We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Base Sydney

Hostel | 477 Kent Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

76.5% Overall Rating

341 out of 432 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2015)

"Fantastic hostel and our first stay in Australia was great.amazing location and staff are so helpful. Rooms could be cleaner and beds need checking over as most squeek but or are damaged. The showers and toilets are…"

Read all Base Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.37
  • Breakfast USD 5.24
  • Towel USD 3.49

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
22.71 USD

Hostel 65.9% 77 reviews
World Square Hostel
16.59 USD

Hostel 81.5% 261 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
21.83 USD

Hostel 65.0% 32 reviews
Strattons Hostel
16.59 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
Nomads Westend Backpackers
19.21 USD

Hostel 74.9% 534 reviews
Maze Backpackers
21.83 USD

Hostel 76.8% 627 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.71 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
24.45 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.5%

Overall Rating

341 out of 432 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Sydney'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 320 of 344 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Maggs

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Was a really good location!

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Almaz Rabb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 January 2012 Almaz would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean with friendly staff. I found it to be really safe - nobody in my room even had to ever lock up their stuff! The people that stay there are really cool and like minded - you don't get creepy people like some other hostels. The rooms and bathrooms were nice and clean and cleaned very often. The kitchen was great with everything you needed and lots of safe storage for your own food. The hostel bar had $5 meals every night which were good too. The location was great as it was so close to everything and the airport shuttle dropped me right outside the door! I would stay here again for sure. Good value for money.

Disliked: Almaz left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, two minutes walk to George Street or Darling Harbor. Luggage safes under the bed are always handy. Rooms are clean too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Law

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were fab - especially Jonny, who works on reception :) - the hostel was really sociable and the rooms were spacious. There was a lounge area and kitchen as well as the bar, scary canary with plenty going on!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dominique Mcgoldrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: Big, clean, modern building at a great location. Good kitchen and common room area with lots of travel/work advice on hand.

Disliked: Reception messed up my booking but it was fixed in the end.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jonny and Amy a member of staff was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The kitchen and fridges were very unclean, there was not enough fridges for the amount of people that were there and they smelt very bad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is in the city

Disliked: not familiar

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Edward Sparks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: Its size and the backpackers in it. Particularly the slut who kept us awake with two different guys in one night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011

Liked: The location was great- we walked everywhere.

Disliked: There was no natural ventilation in our room- a frosted window that we couldn't open. The room was hot and stuffy. The kitchen is located in the the basement, so kitchen smells travel up the stair well etc. The staff were SLOW and unhelpful. We didn't attend any of the hostel activities, and we were shocked at the options on offer - wet t-shirt competitions, 'sexy saturday' - if I had been a female solo traveller I would not have checked into such a hostel. I am an extensive traveller and have never seen such crude and tacky suggestions for theme nights.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ian Prince

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Location, lockers in room, storage lockers (although you had to pay), plenty of washers/dryers in laundry.

Disliked: Wifi expensive to start with but so slow it makes it a joke. Don't stay here of you need wifi. Having to pay for storage lockers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and fantastic value for money. Had cheap meals and drinks in the bar. Brilliant if you want the mental traveller experience.

Disliked: Felt like a non-stop annoying freshers week in the communal areas. The mattresses were stained a lovely shade of yellow, and the rooms were 'cosy'. Our room in particular didn't have an outside window so would have been very stuffy if it was warmer, it instead had a window, without a curtain, that looked into a dusty rafter space where the light was constantly on!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is defenitly great, very close to CBD

Disliked: If you dont like to party it may not be the hostel for you! 400 drunken teenies each night - bring your ear plugs!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Laura Sissons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: big storage lockers

Disliked: overpriced for what I got

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Taylor Sutcliffe

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011

Liked: Location was decent.

Disliked: The staff was not attentive or helpful at all. The kitchen was inadequately supplied with pots/pans/cutlery and was also really hot and kind of felt like a dungeon in the basement. The staff stripped my bed and failed to replace my pillow even though I was not checking out for another day. Ultimately, I probably wouldn't stay here again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathryn Tatti

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: It was ideal location, cost, and perfect for our short visit to Sydney.... IT WAS FANTASTIC, Will definately be coming back again and again and again!!

Disliked: couldn't stay longer :( IT WAS AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME>> Sucks that we have to go home.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matilda Radovic

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2011 Matilda would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: 1) Having to wait ages to speak to reception. 2) No window to open in female sanctuary room, just a white pane of glass that you couldn't see out of, so no air in the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything you need is here, or otherwise they can arrange it. They have a lot of knowledge about Sydney and travelling in Australia in general. Dorm rooms are big enough, beds are quite comfortable. Lot's of entertainment, especially for the young backpackers. Very nice kitchen!

Disliked: You have to pay extra money for everything, really everything (laundry for example is $ 8 for every time, internet is $ 7,95 a day or $1 per 15 minutes, very expensive). Some of the dorm beds are very noisy. The staff can be very annoying and unhelpful sometimes (only at the reception) but they use a lot of temporarily staff (just people who want to live there for free and want to work a few hours every day, but they're not really dedicated to their job).

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was super clean and staff were knowledgable

Disliked: There wasn't a check in time on hostel bookers and when I arrived 'early' staff weren't very friendly

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2011

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Too loud on Most Nights. No plugs in The Room, AC Too Cold and not changeable. The kitchen was disgusting and The bathroom dirty.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Scary Canary's

Disliked: Nil.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar next door and great entertainment offerings. Big rooms and toilets on the hallway. Some of the staff and entertainment people were nice. Beach trip was cool.

Disliked: I arrived at 9 am, instead of going to rest after a long flight, I had to wonder around the city for 5 hours cause I couldn't get a room until 2 pm. Kitchen lacks equipment. Internet is outrageously expensive. For 30 dollars a night, it should be included in the room price.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen,rooms and atmosphere!!!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to darling harbour and great activities. Also the travel agent was very helpful when wanting to plan trips or ask about activities to do

Disliked: A lot of drunk people wandering around late at night made it difficult to sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, well equiped and smelt nice

Disliked: a bit expensive

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Amazing!

Disliked: Kitchen smelt a little bit funny

The property's response is...


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels