HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of 790 on George Sydney Hostel

790 George Street, Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 72%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • PlayStation
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 12.20USD
  • Breakfast 3.81USD
  • Luggage Room 3.81USD
  • Towel 1.53USD

Important Information

$10.00 key deposit is required from each person upon check in.

If your booking includes days from 26/12/15 to 04/01/16(inclusive), a 10 night minimum stay will be required. All bookings will be charged in full on the 1st of December 2015. Failure to charge the provided credit card will result in automatic cancellation. We might not be able to contact you to ask for a new Credit card so please make sure you have enough funds on the 1st of December 2015. Credit card used for the booking will be required to be presented upon check-in. Bookings for multiple beds cannot be guaranteed in the same room. Reduction in nights stayed will result in forfeiting of the room nights paid for. Age restrictions will apply in share dorms, please contact the hostel before making the booking if you need clarification on the restrictions

Bookings for more than 2 people in share rooms cannot be guaranteed in same
rooms, but we will try our best to keep you together"

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 72%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 101-42 of 42 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the location is perfect, directly in the city!

Disliked: nothing :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: easy access and close to city and transport

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bathrooms and toilets were great for a hostel....even had hairdryers/ big mirrors! Great location. Liked the TV room. Its rare that you have a hostel with a elevator...came in handy.

Disliked: The plain white walls.....it does remind me of a hospital. Needs new carpets. I didn't like that people put dirty feet on the couches, even though there wasn't any room for anyone else to sit- nobody offered to move, unless you approaced them and asked them to move. Its about respect!!!. Can't blame this on the hostel. Also the TV room....couldn't raise the volume on the TV, so alot of people were complaining that they couldn't hear.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly stuff and helpful. Location is quite good, it is near the station of the free bus loop. It wasn't so loud, so you can get a good sleep after a long day in Sydney. They can provide also a relatively cheap transfer to the airport.

Disliked: Did not have rooms with their own bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice staff, cheap wi-fi, excellent location

Disliked: living areas are dirty, couches, carpets, bathrooms etc...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good value for money, I booked a double room. Nice hostel near Central.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: A very nice hostel, very convenient location -- we were able to walk almost everywhere. The hostel staff were friendly and helpful, the beds were reasonably comfortable and quiet. When I first arrived I thought there wouldn't be enough bathrooms for everyone staying on our floor but there were actually no troubles, never had to wait for a shower or anything! Felt secure in our female-only 6-person dorm.

Disliked: My friend was bitten by bedbugs although my bed was fine. We didn't really use the kitchen so can't really comment on it!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Loved its location, about 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour, (and right next door to Scubar)

Disliked: Dont have anything to complain about this hostel, really was fantastic.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: location and friendly staff

Disliked: very loud crowd (esp at night)not enough bathrooms

Check Availability