HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Sydney Sydney Hostel

477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 82%

Staff 77%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.60USD
  • Luggage Room 3.84USD
  • Towel 3.07USD

Important Information

We have a 48 hour cancellation policy however during The Christmas and New years period All bookings due to arrive between the 22nd of December and 2nd of January will be charged in full on the 1st of December. There are no No cancellations in this period. A minimum stay of 10 nights is required if staying during the Christmas and New Year period, from 22nd December 2016 to 2nd January 2017.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 82%

Staff 77%

Value 73%

Showing 1-10 of 119 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi mate, we're glad to hear you liked our atmosphere! We hope to see you soon again and wish you safe travels further on, Base Crew!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location is great, really good atmosphere

Disliked: A guy in our room was ridiculously creepy

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi mate, thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback with us! We're glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay at Base and you liked our location. We're sorry for the issues which came up with your room mates. Anyway we hope to see you soon again, Base Crew!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Very close to CBD and train station

Disliked: Secure lockers would be preferred

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi mate, thank you for leaving a review with us! We're happy to hear you liked our location. It's great you're right! In regards to the secure lockers we do have lockable lockers downstairs in the basement. We hope to see you soon, Base Crew!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in a private room with an ensuite. We had hoped to stay in a hotel (way too expensive in Sydney) but found that the service and rooms here were comparable to what you would get in a hotel anyway! Towels, soaps and shampoos were provided and our room was made up daily. The reception staff were flat-out when we arrrived but were still super friendly and made sure they attended to everyone in a timely fashion.The room we were in was very well sound-proofed and we had a nice view into the city. We also had our own TV and very effective heating/cooling.Couldn't have been happier! Great value for money!!!

Disliked: Nothing :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi mate, thank you so much for leaving such an amazing feedback with us! We're glad you had an enjoyable stay at Base and you liked the hostel all around! We appreciate you left such a detailed review and we hope to see you next time again! Best wishes, Base Crew!

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: Cleanliness of the room in particular and the whole place in general was atrocious. I was shocked to see such poor standards in an Australian establishment.


The property's response is

Hi mate, thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us! We're sorry to hear you had some issues with the cleanliness. In regards to that housekeeping cleans all the facilities every day makes your stay as comfortable as possible. Anyway we're glad you liked our location and we hope to see you again. Best wishes, Base Crew!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The most

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi mate, thanks for providing your feedback with us! We're happy you had an enjoyable stay all around and hope to see you again. Best wishes, Base Crew!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is fantastic, 5 minutes from Darling Harbour. I stayed in a double room, the bed was extremely comfortable, plus the shower facilities I was sharing with one other room were good. The free shampoos and conditioners are also a nice touch, however I'm not sure if you get this luxury if your staying in a dorm.

Disliked: The noise, extremely loud traffics. It's quite didficult to sleep, thankfully I was exhausted most days and the bed was comfy. I would say the guests at this hostel are a young, party crowd and therefore very noisy and the bar/nightclub next door is very loud. I would say this hostel is aimed at a young party crowd, so if that isn't your thing a yha is probably a better bet.


The property's response is

Hi mate, thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us! We're sorry to hear you had noisy nights because of the night club next to the door. For that issue we offer our guests to change the room to the other side of the building were it's more quiet and we also provide free earplugs on reception. But we're happy to hear you could enjoy the rest of our hostel and we hope to see you again and wish you the best, Base Crew!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: It was close to everything.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi mate, thank you so much for taking the time to leave such an amazing feedback with us! We're happy you enjoyed your stay at Base all around and we hope to see you next time again! Best wishes, Base Crew!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: We stayed in a double with private bathroom, so I can't vouch for the dorms but the room was pretty amazing. A bit small, but super comfy bed, clean, block out curtains, shower was awesome...

Disliked: Reviews are true - staff are surly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi mate, thanks for leaving a review with us! We have to apologize for the issues which came up with our staff. But we're happy to hear you had a nice stay and you were satisfied with our facilities! We hope to see you again and we wish you the best, Base Crew!

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was brilliant, it's a lively, busy hostel which is what you'd normally look for

Disliked: The majority of the reception are beyond rude and patronising, I felt extreamly awkward trying to extend my stay, it then worked out to be more expensive to book it through the hostel then online!!! There was dry sick down the side of one of the beds in the dorm room, which looked like it has been there a while. Due to the rooms high price, you'd expect to have free wifi, but you still have to pay for wifi which doesn't even work in the rooms. Upon checkout, luggage storage isn't free either.


The property's response is

Hi mate, thanks for leaving a feedback with us! We're sorry you couldn't really enjoy staying with us! In regards to the rooms housekeeping cleans all the facilities every day and tries to make your stay as comfortable as possible. And in relation to the WiFi now we have free WiFi for everyone which is good working. Anyway we're happy to hear you liked our location and we hope to see you again. Best wishes, Base Crew!

Check Availability