HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of 790 on George Sydney Hostel

790 George Street, Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 72%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • PlayStation
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.97USD
  • Breakfast 3.74USD
  • Luggage Room 3.74USD
  • Towel 1.50USD

Important Information

$10.00 key deposit is required from each person upon check in.

If your booking includes days from 26/12/15 to 04/01/16(inclusive), a 10 night minimum stay will be required. All bookings will be charged in full on the 1st of December 2015. Failure to charge the provided credit card will result in automatic cancellation. We might not be able to contact you to ask for a new Credit card so please make sure you have enough funds on the 1st of December 2015. Credit card used for the booking will be required to be presented upon check-in. Bookings for multiple beds cannot be guaranteed in the same room. Reduction in nights stayed will result in forfeiting of the room nights paid for. Age restrictions will apply in share dorms, please contact the hostel before making the booking if you need clarification on the restrictions

Bookings for more than 2 people in share rooms cannot be guaranteed in same
rooms, but we will try our best to keep you together"

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 72%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 71-36 of 36 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very friendly staff and extremely good location that's central and close to all sorts of transportation.

Disliked: quite expensive and the fact that you have to pay to use internet and such facilities i found a little bit annoying.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This was a great location, it's right by the central train station; which meant my boyfriend and i didn't have far to travel with heavy backpacks! The staff were very friendly, and extremely helpful in helping us find our way in Sydney and getting the right local public transport. They even gave away free pancakes!

Disliked: There was a few problems with our keys not working in the shared bathrooms, but it was soon sorted.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location of this property is great. Central to trains but also an easy walk to main sights. Lots of food places and supermarkets/liquorland within easy walking distance. The downstairs kitchen area is good fun at the weekends, but is quiet most of the time so you can make some food and relaz in peace. Common room also good with computer access. Lockers next to beds are great.

Disliked: I didn't like my room. The girls on the bottom bunks had all been there for months and the room was a mess, I felt sorry for the cleaners! The bunk beds all need tightening up because even the slightest movement made the whole thing wobble- that being said the mattress was comfortable. If you get put in room 211- ask for another one!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Perfect Location to explore Sydney

Disliked: None if the hairdryer worked

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Very central location (and near Central Station). Kept clean. Not overly rowdy.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind... very positive experience.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: staff r nice and friendly

Disliked: not really

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: i was in Sydney for my work conference, so i needed to stay somewhere i could get to sleep at night which i had no troubles doing at this venue. i loved my bed was very nice. also liked the common area, an just how central i was to my conference... thanks :)

Disliked: i stayed 3 nights i should have stayed longer!!!!!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: We really liked the lounge/internet/tv rooms. There are good-sized lockers in rooms if you have a smallish backpack (carry-on size) and bring a lock (or buy one). Internet is only $1/hour. The staff is constantly cleaning, so everything is pretty clean. This is not a huge party hostel, which I really liked.

Disliked: There could be a few more cooking stations in the kitchen, it does get crowded around dinner time. Also, because so many people are living in the hostel and working in Sydney, there's not a lot of fridge/shelf room for food--you kind of have to squeeze in.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is fantastic.

Disliked: Having to use my room key to access the toilets

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Loved the safe and friendly atomosphere. I would wake up in the morning, and feel inspired to go for a walk, whether it be to the local City Church or to Darling Harbour. Location is in the heart of the City, and transport is easily accessible, so there was no time for boredom. It was my first time staying in a Hostel, so it was lovely to meet and connect with people, I wouldn't have met otherwise. Thank you!

Disliked: Sometimes, dishes were left unwashed, so it made the kitchen area appear messy and unclean. It was humbling to witness staff come around and wash the dishes for us.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability