HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of 790 on George Sydney Hostel

790 George Street, Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 71%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • PlayStation
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 12.36USD
  • Breakfast 3.86USD
  • Luggage Room 3.86USD
  • Towel 1.55USD

Important Information

$10.00 key deposit is required from each person upon check in.

If your booking includes days from 26/12/15 to 04/01/16(inclusive), a 10 night minimum stay will be required. All bookings will be charged in full on the 1st of December 2015. Failure to charge the provided credit card will result in automatic cancellation. We might not be able to contact you to ask for a new Credit card so please make sure you have enough funds on the 1st of December 2015. Credit card used for the booking will be required to be presented upon check-in. Bookings for multiple beds cannot be guaranteed in the same room. Reduction in nights stayed will result in forfeiting of the room nights paid for. Age restrictions will apply in share dorms, please contact the hostel before making the booking if you need clarification on the restrictions

Bookings for more than 2 people in share rooms cannot be guaranteed in same
rooms, but we will try our best to keep you together"

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 71%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

Showing 21-30 of 46 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Save and friendly,also price is good.

Disliked: No free wifi...

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Excellent Property.. No complains

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I'd mainly recommend the place to people who are looking for a Place to sleep. Location is fantastic with Chinatown, central station and George street next door but the atmosphere in the hostel was not too exciting. The secure lockers in the room are very spacious, but some were already broken (not lockable anymore) and some didn't bave working power supplies, but there were more than enough plugs in the room.

Disliked: Common areas were a bit small and close at night....? Some rooms might get noisy at night due to club next door

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, staff is very friendly and recommend us the places we can go for sightseeing....near China town and city market, very good. .

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Perfect location, nice staff&atmosphere.

Disliked: No free wi-fi!

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds were nice and clean and the bathrooms had key card access. Everything required keys and there were luggage lockers right in the room! I especially liked they had charging ports inside the lockers.

Disliked: I'm a 19 year old girl, and there were men around 45 years old staying in the hostel. It was frightening. One night a bunch of drunk men got in the elevator with me and my friends and were very inappropriate and made us feel unsafe. They tried to follow us back up into our room and tried to kiss us on the way out of the elevator. The couch in my room was absolutely disgusting - I'd rather not have one there than have one as disgusting as that. Overall, it wasn't a terrible stay. It was a bad hostel experience, but I was only there are a few days. I would never stay there again and would tell my friends to avoid it. Especially because the drunk old men harassed us right in front of staff and they did nothing about it. You can't expect three young women to avoid a bunch of old men in an elevator. They could have stepped in and said settle down or something to diffuse the situation. Obviously 20-something girls don't want to be hit on by a large group of drunk 45 year old men.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Easy to locate and travel to from the airport. After 36 hours of travel, I was at 790 within 30 minutes of clearing customs thanks to the train from the airport. The 24-hour desk was also welcomed, as I arrived at 10 PM. Linen and pillow are provided, which was a plus. Rooms and bathrooms are locked by keycard and lockers are available in room, so I had few security concerns. Bathrooms are a bit small, but completely deserted at 7 AM. It appeared that other guests don't get up until 10 or 11 AM, though YMMV.

Disliked: The room was a bit dingy; walked in to find it deserted but dirty clothing and about 20 empty beer bottles scattered across the floor. A roommate also brought in a female friend at four AM as well, despite hostel rules to the contrary. The other four guys didn't complain about the bedsprings, so I guess this was a quick introduction to the openness of the Sydney citizenry. Also, wifi didn't work on the 4th floor, either, but there's a Starbucks two blocks away to meet Internet needs.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean, good location

Disliked: Need to scan to enter bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Central location, 1 min from Central station, so no airport transfer needed. Basic, but has all facilities. Relatively clean kitchen and rooms, large lockers for your packs and very convenient multi country power outlets IN the locker, regular ones next to bed. Rooms spacious enough. Roomkey needed for every door. Would not go for atmosphere, but perfect for a short downtown stopover.

Disliked: Paid wifi, $1 per hour with routers per floor and login per 1-2 hours after which you'll automatically be logged out. Not handy when your booking something. Global Gossip at travel shp next door.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location was perfect.

Disliked: the showers could use some renovating. the door to 1 of 2 showers could't close properly (had to struggle for 15min each time or use the other showers).... The key card to my room kept on not working. had to go to reception every day to restart it.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability