We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Base Sydney

Hostel | 477 Kent Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

76.2% Overall Rating

338 out of 428 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

David Capper thinks…

"The location was brilliant, really central and walking distance to a lot of the city. Some of the staff were really friendly and helpful, although others weren't. The bar next door (that seems to be…"

Read all Base Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.37
  • Breakfast USD 5.24
  • Towel USD 3.49

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 66.7% 76 reviews
World Square Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 81.1% 255 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
19.21 USD

Hostel 65.5% 31 reviews
Strattons Hostel
20.09 USD

Hostel 66.2% 29 reviews
Nomads Westend Backpackers
19.21 USD

Hostel 72.7% 522 reviews
Maze Backpackers
25.33 USD

Hostel 78.7% 611 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.71 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
21.83 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

338 out of 428 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Sydney'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
66.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 317 of 341 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, you can walk to most things you want to se

Disliked: The staff in the reception made a mistake with my payment and we had to spend some time sorting it out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, very nice staff, and very clean.

Disliked: It'd be nice if check-out was a bit later, as it was hard to wake up on time to check-out by 10am after a big night out!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location central to the city and near many popular locations ie. a few minutes walk to Darling Harbour and Hyde Park, friendly and helpful staff, the Scary Canary (cheap drinks were brilliant) right next door, free services such as beach trips etc. Oh, and the free foosball table was great!

Disliked: if you can't sleep with noise, it can be quite hard to fall asleep as you can pretty much hear everything, including the music from the club next door. Also, our door was quite difficult and noisy to open, though I guess that's a matter of chance. That's pretty much it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really chilled out and friendly. Nice rooms, facilities kept really clean. Super helpful staff. Good location.

Disliked: The announcement into the room was a bit unexpected but think it only happened once. Could kinda hear the bar music but not so much it kept you awake and it's to be expected really.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

philip hill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 January 2013

Liked: Central location - the only thing going for it.

Disliked: Cleanliness was terrible and the staff had the worse attitude ever! - especially the "supervisor" who was scruffy and on some sort of power trip. We had to ask 4 times for new sheets to be put on our bed as we stayed here a week, but non were ever supplied. The staff can't communicate between themselves properly. - lack of proper, decent mgmt.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was comfortable, good location.

Disliked: Staff were not particularly friendly. I'd booked through Hostelbookers but they hadn't entered my booking into their system - luckily they had space. Signs everywhere around the hostel saying 'no alcohol' in rooms but this was not enforced by staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the heart of the city with heaps of things to do and lots of offers available through the Base travel people

Disliked: As an "older" person I felt a bit out of place (I'm 50 next year - our family of 7 stayed at XBase while visiting Sydney for our eldest daughter's graduation from college), but I can see that these hostels are a great option, especially for young people who are travelling and just really need a bed and somewhere to store their stuff. The kitchen also means they don't have to eat out all the time - that would be a bit expensive in Oz.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012

Liked: Not much. Decent central location

Disliked: the staff were miserable, the place was so noisy and full of wasted 18 yr olds

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Although the toilets were fairly clean, new toilet seats would not be a bad idea! Showers weren't great. Some staff abrupt and unhelpful, although majority very nice. **WARNING** make all bookings on a card as cash payments mysteriously disappear. This happened to myself and a friend. We paid for a night in cash but when our keys stopped working we were told that our booking was not on the system. As we paid cash we had no receipt and no proof we paid. Luckily I had a nice member of staff who managed to sort out the issue, my friend had a not so helpful member of staff who made him pay again! This is not acceptable and either someone can't do their job or someone has their fingers in the till.........

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012

Liked: It's a nice location if you want to go everywhere around during the day. If you want to get pissed I guess it's the place. They give you free goon on some tours Lucky you........

Disliked: The staff I had to deal with was not nice. They stuff up my booking and charge me the first price I was suppose to pay even if because I was in a bigger dorm it should have been cheaper. They haven't confirm or tell me before I arrived about the change in my booking that they decided to do, so I haven't had a chance to change of hostel because the room I wanted was not available anymore. REALLY BAD VALUE FOR MONEY. I don't think there's any curfew. I asked to my roomates if they could go somewhere else to talk at 23h15 so we could go to bed. No body cared. Finally at 2 AM they decided it was time for bed, so I could finally sleep. The hostel is one of them where they are just there to do money and don't really care about customer service.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhenxing Zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Zhenxing would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Zhenxing left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Terri Casey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Terri would recommend this property

Liked: The location and space in the dorms

Disliked: The noise and the slamming doors all night!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012

Liked: just close to Town Hall station.

Disliked: Receptionist were very rude to me.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Kao

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, close to almost everything.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Mitchell Jordan

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 August 2012

Liked: Besides the location, there is nothing good to say for this hostel.

Disliked: Where to start? This is a loud, noisy, party hostel infested with the stereotypical partying backpackers who have absolutely no consideration for other travellers. On a Friday night you'll be lucky to get one hour's sleep if that. What's worse, the staff don't care or make any effort to keep the noise down. The beds squeaked with the merest turn and I scratched all night. Will never stay there again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kim mccann

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 July 2012 kim would recommend this property

Liked: Its is really clean and the rooms r lovely it is more like a hotel then I hostel . I stayed in base in Brisbane the night before and it was horrible so I was worried coming here but I was shocked with how nice it is and the staff are lovely and held to :-)

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was there is a tv in the room but it doesn't work

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hanna Mustonen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2012 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and ok shape.

Disliked: Our elevator was broken few days.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

liam zollino

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bad, slow, unhelpful reception desk. Rude staff. Very slow lift. Poor kitchen. Squeeky beds, impossible to sleep. overall nightmare and do not recomend to anyone.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

27 June 2012

Liked: Good location, travel staff were very helpful and gave good deals, decent bar next door which also serves food.

Disliked: had to pay for wifi, most people in the hostel live here so arent as friendly as other hostels may be. $10 for food which is quite pricey, not many plugs in the rooms. for a single first time traveller i would reccomend staying at a smalller hostel to meet more people who are also travelling.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean.easy to go to the shops

Disliked: someone has sex in the room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 June 2012

Liked: It was close to cool places, lots of specials.

Disliked: This place was very cold and impersonal, I got given a dorm that would have been perfect for a vampire as it's windows faced an internal wall and no natural sunlight ever sneaked in, also the were no working power outlets in the room and the bathrooms were always full of other peoples hair and the aftermath of attempts by other guest to use the toilet like a big boy/girl. It felt like a prison that had been turned into a party hostel. Stay at the YHA instead.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jennifer Dumont

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly people

Disliked: Didn't like rooms with 10 people

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 May 2012

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The staff- only spoke to one of the girls the whole time (blonde curly hair) thought she was kinda rude, never said please or thankyou, just not very welcoming. She also thought it would be a good idea to put me (a girl travelling alone) in a room with 4 long stay blokes who kept the room in a complete mess. While it isnt the hostels fault that they guys were messy, in melbourne base, they checked the rooms every other day to make sure people werent leaving their stuff everywhere and that everything was working ok and nothing was broken or dirty. It was obvious that the carpet never got cleaned. The staff just dont really seem to care the state of the rooms or whether your having a good stay (never got asked). The atmosphere was pretty lacking, everything is in a weird lay out. the kitchen and dining room was in the basement, a tv would be great down there! would make it more chilled and somewhere you want to spend time! This hostel is big, with alot of people and its so impersonal.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and good value for money.

Disliked: Majority of the staff are just plain rude and unhelpful (the larger lady), but there is a couple that actually have manners. The blonde guy on the travel desk hasn't a clue what he is talking about. Tip-if you want your airport shuttle reimbursed (you have to stay 3 nights), remember the receipt and get ready to argue with the staff. I stayed for 7 consectutive nights but they refused to reimburse me because my original booking was for 2 nights.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels