We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Base Sydney

Hostel | 477 Kent Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

77.3% Overall Rating

343 out of 435 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2015)

"Fantastic hostel and our first stay in Australia was great.amazing location and staff are so helpful. Rooms could be cleaner and beds need checking over as most squeek but or are damaged. The showers and toilets are…"

Read all Base Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.90
  • Breakfast USD 4.68
  • Towel USD 3.12

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
21.07 USD

Hostel 65.9% 77 reviews
World Square Hostel
14.83 USD

Hostel 81.9% 265 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.51 USD

Hostel 61.1% 35 reviews
Strattons Hostel
14.83 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
Nomads Westend Backpackers
17.95 USD

Hostel 72.5% 543 reviews
Maze Backpackers
19.51 USD

Hostel 73.5% 634 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
20.29 USD

Hostel 65.5% 397 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
21.85 USD

Hostel 71.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

343 out of 435 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Sydney'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
69.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 323 of 348 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Portella

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2015 James would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and customer friendly

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015

Liked: Location was the only good thing about the hostel

Disliked: The Kitchen was in the basement, we basically never ate with a fork because there was always stuff missing, there were only a couple of stoves that actually worked properly, the others took forever to bring water to boil. I never saw anybody clean the bathrooms and didn't feel like they were very clean. THe rooms were okay, but the beds squeeked a bit. One time a boy came into our room with his key card even though he didn't sleep in that room, so much for your stuff being safe. Some of the showers didn't work. They wanted us to pay for the lockers at the end of our stay even though we stayed there for quite a while. If you get the chance, I would highly recommend staying at a different hostel in Sydney.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Donner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2015 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very big, clean rooms and i love the comfortable beds

Disliked: Aktually nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel and our first stay in Australia was great.amazing location and staff are so helpful. Rooms could be cleaner and beds need checking over as most squeek but or are damaged. The showers and toilets are really clean and always hot. kitchen could do with more resources to use. Overall though, a great stay and would definately stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fotis sahertian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 fotis would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bad kitchen

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Ludolf

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2015 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

David Capper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2014

Liked: The location was brilliant, really central and walking distance to a lot of the city. Some of the staff were really friendly and helpful, although others weren't. The bar next door (that seems to be owned by the same people) offered good cheap meals and drink deals for guests of the hostel.

Disliked: The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were all filthy compared to other hostels of a similar price we have stayed in. It's much larger, but must make a lot of money from the number of people that stay there, and more of this should be used to create a pleasant place to stay. There were a large number of guests who were living there for very long periods at a time. As a result we felt sort of like we were invading their room as they were already so settled (and messy) and this made us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome. I realise they need to stay somewhere, but perhaps the hostel would be better putting long-term guests together, or ensuring the rooms are kept clean. It seemed on one day that this was going to happen, as an unfriendly poster was placed on our door warning us of a 'spring clean' and that anything left on the floor or on our bed would be thrown away. We struggled to squeeze our belongings into the lockers (they're large, but the people living there took up more than the one they were allocated), only to see that the spring clean actually consisted of two seconds hoovering the floor and opening the curtains. We also saw the beds being changed after a guest left the room, and were disgusted to see that the duvet cover is not actually changed or cleaned, only the pillow case and bottom sheet. This is awful, as we have no idea how many years ago the duvet covers were changed, and there is no indication that this is not done. This is especially ridiculous as there was a sign in our room encouraging us not to use our own bedding in case you bring in any "nasties". The kitchen was large enough to accomodate most people (although it was a squeeze at peak times, as can be expected) but did not seem to be policed particularly well. Everything was filthy and we were reluctant to use things without washing them first. There also weren't enough utensils or usable pans to go around. We did see someone drying in the evening, but it does not seem to be done often enough, or to a high enough standard. I'm not someone with ridiculous standards of hygiene and understand it's difficult with a large scale hostel, but it just felt like nobody really cared about it.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 August 2014

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: It did not meet my expectations

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Carpets not clean including the carpet in the lift, not always hot showers. Door to room did not lock, was noted to staff but not repaired.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jessica Bourke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how close it was to down town

Disliked: They need new breeding and the carpets need a good clean. My big blanket had throw up on it when I checked in and my room smelt like piss..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They provide free activities to do like a free bus to do the bondi beach walk and even provided a BBQ for free

Disliked: N/A

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014

Liked: Location was great, price was reasonable for sydney.

Disliked: The bunk beds squeaked, the peoples respect for each other in this hostel is pathetic. Too many drunken people, we has security guards and even policemen coming into the room at 4am, regarding a drunken boy. Just not really acceptable at that time of night. Didn't have one good night sleep in the 3 nights I stayed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christian Oliver Lay

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Christian Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, very Central

Disliked: No free wifi, our luggage didnt fit in the lockers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, comfy beds, big kitchen n lots of fridge space, regular cleaning and good location!

Disliked: A little pricey compared to other hostels in aus. Building work within n next to hostel a bit annoying

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is the best, lots of bathrooms and clean!

Disliked: Air con in some bedrooms ott (boyfriend got bad cold). Breakfast: cheap toast and crap cereal 6 dollars....when you can get thst for free in other hostels! No deals on longer term stay!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 February 2014

Liked: Easy to find, good location.

Disliked: Smelled funky, there was loud construction going on outside until at least 3am.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good central location, nice helpful friendly staff, loads of comfy couches to chill out in, massive kitchen, they offer great discounts on some of the more expensive touristy things like the Aquarium, Sydney Tower etc. Rooms are fine too, if you book the girl only dorm you get free towel and toiletries which is nice!

Disliked: I stayed there over Christmas when it was quite busy so there was some noise at night with people partying, mostly just music from the Scary Canary bar next door. Generally it was fine though.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013

Liked: Good location, close to shopping areas and city attractions.

Disliked: Unfreniendly and not helpful receptionist during check in.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 December 2013

Liked: Central location and travel desk.

Disliked: Lots of disrespectful, impoverished travellers and a very rude staff member at check-in (he was French with an american-sounding accent). Too expensive for what it was. On balance, apart from the location, I would not recommend this place.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that Base was in the perfect location. It was also clean and secure with helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: My lone complaint was that they did not provide any activities that would help enable people to meet one another.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kirsty Goode

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere!

Disliked: Kirsty left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the events

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was in an 8 bed dormitory and there was enough space for everyone in the room, which is something that I really appreciate.

Disliked: I know it does not happens always, there were some work in progress...but there was only cold water when i arrived and during the night... freezing cold... the day after was ok, by the way they should have done something more for theis customers in that occasion.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiza Leite

Alone

Business / conference

07 November 2013 Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel that I ever stayed at.

Disliked: N/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect.

Disliked: Poor reception of wifi in the room and ants in the room.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels