HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of 790 on George Backpackers

Hostel | 790 George Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

82.7% Overall Rating

340 out of 405 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"The beds were nice and clean and the bathrooms had key card access. Everything required keys and there were luggage lockers right in the room! I especially liked they had charging ports inside the lockers."

Read all 790 on George Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.98
  • Luggage Room USD 4.68
  • Breakfast USD 4.68
  • Towel USD 1.87

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

"NYE Terms and Conditions Booking needs to be guaranteed by a credit card which will be charged on the 1st of December 2013 in full, failure to charge a card would result in the cancellation of the booking. Bookings cannot be changed or cancelled after the 30/11/2013. Cancellation or amendment would result in a full charge for all dates. Bookings for more than 2 people in share rooms cannot be guaranteed in same rooms, but we will try our best to keep you together"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Central YHA
36.51 USD

Hostel 87.3% 246 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
23.40 USD

Hostel 71.8% 128 reviews
Wake Up Hostel
33.70 USD

Hostel 88.0% 1156 reviews
Railway Square YHA
35.57 USD

Hostel 86.6% 42 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
58.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 9 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
24.34 USD

Hostel 65.8% 393 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
24.57 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
39.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.4% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

340 out of 405 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '790 on George Backpackers'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 294 of 314 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Louise Molbo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean kitchen and lockers with plugs for each person in the dorms. Aircon in each dorm, really nice. Best Hostel I stayed at.

Disliked: No cleaning in the dorm during the 5 days we stayed here and the roommate was terible!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siona Saplos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Siona would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rebecca Wheatley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, particually if your travelling on the greyhound. Not the cleanest of places but was fine and the rooms were pleasant enough.

Disliked: Not too clean, and a little to big to be able to meet people as the social areas were not very good.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andrew Forbes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Its very close proximity to all attractions of city, large kitchen for guests and guys on reception are nice and helpful

Disliked: We were issued three different key cards and they failed to work which was annoying, not the most homely place in the world and could do with a refurb, but this is due to the size of the place I guess. It's not the most sociable hostel either if thats what you're looking for though it is o.k overall!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lounge room

Disliked: Cramped dorm. Keycard for door stopped working 4 times in the one night I stayed-I had to get a new one off receition staff every time!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: We stayed over New Years so our view may be slightly biased. But at $118 a double room it was way overpriced for a below average hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is awesome, cheap rates

Disliked: Bathrooms not the greatest

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Offered much better overal service compared with the hostel we had stayed in previously in Perth (Backpackers Inn Freo), AND for a cheaper price.

Disliked: Room floor was not very clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's rooms are clean and tidy with air con

Disliked: we had stayed here before last year the kitchen and barhrooms areas have gone down hill a bit but i think it's a lot to do with the people stayin there as the staff r always cleaning

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zi-Zhen Liu

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 December 2010 Zi-Zhen would recommend this property

Liked: superb

Disliked: nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and safe. Located in the city centre. I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Zi-Zhen Liu

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

12 November 2010 Zi-Zhen would recommend this property

Liked: Already our third time staying here. The staff were friendly. Location is perfect. Nice and quiet. Big kitchen.

Disliked: The room wasn't cleaned thouroughly. It had a funky smell during our entire stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chiu Po-Chia

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

31 October 2010 Chiu would recommend this property

Liked: very good...

Disliked: mm...just a little bit dirty in the toilet...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Near the city and transport.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Tong Chi Ngai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010

Liked: No comment

Disliked: No comment

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alex Vandenberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Room was tiny, like a prison cell. Toilets dirty and stank. Common room stank. Room dirty and disgusting.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 790 on George is a nice and quiet place with friendly people and good facilities.

Disliked: No headsets on their PC's for Skype etc. But there is a cheap internet café next door

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the room. It is big enough for 6 people.

Disliked: That there are just female dorm and male dorms. I don't like it, to stay just with girls. That horrible. I prefer a shared dorm with boys and girls.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location and the rooms esp that the plugs had built in converters

Disliked: waiting for the lift!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a fantastic location right in the centre, near lots of bars and cafes. It was really comfortable, and quiet at night so you get a good nights sleep.

Disliked: It's not very sociable, didn't meet anyone at the hostel. It's also not that clean in the bathroom - but ot doable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

19 July 2010

Liked: it's very close to central station, easy to walk to city central or station

Disliked: it's a quite narrow room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 July 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Filthy! My room looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks and the bathrooms were consistently disgusting!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: secure, close to central station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located on George street which is very convenient to take city buses. The staff was friendly. The restroom could be better though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were comfortable and plenty of hot water for showers. Close to public transport. Some guests were a bit noisy on return from a night out. Average accommodation but OK for prices charged.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels