We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Base Sydney

Hostel | 477 Kent Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

77.1% Overall Rating

345 out of 439 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/06/2015)

"The location is fantastic, 5 minutes from Darling Harbour. I stayed in a double room, the bed was extremely comfortable, plus the shower facilities I was sharing with one other room were good. The free shampoos and…"

Read all Base Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.84
  • Breakfast USD 4.61
  • Towel USD 3.07

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
18.45 USD

Hostel 66.6% 79 reviews
World Square Hostel
14.60 USD

Hostel 84.7% 282 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
16.91 USD

Hostel 61.1% 35 reviews
Strattons Hostel
17.68 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
Nomads Westend Backpackers
13.84 USD

Hostel 64.6% 556 reviews
Maze Backpackers
18.45 USD

Hostel 78.4% 651 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
18.45 USD

Hostel 65.4% 400 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
18.26 USD

Hostel 71.0% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.1%

Overall Rating

345 out of 439 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Sydney'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
70.4%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 327 of 352 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2011

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Too loud on Most Nights. No plugs in The Room, AC Too Cold and not changeable. The kitchen was disgusting and The bathroom dirty.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Scary Canary's

Disliked: Nil.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar next door and great entertainment offerings. Big rooms and toilets on the hallway. Some of the staff and entertainment people were nice. Beach trip was cool.

Disliked: I arrived at 9 am, instead of going to rest after a long flight, I had to wonder around the city for 5 hours cause I couldn't get a room until 2 pm. Kitchen lacks equipment. Internet is outrageously expensive. For 30 dollars a night, it should be included in the room price.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen,rooms and atmosphere!!!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to darling harbour and great activities. Also the travel agent was very helpful when wanting to plan trips or ask about activities to do

Disliked: A lot of drunk people wandering around late at night made it difficult to sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, well equiped and smelt nice

Disliked: a bit expensive

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Amazing!

Disliked: Kitchen smelt a little bit funny

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the heart of the city centre, close to amenities, QVB and Chinatown. Low frill and economical. Key card access to bedrooms and bathroom. GOOD and safe for ladies. One stop shop from internet to shuttle bus booking to extreme sports booking. I love the concept of an open kitchen in the basement. great place to hangout and get to know others.

Disliked: It's a 5-6 storey old building with one tiny lift that is perpetually out of service. I hear the receptionist apologizing to each new check-in guest with the same story "Oh... our lift is temporarily out of service... etc... " That's BS.. it's been spoilt for a long time and we didn't even see anyone attempting to fix it in the 4 days we were there! duh.. Booking of airport shuttle can only be made on the day before departure.. WHY? so strange.. why can't i book shuttle ahead of time.. why so restricted. oh... it can only be between this time and this time... oops.. sorry.. it's 6.01pm.. i can't take your booking now! puke blood.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff and very well priced.

Disliked: Lift took a very long time, bed bunks were very noisy to get into.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brit Bille Albrektsen

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2011 Brit Bille would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice

Disliked: The ridiculously expensive internet rates

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Greenow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Pipes in the room right above my head (when in the top bunk)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Dicken

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice people. Very safe and good security.

Disliked: No free wifi

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011

Liked: Very clean, good rooms

Disliked: Not that much atmosphere...kitchen is in the basement, not light and colorful enough! And everything!! costs extra money

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janet Peh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: I love the idea of 'sanctuary' whereby it is a girl dominatory. It is a fresh, interesting idea and it is safe especially for girls who travel alone. In addition, I am happy and amazed that the sheets for the bed and pillow are clean and comfortable unlike other hostels. The staff are all helpful and polite especially when I met with the cancellation of the flight in melbourne, they had help me in the processing and facilitating of the changes of my reservation. In addition, in the property itself, they also provide elevator service which is suitable for urbanites like us in lugging of our luggages. I will defintely be going back to stay and enjoy the fun activities they had planned for us in which I had missed out a lot!!! =)

Disliked: None that I can recall.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the female sancturary was a good place if you wanted to stay away from the rowdiness of the place

Disliked: i didnt think it was right that the folk from the bar next door 'scary canery' had a key to get in all the rooms to round people up for drink offers, alot of people we're asleep and it take away any privacy you can have in hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Koenig

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room and bathroom!

Disliked: Loud

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel just to spend a weekend. Great location

Disliked: free bus transfer from airport was confusing. Lift was broken so it was difficult to haul bags up stairs. It too quiet a long time to check in and out

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure. Pub next door was good for meeting people. Just be warned it is a bit trashy!

Disliked: bathrooms weren't too clean. Staff took ages to process everything

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Eleanor Harris

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 June 2011 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: amazing location, great people, good bar, cheap

Disliked: noisy and dirty

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

John Tumbridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011

Liked: Was very central. Very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: Was far too much of a teenage party hostel for my taste. I love a bit of partying but felt like I was stuck in the middle of an 18 - 30 holiday in Ibiza!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Penn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Noise not properly regulated in sleeping areas late at night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Base Sydney is AMAZING! It has a brilliant central location, right in the middle of CBD. Rooms are really really nice, and staff will upgrade you for a lower price if they can. Really good buzz about the place, so easy to meet people, especially in tv room and smokers! tv room is open 24hours and best place to meet everyone after a night out! scary canarys is right next door, and they always give you free drinks offers etc. I LOVE BASE!!

Disliked: i didnt stay long enough

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shauna Lynch

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2011 Shauna would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that they set up fun things; i found out about the free walking tour with peek tours through the hostel, which was great! Also, i took part in the friday free beach day, and the saturday night bus crawl which was super fun!

Disliked: I stayed with three other people who were looking for jobs. So it was a little strange, maybe you should keep travellers together, and people who have been there longer/live there together. That way room mates have more in common.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

paul connolly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 May 2011 paul would recommend this property

Liked: location - helpfullness of staff - 24 hr reception

Disliked: no tthe cleanest. bathrooms miles away from room. kitchen was a bit chaotic. too big too many people. not much storage space.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Baaner

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 May 2011 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to everything

Disliked: No alcohol consumption in rooms, i understand this would cause problems but it is quite inconvenient.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels