HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Sydney Sydney Hostel

477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 79%

Staff 77%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.53USD
  • Luggage Room 3.78USD
  • Towel 3.02USD

Important Information

We have a 48 hour cancellation policy however during The Christmas and New years period All bookings due to arrive between the 22nd of December and 2nd of January will be charged in full on the 1st of December. There are no No cancellations in this period. A minimum stay of 10 nights is required if staying during the Christmas and New Year period, from 22nd December 2016 to 2nd January 2017.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 79%

Staff 77%

Value 70%

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location is great, really good atmosphere

Disliked: A guy in our room was ridiculously creepy

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Very close to CBD and train station

Disliked: Secure lockers would be preferred

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in a private room with an ensuite. We had hoped to stay in a hotel (way too expensive in Sydney) but found that the service and rooms here were comparable to what you would get in a hotel anyway! Towels, soaps and shampoos were provided and our room was made up daily. The reception staff were flat-out when we arrrived but were still super friendly and made sure they attended to everyone in a timely fashion.The room we were in was very well sound-proofed and we had a nice view into the city. We also had our own TV and very effective heating/cooling.Couldn't have been happier! Great value for money!!!

Disliked: Nothing :)

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: Cleanliness of the room in particular and the whole place in general was atrocious. I was shocked to see such poor standards in an Australian establishment.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The most

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is fantastic, 5 minutes from Darling Harbour. I stayed in a double room, the bed was extremely comfortable, plus the shower facilities I was sharing with one other room were good. The free shampoos and conditioners are also a nice touch, however I'm not sure if you get this luxury if your staying in a dorm.

Disliked: The noise, extremely loud traffics. It's quite didficult to sleep, thankfully I was exhausted most days and the bed was comfy. I would say the guests at this hostel are a young, party crowd and therefore very noisy and the bar/nightclub next door is very loud. I would say this hostel is aimed at a young party crowd, so if that isn't your thing a yha is probably a better bet.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: It was close to everything.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: We stayed in a double with private bathroom, so I can't vouch for the dorms but the room was pretty amazing. A bit small, but super comfy bed, clean, block out curtains, shower was awesome...

Disliked: Reviews are true - staff are surly.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was brilliant, it's a lively, busy hostel which is what you'd normally look for

Disliked: The majority of the reception are beyond rude and patronising, I felt extreamly awkward trying to extend my stay, it then worked out to be more expensive to book it through the hostel then online!!! There was dry sick down the side of one of the beds in the dorm room, which looked like it has been there a while. Due to the rooms high price, you'd expect to have free wifi, but you still have to pay for wifi which doesn't even work in the rooms. Upon checkout, luggage storage isn't free either.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean and customer friendly

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability