We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of 790 on George Backpackers

Hostel | 790 George Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

79.7% Overall Rating

355 out of 420 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/01/2015)

"Location! It was just perfect. Walking distance to everything you need as well as some of the great tourist traps! The Kitchen was busy but it was well organised. Everyone actually cleans up properly after themselves…"

Read all 790 on George Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.97
  • Luggage Room USD 4.37
  • Breakfast USD 4.37
  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

NEW YEARS PACKAGES: Bookings for the period between December 27 2014 and January 4 2015 have a required minimum 6 night stay. All bookings made as part of a NYE package may require additional documentation. All reservations that are booked as part of a NYE package will be held by credit card until December 1 at which point the associated credit card will be charged IN FULL. The credit card used to make the booking must be presented on check-in or the reservation will not be honoured. Any credit cards that decline will result in the booking being cancelled. Changes to bookings cannot be made after November 30 and any cancellations or amendments after that date will result in a full charge. or amendment would result in a full charge for all dates. Bookings for more than 2 people in share rooms cannot be guaranteed in same rooms, but we will try our best to keep you together"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Sydney Central YHA
34.93 USD

Hostel 87.7% 257 reviews
City Central Budget Accommodation
20.96 USD

Hostel 69.7% 150 reviews
Wake Up Hostel
31.44 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1209 reviews
Railway Square YHA
34.06 USD

Hostel 86.2% 43 reviews
Aarons Hotel Sydney
43.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.9% 11 reviews
Mountbatten Hotel
22.71 USD

Hostel 65.9% 395 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
24.45 USD

Hostel 69.2% 13 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
34.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.5% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

355 out of 420 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '790 on George Backpackers'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
77.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 303 of 329 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girls bathroom was nice/modern + clean, the bed was comfortable by hostel standards, the location was great. The staff were doing their job and fast. The bed was made, air con worked well, liked the storage space in the room. Overall the place was fairly comprable with the YHA sydney. I would return there.

Disliked: Men’s bathroom was apparently not clean - floor was wet and dirty, soap dispenser was rusty/ scungy. The floor layout meant that our room was right in front of the lift and my partner was disrupted by the noise this created. (it was not that nosy compared to many hostels, so it depends on your sensitivity, and you could always request a room away from the lift entrance.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite clean and comfortable rooms. Convenient location near central station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, very handy to everything.

Disliked: Was not very clean and smelled.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, reasonable price, well equipped, big lockers, helpful staff and fantastic location.

Disliked: Internet wouldn't work in the rooms and could hear noise from nearby nightclub at night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to central station, good value for money, clean bed, reasonable clean bathroom.secure room using key card.

Disliked: The enter to cooking area is too narrow and dark. Giving a bit dirty impression.Maybe a bit of painting will lift up the kitchen area..

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

David Brici

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013

Liked: Great price for a practical location.

Disliked: The bathroom was not very clean, toilets flooding and floors with rubbish everywhere. Bedrooms were passable but a bit smelly and unclean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Clement RIVIERE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 July 2013 Clement would recommend this property

Liked: This was a good location, and secure room.

Disliked: Clement left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Environment. Staff. Economy. People. 11 o clock checkout. $5 BF deal......Everything I guess!

Disliked: Nothing in particular

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013

Liked: Conveniently close to Central Station and within walking distance of the CBD. Individual lockers in room and individual bed lights. 24 reception and keycard access

Disliked: This hostel has potential but is very, very poorly maintained. Bathrooms were filthy. Need more regular cleaning and maintenance. Toilet seat stained and vomit in the sink. Fire alarm at 3am. No explanation. Seedy people at the front desk (not the staff) - really creepy guy leaned against the wall right next to me and stared at me while I was trying to check in. Bedrooms not maintained. Locker lock broken. Windows don't lock shut. Windows looked like they'd never been cleaned. Cheaper and better alternatives - I wouldn't stay here again

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013

Liked: - location - tv room

Disliked: - bad wifi - expensive - small kitchen

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

BO ZHANG

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

01 April 2013 BO would recommend this property

Liked: good location, walk distance(less than 2 mins) to Central Station, which is easier to catch flight in the cozy city, especially in the early morning. The earliest train to Airport is 5am, which suits my schedule quite well. In the meanwhile, it is easy to catch the city 555 bus for city tour to most famous destinations. In a word, this property is highly recommended.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sébastien Charpentier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2013 Sébastien would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated with good commodities (big kitchen with everything necessary).

Disliked: Wifi is not free and we struggled for 2 days to get internet (bad connection or impossible to join the network).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The mattress was excellent, wish I could buy a QS one for home. Liked the 24 hour swipe access. Staff are friendly and helpful Location is convenient. Room is airconditioned and the second window helps with the noise levels.

Disliked: One of the showers on the 5 floor has a bad leak and was not usable. Some of the pillows are not up to standard, I did find a good one though because I was first in.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk staff was very helpful. Rooms were small and clean.

Disliked: Not many social options for solo travellers, more of a place to rest your head.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good and beds are clean!

Disliked: kitchen is bit dirty; bathrooms were ok; but big noise from electric generators or some kind of this in the rooms on level 7 - we couldn't hardly sleep at night!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, comfy beds, central location, good showers

Disliked: Not the best atmosphere, room smelt bad, got sick from the air con vent blowing on me on the top bunk

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location! Right in the cbd of Sydney!

Disliked: The kitchen was disgusting! One of the dirtiest kitchens I've seen in a hostel and I've stayed in plenty!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wesley DeMuth

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Wesley would recommend this property

Liked: The location.... So close to everything.

Disliked: The parking was terrible!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Than Saw Way

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Than Saw would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds, good location.

Disliked: Some of the electric sockets were not working in the room. The bathrooms and shower area need cleaning and maintenance.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rebecca Sutton

Alone

City break

13 February 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Good location by Central railway station.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, down to earth staff.

Disliked: No lock on the lockers inside the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, spacious, good common areas

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Veronica Miller

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 February 2013 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great - really helpful. Room was clean. Kitchen was big.

Disliked: Bathroom could have been cleaner. There was black grime around basin taps and in the shower.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms, bathrooms and kitchen areas were all clean. I had a comfortable stay and I feel the price was fair. Most of the staff were quite friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I felt it lacked many of the facilities that the nearby competitors have. It is by far the least well equipped of the hostels in that small area on the corner of George/Pitt Street as other ones have bars, clubs, pool tables etc. To be fair it is also a couple of dollars cheaper than those places but it really is only a couple. I got a room in Wake Up for $34 and it is so much better than 790 on George where I paid $30. I found the atmosphere pretty bad and unsociable. It is not a great environment for making new friends as everyone seemed to know each other already and wouldn't have a conversation with you unless they knew you. There were no events organised by the hostel to meet people unlike the nearby competitors.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels