HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Boardrider Backpacker Sydney Hostel

Rear 63 The Corso, Manly, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 48%

Facilities 56%

Location 86%

Safety 54%

Staff 78%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 02:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 48%

Facilities 56%

Location 86%

Safety 54%

Staff 78%

Value 59%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty, messy, stinky!room cards don't work so hostel and rooms all open all of the time! not safe place at all


The property's response is

Dear guest,

We are very sorry to read that you have experienced your stay with us like that.
Being under new management means that we are and have been upgrading all our services!!
We would like to invite you back to our hostel so that you can experience the difference yourself, if you are still around Australia and got the intentions to head back to Manly please contact us so that we can look after you.

Warm regards,

Laura (Manager)

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break

Liked: The localisation was the best

Disliked: It is dirty, with many cockroaches everywhere.


The property's response is

Dear Fabiola,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Trough this way we would like to inform you that we are under new management which means that we are and have been upgrading all our services!!
We would like to invite you back to our hostel so that you can experience the difference yourself, if you are still around Australia and got the intentions to head back to Manly please contact us so that we can look after you and make it up.

Warm regards,

Laura (Manager)

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Receptionist was very helpful

Disliked: So so dirty, essentially the night manager is a dealer, so that explains so much. The whole place was in state of disrepair, bins over flowing and it stank of weed and feet. As it was so busy, I was initially placed in the room which the staff lived in, I was told I wasnt supposed to be in there by one of the receptionists, she made me go downstairs and double check, (i think she had some personal friction with the other receptionist). Came back to the room and she was grinding and rolling a joint causing the whole room to stink. I went back down to reception and was fortunately moved to another room, which had lockers as none of the doors locked and I wanted to ensure my stuff was safe. After speaking to some of the other guests, it turned out there were some very long term residents with people staying in the hostel for 6 months, to five years....On a whole it's personally a shame, it could be a great place, in an excellent location, good facilities (just dirty), if the long term residents and the drugs were evicted! Oh and a deep clean.


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

We apologize for the inconvenience. We would like to inform you that we are under new management which means that we are and have been upgrading all our services!! A lot of changes have been made and more is yet to come.
We would like to invite you back to our hostel so that you can experience the difference yourself, as you mentioned this is the best location in Manly and we want to provide the best service to our customers possible.

Warm regards,

Laura (Manager)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap and clean, in the centre of Manly, good parking arangements.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is absolutely fantastic with the beach a minutes walk away. The Hostel itself has a good atmosphere with plenty of areas to relax and be social.

Disliked: The kitchen became extremely unclean very quickly. It also had limited to no space for new guests to store any food.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

We apologize for the inconvenience. We would like to inform you that we are under new management which means that we are and have been upgrading all our services!! A lot of changes have been made and more is yet to come.
We would like to invite you back to our hostel so that you can experience the difference yourself, as you mentioned this is the best location in Manly and we want to provide the best service to our customers possible.

Warm regards,

Laura (Manager)

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Dirty


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

We apologize for the inconvenience. We would like to inform you that we are under new management which means that we are and have been upgrading all our services!! A lot of changes have been made and more is yet to come.
If by any chance you are still around Sydney please contact us, hopefully we can invite you back and show you the difference.

Warm regards,

Laura (Manager)

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: It was not too hard to get to from the city.

Disliked: Dirty kitchen and hostel, no silverware or plates, no knowledge of who is staying where, the staff do not care who stays overnight and whether they pay. There were not enough lockers and the room smelled like a boys locker room when you slept because the fans were terrible.


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

We apologize for the inconvenience. We would like to inform you that we are under new management which means that we are and have been upgrading all our services!! A lot of changes have been made and more is yet to come. If by any chance you are still around Sydney please contact us, hopefully we can invite you back and show you the difference.

Warm regards,

Laura (Manager)

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly staff. Great location.

Disliked: Didn't sleep a wink. Full time residents seem to have the run of the place & do not adhere to noise restrictions after 12. Carpet filthy, bathrooms falling apart, heaps of cockroaches in my private room. For $90 a night, would expect not to be right next to common room & stairs to roof terrace. All in all, not a terrible place but only for party animals who don't wanna sleep.

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Everything.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were old but clean and I did not see a single cockroach in the entire week I was there, which really impressed me

Disliked: The room was a bit stuffy, and the power behind the main bed needed to have a button pressed to get power and this only lasted 3 hrs. As I need to use a machine whilst sleeping this was a bit inconvenient as I would wake up when the power went off and need to press the button again.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability