We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

73.9% Overall Rating

367 out of 478 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/12/2014)

Mael Monod thinks…

"party hostel with a 24/24hours kitchen and a goon-pong table in a common courtyard open till 10pm. Comon inside area is open 24/24hours too. great atmosphere with 2x free food a week and great…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.61
  • Towel USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
34.93 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
24.45 USD

Hostel 80.0% 115 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
25.33 USD

Hostel 76.9% 171 reviews
Highfield Hotel
25.76 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
26.20 USD

Hostel 86.6% 96 reviews
Springfield Lodge
46.72 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
26.20 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.9%

Overall Rating

367 out of 478 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 346 of 434 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Fishwick

27 February 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Csanád Szalai

25 February 2010 Csanád would recommend this property

Liked: We lived in a room whitout ercon therefore we suffered a bit becouse of the hot air and unfortunately some common room (for example the bathroom) was under recontruction so these were crowded somtimes. Anyway we enjoyed the time to spend there.

Disliked: Csanád left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such great place! I met cool people, had a good time! Definitely coming back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not so clean,neither not so friendly staff!but great party time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannes Seehauser

15 February 2010 Hannes would recommend this property

Liked: Its my third time here in the chili blue... and a have seen a lot of different hostels and the chili blue is the best one...

Disliked: Hannes left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sara Allin

05 February 2010 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel and the breakfast (toast, ceral and hard boil eggs) are good. We didn't have lockers in our room though and although the people in our room were friendly the other gusts didn't seem particularly so.Good location though.

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Lock

03 February 2010 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap right in Kings Cross good place to stay

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: k.A.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Inge Jordens

20 January 2010 Inge would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, small hostel so the staff knows everyone who stays there (good security!). Also you get to know many other travellers. The communityroom and outdoor area are great places to hang out.

Disliked: Inge left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

talese amer

19 January 2010 talese would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms are brand new. Hostel is being done up. The staff do a thorough job cleaning the place but until they completely do it up, there is only so much they can do. I dont think there is better value for money in Sydney.The only real problem apart from the age of the hostel is that some rooms are not well ventilated and one room is next to all the noise.

Disliked: talese left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: real nice, clean place, good staff, nice peeps

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Mendel-Hartvig

17 January 2010 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place. Love it for the character, atmosphere, the staff. Might not be the fanciest, but no doubt it's my favourite in Australia. Easy place to meet people, and you're guaranteed to have a lot of fun.

Disliked: Ellen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bart Severijnen

14 January 2010 Bart would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location and the people

Disliked: Bart left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan Wood

10 January 2010 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Had a very pleasant stay here. There were renovations going on but it didn't cause us any problems and the improvements seem really good. Only 1/2 hour walk to the city which was great. Cleanliness was also very good and they seemed to do daily cleaning which was much appreciated. Would come back and stay again. Thanks!

Disliked: Siobhan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wim Bouden

10 January 2010 Wim would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 4-bed dorm, but we had only two lockers. The free internet is really a plus! The common room is a real chill place to hang out and meet other people.

Disliked: Wim left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Zentrale Lage-flexibles Personal- leider haben die Betten unheimlich gequietscht und man hat jeden durchs Haus gehen hoeren.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Chalumeau

08 January 2010 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: very good stay at the chilli blue! would love to come back!

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beryl Gale

09 December 2009 Beryl would recommend this property

Liked: I booked for 2 nights and stayed 10! Great hostel, great people, great location and cheap!

Disliked: Beryl left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannes Seehauser

25 November 2009 Hannes would recommend this property

Liked: hii think the chili blue backpacker is one of the best backpackers...its not like all the others, where you stay only to sleep... in the chili blue you know everybudy, you have fun with everybudy, everyday... the people there are like a family... its a very good atmosphere...i was there at the beginning of my trip in australia and before a fly back home i go another one in this hostel, because its so great...

Disliked: Hannes left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jonny Blair

03 November 2009 Jonny would recommend this property

Liked: party every night. free breakfast. free drink

Disliked: Jonny left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Wheatley

12 September 2009 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel had a good atmosphere and helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marcelo Michishita

01 September 2009 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place, cleaner and good peoples.

Disliked: Marcelo left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is nice place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beside the fact that they booked the two of us into separate rooms -no big deal actually, hostel was fully booked- everything was nice. Great price! Early check-in good too. Location couldn't be better. Would recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1.free breakfast .2.free wifi wrieness internet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels