HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Base Sydney

Hostel | 477 Kent Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

78.7% Overall Rating

333 out of 421 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/03/2014)

"Nice rooms, comfy beds, big kitchen n lots of fridge space, regular cleaning and good location!"

Read all Base Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.65
  • Breakfast USD 5.58
  • Towel USD 3.72

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
21.39 USD

Hostel 63.0% 72 reviews
World Square Hostel
26.04 USD

Hostel 79.0% 251 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.53 USD

Hostel 65.1% 29 reviews
Strattons Hostel
24.18 USD

Hostel 63.9% 28 reviews
Nomads Westend Backpackers
14.88 USD

Hostel 71.7% 494 reviews
Maze Backpackers
23.25 USD

Hostel 63.7% 585 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.32 USD

Hostel 65.8% 393 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
24.41 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

333 out of 421 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Sydney'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 312 of 334 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011

Liked: The location was great- we walked everywhere.

Disliked: There was no natural ventilation in our room- a frosted window that we couldn't open. The room was hot and stuffy. The kitchen is located in the the basement, so kitchen smells travel up the stair well etc. The staff were SLOW and unhelpful. We didn't attend any of the hostel activities, and we were shocked at the options on offer - wet t-shirt competitions, 'sexy saturday' - if I had been a female solo traveller I would not have checked into such a hostel. I am an extensive traveller and have never seen such crude and tacky suggestions for theme nights.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ian Prince

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Location, lockers in room, storage lockers (although you had to pay), plenty of washers/dryers in laundry.

Disliked: Wifi expensive to start with but so slow it makes it a joke. Don't stay here of you need wifi. Having to pay for storage lockers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and fantastic value for money. Had cheap meals and drinks in the bar. Brilliant if you want the mental traveller experience.

Disliked: Felt like a non-stop annoying freshers week in the communal areas. The mattresses were stained a lovely shade of yellow, and the rooms were 'cosy'. Our room in particular didn't have an outside window so would have been very stuffy if it was warmer, it instead had a window, without a curtain, that looked into a dusty rafter space where the light was constantly on!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is defenitly great, very close to CBD

Disliked: If you dont like to party it may not be the hostel for you! 400 drunken teenies each night - bring your ear plugs!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Laura Sissons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: big storage lockers

Disliked: overpriced for what I got

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Taylor Sutcliffe

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011

Liked: Location was decent.

Disliked: The staff was not attentive or helpful at all. The kitchen was inadequately supplied with pots/pans/cutlery and was also really hot and kind of felt like a dungeon in the basement. The staff stripped my bed and failed to replace my pillow even though I was not checking out for another day. Ultimately, I probably wouldn't stay here again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathryn Tatti

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: It was ideal location, cost, and perfect for our short visit to Sydney.... IT WAS FANTASTIC, Will definately be coming back again and again and again!!

Disliked: couldn't stay longer :( IT WAS AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME>> Sucks that we have to go home.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matilda Radovic

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2011 Matilda would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: 1) Having to wait ages to speak to reception. 2) No window to open in female sanctuary room, just a white pane of glass that you couldn't see out of, so no air in the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything you need is here, or otherwise they can arrange it. They have a lot of knowledge about Sydney and travelling in Australia in general. Dorm rooms are big enough, beds are quite comfortable. Lot's of entertainment, especially for the young backpackers. Very nice kitchen!

Disliked: You have to pay extra money for everything, really everything (laundry for example is $ 8 for every time, internet is $ 7,95 a day or $1 per 15 minutes, very expensive). Some of the dorm beds are very noisy. The staff can be very annoying and unhelpful sometimes (only at the reception) but they use a lot of temporarily staff (just people who want to live there for free and want to work a few hours every day, but they're not really dedicated to their job).

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was super clean and staff were knowledgable

Disliked: There wasn't a check in time on hostel bookers and when I arrived 'early' staff weren't very friendly

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2011

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Too loud on Most Nights. No plugs in The Room, AC Too Cold and not changeable. The kitchen was disgusting and The bathroom dirty.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Scary Canary's

Disliked: Nil.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar next door and great entertainment offerings. Big rooms and toilets on the hallway. Some of the staff and entertainment people were nice. Beach trip was cool.

Disliked: I arrived at 9 am, instead of going to rest after a long flight, I had to wonder around the city for 5 hours cause I couldn't get a room until 2 pm. Kitchen lacks equipment. Internet is outrageously expensive. For 30 dollars a night, it should be included in the room price.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen,rooms and atmosphere!!!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to darling harbour and great activities. Also the travel agent was very helpful when wanting to plan trips or ask about activities to do

Disliked: A lot of drunk people wandering around late at night made it difficult to sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, well equiped and smelt nice

Disliked: a bit expensive

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Amazing!

Disliked: Kitchen smelt a little bit funny

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the heart of the city centre, close to amenities, QVB and Chinatown. Low frill and economical. Key card access to bedrooms and bathroom. GOOD and safe for ladies. One stop shop from internet to shuttle bus booking to extreme sports booking. I love the concept of an open kitchen in the basement. great place to hangout and get to know others.

Disliked: It's a 5-6 storey old building with one tiny lift that is perpetually out of service. I hear the receptionist apologizing to each new check-in guest with the same story "Oh... our lift is temporarily out of service... etc... " That's BS.. it's been spoilt for a long time and we didn't even see anyone attempting to fix it in the 4 days we were there! duh.. Booking of airport shuttle can only be made on the day before departure.. WHY? so strange.. why can't i book shuttle ahead of time.. why so restricted. oh... it can only be between this time and this time... oops.. sorry.. it's 6.01pm.. i can't take your booking now! puke blood.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff and very well priced.

Disliked: Lift took a very long time, bed bunks were very noisy to get into.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brit Bille Albrektsen

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2011 Brit Bille would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice

Disliked: The ridiculously expensive internet rates

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Greenow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Pipes in the room right above my head (when in the top bunk)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Dicken

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice people. Very safe and good security.

Disliked: No free wifi

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011

Liked: Very clean, good rooms

Disliked: Not that much atmosphere...kitchen is in the basement, not light and colorful enough! And everything!! costs extra money

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janet Peh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: I love the idea of 'sanctuary' whereby it is a girl dominatory. It is a fresh, interesting idea and it is safe especially for girls who travel alone. In addition, I am happy and amazed that the sheets for the bed and pillow are clean and comfortable unlike other hostels. The staff are all helpful and polite especially when I met with the cancellation of the flight in melbourne, they had help me in the processing and facilitating of the changes of my reservation. In addition, in the property itself, they also provide elevator service which is suitable for urbanites like us in lugging of our luggages. I will defintely be going back to stay and enjoy the fun activities they had planned for us in which I had missed out a lot!!! =)

Disliked: None that I can recall.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the female sancturary was a good place if you wanted to stay away from the rowdiness of the place

Disliked: i didnt think it was right that the folk from the bar next door 'scary canery' had a key to get in all the rooms to round people up for drink offers, alot of people we're asleep and it take away any privacy you can have in hostel


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels