We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Base Sydney

Hostel | 477 Kent Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

76.7% Overall Rating

344 out of 437 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2015)

"We stayed in a double with private bathroom, so I can't vouch for the dorms but the room was pretty amazing. A bit small, but super comfy bed, clean, block out curtains, shower was awesome..."

Read all Base Sydney reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.87
  • Breakfast USD 4.65
  • Towel USD 3.10

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Backpackers
19.37 USD

Hostel 66.1% 78 reviews
World Square Hostel
17.82 USD

Hostel 83.2% 278 reviews
Central Perk Backpackers
17.05 USD

Hostel 61.1% 35 reviews
Strattons Hostel
14.72 USD

Hostel 67.4% 30 reviews
Nomads Westend Backpackers
17.05 USD

Hostel 67.3% 550 reviews
Maze Backpackers
20.15 USD

Hostel 75.0% 641 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
20.15 USD

Hostel 64.5% 398 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
16.27 USD

Hostel 71.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

344 out of 437 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Sydney'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
68.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 325 of 350 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiza Leite

Alone

Business / conference

07 November 2013 Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel that I ever stayed at.

Disliked: N/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect.

Disliked: Poor reception of wifi in the room and ants in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Henry Fraass

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Central located Funny roommates A wide range of services,from City Trip to scuba Diving

Disliked: Noisy neighbourhood

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jamie Campbell

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was great! It's good if you're not a fussy person, you're young and all you need is a bed.

Disliked: I know it's a hostel and you kind of expect the place to be a bit dodgy but a little bit of a refurbishment wouldn't hurt. When I went to use the bathroom 4 of the 5 stalls were permanently locked and the 5th was occupied by two guests and you can imagine what they were doing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Italia

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Was told there were lockers in the room which there wasn't for our bunk. Some staff were helpful some were not.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kasey Goodwin

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 August 2013 Kasey would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was extremely friendly and super helpful This was my first experience at staying in a Hostel and had left an amazing impression!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marios Polyviou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Marios would recommend this property

Liked: was in a awesome location, and a huge place so can meet lots of people here easy and loved the club next door called scary canary, great place to make friends with other backpackers and party hard.

Disliked: kitchen sometimes got too busy, and confiscate alcohol from rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location most of all. It is so close to all of the things we wanted to do! The bar was great and overall it was a good experience.

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't always very clean and there was a leaking sink that made the enitre floor wet every day!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, you can walk to most things you want to se

Disliked: The staff in the reception made a mistake with my payment and we had to spend some time sorting it out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, very nice staff, and very clean.

Disliked: It'd be nice if check-out was a bit later, as it was hard to wake up on time to check-out by 10am after a big night out!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location central to the city and near many popular locations ie. a few minutes walk to Darling Harbour and Hyde Park, friendly and helpful staff, the Scary Canary (cheap drinks were brilliant) right next door, free services such as beach trips etc. Oh, and the free foosball table was great!

Disliked: if you can't sleep with noise, it can be quite hard to fall asleep as you can pretty much hear everything, including the music from the club next door. Also, our door was quite difficult and noisy to open, though I guess that's a matter of chance. That's pretty much it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really chilled out and friendly. Nice rooms, facilities kept really clean. Super helpful staff. Good location.

Disliked: The announcement into the room was a bit unexpected but think it only happened once. Could kinda hear the bar music but not so much it kept you awake and it's to be expected really.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

philip hill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 January 2013

Liked: Central location - the only thing going for it.

Disliked: Cleanliness was terrible and the staff had the worse attitude ever! - especially the "supervisor" who was scruffy and on some sort of power trip. We had to ask 4 times for new sheets to be put on our bed as we stayed here a week, but non were ever supplied. The staff can't communicate between themselves properly. - lack of proper, decent mgmt.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was comfortable, good location.

Disliked: Staff were not particularly friendly. I'd booked through Hostelbookers but they hadn't entered my booking into their system - luckily they had space. Signs everywhere around the hostel saying 'no alcohol' in rooms but this was not enforced by staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the heart of the city with heaps of things to do and lots of offers available through the Base travel people

Disliked: As an "older" person I felt a bit out of place (I'm 50 next year - our family of 7 stayed at XBase while visiting Sydney for our eldest daughter's graduation from college), but I can see that these hostels are a great option, especially for young people who are travelling and just really need a bed and somewhere to store their stuff. The kitchen also means they don't have to eat out all the time - that would be a bit expensive in Oz.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012

Liked: Not much. Decent central location

Disliked: the staff were miserable, the place was so noisy and full of wasted 18 yr olds

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Although the toilets were fairly clean, new toilet seats would not be a bad idea! Showers weren't great. Some staff abrupt and unhelpful, although majority very nice. **WARNING** make all bookings on a card as cash payments mysteriously disappear. This happened to myself and a friend. We paid for a night in cash but when our keys stopped working we were told that our booking was not on the system. As we paid cash we had no receipt and no proof we paid. Luckily I had a nice member of staff who managed to sort out the issue, my friend had a not so helpful member of staff who made him pay again! This is not acceptable and either someone can't do their job or someone has their fingers in the till.........

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012

Liked: It's a nice location if you want to go everywhere around during the day. If you want to get pissed I guess it's the place. They give you free goon on some tours Lucky you........

Disliked: The staff I had to deal with was not nice. They stuff up my booking and charge me the first price I was suppose to pay even if because I was in a bigger dorm it should have been cheaper. They haven't confirm or tell me before I arrived about the change in my booking that they decided to do, so I haven't had a chance to change of hostel because the room I wanted was not available anymore. REALLY BAD VALUE FOR MONEY. I don't think there's any curfew. I asked to my roomates if they could go somewhere else to talk at 23h15 so we could go to bed. No body cared. Finally at 2 AM they decided it was time for bed, so I could finally sleep. The hostel is one of them where they are just there to do money and don't really care about customer service.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhenxing Zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Zhenxing would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Zhenxing left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Terri Casey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Terri would recommend this property

Liked: The location and space in the dorms

Disliked: The noise and the slamming doors all night!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012

Liked: just close to Town Hall station.

Disliked: Receptionist were very rude to me.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Kao

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, close to almost everything.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Mitchell Jordan

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 August 2012

Liked: Besides the location, there is nothing good to say for this hostel.

Disliked: Where to start? This is a loud, noisy, party hostel infested with the stereotypical partying backpackers who have absolutely no consideration for other travellers. On a Friday night you'll be lucky to get one hour's sleep if that. What's worse, the staff don't care or make any effort to keep the noise down. The beds squeaked with the merest turn and I scratched all night. Will never stay there again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kim mccann

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 July 2012 kim would recommend this property

Liked: Its is really clean and the rooms r lovely it is more like a hotel then I hostel . I stayed in base in Brisbane the night before and it was horrible so I was worried coming here but I was shocked with how nice it is and the staff are lovely and held to :-)

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was there is a tv in the room but it doesn't work


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels