HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chili Blue Backpackers Sydney Hostel

144 Victoria Street, Kings Cross, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 74%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 8.42USD
  • Towel 3.83USD

Important Information

Reception / Office hours 08:00 till 21.00

Sundays & Public Holidays 09.00am till 19.00

IF YOU DON'T SPECIFY YOUR ARRIVAL TIME WE WILL CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AND CHARGE YOU FOR THE NIGHT.

By placing a booking request you agree to amend the terms & conditions to be subject & in compliance to our policies.

Due to an increase in use of invalid credit cards or credit cards with no credit we now require full prepayment of online bookings.

PLEASE NOTE: We are a Youth Hostel & accept only travellers under 30 years old. Over 30 yo with prior arrangement only. Australian and NZ passport holders are not permitted to stay at our hostel.

Please note: We do not accept groups of more than 4 persons. Any booking made for more than 4 people will automatically be cancelled and no refund given.

IF YOU ARE ARRIVING LATE YOU MUST ARRANGE WITH US FOR LATE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE PLEASE EMAIL US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME. IF YOU ARRIVE LATE WITHOUT ANY ARRANGEMENTS, YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THE BOOKING EVEN IF YOU CANT CHECK-IN.

New Year Policy: we will charge you 50% deposit on reservation, and the balance on 1st December. minimum stay is 10 nights, we do not accept check-ins or check-outs on 30th or 31st of December and 1st or 2nd of January. Full payment is required on or before arrival date. Cancellations before 1st December will forfeit 50% already paid. Cancelations after 1st December forfeit 100%. New Year covers period between 21st Dec to 7th Jan. Long Stays packages are available at a substantial discount.

We do not offer any refunds for the summer special.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 74%

Value 86%

Showing 91-42 of 42 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Free breakfast!!

Disliked: I stayed on the top floor and the stairs were very narrow so moving you cases is really difficult. also the showers were rubbish

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Was pretty clean, water pressure was good, dorm was nice and small. Free breakfast of eggs and toast. Free internet

Disliked: If you leave your bags at reception the door is wide open and anyone can take them.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: was cheap but just because it was a summer special promotion

Disliked: no luggage room, too many stairs, not possible to put people together in a room even if they booked together, unfriendly stuff, kitchen not at all tidy, party every night in the outdoor area so it was very loud at night

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Wonderful friendly atmosphere and really welcoming staff who are happy to help out with just about anything. Fairly central and very lively location in Kings Cross , although the actual room was surprisingly quiet considering the amount of nightlife in the area.

Disliked: Cockroaches in the kitchen! No idea why though, because the hostel is cleaned top to bottom daily.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: the contact to the other people

Disliked: a small kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: really clean accommodation, great atmosphere, good cooking facilities, sociable hostel, good size dorms, friendly staff very knowledgeable about things to do in sydney!

Disliked: quite far from the centre but its fine just soak up the fact that your in sydney.. no big deal! really nice at night when the skyline is lit up.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: In the heart of the city, cheap, secured and very cleanValue for what I paid

Disliked: Poor reception timngs. I had problems with access key and I had to stand outside the hostel for an hr. Then someone manged to get me in with his key. I had to be in the room whole day as I had no option to re enter the room once exited.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free Cool Breakfast and free and fast internet.

Disliked: Staff attitude, Inconsistent policy.Basically one staff say this and another staff tomoro says otherwise.Too many policy and rules.You will feel annoyed and bound by lots of terms and condition.Definitely not friendly.They treat you like you're just another backpacker around Red Light District and like you're gonna cause trouble or something.You need to pay deposit of 20 dollar to use their dishes!!!Seriously?! They don't even trust you to wash it yourself and put it back.I have to use a plastic bag to get the cereal and my own bottle to get some milk.Breakfast is around 7am and the reception is 8am so you need to wait one hour for the reception to open to get the plates and pay a deposit!!!If you wanna checkout they will only refund to your credit card when you paid them by cash earlier!!!Lastly before i leave, the staff even make a remark of my nationality!!!Well if that is the way how you wanna treat your customer!! So be it! I hope that no one will ever come to this place again. It's really horrible.They is a lot of alternative nearby!!

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: If u expect high quality service from them u should think about it again about using this hostel. actually i paid only 15dollars for one day considering the moeny i was nice

Disliked: woman staff was so rude my room was thrid floor even my carrier was too heavy they dont have elevator system or carring service so i had been small problem when i carried my back .

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The bathrooms and toilets were new and very clean and the cleaning staff were very good. We liked the free breakfast that had eggs and cereal and also the system where we had to pay a refundable $20 deposit for a set of plates, cups and cutlery was good as we were able to use a clean set of utensils. The kitchen was also cleaned very well daily - staff member Yakub was an energizer bunny cleaning machine - you will see him when you go ....

Disliked: The lock on the bathroom door near room 14 needs to be fixed, otherwise everything else was perfect!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability