took my full payment 10 days in advance without telling me. Facilities were very poor. Included breakfast ended at 9am. Bathroom facilities bad. Kitchen and eating space awful. Cash deposits for keys refunded only to a credit card. Unsafe storage for bags after you check out. The worst hostel I have ever stayed in.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: The free breakfast andthe free internet.

Disliked: Pretty much everything else but especially the bugs in the kitchen and the standard of the rooms and bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Malouf

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 March 2013 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved it here! The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for you and the location is unreal! Super close to everything you need no need to worry about buses or trains as everything is in walking distance. My 5 friends and I absolutely loved staying here and we would highly recommend other travellers staying here also! The atmosphere is great and we met so many new friends.

Disliked: Jasmine left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

05 March 2013

Liked: I liked the mini fridge we got in the private room as well as the common outdoor area with a specialised Goon Pong table, that was a lot of fun. The other guests were lovely as well. Also when the toilets weren't blocked, they were very nice, same with the shower area.

Disliked: The staff were very rude and unwilling to help with anything. There were cockroaches everywhere!! The pillow my friend had was just a sack of fluff and it kept falling out everywhere. You had to rent the dishes if you wanted to cook anything or ever just have a spoon for something you bought from the supermarket. All of the signs around are very threatening, they all say "If you do this this and this you will be evicted with no refund" it did not create a very friendly and warm atmosphere. One staff member also stopped my friend a few days into our stay and questioned her as to if she was a real guest when obviously she was, he was also very rude about this.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not enough toilets (3 per floor, only one toliet room had a sink and mirror- the other 2 had awkward sinks attached to the toilets that you had to flush to get any water), they also smelled awful. It was a loud place to be, but that's to be expected in kings cross. A few of the employees were quite rude. Kitchen was disgusting and small. We never once used it. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: So many,eg. staff r not helpful,they r not professional in providing travel tips,bad manner,the room smells bad,etc.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, great location and good bath/shower rooms.

Disliked: Kitchen is far too small for the amount of guests, broken items in room went without fixing for a long time, many roaches.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and people, lots of cool events organised, brilliant location. v nice clean showers and toilets

Disliked: Kitchen is opposite of the nice bathrooms - very dirty with creepy crawlies too! But not that different from other Sydney hostels tbh.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jamie Anderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Staff

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jack Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Good service and decent atmosphere. Great location, right by the train station and walking distance to all the clubs and bars.

Disliked: Stairs were kind of steep but that's it.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jeffrey Bush

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013

Liked: They had computers at the reception with decently fast internet. It is a well located hostel.

Disliked: This places is a complete dump. This is without a doubt the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. The kitchen was absolutely filthy. I refused to cook a meal in there. The place is so cramped. They pack you into the rooms like sardines. They have to be breaking some type of fire code. If there was an emergency there is no easy way out of the hostel because the hallways are about 2 and 1/2 feet wide. The mattresses are awful. Please avoid this place at all costs. There are a few good people at the place who you can have a good time with but I feel like you can find that at almost every hostel.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels