HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Sydney Sydney Hostel

477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 79%

Staff 77%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.89USD
  • Luggage Room 4.08USD
  • Towel 3.26USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 79%

Staff 77%

Value 70%

Showing 101-40 of 40 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: Its size and the backpackers in it. Particularly the slut who kept us awake with two different guys in one night.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was super clean and staff were knowledgable

Disliked: There wasn't a check in time on hostel bookers and when I arrived 'early' staff weren't very friendly

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. We're glad to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay at our hostel! Unfortunately, we cannot let you into your room before 2pm as we need to give our staff enough time to clean it thoroughly. However, I apologise for the staff not being more helful upon your arrival and I will surely address this issue with them.
We wish you happy travels,
the Base Sydney Team

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything you need is here, or otherwise they can arrange it. They have a lot of knowledge about Sydney and travelling in Australia in general. Dorm rooms are big enough, beds are quite comfortable. Lot's of entertainment, especially for the young backpackers. Very nice kitchen!

Disliked: You have to pay extra money for everything, really everything (laundry for example is $ 8 for every time, internet is $ 7,95 a day or $1 per 15 minutes, very expensive). Some of the dorm beds are very noisy. The staff can be very annoying and unhelpful sometimes (only at the reception) but they use a lot of temporarily staff (just people who want to live there for free and want to work a few hours every day, but they're not really dedicated to their job).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,
I am sorry to hear you did not have a good experience with some of our staff. Having lots of different people around is part of the hostel environment and they might have different bearings on their work. However, our permanent staff love what they do and and I believe that shows in the customer service. We also realise that the Internet might be a little expensive but unfortunately we cannot influence the price of Global Gossip. Apart from that I hope you enjoyed your stay in Sydney!

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Too loud on Most Nights. No plugs in The Room, AC Too Cold and not changeable.The kitchen was disgusting and The bathroom dirty.


The property's response is

Hi,
Glad you enjoyed our central location!
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness - your comments will be passed on to our cleaning staff. The noise from the bar can be loud, particularly if your room is situated right above. We are certainly taking measures to soundproof these rooms so that our guests may have a more peaceful night's sleep. We hope that you may return to our hostel and give us the chance to make this up to you.
The Base Sydney Team

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: 1) Having to wait ages to speak to reception. 2) No window to open in female sanctuary room, just a white pane of glass that you couldn't see out of, so no air in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Scary Canary's

Disliked: Nil.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your fantastic guest feedback! We really appreciate it :) Love, The Base Sydney Crew

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good bar next door and great entertainment offerings. Big rooms and toilets on the hallway. Some of the staff and entertainment people were nice. Beach trip was cool.

Disliked: I arrived at 9 am, instead of going to rest after a long flight, I had to wonder around the city for 5 hours cause I couldn't get a room until 2 pm. Kitchen lacks equipment. Internet is outrageously expensive. For 30 dollars a night, it should be included in the room price.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Base Sydney. We are pleased to hear that you overall enjoyed your time at the hostel and the free tours we offer. We are sorry that you were not given a room earlier but we need to give our cleaning staff enough time to clean the rooms thoroughly before new guests check in. And about the kitchen - we're working on it!
Safe and happy travels, the Base Sydney Team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: kitchen,rooms and atmosphere!!!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there,
We are so glad to hear you had such a great time at Base Sydney! The team love what they do and I believe that shows in the customer service and presentation of the hostel. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you again!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was close to darling harbour and great activities. Also the travel agent was very helpful when wanting to plan trips or ask about activities to do

Disliked: A lot of drunk people wandering around late at night made it difficult to sleep.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It was clean, well equiped and smelt nice

Disliked: a bit expensive

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
Glad to hear you had a good time at Base Sydney! We know that our prices might be a little bit higher than elsewhere in Australia, but we believe that our central location and great services justify them! We gotta pay our bills, too ;).
Happy and safe travels, the Base Sydney Team

Check Availability