We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Base Sydney

Hostel | 477 Kent Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

77.1% Overall Rating

338 out of 427 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/05/2014)

"They provide free activities to do like a free bus to do the bondi beach walk and even provided a BBQ for free"

Read all Base Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.52
  • Breakfast USD 5.42
  • Towel USD 3.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
20.79 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
World Square Hostel
20.79 USD

Hostel 81.1% 255 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
18.98 USD

Hostel 65.5% 31 reviews
Strattons Hostel
20.79 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
Nomads Westend Backpackers
18.08 USD

Hostel 72.7% 522 reviews
Maze Backpackers
19.89 USD

Hostel 78.7% 611 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
21.70 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
20.11 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.1%

Overall Rating

338 out of 427 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Sydney'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
68.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 316 of 340 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2011

Liked: meet great people in my room, party was fun.

Disliked: check-in system always have problems, waste my time.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011

Liked: good location - own travel agency with nice offers

Disliked: very bad equipped and dirty kitchen - computers often defect (headset, card reader, mouse,...), expensiv lockers (also for early arrivals on the check in day), not realy clean, sometimes unfriendly staff, ... overall pretty average

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2010

Liked: It's in a decent location.

Disliked: They charge you for absolutely everything, wifi, breakfast etc it's a joke.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, really clean, staff really helpful, met some really cool people, scary canary is jokes!

Disliked: prices going up because of christmas, but like everywhere else i guess!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was clean and in a good location. The staff was super helpful. I would recommed to stay here as I have stayed in two other hostels in Sydney that were not clean.

Disliked: Expensive wifi

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2010

Liked: Clean.

Disliked: Reception was absolute chaos, long queues to check in, check out, move room, in fact to do anything.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room was spacious, and bar was good fun.

Disliked: there should be free lockers in the rooms. plus you cant store luggage on checkout day, you have to pay for a locker.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: next to the city centre. party hostel

Disliked: it was quite dirty and people were having sex (!) in the room, ugly! expensive!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms, great friendly staff, amazing central location and everything you need for a comfortable stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

22 November 2010

Liked: It was in the heart of downtown.

Disliked: The people who stay at this location are rude and loud. No one at Base Sydney even remotely tried to enforce the rules. They had little to no involvement with the travelers. People were drinking in the hall ways causing problems at 1am. When we tried to check in they over charged us. They messed up on our towles and we were supposed to get two refunds, not one. They messed up on checking us out as well.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

14 November 2010

Liked: Clean.

Disliked: My room somehow got overbooked, so although I had a bed when I first checked in, when I returned a couple of hours later all the beds were taken! Considering it was 1:30 in the morning, the girl at reception couldn't do much -- my money was refunded and I ended up staying at the bar next door until I had to leave for the airport at 5:30 a.m. I wasn't too impressed with the situation, although I give credit to the staff member for trying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Any questions were always answered to the best of the staff's ability. Showers always had hot water and clean.

Disliked: Next door to Scary Canary and could hear the music pounding away, Not much natural light. Bed's too noisy and kept waking me up when people moved during the night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

tashina frazier

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

12 November 2010 tashina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness and the proximity to the subway and buses. i also like that there was a bar inside, for those lazy nights.

Disliked: It felt a bit English at times..and sometimes they kind of kept to themselves because they were all from the same place.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and the dorms were really nice and clean.

Disliked: Lots of groups of people (not many single travellers who wanted to chat)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeremy Onysko

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 October 2010 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and atmosphere. Great for meeting other young travelers. Only stayed for one night so don't have much else to add except was a good choice.

Disliked: Jeremy left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively good location

Disliked: The main receptionist was the rudest woman i have ever met. Would ignore you, then roll her eyes when you asked a question. She told us incorrect information about a bus which saw us waiting at a bus stop unnecessarily for half an hour!! She also charged us too much for our room, made a snide comment when i asked her how much internet was. She was just awful!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicola Bailey

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 September 2010 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and nice and clean place to stay

Disliked: Queuing for reception a lot of times!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carol radlett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2010 carol would recommend this property

Liked: Its clean, friendly and just a great place to stay!

Disliked: Expensive interenet

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: the lounge was uncomfortable, the room had longer term guests so it was super croweded and messy and the bar was too loud. also i had to leave my bags at 7am and come back at noon after a 12 hour bus ride, when it said check in anytime i assumed id get a room right away

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: too much self promotion, promoting average nights out

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Torill Marianne Nilsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2010 Torill Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: Best bunk beds I have ever slept in. You can actually turn around and not fall out, and sit up straight witout banging your head.

Disliked: Not enough bowls in the kitchen and the pots and pans dont have a handle.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, location, location - clean, comfortable, great facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people. Location is more or less perfect.No free internet is a big let down as its too expensive and slow when using the wifi.. People working in reception are pretty good apart from one or two but apart from that nothing bad to say about the place. Would definately recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and fun people!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, pretty clean, scary canary is pretty legit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels