HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chili Blue Backpackers Sydney Hostel

144 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 74%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 8.42USD
  • Towel 3.83USD

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00

Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00

IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT.

By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies.

Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings.

PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel.

Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given.

IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN.

New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount.

We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 74%

Value 86%

Showing 111-42 of 42 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: free breakfast

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is cheap to stay there

Disliked: The room is too small,and smells badly

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great private balcony out of room 18!

Disliked: Very young backpackers there. Which is ok. Also, there are so many long term staying backpackers we didn't really feel welcomed by them all. Overall good experience though. Staff was great.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Got upgrated to a private room, that was great!

Disliked: Very hard to find parking, was an asault when we where there, not so good.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location and helpful clerk, breakfast was very bad,

Disliked: breakfast bad, room tiny bad blankets, bad pillows, filthy bathrooms, nasty, please clean dishes before using, nasty tables for breakfast,

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, near: bar, supermarket ect

Disliked: Very bad service...put my shoes at front at our door a few hours after they were gone, went in the reception and asked for them, the answer you got was: can not help!! I kept insisting that he should look through surveillance, but was not possible and if I did not understand, I had to go to the police. I finally got to call a supervisor who told me that the shoes were in the cleaning room.when we want to check out, we could not get any money because they thought we had not paid for "cutlery" but ended up in a discussion and finally got our money ...!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The price, the hostel is super cheap and the atmosphere is great. Everyone knows everyone and there's a social gathering pretty much everynight in the court yard.

Disliked: Don't get room 23 because it is right over the court yard, you'll never sleep. Also the hostel is very dirty and there are live bugs. The bathrooms are limited and there's not even a toliet seat on one of the toliets.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very cheap rates; location is nice, just beside the Royal Botanical Gardens and Sydney Opera house.

Disliked: Rates are cheap only online though, when I extended my stay by 1 night I asked for a discount and the lady at the counter kinda of laughed at me (!) and charged me the normal rate. That said lady was constantly showing either an air of complete boredom or contempt - and couldn't direct me properly to the nearest grocery store when I asked; Unles you are in Sydney to party, I wouldn't recommend this hostel to someone, as everybody in there seemed to be able to talk only about their next boozing session. Free Internet doesn't really work in your room, you have to use the computer at the reception; looks a bit rundown.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: everything! close to bars and nightlife, opera house and city are a 20 min walk away. free breakfast, free internet, clean bathrooms and a big common room and courtyard to meet other travellers. i stayed at this hostel many times and will surely come back in the future.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice hostel, good breakfast with an egg! Lively atmosphere at night, always people to go out with

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability