HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

56.2% Overall Rating

353 out of 452 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2013)

Luke Newman thinks…

"I can not find many bad things to say about this place, especially for the price. It was a little bit small with narrow corridors, but other then that, I have no complaints. Staff were friendly, it…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.29
  • Towel USD 4.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
28.06 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.38 USD

Hostel 77.9% 111 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.25 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
24.32 USD

Hostel 73.9% 165 reviews
Backpackers HQ
24.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 80 reviews
Springfield Lodge
52.38 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.67 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews
Funk House Backpackers
28.06 USD

Hostel 71.9% 321 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.2%

Overall Rating

353 out of 452 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
60.0%
Value
55.2%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 409 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: The free breakfast andthe free internet.

Disliked: Pretty much everything else but especially the bugs in the kitchen and the standard of the rooms and bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Malouf

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 March 2013 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved it here! The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for you and the location is unreal! Super close to everything you need no need to worry about buses or trains as everything is in walking distance. My 5 friends and I absolutely loved staying here and we would highly recommend other travellers staying here also! The atmosphere is great and we met so many new friends.

Disliked: Jasmine left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

05 March 2013

Liked: I liked the mini fridge we got in the private room as well as the common outdoor area with a specialised Goon Pong table, that was a lot of fun. The other guests were lovely as well. Also when the toilets weren't blocked, they were very nice, same with the shower area.

Disliked: The staff were very rude and unwilling to help with anything. There were cockroaches everywhere!! The pillow my friend had was just a sack of fluff and it kept falling out everywhere. You had to rent the dishes if you wanted to cook anything or ever just have a spoon for something you bought from the supermarket. All of the signs around are very threatening, they all say "If you do this this and this you will be evicted with no refund" it did not create a very friendly and warm atmosphere. One staff member also stopped my friend a few days into our stay and questioned her as to if she was a real guest when obviously she was, he was also very rude about this.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not enough toilets (3 per floor, only one toliet room had a sink and mirror- the other 2 had awkward sinks attached to the toilets that you had to flush to get any water), they also smelled awful. It was a loud place to be, but that's to be expected in kings cross. A few of the employees were quite rude. Kitchen was disgusting and small. We never once used it. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: So many,eg. staff r not helpful,they r not professional in providing travel tips,bad manner,the room smells bad,etc.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, great location and good bath/shower rooms.

Disliked: Kitchen is far too small for the amount of guests, broken items in room went without fixing for a long time, many roaches.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and people, lots of cool events organised, brilliant location. v nice clean showers and toilets

Disliked: Kitchen is opposite of the nice bathrooms - very dirty with creepy crawlies too! But not that different from other Sydney hostels tbh.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jamie Anderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Staff

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jack Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Good service and decent atmosphere. Great location, right by the train station and walking distance to all the clubs and bars.

Disliked: Stairs were kind of steep but that's it.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jeffrey Bush

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013

Liked: They had computers at the reception with decently fast internet. It is a well located hostel.

Disliked: This places is a complete dump. This is without a doubt the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. The kitchen was absolutely filthy. I refused to cook a meal in there. The place is so cramped. They pack you into the rooms like sardines. They have to be breaking some type of fire code. If there was an emergency there is no easy way out of the hostel because the hallways are about 2 and 1/2 feet wide. The mattresses are awful. Please avoid this place at all costs. There are a few good people at the place who you can have a good time with but I feel like you can find that at almost every hostel.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: Everything this place is disgusting. The staff are the rudest people we have ever dealt with we left and booked a last minute stay in a motel it was so bad

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price and the bathroom.

Disliked: It's small, I had a problem with my reservation.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel was an awesome atmosphere and is definatley a party hostel! If you wanna have fun and go out its the perfect hostel! Met some awesome people and the location is great!

Disliked: Only thing was it could have been a little bit cleaner, but bathrooms an loos were cleaned regularly and were fine, but it's what you expect from a hostel in the way it's how other people leave there mess!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matej Bella

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2013

Liked: It was clean, which is the main thing in these places.

Disliked: It was loud. I don't know what attracts these people here, but I couldn't sleep well the 4 nights I stayed here. It was door slamming, people arguing. Sunday night I had to listen to a couple arguing for about 3 hours between 2am and 5am. The free WiFi is also pretty useless as is common with free WiFi in Australia. They also charged my full stay onto my credit card before I arrived, and I wasn't even aware. They received the number from Hostel Bookers when I payed my 10%.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really friendly nice ppl and felt very comfortable there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: place

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some staff

Disliked: Some staff

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Ruffing

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, everyday cleaning

Disliked: very loud, too much party

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergej Rabinovich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

31 October 2012 Sergej would recommend this property

Liked: Die Lage zur Stadt ist perfekt, hier kann man ueberall weed kaufen, echt billig Der Besitzer macht die besten Preise hier in Kings Cross, man kann immer mit ihm verhandeln, wenn man nett bleibt!Alles war nett und gut, die stimmung ist einfach bombe, niergendwo anderst sowas erlebt, sehr kontaktfreudige menschen.

Disliked: Sergej left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Naidoo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

31 October 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi and breakfast

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Hunter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

31 October 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: i like the dogs they are cute

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast and eggs also i like movie night was good.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonia MAndinguez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

31 October 2012 Antonia would recommend this property

Liked: location is very handy

Disliked: its in kings cross so not a quiet residential area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma Munro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2012 emma would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, very friendly

Disliked: tight spaces but good place to make it a home

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yanto Borhamandi

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 October 2012 Yanto would recommend this property

Liked: good stay here at the hostel

Disliked: no


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels