HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Sydney Sydney Hostel

477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 82%

Staff 77%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.59USD
  • Luggage Room 3.82USD
  • Towel 3.06USD

Important Information

We have a 48 hour cancellation policy however during The Christmas and New years period All bookings due to arrive between the 22nd of December and 2nd of January will be charged in full on the 1st of December. There are no No cancellations in this period. A minimum stay of 10 nights is required if staying during the Christmas and New Year period, from 22nd December 2016 to 2nd January 2017.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 82%

Staff 77%

Value 73%

Showing 41-37 of 37 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Amazing location, very nice staff, and very clean.

Disliked: It'd be nice if check-out was a bit later, as it was hard to wake up on time to check-out by 10am after a big night out!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: The location was great !

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great location central to the city and near many popular locations ie. a few minutes walk to Darling Harbour and Hyde Park, friendly and helpful staff, the Scary Canary (cheap drinks were brilliant) right next door, free services such as beach trips etc. Oh, and the free foosball table was great!

Disliked: if you can't sleep with noise, it can be quite hard to fall asleep as you can pretty much hear everything, including the music from the club next door. Also, our door was quite difficult and noisy to open, though I guess that's a matter of chance. That's pretty much it.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's really chilled out and friendly. Nice rooms, facilities kept really clean. Super helpful staff. Good location.

Disliked: The announcement into the room was a bit unexpected but think it only happened once. Could kinda hear the bar music but not so much it kept you awake and it's to be expected really.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Central location - the only thing going for it.

Disliked: Cleanliness was terrible and the staff had the worse attitude ever! - especially the "supervisor" who was scruffy and on some sort of power trip.We had to ask 4 times for new sheets to be put on our bed as we stayed here a week, but non were ever supplied.The staff can't communicate between themselves properly. - lack of proper, decent mgmt.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Bed was comfortable, good location.

Disliked: Staff were not particularly friendly. I'd booked through Hostelbookers but they hadn't entered my booking into their system - luckily they had space. Signs everywhere around the hostel saying 'no alcohol' in rooms but this was not enforced by staff.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Right in the heart of the city with heaps of things to do and lots of offers available through the Base travel people

Disliked: As an "older" person I felt a bit out of place (I'm 50 next year - our family of 7 stayed at XBase while visiting Sydney for our eldest daughter's graduation from college), but I can see that these hostels are a great option, especially for young people who are travelling and just really need a bed and somewhere to store their stuff. The kitchen also means they don't have to eat out all the time - that would be a bit expensive in Oz.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Not much. Decent central location

Disliked: the staff were miserable, the place was so noisy and full of wasted 18 yr olds

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Although the toilets were fairly clean, new toilet seats would not be a bad idea! Showers weren't great. Some staff abrupt and unhelpful, although majority very nice. **WARNING** make all bookings on a card as cash payments mysteriously disappear. This happened to myself and a friend. We paid for a night in cash but when our keys stopped working we were told that our booking was not on the system. As we paid cash we had no receipt and no proof we paid. Luckily I had a nice member of staff who managed to sort out the issue, my friend had a not so helpful member of staff who made him pay again! This is not acceptable and either someone can't do their job or someone has their fingers in the till.........

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a nice location if you want to go everywhere around during the day. If you want to get pissed I guess it's the place. They give you free goon on some tours Lucky you........

Disliked: The staff I had to deal with was not nice. They stuff up my booking and charge me the first price I was suppose to pay even if because I was in a bigger dorm it should have been cheaper. They haven't confirm or tell me before I arrived about the change in my booking that they decided to do, so I haven't had a chance to change of hostel because the room I wanted was not available anymore. REALLY BAD VALUE FOR MONEY. I don't think there's any curfew. I asked to my roomates if they could go somewhere else to talk at 23h15 so we could go to bed. No body cared. Finally at 2 AM they decided it was time for bed, so I could finally sleep. The hostel is one of them where they are just there to do money and don't really care about customer service.

Check Availability