We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Base Sydney

Hostel | 477 Kent Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

76.2% Overall Rating

338 out of 428 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

David Capper thinks…

"The location was brilliant, really central and walking distance to a lot of the city. Some of the staff were really friendly and helpful, although others weren't. The bar next door (that seems to be…"

Read all Base Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.37
  • Breakfast USD 5.24
  • Towel USD 3.49

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
World Square Hostel
24.45 USD

Hostel 80.5% 257 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 65.5% 31 reviews
Strattons Hostel
24.45 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
Nomads Westend Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 72.9% 523 reviews
Maze Backpackers
26.20 USD

Hostel 80.6% 612 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
24.45 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
26.20 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

338 out of 428 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Sydney'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
66.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 317 of 341 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Greenow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Pipes in the room right above my head (when in the top bunk)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Dicken

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice people. Very safe and good security.

Disliked: No free wifi

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011

Liked: Very clean, good rooms

Disliked: Not that much atmosphere...kitchen is in the basement, not light and colorful enough! And everything!! costs extra money

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janet Peh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: I love the idea of 'sanctuary' whereby it is a girl dominatory. It is a fresh, interesting idea and it is safe especially for girls who travel alone. In addition, I am happy and amazed that the sheets for the bed and pillow are clean and comfortable unlike other hostels. The staff are all helpful and polite especially when I met with the cancellation of the flight in melbourne, they had help me in the processing and facilitating of the changes of my reservation. In addition, in the property itself, they also provide elevator service which is suitable for urbanites like us in lugging of our luggages. I will defintely be going back to stay and enjoy the fun activities they had planned for us in which I had missed out a lot!!! =)

Disliked: None that I can recall.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the female sancturary was a good place if you wanted to stay away from the rowdiness of the place

Disliked: i didnt think it was right that the folk from the bar next door 'scary canery' had a key to get in all the rooms to round people up for drink offers, alot of people we're asleep and it take away any privacy you can have in hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Koenig

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room and bathroom!

Disliked: Loud

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel just to spend a weekend. Great location

Disliked: free bus transfer from airport was confusing. Lift was broken so it was difficult to haul bags up stairs. It too quiet a long time to check in and out

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure. Pub next door was good for meeting people. Just be warned it is a bit trashy!

Disliked: bathrooms weren't too clean. Staff took ages to process everything

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Eleanor Harris

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 June 2011 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: amazing location, great people, good bar, cheap

Disliked: noisy and dirty

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

John Tumbridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011

Liked: Was very central. Very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: Was far too much of a teenage party hostel for my taste. I love a bit of partying but felt like I was stuck in the middle of an 18 - 30 holiday in Ibiza!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Penn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Noise not properly regulated in sleeping areas late at night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Base Sydney is AMAZING! It has a brilliant central location, right in the middle of CBD. Rooms are really really nice, and staff will upgrade you for a lower price if they can. Really good buzz about the place, so easy to meet people, especially in tv room and smokers! tv room is open 24hours and best place to meet everyone after a night out! scary canarys is right next door, and they always give you free drinks offers etc. I LOVE BASE!!

Disliked: i didnt stay long enough

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shauna Lynch

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2011 Shauna would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that they set up fun things; i found out about the free walking tour with peek tours through the hostel, which was great! Also, i took part in the friday free beach day, and the saturday night bus crawl which was super fun!

Disliked: I stayed with three other people who were looking for jobs. So it was a little strange, maybe you should keep travellers together, and people who have been there longer/live there together. That way room mates have more in common.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

paul connolly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 May 2011 paul would recommend this property

Liked: location - helpfullness of staff - 24 hr reception

Disliked: no tthe cleanest. bathrooms miles away from room. kitchen was a bit chaotic. too big too many people. not much storage space.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Baaner

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 May 2011 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to everything

Disliked: No alcohol consumption in rooms, i understand this would cause problems but it is quite inconvenient.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, and good facilities. Loads of organised trips to the beach including free transport and food. Rooms were cleaned every day and the bathrooms were always tidy.

Disliked: The kitchen was large but always really messy and most of the hobs didnt work.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Uwe Rieger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 Uwe would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: not allowed to smoke and even beer wasn't allowed to drink, but fortunately the staff didn't care about.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fabulous!

Disliked: I feel like there could have been a larger number of staff at the front desk - there was almost always a lineup all throughout the day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Berghofen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2011 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: It´s in the center, it´s clean, nice atmosphare, it´s the money worth!

Disliked: nothing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Visiting friends or family

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No free Internet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: meet a lot of people

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011

Liked: Location absolutely perfection, so easy to get around really big kitchen, annoying there is no kettle but otherwise really well equipped nice clean rooms

Disliked: mainstream hostel = mainstream crowd = mainstream eurotrash bar, strong "party lads on tour" vibe, dont get me wrong i love to go out but this place isnt good to meet fellow backpacking characters hidden costs irritating such as internet, lockers, late checkout etc very clear this is a chain hostel as the staff are strict about sticking to the regulations, which creates limitations, bad atmosphere n makes the staff unhelpful.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There were generally great facilities, atmosphere and location to this hostel, it was equipted with with a large kitchen, laundry and a tv room.

Disliked: Our room did not have one power outlet to charge anything also there was a $14 charge for a day for lockers to keep luggage.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Catalina Adarme-Vega

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2011 Catalina would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: the power plugs from the bedrooms do not work or simple it doesn't have one!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, great kitchen, good atmosphere.

Disliked: The one single overused lift. Perhaps a tad overpriced, but such is Sydney.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels