HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chili Blue Backpackers Sydney Hostel

144 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 75%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 8.82USD
  • Towel 4.01USD

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00

Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00

IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT.

By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies.

Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings.

PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel.

Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given.

IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN.

New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount.

We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 75%

Value 85%

Showing 11-20 of 42 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: GOOD LOCATION, BREAKFAST, CONVENIENT

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere and the people

Disliked: Waking up and having check out

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Excellent atmosphere - courtyard is excellent, open until 10pm then the kitchen is open all night for people that want to party or cook etc. Kitchen is far enough away from the rooms to not cause too much noise. Stayed in a room with AC which was a surprise. Plenty of lockers in the room and overall a superb location. Would stay again

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel is close to everzthing you need like supermarket, train station, bars, clubs, food shops and more. Only a few minutes by walk to famous sights like opera house and harbour bridge. I like the the hostel and i met a lot of nice people there.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The atmosphere is fantastic, especially on an evening. Everyone is made to feel very welcome and the goon pong table is a excellent facility. The staff are all very helpful and the cleaners make sure the bedrooms, kitchen and common area are always clean.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Located slightly outside of the main centre in Kings Cross, only 15mins or lesskto walk into the City. Rooms were well used but generally clean. Bathroom facilities kept clean and tidy but too few per floor (one on our floor was out of use). Staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Price for rooms was at the higher end given that they are well used.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: party hostel with a 24/24hours kitchen and a goon-pong table in a common courtyard open till 10pm. Comon inside area is open 24/24hours too. great atmosphere with 2x free food a week and great location for nightlife. Cross baby !

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is near to opera house

Disliked: The room was so small. It was supposed to have 4 people, however, it had 5 people. Bathrooms are so dirty. They charged the booking price in advance, where it is supposed to charge the arrival date.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fine location.

Disliked: Everything was very dirty...Rooms are pretty small and there's no ventilation. I stayed 3 nights and never saw anybody cleaning the showers and toilets.Sooooo noisy!!!!!!! impossible to sleep at night.


The property's response is

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing our property, we are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. The one thing you didn't realize is that you booked a 10 share dorm and was placed in a 4 share. We do agree this room is fairly small but it was a 4 share and not a 10. We have a team of professional cleaners that spend the whole day cleaning after guest. At night it may get dirty again but this is from other guest that are not clean themselves.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very cheap compared to other hostels

Disliked: DirtyHorrible showersIn my opinion, not a great locationStaff came across as rudeOur 4 bed dorm wasn't exactly safe or secure, door didn't close properly, window open to balcony, no lockCharged the full price of the booking ontoy reservation card before even asking, took a $20 cash deposit then gave it back via refund onto card, maybe a little petty but that was going to be the bus fare to the airport.Also they have some silly little rules, attaching receipts to beds otherwise fined, $20 fee if you lock yourself out, 1.10 per minute charged after checkout time. I understand it's a business, but these are pathetic.


The property's response is

you are a funny man Mr Dodd!!! Not a great location? thats funny :)

Check Availability