HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Sydney Sydney Hostel

477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 79%

Staff 77%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.58USD
  • Luggage Room 3.82USD
  • Towel 3.06USD

Important Information

We have a 48 hour cancellation policy however during The Christmas and New years period All bookings due to arrive between the 22nd of December and 2nd of January will be charged in full on the 1st of December. There are no No cancellations in this period. A minimum stay of 10 nights is required if staying during the Christmas and New Year period, from 22nd December 2016 to 2nd January 2017.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 79%

Staff 77%

Value 70%

Showing 11-20 of 37 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere, very big, clean rooms and i love the comfortable beds

Disliked: Aktually nothing

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was the only good thing about the hostel

Disliked: The Kitchen was in the basement, we basically never ate with a fork because there was always stuff missing, there were only a couple of stoves that actually worked properly, the others took forever to bring water to boil. I never saw anybody clean the bathrooms and didn't feel like they were very clean. THe rooms were okay, but the beds squeeked a bit. One time a boy came into our room with his key card even though he didn't sleep in that room, so much for your stuff being safe. Some of the showers didn't work. They wanted us to pay for the lockers at the end of our stay even though we stayed there for quite a while. If you get the chance, I would highly recommend staying at a different hostel in Sydney.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Fantastic hostel and our first stay in Australia was great.amazing location and staff are so helpful. Rooms could be cleaner and beds need checking over as most squeek but or are damaged. The showers and toilets are really clean and always hot. kitchen could do with more resources to use. Overall though, a great stay and would definately stay again.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bad kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was brilliant, really central and walking distance to a lot of the city. Some of the staff were really friendly and helpful, although others weren't. The bar next door (that seems to be owned by the same people) offered good cheap meals and drink deals for guests of the hostel.

Disliked: The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were all filthy compared to other hostels of a similar price we have stayed in. It's much larger, but must make a lot of money from the number of people that stay there, and more of this should be used to create a pleasant place to stay.There were a large number of guests who were living there for very long periods at a time. As a result we felt sort of like we were invading their room as they were already so settled (and messy) and this made us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome. I realise they need to stay somewhere, but perhaps the hostel would be better putting long-term guests together, or ensuring the rooms are kept clean.It seemed on one day that this was going to happen, as an unfriendly poster was placed on our door warning us of a 'spring clean' and that anything left on the floor or on our bed would be thrown away. We struggled to squeeze our belongings into the lockers (they're large, but the people living there took up more than the one they were allocated), only to see that the spring clean actually consisted of two seconds hoovering the floor and opening the curtains.We also saw the beds being changed after a guest left the room, and were disgusted to see that the duvet cover is not actually changed or cleaned, only the pillow case and bottom sheet. This is awful, as we have no idea how many years ago the duvet covers were changed, and there is no indication that this is not done. This is especially ridiculous as there was a sign in our room encouraging us not to use our own bedding in case you bring in any "nasties".The kitchen was large enough to accomodate most people (although it was a squeeze at peak times, as can be expected) but did not seem to be policed particularly well. Everything was filthy and we were reluctant to use things without washing them first. There also weren't enough utensils or usable pans to go around. We did see someone drying in the evening, but it does not seem to be done often enough, or to a high enough standard.I'm not someone with ridiculous standards of hygiene and understand it's difficult with a large scale hostel, but it just felt like nobody really cared about it.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: It did not meet my expectations

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Carpets not clean including the carpet in the lift, not always hot showers. Door to room did not lock, was noted to staff but not repaired.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I liked how close it was to down town

Disliked: They need new breeding and the carpets need a good clean. My big blanket had throw up on it when I checked in and my room smelt like piss..

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: They provide free activities to do like a free bus to do the bondi beach walk and even provided a BBQ for free

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability