We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of 790 on George Backpackers

Hostel | 790 George Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

80.1% Overall Rating

350 out of 415 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2014)

"Really good location, close to central station, and the free 555 shuttle stop was across the street. Bedding was clean and they offered activities in the evenings"

Read all 790 on George Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.97
  • Luggage Room USD 4.37
  • Breakfast USD 4.37
  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

NEW YEARS PACKAGES: Bookings for the period between December 27 2014 and January 4 2015 have a required minimum 6 night stay. All bookings made as part of a NYE package may require additional documentation. All reservations that are booked as part of a NYE package will be held by credit card until December 1 at which point the associated credit card will be charged IN FULL. The credit card used to make the booking must be presented on check-in or the reservation will not be honoured. Any credit cards that decline will result in the booking being cancelled. Changes to bookings cannot be made after November 30 and any cancellations or amendments after that date will result in a full charge. or amendment would result in a full charge for all dates. Bookings for more than 2 people in share rooms cannot be guaranteed in same rooms, but we will try our best to keep you together"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Central YHA
34.93 USD

Hostel 88.3% 252 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
20.96 USD

Hostel 70.9% 134 reviews
Wake Up Hostel
31.44 USD

Hostel 95.1% 1192 reviews
Railway Square YHA
34.06 USD

Hostel 86.6% 42 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
43.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 9 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
24.45 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
26.20 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
43.49 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

350 out of 415 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '790 on George Backpackers'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 324 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!!! And helpfull staff, and hot water at all time

Disliked: Bathroom wasn't clean, not enough computers, but there is good Internet service next to the hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms clean,bunks had individual lighting, air conditioning worked, kitchen cleaned regularly, nice big kitchen, storage lockers avail. for people checking out well before scheduled transportation.

Disliked: Bathrooms needed to be cleaned better, soap scum all over shower floors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MIHYANG KIM

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 MIHYANG would recommend this property

Liked: Accomodation and all of stuff was very awesome, If i gonna sydney visit to again!

Disliked: Nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sandra Prueller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 February 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: It's was really quiete, although it's direct near George St., Air condition, ok beds, great location, big rooms, small lights near every bed

Disliked: internet was not working and the staff just said, try tomorrow

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 February 2011

Liked: The staff. They were all pleasant and informative. Close proximity to central station and buses.

Disliked: Our bedroom had not been cleaned. The undersheet on the bed was dirty. We were issued clean sheets and pillow slips to cover up the mess. The toilet door was out of action. The taps were loose on the vanity and the bathroom far from clean. We went down to the bathroom on the next level and this was even dirtier. The kitchen was not too bad as far as hostels go, but the electric jug failed and there was a diminishing stock of utensils. Then the lift broke down. As well worn travellers, for what you got, we thought it was expensive, but then maybe Sydney is expensive for accommodation.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

29 January 2011

Liked: Location. Plus the second guy we dealt with was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: After hours check in guy was very unhelpful and didn't really seem to know what he was doing. Room was pretty dirty, especially the carpet, as were the showers. Plus ladies showers on our floor were out of action for two days.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Louise Molbo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean kitchen and lockers with plugs for each person in the dorms. Aircon in each dorm, really nice. Best Hostel I stayed at.

Disliked: No cleaning in the dorm during the 5 days we stayed here and the roommate was terible!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siona Saplos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Siona would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rebecca Wheatley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, particually if your travelling on the greyhound. Not the cleanest of places but was fine and the rooms were pleasant enough.

Disliked: Not too clean, and a little to big to be able to meet people as the social areas were not very good.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andrew Forbes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Its very close proximity to all attractions of city, large kitchen for guests and guys on reception are nice and helpful

Disliked: We were issued three different key cards and they failed to work which was annoying, not the most homely place in the world and could do with a refurb, but this is due to the size of the place I guess. It's not the most sociable hostel either if thats what you're looking for though it is o.k overall!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lounge room

Disliked: Cramped dorm. Keycard for door stopped working 4 times in the one night I stayed-I had to get a new one off receition staff every time!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: We stayed over New Years so our view may be slightly biased. But at $118 a double room it was way overpriced for a below average hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is awesome, cheap rates

Disliked: Bathrooms not the greatest

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Offered much better overal service compared with the hostel we had stayed in previously in Perth (Backpackers Inn Freo), AND for a cheaper price.

Disliked: Room floor was not very clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's rooms are clean and tidy with air con

Disliked: we had stayed here before last year the kitchen and barhrooms areas have gone down hill a bit but i think it's a lot to do with the people stayin there as the staff r always cleaning

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zi-Zhen Liu

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 December 2010 Zi-Zhen would recommend this property

Liked: superb

Disliked: nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and safe. Located in the city centre. I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Zi-Zhen Liu

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

12 November 2010 Zi-Zhen would recommend this property

Liked: Already our third time staying here. The staff were friendly. Location is perfect. Nice and quiet. Big kitchen.

Disliked: The room wasn't cleaned thouroughly. It had a funky smell during our entire stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chiu Po-Chia

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

31 October 2010 Chiu would recommend this property

Liked: very good...

Disliked: mm...just a little bit dirty in the toilet...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Near the city and transport.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Tong Chi Ngai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010

Liked: No comment

Disliked: No comment

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alex Vandenberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Room was tiny, like a prison cell. Toilets dirty and stank. Common room stank. Room dirty and disgusting.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 790 on George is a nice and quiet place with friendly people and good facilities.

Disliked: No headsets on their PC's for Skype etc. But there is a cheap internet café next door

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the room. It is big enough for 6 people.

Disliked: That there are just female dorm and male dorms. I don't like it, to stay just with girls. That horrible. I prefer a shared dorm with boys and girls.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location and the rooms esp that the plugs had built in converters

Disliked: waiting for the lift!


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels