HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Sydney Sydney Hostel

477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 82%

Staff 77%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.47USD
  • Luggage Room 3.73USD
  • Towel 2.98USD

Important Information

We have a 48 hour cancellation policy however during The Christmas and New years period All bookings due to arrive between the 22nd of December and 2nd of January will be charged in full on the 1st of December. There are no No cancellations in this period. A minimum stay of 10 nights is required if staying during the Christmas and New Year period, from 22nd December 2016 to 2nd January 2017.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 82%

Staff 77%

Value 73%

Showing 91-29 of 29 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location, activities, nice rooms

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big, clean, modern building at a great location. Good kitchen and common room area with lots of travel/work advice on hand.

Disliked: Reception messed up my booking but it was fixed in the end.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: was in a awesome location, and a huge place so can meet lots of people here easy and loved the club next door called scary canary, great place to make friends with other backpackers and party hard.

Disliked: kitchen sometimes got too busy, and confiscate alcohol from rooms

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great- we walked everywhere.

Disliked: There was no natural ventilation in our room- a frosted window that we couldn't open. The room was hot and stuffy. The kitchen is located in the the basement, so kitchen smells travel up the stair well etc. The staff were SLOW and unhelpful. We didn't attend any of the hostel activities, and we were shocked at the options on offer - wet t-shirt competitions, 'sexy saturday' - if I had been a female solo traveller I would not have checked into such a hostel. I am an extensive traveller and have never seen such crude and tacky suggestions for theme nights.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and fantastic value for money. Had cheap meals and drinks in the bar. Brilliant if you want the mental traveller experience.

Disliked: Felt like a non-stop annoying freshers week in the communal areas. The mattresses were stained a lovely shade of yellow, and the rooms were 'cosy'.Our room in particular didn't have an outside window so would have been very stuffy if it was warmer, it instead had a window, without a curtain, that looked into a dusty rafter space where the light was constantly on!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, lockers in room, storage lockers (although you had to pay), plenty of washers/dryers in laundry.

Disliked: Wifi expensive to start with but so slow it makes it a joke. Don't stay here of you need wifi. Having to pay for storage lockers.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is defenitly great, very close to CBD

Disliked: If you dont like to party it may not be the hostel for you! 400 drunken teenies each night - bring your ear plugs!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: big storage lockers

Disliked: overpriced for what I got

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was decent.

Disliked: The staff was not attentive or helpful at all. The kitchen was inadequately supplied with pots/pans/cutlery and was also really hot and kind of felt like a dungeon in the basement. The staff stripped my bed and failed to replace my pillow even though I was not checking out for another day. Ultimately, I probably wouldn't stay here again.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was ideal location, cost, and perfect for our short visit to Sydney....IT WAS FANTASTIC, Will definately be coming back again and again and again!!

Disliked: couldn't stay longer :( IT WAS AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME>> Sucks that we have to go home.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Kathryn,
Thanks for your fantastic guest feedback! Glad to hear you enjoyed our central location - we do have everything right at our door step. Please visit us again soon!
Love, the Base Sydney Team

Check Availability