We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of ChiliBlue Backpackers

Hostel | 144 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia 2011

73.9% Overall Rating

366 out of 475 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

"The Asian cleaning crew at that time were doing miracles in the morning by cleaning the place before breakfast, btw: breakfast with standard cereal and milk, but also hard boiled eggs and singles of cheese - that was…"

Read all ChiliBlue Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.79
  • Towel USD 4.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00 Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00 IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT. By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies. Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings. PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel. Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given. IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN. New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount. We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Kanga House
26.70 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
24.03 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
26.70 USD

Hostel 87.0% 726 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
22.25 USD

Hostel 75.9% 169 reviews
Highfield Hotel
30.25 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Backpackers HQ
28.47 USD

Hostel 84.9% 94 reviews
Springfield Lodge
36.93 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.1% 24 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
30.25 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.9%

Overall Rating

366 out of 475 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ChiliBlue Backpackers'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 343 of 431 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kai Yau Mak

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2010 Kai Yau would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is good.

Disliked: the boss is rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LEILEI ZHOU

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2010 LEILEI would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, free internet,good atmosphere that u cant not find it in others hostel. you can check in anytime here but u cant not leave.

Disliked: LEILEI left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Regina Kipfelsberger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010 Regina would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, wonderful hostel for backpackers

Disliked: Regina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Great staff, very clean, great atmosphere, great facilities, great fun. The entertainment manager was awesome too - he will make sure you have a good time in the Cross.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and freindly...always a member of staff around to help! Great value for money and good location!!

Disliked: Room was a little cold!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel basic but it was clean and very good value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Clyne

17 June 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere created in this hostel, by not only the freindly staff but the mix of people, so much so in fact that after intially booking a couple of nights i have now booked up for at least another month.The location is in the heart of Kings cross which is where everything happens and the nightlife and bars are world renowned.The price is very reasonable for the location and area, and the rooms are cleaned 7 days a week. In a few words you can check in and you can leave but the people you meet at chiliblue remain friends for life, that includes the staff.Very Very impressed. AAA+++

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny Fishwick

17 June 2010 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you very much to all the staff for their warm welcome and hospatality and making my trip to Sydney extra special. CiliBlue is excellent value for money with the free breakfast, internet , wi-fi and i would reccomend this hostel to all backpackers. THIS IS THE BEST HOSTEL THAT I HAVE EVER STAYED IN, ITS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! Thank all once again.

Disliked: Danny left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sacha Fishwick

15 June 2010 Sacha would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Sacha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Hansen

06 June 2010 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I've stayed at in Australia. The staff is friendly, the atmosphere is great and everything comes at a reasonably price.

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moritz Turk

20 May 2010 Moritz would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is really nice and helpfull, free breakfast, wifi, very clean, great common room kitchen and courtyard, nice location, great atmosphere. In my 5 month travel arround def the best backpackers ive stayed in.

Disliked: Moritz left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jenny Hunter

20 May 2010 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Better room than I thought when I booked, Really helpful staff and great atmosphere. I ended up staying longer than I planned! Just round the corner from Coles and walking distance to loads of attractions to see in Sydney :) I'd come back

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Haley

13 May 2010 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,cool staff and all you need for a cheap stay in Sydney!

Disliked: Steve left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katharina Mense

28 April 2010 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: You get heaps of offers for normal Hostelrate. Free Internet!!great breakfast!!Balkony with hammock (not in every room)!!Friendly staff!!pretty close to "Kings Cross"

Disliked: Katharina left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value and free internet, except there were only 2 computers (always full) since they're upgrading. Breakfast is a joke, half a loaf of bread, 1/4 jar of jam (no knife) and corn flakes. And it's a $20 deposit for plates. But it's cheap, secure, rooms were clean and overall nicer than other hostels we've stayed at in the area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although the place was grungy, it was cozy and offered the basic necessities of a short stay. Great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Antti Manninen

21 March 2010 Antti would recommend this property

Liked: Inner yard good. A bit hot in the summer. But definitely would go again.

Disliked: Antti left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANNA Ronnberg

18 March 2010 ANNA would recommend this property

Liked: clean toilets and showers, great brekfast

Disliked: ANNA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here for a few weeks, over 2 separate visits. I've been all around the world and can confirm that this is an excellent value for money hostel. Great atmosphere, excellent for meeting people, and an unbeatable free breakfast and internet. Would absolutely recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and helpfulness of staff and a good free breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Fishwick

27 February 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Csanád Szalai

25 February 2010 Csanád would recommend this property

Liked: We lived in a room whitout ercon therefore we suffered a bit becouse of the hot air and unfortunately some common room (for example the bathroom) was under recontruction so these were crowded somtimes. Anyway we enjoyed the time to spend there.

Disliked: Csanád left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such great place! I met cool people, had a good time! Definitely coming back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels